Circle Of Dead Children - Psalm Of The Grand Destroyer review



Reviewer:
9.0

14 users:
6.21
Band: Circle Of Dead Children
Album: Psalm Of The Grand Destroyer
Release date: June 2010


01. Avatar Of Innocence
02. Ursa Major (1998 Revisited)
03. When Human Compost Stains All Earth And Repels The Messengers Of Love
04. Chaos Crawls Back
05. Earth And Lye
06. We Who Move With The Graven Worms
07. Bury The Ill Flock
08. Refuse To Kill The Same Way Twice
09. Obsidian Flakes
10. Last Words And Warning Signs
11. Jaracaca
12. Torches
13. Night Of Morbid Psycho
14. Germinate The Reaper Seed
15. Starve, Beg & Die a.k.a. Fuck You Kill Me


Let's be honest for a change, at least once man. You don't get into grindcore for the riffs, no! You don't get into grindcore because "it's technical" or because they play like virtuosos in the flesh, are you kidding me? You fucking get into this explosive genre because you want to see your brain coming out of your nose, yeah that's about right, grindcore is supposed to be hardcore and freaking dangerous, well… Circle of Dead Children is probably the most harmful and noxious band out there, and it takes one spin of Psalm of the Grand Destroyer to prove me right.

I'm not saying Circle of Dead Children is a mindless band, not at all, the lyrical content in this album is perverted poetry from one of the most damaged minds out there, Joe Horvath. And the music, having songs like "Earth And Lye" or "Obsidian Flakes" playing at full volume will definitely make your body shiver…literally… Not to mention, this piece is produced by the finesse and hostility that only a man like Scott Hull can construct (Agoraphobic Nosebleed, Pig Destroyer, etc.), so even there you will be drowned in awesomeness let me tell you.

But still, this is grindcore, and it's a damn drill penetrating your brain. Circle of Dead Children knows best, thus, if they want to destroy you they will do it with the most merciless approach; I mean, the composition is so precise and acute that you can actually feel when the band is trying to pummel you and when they are trying to make you feel safe, it's grindcore at its sickening best.

I've been listening this album for a while now, it took just one spin for me to love it though, and still I can't decide how big this album is, in my mind I still see Human Harvest as their masterpiece, so right now it's a matter of choosing a runner-up, is Psalm of the Grand Destroyer as good or better than The Genocide Machine? I think only time will tell, right now I can only assure you Circle of Dead Children is one of my 3 favorite grindcore bands out there…

Written by Herzebeth | 27.07.2010


 


Guest review disclaimer:
This is a guest review, which means it does not necessarily represent the point of view of the MS Staff.


Comments

Comments: 18   Visited by: 153 users
27.07.2010 - 17:02
vezzy
Stallmanite
WHAT THE HELL?
Herzebeth is back?! Oh wait... he was back again last time too. Still, sounds like a nice album.
----
Licensed under the GPLv3.
Relinquish proprietary software for a greater GNU/America.
Loading...
28.07.2010 - 06:36
Ag Fox
Angel No More
Welcome back. Have always loved your reviews
----
loves 小巫
Loading...
28.07.2010 - 06:52
Herzebeth
Thanks you guys... come on now go try this album and give some feedback about it

has anybody heard this thing yet?
----
Loading...
28.07.2010 - 07:05
Troy Killjoy
perfunctionist
Just heard the one song on their MySpace, "When Human Compost Stains All Earth blah blah blah". Great song - will have to listen to the rest of the album later and possibly order a copy from Willowtip.
----
Prettier than BloodTears.
Loading...
28.07.2010 - 08:39
Daggon
Underpaid M.D.
"Storm Wars: Herzebeth Strikes Back!" or "The Lord Of The Grind: The Return Of The Queen", call it what you want, it's good to see you again Herz, welcome back (yes, I know you submitted a review some days ago, but this shit is in the home page!), I think many people loves what you do here with your reviews

Now start throwing some very sick and brutal shit for everyone!!!
----
"Les vers savent qu'ils n'ont pas d'ailes, c'est pour cela qu'ils se cachent sous terre"
Loading...
28.07.2010 - 08:56
oroboros
Written by Daggon on 28.07.2010 at 08:39

"Storm Wars: Herzebeth Strikes Back!" or "The Lord Of The Grind: The Return Of The Queen", call it what you want, it's good to see you again Herz, welcome back (yes, I know you submitted a review some days ago, but this shit is in the home page!), I think many people loves what you do here with your reviews

Now start throwing some very sick and brutal shit for everyone!!!

+1
Loading...
28.07.2010 - 11:01
Black_Handed
A village idiot
3 times yay for Herzebeth! we missed your reviews!

new circle of dead children? great, must check it out.
----

Cryptic Bleak Smurf of Ur
Loading...
28.07.2010 - 11:27
Mikyz
Welcome back This review is as good as your others.

I did listen to this album, and its crushing to say the least. I mean even though it's grindcore it has it's doomy moments like on the first track, but still the brutal breakdowns and the assault of blast beats overwhelm the slow passages. And even though this isn't innovative per say, it has a level of skill and dexterity in the composition/songwriting that can only be recognized.
----
Laugh and the world laughs with you. Weep and you weep alone.
Loading...
28.07.2010 - 11:40
BudDa
Written by Daggon on 28.07.2010 at 08:39

"Storm Wars: Herzebeth Strikes Back!" or "The Lord Of The Grind: The Return Of The Queen", call it what you want, it's good to see you again Herz, welcome back (yes, I know you submitted a review some days ago, but this shit is in the home page!), I think many people loves what you do here with your reviews

Now start throwing some very sick and brutal shit for everyone!!!


+2
*Sighs* This is nolonger about Circle Of Dead Children..is it?
----
Freeze! Step away from the hubris.
Loading...
28.07.2010 - 13:50
LeChron James
Helvetesfossen
Y3333 HERZ is back! what prompted the reunion?
----
Kick Ass, Die Young

Less is More
Stay Pure
Stay Poor

Music was my life, music brought me to life and music is how I will be remembered long after I leave this life. When I die there will be a final waltz in my head that only I can hear.
Loading...
28.07.2010 - 17:57
Herzebeth
You guys are awesome... =D Will keep on writing reviews and raping corpses and all those things...

cheers!
----
Loading...
29.07.2010 - 12:46
Black_Handed
A village idiot
Btw herz, for some unknown reason there is no review of the latest The Chasm (Farseeing the Paranormal Abysm) here yet. i tried to convice marcel to do it, but he havent (and most likely never will). you might be the best man to do it. ive done a review of it for a local website but in czech, and im quite lazy to translate it or rewrite it completely. so i wont do it. and, after all, you might really be the best man for it.
----

Cryptic Bleak Smurf of Ur
Loading...
30.07.2010 - 07:36
Daggon
Underpaid M.D.
Written by Black_Handed on 29.07.2010 at 12:46

Btw herz, for some unknown reason there is no review of the latest The Chasm (Farseeing the Paranormal Abysm) here yet. i tried to convice marcel to do it, but he havent (and most likely never will). you might be the best man to do it. ive done a review of it for a local website but in czech, and im quite lazy to translate it or rewrite it completely. so i wont do it. and, after all, you might really be the best man for it.


Well, actually (if I'm not mistaken) you can't submit a review in Metal Storm if it is posted in another site. But I also want Herz to write a review for the latest album of The Chasm (a stunning album for sure!).

I love how no one is paying attention to Circle Of The Dead Children just because Herzebeth is back hahaha, we should open a thread for that, spam it like if there were no tomorrow and then make the mods close it
----
"Les vers savent qu'ils n'ont pas d'ailes, c'est pour cela qu'ils se cachent sous terre"
Loading...
30.07.2010 - 13:50
Black_Handed
A village idiot
Written by Daggon on 30.07.2010 at 07:36

Written by Black_Handed on 29.07.2010 at 12:46

Btw herz, for some unknown reason there is no review of the latest The Chasm (Farseeing the Paranormal Abysm) here yet. i tried to convice marcel to do it, but he havent (and most likely never will). you might be the best man to do it. ive done a review of it for a local website but in czech, and im quite lazy to translate it or rewrite it completely. so i wont do it. and, after all, you might really be the best man for it.


Well, actually (if I'm not mistaken) you can't submit a review in Metal Storm if it is posted in another site. But I also want Herz to write a review for the latest album of The Chasm (a stunning album for sure!).

I love how no one is paying attention to Circle Of The Dead Children just because Herzebeth is back hahaha, we should open a thread for that, spam it like if there were no tomorrow and then make the mods close it


#1 yes i know that, but translated review is inevitably different from original. so it wouldnt be the same review.

#2 lol yeh sort of.
----

Cryptic Bleak Smurf of Ur
Loading...
03.08.2010 - 02:06
Daggon
Underpaid M.D.
Never listened to an album of this band before, but I'm quite satisfied! My hunger for some brutal shit is over... for now. I agree with your review
----
"Les vers savent qu'ils n'ont pas d'ailes, c'est pour cela qu'ils se cachent sous terre"
Loading...
04.08.2010 - 05:21
Troy Killjoy
perfunctionist
Ya thanks again Herz for another reviewer-recommendation; I'll be paying Willowtip a visit soon to order this.
----
Prettier than BloodTears.
Loading...
08.08.2010 - 04:13
Carl Berg
Carl Berg
Great review. Thumbs up dude.
Loading...
29.09.2010 - 09:45
Maxx666
Meshuggahian
Oh yeah i liked this album...this did made my brain spill out of my nose..nice review as always
And once again welcome back Herz.....
Loading...

Hits total: 4872 | This month: 11