Rating:
7.7
Exodus - Exhibit B: The Human Condition
7 May 2010


01. The Ballad Of Leonard And Charles
02. Beyond The Pale
03. Hammer And Life
04. Class Dismissed (A Hate Primer)
05. Downfall
06. March Of The Sycophants
07. Nanking
08. Burn, Hollywood, Burn
09. Democide
10. The Sun Is My Destroyer
11. A Perpetual State Of Indifference
12. Good Riddance
13. Devil's Teeth [bonus]


So Exodus is back, again, with Exhibit B: The Human Condition after a relatively short (for them) layoff. The Bay Area Bashers have returned doing what they do best, wreaking havoc and crushing skulls.

The H&H Guitar tandem (this time, Holt and Heathen's Lee Altus) have concocted some monstrously crushing riffs and shredding leads. Jack Gibson provides some great support on bass, Tom Hunting treats his kit like I treat my monkey (he often misbehaves and I must spank him frequently) and the band's third front man, Rob Dukes froths and spits at the mic with fantastic venom, bile, and power... cementing his place as an equal to the monstrous combat boots of his predecessors.

In short, every conceivable component you could hope for in an Exodus (or any Thrash) album is present in droves. Plenty of droves. In fact, too much droves. And that is one of this album's two biggest drawbacks.

The first is "droves". It's seven hours long. Okay, maybe not seven hours, but it feels like it. It's one thing for a doom band kicking out the jams at 5bpm to record a 70+ minute album. It's another for a band with the madcap adrenaline of an Exodus to put one out. It's a test of mental and physical endurance to get through this album on one pass. While they deserve a lot of credit for giving listeners the max (literal) bang for the buck, sometimes, as that horns-tossing metal dude Shakespeare once quoth, "Brevity is the soul of Thrash"... there is a reason the genre's best (Reign In Blood, Bonded By Blood, Peace Sells Blood, Master Of Blood, Eternal Bloodmare, and Darkness Descends... In Blood) all clock in in the 30-40 minute range. It's that everyone needs to visit the little girl's room to take a powder and catch their breath after flailing around the club/dance floor/their room like a crackhead after a fix.

And the shorter the album, the easier it is to be impressed to the point of saying "WHOA! That was awesome! Let's play that again!"

Less Filler. All Killer.

The other is inconsistency. Some tracks are killer, such as "Beyond The Pale" and "Class Dismissed". Others feel a bit like filler, as in "Hammer and Life" and "Democide". With so much material to work with, it seems to yours truly that cutting 70 minutes of bruising material (and even the "B" material of B is bruising) into 40 would have created a legendary thrash album.

That all stated, when Exodus are on, they are ON... full throttle, full bottle. No fucking mercy. This album should be shipped immediately to Team Metallica and the Slayer Squad (and Megadave and whoever the fuck makes up Anthrax this week, just to be safe) as this is how a modern thrash album should sound. The production is fantastic and combined with the execution of the band members, (their playing, not their beheading!) the end result is this album kicks the listeners ass like World Painted Magnetic could only dream of.

"Beyond The Pale", "Class Dismissed" and the fantastic closer, perfect for the spot, "Good Riddance" treat the listener like Mel Gibson treats his ex-mistresses.

And, finally, my favorite track. I just want to say, I fucking hate Los Angeles. I loathe it. A metro area greater in size/populations than some countries chock full of pLAstic people with pLAstic ambitions. "It's not who you are, it's who you know." "What you drive determines who you drive home." Virtually every negative stereotype of Americans can be directed at the vacuous wastes of flesh that live in 902XX... I honestly believe the Earth would be a better place when "The Big One" (that's an earthquake for those unfamiliar with the tectonic habits of the region) finally hits and dumps that shit hole of botox and plastic to the bottom of the ocean. The average Barbie doll contains more humanity than the average Los Angelino. Fuck 'em. Fuck the lot of 'em.

That said and done, "Burn, Hollywood, Burn" is not only my favorite track on the album, but comes dangerously close to catching such stalwarts as "Toxic Waltz" and "Bonded By Blood" as my fave Exodus song of all time. It's my new anthem.

Seriously. If the "buy this reviewer a beer" function worked... and you bastards actually clicked it from time to time, I would bump all proceeds to help score the band some hookers and blow just for this track. Fuck Hollywood, Hail Exodus.

So there you have it, my review of Exodus' latest. If yer a fan, you probably already got it, and if not, I have to question why you clicked the link in the first place, and must urge you go out and hit up the local record store for whatever Exodus they have.

Performance: 8
Songwriting: 7
Originality: 6
Production: 9


Band profile: Exodus
Album: Exhibit B: The Human Condition


 



Written on 10.07.2010 by
BitterCOld
BitterCOld has been officially reviewing albums for MetalStorm since 2009.
More reviews by BitterCOld ››

Guest review by
Mr. Sizzle

Rating:
8.7
With the birth of The Big Four, we have all basked among the glory of albums like Master Of Puppets, Reign in Blood, Peace Sells and Among The Living, and also the tier two bands such as Testament, Death Angel, Overkill, Annihilator and yes, Exodus. The only difference though is that The Big Four started to slowly descend from their holy rankings. Have the tier two bands descended down yet? Not even close.

Read more ››
published 27.11.2010 | Comments (14)



Comments

‹‹ Back to the Reviews
Comments: 27  
Users visited: 382  
Search this topic:  


vezzy - 10.07.2010 at 10:43  
I usually dislike these kinds of reviews, but nice job. Except the "droves" overexaggeration.
!J.O.O.E.! - 10.07.2010 at 12:49  
Paragraphs Mr. COLD! Paragraphs!
Ag Fox - 10.07.2010 at 16:11  
Sums up everything nicely. *thumbs up*
Got Mayhem? - 10.07.2010 at 19:15  
Burn , Hollywood, Burn is indeed one hell of a song. It constantly puts my neck in serious danger of snapping off. Absolutely correct about the length of this album as well. It isn't that thrash can't have long songs and still be brilliant ( Vektor are one of the best examples), it's just that it doesn't really work with this kind of thrash.
Daggon - 10.07.2010 at 19:20  
This is one of the greatest reviews I've ever read here in Metal Storm, fuck those boring and soulless reviews!

As you said, they all are masters in what they do, I mean, no one, really NO ONE can play like Gary Holt, his guitar riffing is the band's trademark, add Lee Altus to the equation and you got deadly package more dangerous than Tango & Cash.

Gibson and Hunting are great as always in the album. And I'd like to give my sincere congratulations to Rob Dukes, I think he is getting better and better with each album, now he really sounds like a fucking Exodus singer!

And as you said Mr. BitterCold "Less Filler, All Killer", 70 minutes! 70 freaking minutes!!! Really, I don't know why they write long songs, why do you write a 7 minute song when you can write a 4 minute unforgettable anthem? I really don't know.

Amazing review! You made my day with this
His Eminence - 10.07.2010 at 19:28  
Great review. I agree with pretty much everything here.
vezzy - 10.07.2010 at 20:06  
Written by Daggon on 10.07.2010 at 19:20

This is one of the greatest reviews I've ever read here in Metal Storm, fuck those boring and soulless reviews!

As you said, they all are masters in what they do, I mean, no one, really NO ONE can play like Gary Holt, his guitar riffing is the band's trademark, add Lee Altus to the equation and you got deadly package more dangerous than Tango & Cash.

Gibson and Hunting are great as always in the album. And I'd like to give my sincere congratulations to Rob Dukes, I think he is getting better and better with each album, now he really sounds like a fucking Exodus singer!

And as you said Mr. BitterCold "Less Filler, All Killer", 70 minutes! 70 freaking minutes!!! Really, I don't know why they write long songs, why do you write a 7 minute song when you can write a 4 minute unforgettable anthem? I really don't know.

Amazing review! You made my day with this


I take it you aren't a big fan of Herzebeth's reviews.
oroboros - 11.07.2010 at 00:25  
Written by vezzy on 10.07.2010 at 20:06

Written by Daggon on 10.07.2010 at 19:20

This is one of the greatest reviews I've ever read here in Metal Storm, fuck those boring and soulless reviews!

As you said, they all are masters in what they do, I mean, no one, really NO ONE can play like Gary Holt, his guitar riffing is the band's trademark, add Lee Altus to the equation and you got deadly package more dangerous than Tango & Cash.

Gibson and Hunting are great as always in the album. And I'd like to give my sincere congratulations to Rob Dukes, I think he is getting better and better with each album, now he really sounds like a fucking Exodus singer!

And as you said Mr. BitterCold "Less Filler, All Killer", 70 minutes! 70 freaking minutes!!! Really, I don't know why they write long songs, why do you write a 7 minute song when you can write a 4 minute unforgettable anthem? I really don't know.

Amazing review! You made my day with this


I take it you aren't a big fan of Herzebeth's reviews.

lol
Kwis - 11.07.2010 at 01:36  
Compared to Mr Dukes, Mr Mustaine and Mr Hetfield (post 2000's) really do sound like 3rd grade vocalists. It's scary how heavy this sounds in comparison with Death Magnetic.
frankeli - 11.07.2010 at 02:54  
It is a killer album. The perfect blend of chopping riffs and melody. In my opinion, it deserves a much higher ranking.
Amatsu Mikaboshi - 11.07.2010 at 04:13  
One hell of great review, there should be more of them like this with this amount of character. Awesome one.

Favourites have to be the opener about Lake and Ng, "Class Dissmised", "Nanking", "Democide" and "The Sun Is My Destroyer" are also among them. Rob seems to try out different sounds and vocal styles with the latter two songs I've known and the length never really bothered me and just becomes more and more obscure everytime...
K†ulu - 11.07.2010 at 18:03  
I agree with most points... indeed, why the heck did they make the album that long? After reading the review I decided to give it a listen again, and I've got to say that it actually does kick ass. Just great thrash assault; a treat to my ears.
BudDa - 11.07.2010 at 20:30  
Probably, it would be safe to listen to this album in bits. Theres tons of stuff in here to make me wet my pants for a whole week. The shorter tracks esp Devil's teeth and Burn Hollywood Burn are superb. Some longer tracks need time getting into but they are still fantansic when listened to time and again. I also quite like Democide

Nice review BitterCold
SBGMetal - 11.07.2010 at 21:09  
I do believe this album was way awesome and way heavy! fav tracks are the first two and the sun is my destroyer the rest is also very good... i also dont believe that the long songs are a bad thing its almost like having a thrash journey of heavy fast riffs and solos
Daggon - 12.07.2010 at 00:26  
Written by vezzy on 10.07.2010 at 20:06

I take it you aren't a big fan of Herzebeth's reviews.


I do love Herzebeth's reviews, but oh well, he left the site a long time ago, so I haven't seen a review like this in a while
BitterCOld - 16.07.2010 at 07:42  
Written by Daggon on 10.07.2010 at 19:20

Amazing review! You made my day with this


thanks for the compliments. i was pretty drunk (and jacked up on the actual album) when i wrote it. glad to see it well received!
DoomGuard - 18.07.2010 at 20:48  
This is probably one of the funniest, and most entertaining reviews on this site. The droves exaggeration was hysterical, the Hollywood bit was funny, and you described everything so well. I'm a big fan of Exodus, and am ashamed I don't have this album yet. But I'm definitely going out to get it now!
Demonic Tutor - 20.07.2010 at 03:39  
Written by DoomGuard on 18.07.2010 at 20:48

This is probably one of the funniest, and most entertaining reviews on this site. The droves exaggeration was hysterical, the Hollywood bit was funny, and you described everything so well. I'm a big fan of Exodus, and am ashamed I don't have this album yet. But I'm definitely going out to get it now!


I second that big time. That review made my day (in unrelated news, my life is pathetic).
DirkLizzard - 05.02.2011 at 21:03  
Great review., I fully agree, though 'The Sun is My Destroyer' is my favourite song.

And hey, if "The Big One" doesn't show up, you can always drive around Hollywood with your windows down and this monster roaring from your speakers. I'm sure the plastic people will get a headache from that .
VloRD - 03.03.2011 at 14:32  
Awesome Review, 'Class dismissed' was my favorite song
Mattybu - 17.07.2011 at 03:11  
Very good review. Not only was it funny, it got the point across very well. Burn, Hollywood, Burn is one of my favourite songs as well
Lit. - 13.10.2011 at 22:55  
Agreed that the length kills what could've made this a damn fine album, but it's got a lot of awesome bits like Burn, Hollywood, Burn; Beyond the Pale; and my personal fav, The Ballad of Leonard and Charles.
sepulkisser - 18.11.2011 at 05:13  
Awesome album!
To me 10... like all Exodus album!!!:banger2:
BitterCOld - 18.11.2011 at 06:26  
Written by sepulkisser on 18.11.2011 at 05:13


To me 10... like all Exodus album!!!:banger2:


aren't you a discerning, well spoken, fan.
Valentin B - 24.02.2012 at 11:03  
I love Beyond the Pale, totally ripping thrash, with some obscene lyrics.
Kuroboshi - 22.01.2013 at 16:06  
If they chopped 2 mins off each song, it would be a nice album.
Zaphod - 07.08.2014 at 23:24  
Holy shit, why did I never read this review? It might be the best one I've ever read on Metal Storm.

Advertise on Metal Storm


Login or register to post here.



Similar topics

Forum Topic Similarity Started
Reviews Exodus - Exhibit B: The Human Condition 10.5 27.11.2010 by vezzy
Albums Exodus - Exhibit B: The Human Condition 9 27.03.2010 by Anjana(SriLanka)
Reviews Exodus - The Atrocity Exhibition... Exhibit A 7 23.10.2007 by Lucas
Albums Exodus - The Atrocity Exhibition: Exhibit A 6 29.04.2011 by mapex1974
Reviews Saga - The Human Condition 5.5 18.05.2009 by Dane Train



Hits total: 6673 | This month: 50