Rating:
7.4
Terzij De Horde - A Rage Of Rapture Against The Dying Of The Light [EP]
2010


01. Prometheans
02. Vertigo: The Mithraic Ritual
03. The Roots Of Doomsday Anxiety
04. Non Timetis Messor


The music within is awful. An infernal racket of screeched vocals and underproduced instruments that seem intended to be a grating experience for the listener.

Then again, this is a quasi-black project and all of those above statements which could easily be taken as negatives are, in fact, positives.

Terzij De Horde are a Dutch five piece that were formerly roaming the low country, assaulting people at random as Liar Liar Cross On Fire. The band is, apparently, "post-Black", which seems to be largely black metal with some doom and perhaps even traces of screaming hardcore influence. And who knows what else? "The Roots Of Doomsday Anxiety", one of tracks on this four song EP, A Rage Of Rapture Against The Dying Of The Light was previously found on a LLCOF demo. This time it is slightly beefed up, and closes out with what is likely some Euro folk instrument I've never heard of but sounds suspiciously like a banjo. ("Did you just get bluegrass in my screaming post-black?")

The band basically weave between two speeds:

First gear, slow, in which they tend to let dissonant chords ring sickly out or engage in single note melodies designed for maximum tension while the bass occasionally rumbles along a little foray of it's own.

Forget 2nd through 5th gears as they just skip to an overdrive gear in which the band blast away with pounding drums and tremolo riffing. One of their special tricks is while cruising away the guitarist slides dissonant chords further up the guitar neck, which creates an almost nauseating result akin to gobbling paranoia-inducing psychedelics and engaging a high speed car chase. This is particularly the case in the closing 30 seconds of "Prometheans." Basically, the end of that song is the black metal sonic cousin to that creepy boat ride in the original Willy Wonka movie*. (Yes, the danger must be growing/For the rowers keep on rowing/And they're certainly not showing/Any signs that they are slowing!)

The truly ghastly howled and screeched vocals just add further to the malefic sonic package, doing noting positive whatsoever to lighten up the mood... instead they add another level of unease to the overall mood. If anything the shrieks are perhaps even more horrific while the band drunkenly stumble along at a 1st gear crawl.

A lot of seeming negative and disparaging remarks have been tossed around this review, but, as stated above, the intent of this band seems to be to create one harsh and hellish landscape. And in that context, I believe negativity was what they were aiming for - and have succeeded in nailing.





(* self-pwning review hijack... if you thought the original was creepy, it's even more bizarre in reverse. )

Performance: 8
Songwriting: 7
Originality: 7
Production: 8


Website: http://www.myspace.com/terzijdehorde


 



Written on 14.07.2010 by
BitterCOld
BitterCOld has been officially reviewing albums for MetalStorm since 2009.
More reviews by BitterCOld ››



Comments

‹‹ Back to the Reviews
Comments: 11  
Users visited: 135  
Search this topic:  


Marcel Hubregtse - 14.07.2010 at 21:09  
This mini bodes well for the future. Live they're extremely intense.
Marcus - 15.07.2010 at 02:59  
I think Gene Wilder was calling Cthulu in the reverse video.
Marcel Hubregtse - 15.07.2010 at 03:13  
Written by Marcus on 15.07.2010 at 02:59

I think Gene Wilder was calling Cthulu in the reverse video.


The reverse video reminds me of the midget in the black lodge in Twin Peaks
Thryce - 15.07.2010 at 15:26  
Well, this was a very, uh, out of the ordinary review. Not even talking about the rather disturbing videos.

Something tells me I only understood half of what you were trying to get across. So let me know what kind of beer you were having during the writing process, so I pick up a case when I go shopping for this album, so I can try to figure out what in the fuck you are talking about.
BitterCOld - 15.07.2010 at 19:03  
Written by Thryce on 15.07.2010 at 15:26

Well, this was a very, uh, out of the ordinary review. Not even talking about the rather disturbing videos.

Something tells me I only understood half of what you were trying to get across. So let me know what kind of beer you were having during the writing process, so I pick up a case when I go shopping for this album, so I can try to figure out what in the fuck you are talking about.


amusingly, i think i had had a couple beers when i wrote the opening two lines and devised the overall premise for the review - the fact the band plays a grating unpleasant album, but then that is the purpose of their style of music. (see also Blut Aus Nord MORT and even Ulver's Nattens Madrigal in so far as production goes)


i was dead sober when writing the rest the following day.*

if you visit their myspace page (to which it seems this review is now linked) and click on Prometheans on the player, you'll pretty much get the entirety of what i wrote. for some reason the closing 30s of that reminded me of a bad trip, black-metal stylee, which of course immediately brought that "what is this? a freak out?" scene to mind. both have that almost nauseating speed and slightly overwhelming stimuli... in this instance, replacing creepy images with just creepy chords ever accelerating.

and, to keep the Wonka references going, you still don't get the review after listening to it (both sober and ftunk) here is my response:




* i will cop to being ftunk off of New Belgium's "Ranger IPA" (6.5%) and Tucson's own Nimbus Brewery's "Monkeyshines" (8.2%) when writing my Exodus review last week.
Marcel Hubregtse - 15.07.2010 at 19:21  
Am I officially deranged and sick in the head for not finding this ep grating and unpleasnat but pleasant instead?
BitterCOld - 15.07.2010 at 20:09  
Written by Marcel Hubregtse on 15.07.2010 at 19:21

Am I officially deranged and sick in the head for not finding this ep grating and unpleasnat but pleasant instead?


yep. and that is the point. it's to appeal to sick bastards like you and other black metal misanthropes who find beauty in ugliness. an inverse of conventional standards.
Damnated_Soul - 10.08.2010 at 03:45  
Men I'm sorry but I don't like this...
Sulvrot - 14.08.2010 at 00:57  
Wow, I'm actually quite impressed with this EP. Good find.
Daggon - 15.05.2013 at 07:26  
This EP is good, not "awesome" stuff, but still quite enjoyable, something I could listen many times. I think there's a lot of space for improvement, but seems like they are in the right way. Maybe a proper debut album will tell if they are up to the challenge.
Marcel Hubregtse - 15.04.2014 at 16:24  
Btw it is indeed a banjo they employ.
Waiting for their new album to be finished.

Advertise on Metal Storm


Login or register to post here.



Similar topics

Forum Topic Similarity Started
Albums Terzij De Horde - A Rage Of Rapture Against The Dying Of The Light 13.5 15.04.2014 by Alex Fenger
Reviews A Storm Of Light - As The Valley Of Death Becomes Us, Our Silver Memories Fade 6.5 17.05.2011 by Marcel Hubregtse
Reviews Helllight - ...And Then, The Light Of Consciousness Became Hell... 6 04.04.2011 by Mr. Doctor
Albums Rage Against The Machine - Rage Against The Machine 4.5 18.07.2011 by Cynic Metalhead
Albums Rage Against The Machine - TBA 4.5 06.11.2012 by Alex Fenger



Hits total: 5881 | This month: 45