Rating:
10
Mastodon - Remission
28 May 2002


01. Crusher Destroyer
02. March Of The Fire Ants
03. Where Strides The Behemoth
04. Workhorse
05. Ol'e Nessie
06. Burning Man
07. Trainwreck
08. Trampled Under Hoof
09. Trilobite
10. Mother Puncher
11. Elephant Man


An album like Remission deserves a good different review…I thought the most alienated ideas, but I came to mind of a little thing I used to make in primary school, flowing ideas, or flowing thoughts.

Ideas storm:
-Remission is an incredible album, it has all the musical twists you could ask for in a band, melodies(Ol'e Nessie, a great song with an incredibly overwhelming harmonious intro), Brutal riffs(March Of The Fire Ants, Workhorse), The most complex Drums in the genre(every single song is a good example), the most awesome guitars (with some slow yet great solos, check Trampled under Hoof).

-The drums; it's very difficult to find a good drummer within this genre, every song has great drums, an insane performance with the high drum, the toms are well executed (specially when Brann Dailor plays with those 8th's 6th's and the floor toms) the cymbals are a blast, clean as new glass, the ride is the best ever(amazingly in time with the bass and the hi-hat), and man the crash is awesome, Mastodon's chief instrument is definitely the drums.

-Every song has a little intro, (the best one is the one in Marc Of The Fire Ants), a little prelude to what the song is going to be, but I think the band made this only for execution issues, to polish the song, to demonstrate of what they are made of, to show their Skills.

-I can't talk about the best song on Remission, every song is really inconceivable, multifarious, wonderful, magnificent, superb, and every synonym you can think of, from Crusher Destroyer(a blasting brutal song, with the most aggressive and violent structures) to Elephant Man( the most calm and complex song in the album, great solos, great pulse, everything, well except that weird hidden distortion after the 7th minute), Workhorse, Trainwreck, Ol'e Nessie, March Of The Fire Ants, Trilobite, every single song is spectacular.

-Everything within this album is historical, I am sure that Mastodon is going to change the way people see metal (though I do not know if this is a good thing or a bad thing), I loved this album from the beginning to it's end, I Highly Recommend it for people who wants different types of music, extreme yet progressive, violent yet mellow, insane yet beautiful.


Band profile: Mastodon
Album: Remission


 


written by Herzebeth | 03.01.2005



Comments

‹‹ Back to the Reviews
Comments: 25  
Users visited: 177  
Search this topic:  


bangladesh - 21.07.2006 at 18:14  
Great album and great review, i agree with all you say and specialy about the drumer Brann Dailor, he is amazing and unlike drumers from death metal, he don´t gets repetitive
Despised Icon - 22.07.2006 at 06:38  
Great album, drumming is fantastic.
Mordack - 24.07.2006 at 01:19  
Great review for a fantastic album. For me this album is on par with Leviathan in terms of greatness. This band keeps making great music.
Endoftherainbow - 27.07.2006 at 20:33  
Great review for an amazing album. I agree with everything you say about this album, and yes the drummer is amazing. This album also has so unforgettable riffs.
lenesu - 29.01.2007 at 11:28  
Very good review.This album is realy a classic and the author got it right when he wrote the real fact why Remissions is so good. Still, there is an best song- Ol'e Nessie.
Jotun_01 - 06.06.2007 at 15:57  
I just can't get into this Mastodon album, I love Blood Mountain and Leviathan.
lenesu - 18.06.2007 at 12:03  
thats bad for you. This is their best album. Their most instrumental, most metal...
OminousDeath - 07.11.2007 at 06:32  
Written by Guest on 06.06.2007 at 15:57

I just can't get into this Mastodon album, I love Blood Mountain and Leviathan.

Are You Crazy? This By Far There Best Album!!!
Jotun_01 - 29.11.2007 at 15:14  
Written by Guest on 07.11.2007 at 06:32

Written by Guest on 06.06.2007 at 15:57

I just can't get into this Mastodon album, I love Blood Mountain and Leviathan.

Are You Crazy? This By Far There Best Album!!!

Dude, you have your own opinion about shit and I have mine. I think this is Mastodons worse album.
ArcanaHereticae - 05.12.2007 at 22:54  
Written by Guest on 29.11.2007 at 15:14

Written by Guest on 07.11.2007 at 06:32

Written by Guest on 06.06.2007 at 15:57

I just can't get into this Mastodon album, I love Blood Mountain and Leviathan.

Are You Crazy? This By Far There Best Album!!!

Dude, you have your own opinion about shit and I have mine. I think this is Mastodons worse album.


I agree, it seems as if the riffs have been downtoned and since the semi-Metal vocals are gone, can they even be called a Metal band anymore? ANymore, they just sound like a normal band on the radio, one of those fucking "Rock" bands.
+{Jonas}+ - 30.01.2008 at 17:29  
amazing review. Just reading it made me want to get into Mastodon.
Jotun_01 - 05.03.2009 at 17:03  
Written by ArcanaHereticae on 05.12.2007 at 22:54

Written by Guest on 29.11.2007 at 15:14

Written by Guest on 07.11.2007 at 06:32

Written by Guest on 06.06.2007 at 15:57

I just can't get into this Mastodon album, I love Blood Mountain and Leviathan.

Are You Crazy? This By Far There Best Album!!!

Dude, you have your own opinion about shit and I have mine. I think this is Mastodons worse album.


I agree, it seems as if the riffs have been downtoned and since the semi-Metal vocals are gone, can they even be called a Metal band anymore? ANymore, they just sound like a normal band on the radio, one of those fucking "Rock" bands.


Yes they can still be called a metal band. I have been listening to this album alot for the past 2 days and I think I'm starting to get into it, but it still isn't my favorite mastodon album. My favorite song on this album is probably Elephant Man.
AngelOfDisease - 12.03.2009 at 00:13  
Written by +{Jonas}+ on 30.01.2008 at 17:29

amazing review. Just reading it made me want to get into Mastodon.

Hehe... same here
Uirapuru - 31.05.2009 at 19:03  
Written by AngelOfDisease on 12.03.2009 at 00:13

Written by +{Jonas}+ on 30.01.2008 at 17:29

amazing review. Just reading it made me want to get into Mastodon.

Hehe... same here


And it is worth it
AngelOfDisease - 31.05.2009 at 20:29  
Written by Uirapuru on 31.05.2009 at 19:03

And it is worth it

yeap, I am listening to this, leviathan and call of the mastodon (not at the same time of course xD) and they are great!
Ganondox - 10.07.2014 at 09:37  
Written by ArcanaHereticae on 05.12.2007 at 22:54

ANymore, they just sound like a normal band on the radio, one of those fucking "Rock" bands.

Are you fucking kidding me? Have you ever actually listened to radio rock? Not only are they still clearly metal, but they have one of the most unique sounds around, it sounds nothing like post-grunge. Might as well say old mastodon sounds like genrical death metal, it's as accurate as your claim.
Troy Killjoy - 10.07.2014 at 17:22  
Written by Ganondox on 10.07.2014 at 09:37
Are you fucking kidding me? Have you ever actually listened to radio rock? Not only are they still clearly metal, but they have one of the most unique sounds around, it sounds nothing like post-grunge. Might as well say old mastodon sounds like genrical death metal, it's as accurate as your claim.

He probably isn't going to respond to that - it's a comment from 7 years ago and he hasn't been online in almost a year.

Although it wouldn't have been worth the argument anyway. If someone thinks Mastodon (at any stage of their career) sound like radio rock, they are either trolling or just really don't have a good sense of what's what.
Ace Frawley - 11.07.2014 at 05:27  
Written by Troy Killjoy on 10.07.2014 at 17:22

Written by Ganondox on 10.07.2014 at 09:37
Are you fucking kidding me? Have you ever actually listened to radio rock? Not only are they still clearly metal, but they have one of the most unique sounds around, it sounds nothing like post-grunge. Might as well say old mastodon sounds like genrical death metal, it's as accurate as your claim.

He probably isn't going to respond to that - it's a comment from 7 years ago and he hasn't been online in almost a year.

Although it wouldn't have been worth the argument anyway. If someone thinks Mastodon (at any stage of their career) sound like radio rock, they are either trolling or just really don't have a good sense of what's what.


Mastodon on the radio - if only!
Troy Killjoy - 11.07.2014 at 09:04  
Written by Ace Frawley on 11.07.2014 at 05:27
Mastodon on the radio - if only!

No kidding, maybe I'd actually turn the thing on once in a while if that were the case...
no one - 11.07.2014 at 09:44  
I hear mastodon on the radio everyday lately, on one of the most popular radio stations too.

i honestly passed them off for radio rock myself, the radio station that are always playing them is called THE ROCK
Troy Killjoy - 11.07.2014 at 18:05  
Written by no one on 11.07.2014 at 09:44
radio rock

How do you mistake sludge metal for radio rock? It's not like they blur the lines, especially on their earlier albums.
no one - 11.07.2014 at 23:34  
I have only heard the one song they always play which i think is off there latest album....and i have only heard it on the radio station "the rock".
I'm not one to be able to define sludge amazingly well, but it sounded pretty rock to me.
Ace Frawley - 12.07.2014 at 01:14  
Written by no one on 11.07.2014 at 23:34

I have only heard the one song they always play which i think is off there latest album....and i have only heard it on the radio station "the rock".
I'm not one to be able to define sludge amazingly well, but it sounded pretty rock to me.


I don't think I listen to anything defined as "sludge" so I'm not really sure what it is either. Like you, I just think Mastodon are rock. Pretty damn good rock as well. Maybe those really interested in all the definitions and sub-genres will rain down on me for my ignorance but I don't care. I love it. I call it rock. Doesn't matter in the end. Pretty cool you are hearing them on radio. To be honest, I don't listen to radio much anymore.
no one - 12.07.2014 at 01:18  
Written by Ace Frawley on 12.07.2014 at 01:14


I don't think I listen to anything defined as "sludge" so I'm not really sure what it is either. Like you, I just think Mastodon are rock. Pretty damn good rock as well. Maybe those really interested in all the definitions and sub-genres will rain down on me for my ignorance but I don't care. I love it. I call it rock. Doesn't matter in the end. Pretty cool you are hearing them on radio. To be honest, I don't listen to radio much anymore.

i have to listen to radio all day everyday at my job, even if a song is good it will be killed eventually by hearing so it many times.
Ganondox - 17.07.2014 at 10:04  
To be fair, I have heard Mastodon on a rock station on an airplane radio, but just because it's rock and on a radio does not mean it's "radio rock", it's still metal, non-extreme or otherwise underground metal get's on rock radio stations a lot, and even though the radio station was featuring a Rush's latest album, the Mastodon song, which was the rockiest song from the album, was still the heaviest and most bizzare song on the whole station.

Advertise on Metal Storm


Login or register to post here.



Similar topics

Forum Topic Similarity Started
Reviews Mastodon - Blood Mountain 6 11.08.2006 by Baz Anderson
Albums Mastodon - Remission 4.5 31.01.2012 by musicalkaratekid
Reviews Aborted - Strychnine.213 3 05.06.2008 by
Reviews Blood Red Throne - Altered Genesis 3 30.09.2009 by GamlaSonn
Reviews The Ocean - Precambrian 3 24.01.2008 by Spyroid



Hits total: 7284 | This month: 158