Rating:
9.0
Blut Aus Nord - MoRT
18 September 2006


01. Chapter I
02. Chapter II
03. Chapter III
04. Chapter IV
05. Chapter V
06. Chapter VI
07. Chapter VII
08. Chapter VIII


If there was ever a more polarising album I've yet to hear it. There's no "it's not bad" or "it's pretty good," only abject disdain and unparalleled adoration. I may be overstating it somewhat but the case with Blut Aus Nord's most experimental release to date is that it flies so flagrantly in the face of convention you either get it or you don't. Perhaps the biggest reason for this is because there really is no precedent with MoRT. Is it black metal? Is it industrial? It may be both. Then again it may be neither. But then that's part of its ambivalent beauty.

A song by song analysis would be a pointless endeavor, it may be forcibly partitioned into several sections but it is best treated as a whole; one, monolithic cloud of incongruous, alien discordance. In fact at times it seems the only way to describe its contents would be through metaphor, a systematic deconstruction of human sanity via a philosophically nihilistic array of atonal snaking guitar layers, echoing percussion and the odd ghostly murmur through the ambient static all amounting to a Godless anti-harmony. There is no easily discernible structure here. The only time you'll find any kind of secular hook is midway through track 5; a small gift of human vocals, sweeping away the murk for just a moment to give a brief glimpse of what once was, all before shapeless claws drag you back down into the bleak tones once again to siphon whatever humanity remains. This is not an exercise in traditional musical evil using speed, brutality and noise; this is a far more intelligent monster.

The sheer technical prowess of Vindsval is to be commended as this is played almost entirely on a fretless guitar with which he achieves a tremendous amount by simply ignoring everything a normal individual would do, and with this, the perfect accompaniment: W. D. Feld's drum programming; unequivocally second to none in the creation of barren, technical artificiality. The supporting keyboards and ambient filter is on an almost subconscious level adding the final touches to this aural landscape of urban decay, its only tangible representation being album artwork of almost sheer blackness; the unholy vista of a man bereft of sight.

To some it may be pretentious, but it largely depends on what it is you look for in music. If you're after needlessly harsh, typically structured compositions founded on ideas that have no artistic relevance beyond homage then it's been made easy for you, you can find a multitude of them around every corner, tough-guy bravado and Satanic irrelevance abound. If, however, you're willing to expand the horizons of your mind and undergo the necessary deprogramming then you might be in for something truly subversive and groundbreaking.

You either get it, or you don't.

Performance: 9
Songwriting: 9
Originality: 10
Production: 9


Band profile: Blut Aus Nord
Album: MoRT


 


written by !J.O.O.E.! | 23.05.2010


Guest review disclaimer:
This is a guest review, which means it does not necessarily represent the point of view of the MS Staff.



Comments

‹‹ Back to the Reviews
Comments: 14  
Users visited: 95  
Search this topic:  


Marcel Hubregtse - 24.05.2010 at 13:33  
Well, I am one of those that totally does not get this album. Which might sound weird cause I abslutely loved Thematic Emanation Of Archetypal Multiplicity.
even though I don't get MoRT I do find it much more interesting than the generic melodic black metal featured on Ultima Thulée, Memoria Vetusta I: Fathers of the Icy Age and
Memoria Vetusta II: Dialogue with the Stars. Those three are unjustifiably praised if you ask me.
!J.O.O.E.! - 24.05.2010 at 14:48  
Written by Marcel Hubregtse on 24.05.2010 at 13:33

Well, I am one of those that totally does not get this album. Which might sound weird cause I abslutely loved Thematic Emanation Of Archetypal Multiplicity.
even though I don't get MoRT I do find it much more interesting than the generic melodic black metal featured on Ultima Thulée, Memoria Vetusta I: Fathers of the Icy Age and
Memoria Vetusta II: Dialogue with the Stars. Those three are unjustifiably praised if you ask me.

Definitely agreed on those 3 albums; I never listen to them these days, and never really liked it when I first listened to them. But yeah, I see TEoAM as just an extension of The Work... really, MoRT is something almost entirely different, I've stopped begrudging people who don't like it. I'm fairly sure the countless hours of sitting through (and slowly learning to appreciate) Merzbow and similar groups have helped me like this album.
Mikyz - 24.05.2010 at 16:12  
Written by Marcel Hubregtse on 24.05.2010 at 13:33

Well, I am one of those that totally does not get this album. Which might sound weird cause I abslutely loved Thematic Emanation Of Archetypal Multiplicity.
even though I don't get MoRT I do find it much more interesting than the generic melodic black metal featured on Ultima Thulée, Memoria Vetusta I: Fathers of the Icy Age and
Memoria Vetusta II: Dialogue with the Stars. Those three are unjustifiably praised if you ask me.


MoRT is an acquired taste, it's enjoyable but not groundbreaking.
@Marcel, I honestly don't understand why you find those 3 albums to be generic, they're more than solid especially Memoria Vetusta I: Fathers of the Icy Age, the riffs are catchy and raw to say the least, so I believe that your judgment only applies on a personal scale because those three albums are far from being unjustifiably praised, I could write a a whole page praising the concept and the musicianship of those releases.
Marcel Hubregtse - 24.05.2010 at 16:15  
Written by Mikyz on 24.05.2010 at 16:12

@Marcel, I honestly don't understand why you find those 3 albums to be generic, they're more than solid especially Memoria Vetusta I: Fathers of the Icy Age, the riffs are catchy and raw to say the least, so I believe that your judgment only applies on a personal scale because those three albums are far from being unjustifiably praised, I could write a a whole page praising the concept and the musicianship of those releases.


Why I call those three albums generic is cause they offer the sort of black metal that has been done to death by others as well, adding nothing new to the bm spectrum at all. Yes the riffs are raw and catchy but that doesn't make it any less generic.
!J.O.O.E.! - 24.05.2010 at 16:27  
Written by Mikyz on 24.05.2010 at 16:12

it's enjoyable but not groundbreaking.

If you know of any other artists or albums that approach a similar style I'd love to hear them?
Mikyz - 24.05.2010 at 16:54  
Written by !J.O.O.E.! on 24.05.2010 at 16:27

Written by Mikyz on 24.05.2010 at 16:12

it's enjoyable but not groundbreaking.

If you know of any other artists or albums that approach a similar style I'd love to hear them?


I personally don't know anything similar, this a good album the creepiest one I have ever heard but it's not something I'd like to listen to on a regular basis. In my opinion this is certainly unique but not breathtaking/groundbreaking/earjerking material, it delivers weird landscapes that are far from being repulsive but they're not what I would call replay value material. Unique doesn't necessarily imply masterpiece. All in all this is a solid release, but not as appealing as there other outputs.
!J.O.O.E.! - 24.05.2010 at 17:34  
Written by Mikyz on 24.05.2010 at 16:54

Written by !J.O.O.E.! on 24.05.2010 at 16:27

Written by Mikyz on 24.05.2010 at 16:12

it's enjoyable but not groundbreaking.

If you know of any other artists or albums that approach a similar style I'd love to hear them?


I personally don't know anything similar, this a good album the creepiest one I have ever heard but it's not something I'd like to listen to on a regular basis. In my opinion this is certainly unique but not breathtaking/groundbreaking/earjerking material, it delivers weird landscapes that are far from being repulsive but they're not what I would call replay value material. Unique doesn't necessarily imply masterpiece. All in all this is a [u]solid[/i] release, but not as appealing as there other outputs.

You've kinda made my point really: groundbreaking does not equal breathtaking, one is a far more subjective concept than the other. It doesn't have to have mass appeal to be a groundbreaking release (surely the truly groundbreaking music would eschew and alienate musical norms), the fact you know of nothing else like it would qualify as groundbreaking in my eyes, and there's certainly an established fanbase for this album - I'm not saying it's going to revolutionise music but it has etched a particular niche for itself. It's a fairly moot issue really but I think direct comparison to their other releases is nonsensical as most of their other stuff is black metal, MoRT probably isn't. I think Gnaw Their Tongues is probably the closest I've heard but I'd still say it falls into a different subset of music.
Mikyz - 24.05.2010 at 18:30  
Written by !J.O.O.E.! on 24.05.2010 at 17:34

You've kinda made my point really: groundbreaking does not equal breathtaking, one is a far more subjective concept than the other. It doesn't have to have mass appeal to be a groundbreaking release (surely the truly groundbreaking music would eschew and alienate musical norms), the fact you know of nothing else like it would qualify as groundbreaking in my eyes, and there's certainly an established fanbase for this album - I'm not saying it's going to revolutionise music but it has etched a particular niche for itself. It's a fairly moot issue really but I think direct comparison to their other releases is nonsensical as most of their other stuff is black metal, MoRT probably isn't. I think Gnaw Their Tongues is probably the closest I've heard but I'd still say it falls into a different subset of music.


Agreed.

I think that this album qualifies as Ambient/Industrial Black Metal with touches of Drone Doom, while not sounding similar to any of those specific genres. As a whole ethereal entity it does evoke an overly bleak atmosphere, so it certainly qualifies as Atmospheric Black Metal, but with the addition of the eerie soundscapes and guitar layers the Drone Doom sound doesn't seem foreign at all.
What I forgot to say before was that the album despite all of the feelings it awakens is redundant, so sitting through the whole album is, if you're not in the right mood, a challenge (shortening the album could lessen the yawning). All I'm saying is that is a good album that partially accomplishes what it aims at (for me).
Kenos - 23.02.2011 at 01:59  
Filthy, disgusting, horrible record. I adore it.
!J.O.O.E.! - 23.02.2011 at 02:09  
Written by Guest on 23.02.2011 at 01:59

Filthy, disgusting, horrible record. I adore it.

A man after my own heart who appreciates the truly vile things in life.
InnerSelf - 09.09.2011 at 04:00  
I hope this has a "Procession of Dead Clowns" or "Epitome 2" vibe cause those two songs are what I like most about BaN , I really appreciate their up-tempo BM parts and really love it in some cases but the approach on the former two songs is what keeps pulling me back to this band
!J.O.O.E.! - 09.09.2011 at 04:42  
Written by InnerSelf on 09.09.2011 at 04:00

I hope this has a "Procession of Dead Clowns" or "Epitome 2" vibe cause those two songs are what I like most about BaN , I really appreciate their up-tempo BM parts and really love it in some cases but the approach on the former two songs is what keeps pulling me back to this band

If you want the feel and tone of those two songs then I suggest avoiding this record altogether =P The only time you get anything like that is partway through track 5 and that's pretty much the only melody you get on this record. There are also no uptempo parts either.
InnerSelf - 09.09.2011 at 18:18  
Written by !J.O.O.E.! on 09.09.2011 at 04:42

Written by InnerSelf on 09.09.2011 at 04:00

I hope this has a "Procession of Dead Clowns" or "Epitome 2" vibe cause those two songs are what I like most about BaN , I really appreciate their up-tempo BM parts and really love it in some cases but the approach on the former two songs is what keeps pulling me back to this band

If you want the feel and tone of those two songs then I suggest avoiding this record altogether =P The only time you get anything like that is partway through track 5 and that's pretty much the only melody you get on this record. There are also no uptempo parts either.


Any part of their discography resembles those songs ?
and I'm gonna check it out anyway seems like it is something worth checking judging by your review
!J.O.O.E.! - 09.09.2011 at 18:20  
Written by InnerSelf on 09.09.2011 at 18:18


Any part of their discography resembles those songs ?
and I'm gonna check it out anyway seems like it is something worth checking judging by your review

Maybe some stuff on Thematic Emanation of Archetypal Multiplicity, a hugely underrated gem of an EP if you ask me. That aside, not really which is a shame as I love them the most when they do it like that.

Advertise on Metal Storm


Login or register to post here.



Similar topics

Forum Topic Similarity Started
Albums Blut Aus Nord - MoRT 10.5 01.12.2011 by InnerSelf
Reviews Blut Aus Nord - What Once Was... Liber I 9 24.10.2010 by
Reviews Blut Aus Nord - What Once Was... Liber II 9 01.08.2012 by Mr. Doctor
Reviews Blut Aus Nord - 777 - The Desanctification 7 16.02.2012 by The Galactican
Reviews Blut Aus Nord - Memoria Vetusta I - Fathers Of The Icy Age 7 12.04.2012 by InnerSelf



Hits total: 3626 | This month: 45