Rating:
3.5
Dperd - Io Sono Un Errore
23 April 2010


01. Don't Forget The Mobile
02. Non Mi Tradirei Mai
03. Ho Paura, Sai
04. Inverno
05. Travel Song
06. In Giorni Lontani
07. Ogni Volta
08. Cold Song
09. Kinshasha
10. Democrazia E Dittatura [bonus]


You know, metal isn't the only type of music that can sound good, there are also really good bands outside of our heavy little genre. I'm not talking about some solid hard rock either. What I'm talking about is a style that finds itself in the most serene and atmospheric spheres of music. In a way it seems simplistic, yet at the same time its otherworldly but calm nature works like a soothing balm upon the soul...

Atmospheric spheres my ass. To tell you the truth, Dperd is a likely top contender for the dullest, most uninspired, most nerve-racking bands I've had the 'pleasure' of reviewing. The album title Io Sono Un Errore - literally 'I am a mistake' - couldn't be more appropriate. Indeed, actually the whole album is basically a 43 minute, immensely irritating fit of searching for the tiniest bit of inspiration, finding none and hoping that the responsible musicians will quit writing music for good.

The worst thing about this abomination aren't the intense hate-inspiring synths that seem to drag on forever, nor the drum machine which, weren't it a machine, would be severely endangered of boredom-related suicide, or even the gruesome 'gothic' female vocals that would be too boring, annoying, penetrating and prude for even the most forgiving of church choirs (the - luckily scant - male vocals are even worse than the female ones by the way).

No, the worst thing about this CD isn't that any single part or track is really that extremely bad. But rather that there is not a single redeeming quality to be found throughout the complete album. Not a single enjoyable synth lead, no successful experiment, the absence of even a single nice vocal part and not a trace of inspiration. Usually I try to find some good things in even the worst releases (this is something I do for my own mental stability) but on this album I just failed. There wasn't a single second I enjoyed in any kind of way.

One of the most boring albums I've ever heard.

Performance: 5
Songwriting: 3
Originality: 3
Production: 6


 


written by Bas | 20.06.2010



Comments

‹‹ Back to the Reviews
Comments: 14  
Users visited: 134  
Search this topic:  


Got Mayhem? - 20.06.2010 at 19:06  
Whoa...yea you're right. I tried listening to some tracks and I swear I've heard these melodies at some other time before. Boring indeed.
Troy Killjoy - 20.06.2010 at 19:49  
I checked their MySpace but didn't couldn't make it through the first song.
Uirapuru - 20.06.2010 at 19:57  
At least to me, it did not sound as horrendous as the review says... you probably didn't hear it in the right mood Bas.

I've heard worse.
Lord_Regnier - 20.06.2010 at 20:13  
It's indeed incredibly boring. But there's something I don't understand about this review. What does it have to do on a Metal board?
Because there's nothing metal about the songs I heard. I would call this 'relaxation music', though it is way too bad to be relaxing in any enjoyable way.
Troy Killjoy - 21.06.2010 at 02:15  
Written by Lord_Regnier on 20.06.2010 at 20:13

It's indeed incredibly boring. But there's something I don't understand about this review. What does it have to do on a Metal board?
Because there's nothing metal about the songs I heard. I would call this 'relaxation music', though it is way too bad to be relaxing in any enjoyable way.

They are signed to a label that has a roster filled with metal bands. They are obviously promoting these guys to the metal community as they seem to believe there is potential for crossing over into a metal fanbase. Highly unlikely by the sounds of their material though...
Lord_Regnier - 21.06.2010 at 03:41  
Written by Troy Killjoy on 21.06.2010 at 02:15

They are signed to a label that has a roster filled with metal bands. They are obviously promoting these guys to the metal community as they seem to believe there is potential for crossing over into a metal fanbase. Highly unlikely by the sounds of their material though...


I think they won't get many fans, metalheads or not. Some albums simply suck, regardless of the genre they belong to, and this album is one of them.
BudDa - 21.06.2010 at 09:54  
3.5?!
Oh Bas *sighs*..u r at it again..
Dark Blood - 21.06.2010 at 11:28  
Damn thats low... Though it IS pretty boring and the production is quite awful, but isn't 3.5 a little bit too low..? I heard worse than this.
Lord_Regnier - 21.06.2010 at 14:30  
Written by Dark Blood on 21.06.2010 at 11:28

Damn thats low... Though it IS pretty boring and the production is quite awful, but isn't 3.5 a little bit too low..? I heard worse than this.


Why would it be low? Things like that are useless crap, no value. To tell the truth, I would often give shitty albums a negative rating, would it be possible, because I can't find any redeeming feature in them, nothing positive to say.
Troy Killjoy - 21.06.2010 at 15:49  
Written by Lord_Regnier on 21.06.2010 at 14:30

...nothing positive to say.

Nothing positive to say? What about the fact that it would make for a perfect lullaby soundtrack. Imagine all the children it could help put to sleep.
Bas - 21.06.2010 at 16:32  
Written by Lord_Regnier on 20.06.2010 at 20:13

It's indeed incredibly boring. But there's something I don't understand about this review. What does it have to do on a Metal board?
Because there's nothing metal about the songs I heard. I would call this 'relaxation music', though it is way too bad to be relaxing in any enjoyable way.

As Troy said, it's sent by a label with a mostly metal roster and a couple of non-metal bands too. Some of them are very good and are likely to appeal to metalheads (for example Nihil Novi Sub Sole). Personally I listen to a lot of non-metal bands and enjoy a wide variety of genres, that's why I don't see a problem with just reviweing whatever they send my way. It's always a hit or miss thing, but I'd say it's worth the try.

Written by Uirapuru on 20.06.2010 at 19:57

At least to me, it did not sound as horrendous as the review says... you probably didn't hear it in the right mood Bas.

Honestly, I don't think there is a right mood for this album, if there is I hope not to be in it

Written by Dark Blood on 21.06.2010 at 11:28

Damn thats low... Though it IS pretty boring and the production is quite awful, but isn't 3.5 a little bit too low..? I heard worse than this.

Of course, I've heard worse too, but that doesn't make this any better than it is. If I get a record for reviewing that's worse than that, it'll just get an even lower rating

Written by BudDa on 21.06.2010 at 09:54

3.5?!
Oh Bas *sighs*..u r at it again..

Hey it's not my fault, I'm only giving them what they deserve
Uirapuru - 21.06.2010 at 21:46  
Well.. I may not completly agree with the rate. But seeing non-metal reviews here is always good news to me
Fat & Sassy! - 22.06.2010 at 01:06  
After listening to a few tracks off their MySpace, I was expecting worse based off this review. I was actually expecting something much more bleak. Do you listen to a lot of this stuff? Because it's easy to imagine some people actually digging it. I can understand that listening to the whole album would drive someone mad who hates it to begin with though.
Doc Godin - 22.06.2010 at 08:04  
A 3.5 for Bas is usually a 4 for anyone else.

...But yeah, this is pretty boring, the vocalists even sound bored.

Advertise on Metal Storm


Login or register to post here.



Similar topics

Forum Topic Similarity Started
Reviews Ingrimm - Böses Blut 3 30.08.2010 by Promonex
Reviews Toxxic Toyz - F.E.A.R. 3 06.07.2008 by Valentin B
Reviews Aura - A Different View From The Same Side 3 19.02.2009 by Dane Train
Reviews Life's Decay - Dysrieuses 3 09.02.2010 by silenius
Reviews Corpus - The Rise 3 01.10.2009 by 105er



Hits total: 3110 | This month: 13