Rating:
8.0
Avantasia - Angel Of Babylon
3 April 2010


01. Stargazers
02. Angel Of Babylon
03. Your Love Is Evil
04. Death Is Just A Feeling
05. Rat Race
06. Down In The Dark
07. Blowing Out The Flame
08. Symphony Of Life
09. Alone I Remember
10. Promised Land
11. Journey To Arcadia


A couple of years after The Scarecrow shook things up, Tobi is back with not one, but two new albums of brand new material featuring the cream of metal's vocal talents. Don't expect Metal Opera all over again from these albums, stylistically they are not too dissimilar from the previous album, as they mix elements from power metal and stadium rock to good effect.

Angel Of Babylon initially feels like the weaker album of the two, regardless of the long power metal opener in "Stargazers", but given time is much more of a grower than its counterpart. Angel Of Babylon is almost the more experimental album, which is initially off-putting but it does certainly make ground given time. "Your Love Is Evil" might be the cheesy, radio-friendly pick from the album, but Tobi himself delivers a spectacular performance with this catchy chorus that will stick in your head for days. "Death Is Just A Feeling" has the feeling of "The Toy Master" from The Scarecrow, and although initially quite an off-putting song, turns out to be an equally spectacular song when in full swing.

Perhaps more so than The Wicked Symphony. Angel Of Babylon suffers more from dull tracks. "Rat Race", "Down In The Dark" and "Symphony Of Life" could have all never seen the light of day without many complaints. Where Angel Of Babylon far surpasses its counterpart however, is the last part of the album. This album has such a strong ending with two absolutely cracking songs with the flaring chorus of "Promised Land" and the true metal opera feeling of "Journey To Arcadia".

Angel Of Babylon might not start out as your preferred album, but it might just nudge the other one out of the way if given enough time to shine. More so than The Wicked Symphony, this is an album with perhaps higher highs, but lower lows. The material on this album isn't as safe, and inevitably some works extremely well, but also some doesn't.

The Wicked Symphony might be the slightly more solid album, but with the release of two albums at the same time, both have their high points and their dull moments. Your favourite depends entirely on if you prefer a full solid album, or an album with a bit more flair but also a bit more baggage. Regardless, both albums are a testament to Tobi's creative juices and ability to once again form such a magnificent array of guests for his albums. With two albums at the same time, we are the real winners.

Also, The Wicked Symphony review.

-

Power metal
Nuclear Blast
Germany
Length: 58:50

Performance: 9
Songwriting: 8
Originality: 9
Production: 10


Band profile: Avantasia
Album: Angel Of Babylon


 



Written on 29.05.2010 by
Baz Anderson
Member of Staff since 2006.
More reviews by Baz Anderson ››



Comments

‹‹ Back to the Reviews
Comments: 18  
Users visited: 314  
Search this topic:  


corrupt - 29.05.2010 at 00:47  
Baz, seriously. 8.0? I haven't listened to them and originally I planned not to. But if I applied my own rating scheme to your scale this album would play in the same league as Mercenary's 11 Dreams or Emperor's In The Nightside Eclipse. And that's a way bold statement, sir!
Baz Anderson - 29.05.2010 at 00:50  
Written by corrupt on 29.05.2010 at 00:47

Baz, seriously. 8.0? I haven't listened to them and originally I planned not to. But if I applied my own rating scheme to your scale this album would play in the same league as Mercenary's 11 Dreams or Emperor's In The Nightsiide Eclipse. And that's a way bold statement, sir!

Hahaha, then we probably think of the numbers a little differently. They are good albums, probably both better than "The Scarecrow". You can judge from that if you'd like these though.
corrupt - 29.05.2010 at 00:59  
Written by Baz Anderson on 29.05.2010 at 00:50

Hahaha, then we probably think of the numbers a little differently. They are good albums, probably both better than "The Scarecrow". You can judge from that if you'd like these though.

Seems like it. I'm one of the guys who can, by conviction, never give anything a 10 because nothing could then be better than that. If I remember correctly I initially wanted to give The Scarecrow a 7 and then made it a 6 after looking at the other albums I voted 7. I should probably give these two the benefit of the doubt and at least listen to them though. If just to prove my prejudices.
RafaRata - 29.05.2010 at 01:48  
Apparently I'm the only one who prefers Angel of Babylon to The Wicked Symphony...
Symphony of Life and Death is Just a Feeling are my favorites!!
Vykintas - 29.05.2010 at 02:03  
Written by RafaRata on 29.05.2010 at 01:48

Apparently I'm the only one who prefers Angel of Babylon to The Wicked Symphony...
Symphony of Life and Death is Just a Feeling are my favorites!!


These are my favorites too, considering both albums, but I prefer The Wicked Symphony overall too
Ag Fox - 29.05.2010 at 02:36  
I agree that Angel of Babylon initially appears weaker, but grows more later. well reviewed as usual, but what took you?
Baz Anderson - 29.05.2010 at 11:42  
Written by Ag Fox on 29.05.2010 at 02:36

I agree that Angel of Babylon initially appears weaker, but grows more later. well reviewed as usual, but what took you?

The label only sent them to me a couple of weeks ago.
stratorock666 - 29.05.2010 at 13:01  
I loved the scarecrow each song was its own thing, its own perfect little sound, each one as fulfilling as the last or next track. However, both these albums suffer from the same probnlem in my opinion: half of the album is up to scarecrow standard, great tracks, identifiable, excellent melodies, and the rest are just rather hollow, albeit not AWFUL, copies of these songs, like the scarecrow style on autopilot, if you will, be it the more up tempo melodic stuff or the hard rock and ballady stuff. same for both albums. dont think I would ever need to skip a song in particular, but like i said, half of both albums are made up of simply good to simply average tracks, basically i think theres to much filler spread across the set: if the best songs from both had been pulled together, Tobis would have had another absolute winner on his hands. as it stands I think he has churned out two good, enjoyable albums.
Ag Fox - 29.05.2010 at 13:51  
Written by stratorock666 on 29.05.2010 at 13:01

I loved the scarecrow each song was its own thing, its own perfect little sound, each one as fulfilling as the last or next track. However, both these albums suffer from the same probnlem in my opinion: half of the album is up to scarecrow standard, great tracks, identifiable, excellent melodies, and the rest are just rather hollow, albeit not AWFUL, copies of these songs, like the scarecrow style on autopilot, if you will, be it the more up tempo melodic stuff or the hard rock and ballady stuff. same for both albums. dont think I would ever need to skip a song in particular, but like i said, half of both albums are made up of simply good to simply average tracks, basically i think theres to much filler spread across the set: if the best songs from both had been pulled together, Tobis would have had another absolute winner on his hands. as it stands I think he has churned out two good, enjoyable albums.
I cannot agree more with you

Written by Baz Anderson on 29.05.2010 at 11:42

Written by Ag Fox on 29.05.2010 at 02:36

I agree that Angel of Babylon initially appears weaker, but grows more later. well reviewed as usual, but what took you?

The label only sent them to me a couple of weeks ago.

maybe because they are not selling as well as expected?
Baz Anderson - 29.05.2010 at 15:34  
Written by Ag Fox on 29.05.2010 at 13:51

maybe because they are not selling as well as expected?

I wouldn't have thought so. Some albums (like the new Immortal album) they only let us have after they have been released. They were probably just a bit slower with these.
BlankFile - 29.05.2010 at 19:24  
I agree with the reviewer for the most part. The Scarecrow was an ok album with some great songs, and others a bit forgettable. Angel of Babylon and the Wicked Symphony are for me superior releases than the Scarecrow. Mainly the Wicked Symphony. But well analysing the Angel of Babylon i think that the album starts of with a great power metal song "Stargazers", very catchy and fast. "The Angel of Babylon" is an awsome track aswell. I really like the chorus. I agree with Baz about "Your love is evil" and "Death is just a feeling". The first one is really cheesy, i think its more of a promo radio song. And the second one, initially, looks like a copy of the Toy Master from Scarecrow, but with some listenings it really grows on you and earns a place of its own. "Rat Race" and "Symphony of Life" are perhaps the weakest songs of this album. "Rat Race" is boring and "Symphony of Life" is out of place in this cd. The chick has a cool voice and all, but the song doesnt quite fit in the style of the album. The Remaining 4 tracks of the CD are for me the best definitly. "Blowing out the flame" is a beautifull power balad. "Alone i remember" has a great hard rock feel into it. Great song. And of course the epic power metal, "Promised Land" (Jorn is great in this one), and "Journey to Arcadia" it reminds me a lot of the essence of the Metal Opera.
Well in conclusion i have to say that The Angel of Babylon is a good release, but very similar to The Scarecrow, altough a bit better. It has great moments, but also it has some boring moments. Anyway take the time to listen and take your own conclusions. For me its an 8.
iMorphball - 30.05.2010 at 00:30  
Written by Ag Fox on 29.05.2010 at 13:51

Written by stratorock666 on 29.05.2010 at 13:01

I loved the scarecrow each song was its own thing, its own perfect little sound, each one as fulfilling as the last or next track. However, both these albums suffer from the same probnlem in my opinion: half of the album is up to scarecrow standard, great tracks, identifiable, excellent melodies, and the rest are just rather hollow, albeit not AWFUL, copies of these songs, like the scarecrow style on autopilot, if you will, be it the more up tempo melodic stuff or the hard rock and ballady stuff. same for both albums. dont think I would ever need to skip a song in particular, but like i said, half of both albums are made up of simply good to simply average tracks, basically i think theres to much filler spread across the set: if the best songs from both had been pulled together, Tobis would have had another absolute winner on his hands. as it stands I think he has churned out two good, enjoyable albums.
I cannot agree more with you

Written by Baz Anderson on 29.05.2010 at 11:42

Written by Ag Fox on 29.05.2010 at 02:36

I agree that Angel of Babylon initially appears weaker, but grows more later. well reviewed as usual, but what took you?

The label only sent them to me a couple of weeks ago.

maybe because they are not selling as well as expected?


Oh no, these albums were chart toppers actually, they've been selling VERY well. o-o
Enemy of Reality - 30.05.2010 at 16:42  
I agree with the reviews. The Wicked Symphony is quite better than Angel of Babylon. Only the stand out tracks differ, which it always depends on personal taste, Symphony of Life, for example, i wouldn't skip it, it's a fine track. The best for me still are: The Wicked Symphony title track, Dying For An Angel and Death is Just a Feeling. I usually fast forward Scales of Justice...
The Shape 1973 - 30.05.2010 at 23:52  
Written by Enemy of Reality on 30.05.2010 at 16:42

I agree with the reviews. The Wicked Symphony is quite better than Angel of Babylon. Only the stand out tracks differ, which it always depends on personal taste, Symphony of Life, for example, i wouldn't skip it, it's a fine track. The best for me still are: The Wicked Symphony title track, Dying For An Angel and Death is Just a Feeling. I usually fast forward Scales of Justice...

fast forward Scales of Justice... Why? thats the best track on the album.
Enemy of Reality - 31.05.2010 at 23:30  
Written by The Shape 1973 on 30.05.2010 at 23:52

Written by Enemy of Reality on 30.05.2010 at 16:42

I agree with the reviews. The Wicked Symphony is quite better than Angel of Babylon. Only the stand out tracks differ, which it always depends on personal taste, Symphony of Life, for example, i wouldn't skip it, it's a fine track. The best for me still are: The Wicked Symphony title track, Dying For An Angel and Death is Just a Feeling. I usually fast forward Scales of Justice...

fast forward Scales of Justice... Why? thats the best track on the album.


It's not the worst either.. but it's between some of the songs i like most, so...i skip it! Love the chorus though! And Owens vocals too!
CliffordBugten - 29.06.2010 at 16:02  
Well written review. The album gave me the exact same impression. However, I would've given it a higher rating, perhaps 9.0, because I think the stronger songs are in fact so strong that they make this album an all time power metal classic. Also, I think Tobias Sammet should be commended for the amount of effort he has put into the making of these albums. The songwriting, the production, and all the talented guest musicians. Tobias dares to do what others don't, and he does it well.
thehamburglar - 16.08.2010 at 11:38  
Written by corrupt on 29.05.2010 at 00:47

Baz, seriously. 8.0? I haven't listened to them and originally I planned not to. But if I applied my own rating scheme to your scale this album would play in the same league as Mercenary's 11 Dreams or Emperor's In The Nightside Eclipse. And that's a way bold statement, sir!

dude it sux what are you tslking about lame
Ellrohir - 16.12.2012 at 00:45  
"Stargazers" and "Death Is Just A Feeling" are great

Advertise on Metal Storm


Login or register to post here.



Similar topics

Forum Topic Similarity Started
Reviews Avantasia - The Wicked Symphony 8 29.05.2010 by corrupt
Reviews Avantasia - The Scarecrow 7.5 24.01.2008 by Bas
Albums Avantasia - The Wicked Symphony / Angel Of Babylon [Boxset] 6 30.03.2010 by The Shape 1973
Reviews Angel Of Eden - The End Of Never 6 25.11.2007 by
Albums Avantasia - Angel Of Babylon 6 31.03.2010 by iMorphball



Hits total: 6718 | This month: 47