Rating:
6.2
Damageplan - New Found Power
10 February 2004


01. Wake Up
02. Breathing New Life
03. New Found Power
04. Pride
05. Fuck You [feat. Corey Taylor]
06. Reborn [feat. Zakk Wylde]
07. Explode
08. Save Me
09. Cold Blooded
10. Crawl
11. Blink Of An Eye
12. Blunt Force Trauma
13. Moment Of Truth
14. Soul Bleed [feat. Zakk Wylde]
15. Ashes To Ashes [feat. Jerry Cantrell][Japanese bonus]


Following the conflicts between the members of Pantera, particularly Phil Anselmo and Dimebag/Vinnie which led to their breakup, the two still wanted to record and perform music, and so New Found Power was born. A demo of "Crawl" was sent to ex-Halford guitarist Pat Lachman who became their vocalist and tattoo artist Robert "Bob Zilla" Kakaha. Later, they changed their name to Damageplan and New Found Power was instead chosen as the title of their first and only album.

Sadly, the music isn't as good as what would be expected from this lineup. Okay, so Pat actually does a decent job at vocals, mixing clean and shouting vocals and even managing to create a vibrato. Although not living up to Phil Anselmo, he's good. Bob's bass lines are inaudible at times but overall they don't possess much technicality, even still it flows with the music.

Now, on to Dimebag, he's a skilled and respected guitarist in the metal community, and for a good reason but in this album he relies on more smoothed out, muffled groove riffs with a so-and-so solo here and there, as well as some typical chugging. There's actually nothing memorable from him here, although his riffs do turn out to be catchy at times ("Save Me" and "Blunt Force Trauma"). Vinnie's drumming in this one is nothing spectacular either, but there are some good patterns. So, even though there are some good groove parts, the instrumentals fall short.

The album includes vocal contributions from Zakk Wylde ("Reborn", "Soul Bleed"), Corey Taylor ("Fuck You") and Jerry Cantrell ("Ashes to Ashes"). Cantrell actually does a good job in this, giving the song a somewhat Alice in Chains-esque feel. This, "Breathing New Life", "Save Me" and "Blunt Force Trauma" are the most noteworthy tracks from the album.

In conclusion, Damageplan's effort is weak in comparison to Pantera's catalog and wasn't a good final album from an otherwise skilled guitarist, Dimebag Darrell, who would later be fatally shot in a concert at Columbus, Ohio in December 2004.

Performance: 8
Songwriting: 7
Originality: 6
Production: 7


Band profile: Damageplan
Album: New Found Power


 


written by vezzy | 16.06.2010


Guest review disclaimer:
This is a guest review, which means it does not necessarily represent the point of view of the MS Staff.



Comments

‹‹ Back to the Reviews
Comments: 16  
Users visited: 105  
Search this topic:  


Walter Iego - 17.06.2010 at 15:52  
The album is OK...
Regolith - 26.11.2011 at 20:38  
Good review, I agree with pretty much everything you said.

While in the Marines I fell in love with all of Pantera's catalogue (2000-2004 - late bloomer, I know). Around the time I got out Pantera had split and...you know the rest. For whatever reason I decided in my mind that I was either going to follow Phil and his new band (Superjoint Ritual) or the brothers (as if I counldn't do both. I'm not sure what I was thinking).

Well, given I'm not as much of a vocals guy as I am a guitar/drum guy (and given it was Pantera's string'n'drum work that really did it for me) I decided to follow the Abbot bros and pick up Damageplan.

Now, I wouldn't say it was a terrible decision, in fact, with hind-sight it was the right one. NFP is groovy, decently heavy and great to work-out to, but it's not all that memorable. I lost the album years ago and I'm sitting here trying to recall just one riff and ------ nope, can't do it. Just the vocal line in 'Blunt Force Trauma' is all that my brain can muster up. By no means is this a dis to Dime - he's already nailed down his place in metal guitarist history - just an honest critique.

Nevertheless, I had many a good workout session to DP and, if anything, it was worth following the masterminds of Pantera to whatever end - if only for a little fun.
Troy Killjoy - 26.11.2011 at 22:23  
Somehow even worse than anything Pantera ever released.

And that's saying a lot.
doyle777 - 13.12.2011 at 05:16  
This album is great... Well, not great, very good. That's just my opinion, tough.
Marcus - 14.12.2011 at 03:48  
Can't really remember much of it, but I do remember digging it when i was like 13. Maybe that says something about the album...
Troy Killjoy - 14.12.2011 at 05:33  
Written by Marcus on 14.12.2011 at 03:48
Can't really remember much of it, but I do remember digging it when i was like 13. Maybe that says something about the album...

I was actually 15 when I first heard this, but I feel the same way about it. I thought it was pretty good back then (probably a 7.5/10) but I'd probably give it a 4.5 or so now.
Marcus - 14.12.2011 at 07:27  
Written by Troy Killjoy on 14.12.2011 at 05:33

I was actually 15 when I first heard this, but I feel the same way about it. I thought it was pretty good back then (probably a 7.5/10) but I'd probably give it a 4.5 or so now.

I haven't heard it since but I can easily see how such a low rating would be warranted. However, you don't like Pantera so gtfo!
Troy Killjoy - 14.12.2011 at 07:31  
Written by Marcus on 14.12.2011 at 07:27
However, you don't like Pantera so gtfo!

Pff, same shit different band.
Marcel Hubregtse - 14.12.2011 at 08:54  
Written by Troy Killjoy on 14.12.2011 at 07:31

Written by Marcus on 14.12.2011 at 07:27
However, you don't like Pantera so gtfo!

Pff, same shit different band.


Pantera is infinitely superior to this drivel album, although Pantera's Power Metal album does come close.
Troy Killjoy - 14.12.2011 at 08:58  
I don't think I've ever listened to power metal-era Pantera... although from what I hear (from fans of power metal and not from tough guy Pantera fans) their earlier releases were actually good compared to other releases in the genre.

Which means I haven't ever bothered to check them out... but still. I should listen to a couple songs at least just to see what all the fuss is about (good and bad, depending on who you're talking to).
Marcel Hubregtse - 14.12.2011 at 09:08  
Written by Troy Killjoy on 14.12.2011 at 08:58

I don't think I've ever listened to power metal-era Pantera... although from what I hear (from fans of power metal and not from tough guy Pantera fans) their earlier releases were actually good compared to other releases in the genre.

Which means I haven't ever bothered to check them out... but still. I should listen to a couple songs at least just to see what all the fuss is about (good and bad, depending on who you're talking to).


I am talking about the album called Power Metal (the first one with Phil on vocals) not about the albums before, those albums are veryg ood for their US Power Metal style.
Angelic Storm - 14.12.2011 at 09:37  
I always saw Damageplan as a poor man's Pantera. There's not much on this album to write home about really. It's a shame the last album featuring Dime had to be such a lacklustre one...
BoxCar Willy - 10.02.2012 at 21:32  
I feel the same way, weak album. 6.5 for me.
vezzy - 10.02.2012 at 21:58  
Written by BoxCar Willy on 10.02.2012 at 21:32

I feel the same way, weak album. 6.5 for me.


6.5 is not a weak score.

Reason I didn't give it a lower score, is because I was a newbie reviewer and a pussy who feared severe retribution from disgruntled folk if I gave an album less than a 6.
BoxCar Willy - 10.02.2012 at 22:05  
Written by vezzy on 10.02.2012 at 21:58

Written by BoxCar Willy on 10.02.2012 at 21:32

I feel the same way, weak album. 6.5 for me.


6.5 is not a weak score.

Reason I didn't give it a lower score, is because I was a newbie reviewer and a pussy who feared severe retribution from disgruntled folk if I gave an album less than a 6.

Well I mean, 6 is average, so I suppose mine should be closer than to that.

6/10
Cuca Beludo - 12.02.2012 at 00:54  
Very tragic end for this great guitarrist. Even more stupid "fan".

Advertise on Metal Storm


Login or register to post here.



Similar topics

Forum Topic Similarity Started
Albums Damageplan - New Found Power 7.5 26.02.2012 by Big-Al
News Power Quest - Issue New Album Update 3 09.08.2010 by The Shape 1973
News Iced Earth - New Guitarist Found 3 15.10.2006 by RavenLord
News Agathodaimon - New Drummer Found, Search Still On For Vocalist 3 16.07.2008 by Witcher
News Power Quest - New Song Online 3 26.01.2011 by Kingface



Hits total: 3509 | This month: 36