Rating:
7.5
Everything After Zero - Everything After Zero [EP]
26 May 2010


01. Seize The Day
02. King Of The Hill
03. Palate
04. Porky's Rant
05. Away From
06. Chiasmus
07. Hey Man I Know


It's weird how years and years of ones established beliefs and certain prejudices can all be shattered by one sound. As you could probably tell fairly easily by the name, Everything After Zero is a metal-core band - that means shrill screaming, good-cop/bad-cop vocals, and no songs about dragons...or goats...or sadomasochism or all the type of stuff we all know you like. Despite playing a genre that most people (including myself) cringe at the sound of, this ain't a bad EP at all.

One thing Everything After Zero made apparent to me is that Metal-core is a lot like thrash in one aspect; although there are a few decent mainstream acts out there, it is best performed by younger people who are hungry as fuck: It's hard to convince people your contrived passion & rage is genuine when you've got Roadrunner's golden dick jammed in your ear. That's what this EP proves, it's well produced enough to have the melodies & solos (which are tastefully placed) come through with clarity, but left with enough rough edges to be actually believable. It balances the young sounding intensity with mature sounding melodic passages, at moments where the guitar would easily fit into some of prog-metals most renowned albums. Symmetry is always appreciated.

Would I call this debut of the century? No. Does it make me want to frantically dive deeper into metal-core? Not really. This is just a solid band flat-out, don't expect any outrageous surprises of any kind if you hate the genre already. On the other hand if you can appreciate some of the more impressive acts out there like Dillinger Escape Plan or Protest The Hero without any prejudices, this will definitely be a band to check out.

Performance: 9
Songwriting: 8
Originality: 6
Production: 8


 



Written on 01.06.2010 by
Doc Godin
Former EIC. Now just a reviewer guy.
More reviews by Doc Godin ››



Comments

‹‹ Back to the Reviews
Comments: 5  
Users visited: 99  
Search this topic:  


Fat & Sassy! - 02.06.2010 at 05:09  
*Doc reviews metal-core EP*

..........*Hell freezes over*
Doc Godin - 02.06.2010 at 05:39  
Written by Fat & Sassy! on 02.06.2010 at 05:09

*Doc reviews metal-core EP*

..........*Hell freezes over*

I don't hate all Metalcore, like I said, I enjoy Dillinger Escape Plan and Protest The Hero, in other words - well written metalcore.
Slyfang - 03.06.2010 at 13:29  
Written by Doc Godin on 02.06.2010 at 05:39

Written by Fat & Sassy! on 02.06.2010 at 05:09

*Doc reviews metal-core EP*

..........*Hell freezes over*

I don't hate all Metalcore, like I said, I enjoy Dillinger Escape Plan and Protest The Hero, in other words - well written metalcore.


metalcore'ish vocals and live performances don't make Dillinger Escape Plan metalcore. they're an entirely different beast
Doc Godin - 19.06.2010 at 22:52  
Written by Slyfang on 03.06.2010 at 13:29

Written by Doc Godin on 02.06.2010 at 05:39

Written by Fat & Sassy! on 02.06.2010 at 05:09

*Doc reviews metal-core EP*

..........*Hell freezes over*

I don't hate all Metalcore, like I said, I enjoy Dillinger Escape Plan and Protest The Hero, in other words - well written metalcore.


metalcore'ish vocals and live performances don't make Dillinger Escape Plan metalcore. they're an entirely different beast

I'd consider them Metalcore, though a different strand of the genre. It's like any other subgenre, just because a band stands out with some new ideas doesn't put them in a different sub-genre.
Slyfang - 20.06.2010 at 06:03  
Written by Doc Godin on 19.06.2010 at 22:52

Written by Slyfang on 03.06.2010 at 13:29

Written by Doc Godin on 02.06.2010 at 05:39

Written by Fat & Sassy! on 02.06.2010 at 05:09

*Doc reviews metal-core EP*

..........*Hell freezes over*

I don't hate all Metalcore, like I said, I enjoy Dillinger Escape Plan and Protest The Hero, in other words - well written metalcore.


metalcore'ish vocals and live performances don't make Dillinger Escape Plan metalcore. they're an entirely different beast

I'd consider them Metalcore, though a different strand of the genre. It's like any other subgenre, just because a band stands out with some new ideas doesn't put them in a different sub-genre.


they both have roots in hardcore, but to lump Dillinger together with metalcore bands is just ignorant. it's not 'some new ideas', it's an entirely different approach, which does qualify them for a different subgenre. give Ire Works a quick spin, and i think you'd agree with me

Advertise on Metal Storm


Login or register to post here.



Similar topics

Forum Topic Similarity Started
Reviews Everything Went Black - Cycles Of Light 6 18.01.2012 by Mikyz
Reviews After Party Massacre 6 11.11.2011 by malaikat
Reviews Hayagriva - Descendant XII 4.5 17.05.2012 by Troy Killjoy
Reviews Black Moor - Lethal Waters 4.5 25.08.2012 by Mr. Doctor
Reviews 16 - Deep Cuts From Dark Clouds 4.5 27.04.2012 by Boxcar Willy



Hits total: 3138 | This month: 35