Rating:
9.0
Circle Of Dead Children - Psalm Of The Grand Destroyer
7 June 2010


01. Avatar Of Innocence
02. Ursa Major (1998 Revisited)
03. When Human Compost Stains All Earth And Repels The Messengers Of Love
04. Chaos Crawls Back
05. Earth And Lye
06. We Who Move With The Graven Worms
07. Bury The Ill Flock
08. Refuse To Kill The Same Way Twice
09. Obsidian Flakes
10. Last Words And Warning Signs
11. Jaracaca
12. Torches
13. Night Of Morbid Psycho
14. Germinate The Reaper Seed
15. Starve, Beg & Die a.k.a. Fuck You Kill Me


Let's be honest for a change, at least once man. You don't get into grindcore for the riffs, no! You don't get into grindcore because "it's technical" or because they play like virtuosos in the flesh, are you kidding me? You fucking get into this explosive genre because you want to see your brain coming out of your nose, yeah that's about right, grindcore is supposed to be hardcore and freaking dangerous, well… Circle of Dead Children is probably the most harmful and noxious band out there, and it takes one spin of Psalm of the Grand Destroyer to prove me right.

I'm not saying Circle of Dead Children is a mindless band, not at all, the lyrical content in this album is perverted poetry from one of the most damaged minds out there, Joe Horvath. And the music, having songs like "Earth And Lye" or "Obsidian Flakes" playing at full volume will definitely make your body shiver…literally… Not to mention, this piece is produced by the finesse and hostility that only a man like Scott Hull can construct (Agoraphobic Nosebleed, Pig Destroyer, etc.), so even there you will be drowned in awesomeness let me tell you.

But still, this is grindcore, and it's a damn drill penetrating your brain. Circle of Dead Children knows best, thus, if they want to destroy you they will do it with the most merciless approach; I mean, the composition is so precise and acute that you can actually feel when the band is trying to pummel you and when they are trying to make you feel safe, it's grindcore at its sickening best.

I've been listening this album for a while now, it took just one spin for me to love it though, and still I can't decide how big this album is, in my mind I still see Human Harvest as their masterpiece, so right now it's a matter of choosing a runner-up, is Psalm of the Grand Destroyer as good or better than The Genocide Machine? I think only time will tell, right now I can only assure you Circle of Dead Children is one of my 3 favorite grindcore bands out there…


Band profile: Circle Of Dead Children
Album: Psalm Of The Grand Destroyer


 


written by Herzebeth | 27.07.2010


Guest review disclaimer:
This is a guest review, which means it does not necessarily represent the point of view of the MS Staff.



Comments

‹‹ Back to the Reviews
Comments: 18  
Users visited: 144  
Search this topic:  


vezzy - 27.07.2010 at 17:02  
WHAT THE HELL?
Herzebeth is back?! Oh wait... he was back again last time too. Still, sounds like a nice album.
Ag Fox - 28.07.2010 at 06:36  
Welcome back. Have always loved your reviews
Herzebeth - 28.07.2010 at 06:52  
Thanks you guys... come on now go try this album and give some feedback about it

has anybody heard this thing yet?
Troy Killjoy - 28.07.2010 at 07:05  
Just heard the one song on their MySpace, "When Human Compost Stains All Earth blah blah blah". Great song - will have to listen to the rest of the album later and possibly order a copy from Willowtip.
Daggon - 28.07.2010 at 08:39  
"Storm Wars: Herzebeth Strikes Back!" or "The Lord Of The Grind: The Return Of The Queen", call it what you want, it's good to see you again Herz, welcome back (yes, I know you submitted a review some days ago, but this shit is in the home page!), I think many people loves what you do here with your reviews

Now start throwing some very sick and brutal shit for everyone!!!
oroboros - 28.07.2010 at 08:56  
Written by Daggon on 28.07.2010 at 08:39

"Storm Wars: Herzebeth Strikes Back!" or "The Lord Of The Grind: The Return Of The Queen", call it what you want, it's good to see you again Herz, welcome back (yes, I know you submitted a review some days ago, but this shit is in the home page!), I think many people loves what you do here with your reviews

Now start throwing some very sick and brutal shit for everyone!!!

+1
Black_Handed - 28.07.2010 at 11:01  
3 times yay for Herzebeth! we missed your reviews!

new circle of dead children? great, must check it out.
Mikyz - 28.07.2010 at 11:27  
Welcome back This review is as good as your others.

I did listen to this album, and its crushing to say the least. I mean even though it's grindcore it has it's doomy moments like on the first track, but still the brutal breakdowns and the assault of blast beats overwhelm the slow passages. And even though this isn't innovative per say, it has a level of skill and dexterity in the composition/songwriting that can only be recognized.
BudDa - 28.07.2010 at 11:40  
Written by Daggon on 28.07.2010 at 08:39

"Storm Wars: Herzebeth Strikes Back!" or "The Lord Of The Grind: The Return Of The Queen", call it what you want, it's good to see you again Herz, welcome back (yes, I know you submitted a review some days ago, but this shit is in the home page!), I think many people loves what you do here with your reviews

Now start throwing some very sick and brutal shit for everyone!!!


+2
*Sighs* This is nolonger about Circle Of Dead Children..is it?
LeChron James - 28.07.2010 at 13:50  
Y3333 HERZ is back! what prompted the reunion?
Herzebeth - 28.07.2010 at 17:57  
You guys are awesome... =D Will keep on writing reviews and raping corpses and all those things...

cheers!
Black_Handed - 29.07.2010 at 12:46  
Btw herz, for some unknown reason there is no review of the latest The Chasm (Farseeing the Paranormal Abysm) here yet. i tried to convice marcel to do it, but he havent (and most likely never will). you might be the best man to do it. ive done a review of it for a local website but in czech, and im quite lazy to translate it or rewrite it completely. so i wont do it. and, after all, you might really be the best man for it.
Daggon - 30.07.2010 at 07:36  
Written by Black_Handed on 29.07.2010 at 12:46

Btw herz, for some unknown reason there is no review of the latest The Chasm (Farseeing the Paranormal Abysm) here yet. i tried to convice marcel to do it, but he havent (and most likely never will). you might be the best man to do it. ive done a review of it for a local website but in czech, and im quite lazy to translate it or rewrite it completely. so i wont do it. and, after all, you might really be the best man for it.


Well, actually (if I'm not mistaken) you can't submit a review in Metal Storm if it is posted in another site. But I also want Herz to write a review for the latest album of The Chasm (a stunning album for sure!).

I love how no one is paying attention to Circle Of The Dead Children just because Herzebeth is back hahaha, we should open a thread for that, spam it like if there were no tomorrow and then make the mods close it
Black_Handed - 30.07.2010 at 13:50  
Written by Daggon on 30.07.2010 at 07:36

Written by Black_Handed on 29.07.2010 at 12:46

Btw herz, for some unknown reason there is no review of the latest The Chasm (Farseeing the Paranormal Abysm) here yet. i tried to convice marcel to do it, but he havent (and most likely never will). you might be the best man to do it. ive done a review of it for a local website but in czech, and im quite lazy to translate it or rewrite it completely. so i wont do it. and, after all, you might really be the best man for it.


Well, actually (if I'm not mistaken) you can't submit a review in Metal Storm if it is posted in another site. But I also want Herz to write a review for the latest album of The Chasm (a stunning album for sure!).

I love how no one is paying attention to Circle Of The Dead Children just because Herzebeth is back hahaha, we should open a thread for that, spam it like if there were no tomorrow and then make the mods close it


#1 yes i know that, but translated review is inevitably different from original. so it wouldnt be the same review.

#2 lol yeh sort of.
Daggon - 03.08.2010 at 02:06  
Never listened to an album of this band before, but I'm quite satisfied! My hunger for some brutal shit is over... for now. I agree with your review
Troy Killjoy - 04.08.2010 at 05:21  
Ya thanks again Herz for another reviewer-recommendation; I'll be paying Willowtip a visit soon to order this.
Carl Berg - 08.08.2010 at 04:13  
Great review. Thumbs up dude.
Maxx666 - 29.09.2010 at 09:45  
Oh yeah i liked this album...this did made my brain spill out of my nose..nice review as always
And once again welcome back Herz.....

Advertise on Metal Storm


Login or register to post here.



Similar topics

Forum Topic Similarity Started
Reviews Circle Of Dead Children - Zero Comfort Margin 9 15.10.2006 by Dangerboner
News Circle Of Dead Children - Co-Founding Guitarist Leaves The Band 7.5 26.03.2011 by Troy Killjoy
Reviews Fuck I'm Dead - Bring On The Dead 6 15.10.2008 by Introspekrieg
Reviews Skinless - Trample The Weak, Hurdle The Dead 6 19.06.2006 by
News Circle Of Dead Children - New Drummer Finally Found 6 22.02.2007 by Dangerboner



Hits total: 3675 | This month: 38