Rating:
8.2
Mares Of Thrace - The Moulting
12 June 2010


01. Harsh Tutelage Of The Waltzing Kodiak
02. Mandible
03. Rawcake
04. General Sherman
05. Perseid
06. Oatmeal And Pornography
07. Venison
08. Calcium Channels
09. The Arch
10. Opportunist


Brand new female duet, Calgary based doom metal band...This should be interesting!

Ok, not exactly what one could consider straight-up doom, more of a strange amalgamation of sludge, experimental, and punk. Of course, with a band name sitting on the pretentious side, the experimental really goes without saying.

Now, when we're talking experimental, we're not talking about that inaccessible pointless garbage that boasts your masturbatory snobbery. You know that stack of "experimental" metal CDs - or more likely cassette tapes - you leave lying around nonchalantly so when your friends come over you can strike up a conversation, hoping to inadvertently explain how you're better than them? The ones you never actually listen to? Yeah, those, we know about your little facade. Point being, this isn't one of those. No overindulgent extended atmospheric passages, and no non-existent "time signatures" the band presumably crafted for years, but was actually the result of an attempt to record while drunk (yeah, we know about that ploy as well.)

But enough about what this album isn't, and more about what this album is. It's actually a fine balance incorporating punk-esque raw aggression, sludgy grooves, contrasted with little jagged bits to keep things interesting. The best way to describe this album would be to take those weird sharp stops and halts from Made Out Of Babies (or any Julie Christmas project for that matter), and combine them with the heavy grooves of Bison B.C.. In fact, that's almost a perfect description of The Moulting. The entire review up to that statement has been entirely useless.

Aside from the apparent Julie Christmas worship, Mares Of Thrace put out a very solid debut, worthy of attention. Bravo. Bravo.

Performance: 9
Songwriting: 9
Originality: 7
Production: 8


Band profile: Mares Of Thrace
Album: The Moulting


 



Written on 20.07.2010 by
Doc Godin
Former EIC, now semi-retired.
More reviews by Doc Godin ››



Comments

‹‹ Back to the Reviews
Comments: 16  
Users visited: 211  
Search this topic:  


BitterCOld - 20.07.2010 at 22:36  
Will check it out.
Marcel Hubregtse - 20.07.2010 at 22:49  
Just checked it out and nice indeed. Another sludge band consisting of just a guitar and drums, just like Sardonis and Black Cobra.
Thryce - 21.07.2010 at 15:32  
Quite the entertaining review... had me sold. Well actually my weird obsessive-compulsive disorder with anything Julie Christmas-related forced me to check this out. But you're a close second.

Good stuff indeed.
Ag Fox - 21.07.2010 at 15:38  
They posted on facebook saying they liked your review
Me on the other hand like their music. Vocals are fab imo
Thanks for reviewing
Susan - 21.07.2010 at 17:15  
Agreed, very entertaining review I gotta say, it's the cover art that drew me in initially.

I could use more sludgy grooves in my life. This might be the place to start...
Doc Godin - 21.07.2010 at 22:03  
Written by Ag Fox on 21.07.2010 at 15:38

They posted on facebook saying they liked your review
Me on the other hand like their music. Vocals are fab imo
Thanks for reviewing

Yeah, all the comments underneath the link (from fans) they posted on their facebook page seems like I've got some people who really don't like me too much hahahaha.

Quote:
Me on the other hand like their music. Vocals are fab imo

What do you mean by this? I really enjoyed this album.
Susan - 21.07.2010 at 23:10  
Their myspace page is hilarious. I love their influences section. Great dry sense of humor
Ag Fox - 22.07.2010 at 03:10  
Written by Doc Godin on 21.07.2010 at 22:03

Written by Ag Fox on 21.07.2010 at 15:38

They posted on facebook saying they liked your review
Me on the other hand like their music. Vocals are fab imo
Thanks for reviewing

Yeah, all the comments underneath the link (from fans) they posted on their facebook page seems like I've got some people who really don't like me too much hahahaha.

Quote:
Me on the other hand like their music. Vocals are fab imo

What do you mean by this? I really enjoyed this album.
As I said, I like their music. Haven't got my hands on the album yet, but I'm sure I will because I checked their myspace.
GT - 22.07.2010 at 09:54  
I'll have to listen to this...very entertaining review dude
Ag Fox - 11.10.2010 at 17:25  
This album just keeps getting better
!J.O.O.E.! - 11.10.2010 at 17:27  
I'm glad this popped up again. I meant to check it out but I forgot what they were called and couldn't find the review again.
silenius - 04.02.2011 at 20:27  
Took me a while to get into tbh, but it got me finaly after like 12 spinns(for some fucked up reason) and now i love it, opportunist is one awesome song
Dogsbreakfast - 25.04.2012 at 03:54  
Really, really like this album but I listened to their new one streamed yesterday and can't remember a single moment of any tune. Still, they're coming to Montreal in May to play in a venue with a 130 person max. capacity. I really think this will be an opportunity for bragging rights in the future. "I saw them back when only 6 people in Calgary had ever heard them play."

http://exclaim.ca/MusicVideo/ClickHear/mares_of_thrace-pilgrimage_album_stream
Doc Godin - 25.04.2012 at 06:59  
Written by Dogsbreakfast on 25.04.2012 at 03:54

Really, really like this album but I listened to their new one streamed yesterday and can't remember a single moment of any tune. Still, they're coming to Montreal in May to play in a venue with a 130 person max. capacity. I really think this will be an opportunity for bragging rights in the future. "I saw them back when only 6 people in Calgary had ever heard them play."

http://exclaim.ca/MusicVideo/ClickHear/mares_of_thrace-pilgrimage_album_stream

Well, I'm not sure how well known they are elsewhere, but they do have a pretty strong following out here it seems.
Marcel Hubregtse - 25.04.2012 at 10:54  
Strange that I thought this album was nice when now it is just plain boring and mediocre at best to me.
There are so many other good sludge bands around that this one really is a waste of time.
Spirit Molecule - 25.04.2012 at 10:58  
Written by Thryce on 21.07.2010 at 15:32

Quite the entertaining review... had me sold. Well actually my weird obsessive-compulsive disorder with anything Julie Christmas-related forced me to check this out. But you're a close second.
Good stuff indeed.


Had me sold with the Julie Christmas and MOoB name drop. Definitely checking this one out. So awesome to see more Julie Christmas fans on here

Advertise on Metal Storm


Login or register to post here.



Similar topics

Forum Topic Similarity Started
Reviews Black Tusk - Set The Dial 6.5 15.11.2011 by BitterCOld
Reviews Inquisitor - The Quantum Theory Of Id 6 06.01.2012 by Troy Killjoy
Reviews Beneath The Massacre - Incongruous 6 17.02.2012 by BoxCar Willy
Reviews Pharaoh - Bury The Light 6 12.03.2012 by Milena
Reviews Lucky Thir13n - March Of The Young 6 08.10.2011 by ravendeath



Hits total: 4411 | This month: 25