Rating:
9.0
Sodom - Persecution Mania
1987


01. Nuclear Winter
02. Electrocution
03. Iron Fist [Motörhead cover]
04. Persecution Mania
05. Enchanted Land
06. Procession To Golgatha
07. Christ Passion
08. Conjuration
09. Bombenhagel
10. Outbreak Of Evil
11. Sodomy And Lust
12. The Conqueror
13. My Atonement


In the history of Metal there have been quite a few bands for whom Metal was more than just playing loud. Metal was an outlet for not just bringing out their pent-up frustrations but also taking on political and social issues. Sodom is one such band. Formed in 1982 they have come a long way from being regarded as a "second-rate Venom with semi-inventive lyrics" to becoming an enormously influential Thrash Metal band. Well, staying on the topic of being regarded as a "second-rate Venom," it was justified to consider them as such during the early stages of their career. All of this would change with the inclusion of their new guitar player - Frank "Blackfire" Gosdzik. He had succeeded in convincing Tom Angelripper to change the lyrical direction of Sodom and to embrace political, social and war themes. This would culminate into Persecution Mania in 1987. The infamous gas-masked mascot of Sodom - "Knarrenheinz" would also make his debut appearance here.

The album opens with "Nuclear Winter" and judging by the lyrics of that song it is no wonder that "Knarrenheinz" made his appearance in the album cover! "Electrocution" gives a vivid description of the executioner's sadistic thoughts while carrying out the execution. The title song "Persecution Mania" gives a gory account of the Vietnam War and you can almost conjure images of those Green Berets who, stressed by the horrors of war, end up killing the very people they were sent to assist and protect. Sodom lives up to its Biblical reputation in "Christ Passion." "Enchanted Land" is a tricky story about the Holy Land land of Israel and the sufferings that the Hebrews had to endure throughout the centuries. I, personally, believe that "Bombenhagel" is the best song in this album and maybe the best ever song written by Sodom and I think many would agree with me! What I really love about this song is that it gives a rather twisted version of the Battle of Britain and it ends with an equally twisted version of the German National Anthem; for history students like me it is all but a delightful feast!

When people talk of Sodom they generally speak of Agent Orange and while that album is a classic, it wouldn't have been possible had it not been for the critically acclaimed Persecution Mania. It was with Persecution Mania that it all started, be it with the lyrics or with the music.

In Loving Memory of Chris Witchhunter [R.I.P]

Performance: 9
Songwriting: 10
Originality: 9
Production: 8


Band profile: Sodom
Album: Persecution Mania


 


written by Hermann Langke | 29.07.2010


Guest review disclaimer:
This is a guest review, which means it does not necessarily represent the point of view of the MS Staff.



Comments

‹‹ Back to the Reviews
Comments: 13  
Users visited: 107  
Search this topic:  


Hermann Langke - 29.07.2010 at 14:44  
Thanks to the Staff!
vezzy - 29.07.2010 at 14:59  
Great album, but I feel this doesn't live up to your previous reviews. Besides, it's yet another one we've already heard about countless times.
Hermann Langke - 29.07.2010 at 15:02  
Written by vezzy on 29.07.2010 at 14:59

Great album, but I feel this doesn't live up to your previous reviews. Besides, it's yet another one we've already heard about countless times.

Oh! Thank You! I will try to improve myself! Come on Persecution Mania isn't widely known. I think it is quite under-rated.
vezzy - 29.07.2010 at 15:06  
Written by Hermann Langke on 29.07.2010 at 15:02

Written by vezzy on 29.07.2010 at 14:59

Great album, but I feel this doesn't live up to your previous reviews. Besides, it's yet another one we've already heard about countless times.

Oh! Thank You! I will try to improve myself! Come on Persecution Mania isn't widely known. I think it is quite under-rated.


Not really. It's very well known, if you ask me. Beginner's metal staple. Try something UNKNOWN. =]
Hermann Langke - 29.07.2010 at 16:57  
Written by vezzy on 29.07.2010 at 15:06

Written by Hermann Langke on 29.07.2010 at 15:02

Written by vezzy on 29.07.2010 at 14:59

Great album, but I feel this doesn't live up to your previous reviews. Besides, it's yet another one we've already heard about countless times.

Oh! Thank You! I will try to improve myself! Come on Persecution Mania isn't widely known. I think it is quite under-rated.


Not really. It's very well known, if you ask me. Beginner's metal staple. Try something UNKNOWN. =]


Mortis, you are speaking like as if I am new to Metal and let me tell you that I am not.
vezzy - 29.07.2010 at 17:04  
Written by Hermann Langke on 29.07.2010 at 16:57

Written by vezzy on 29.07.2010 at 15:06

Written by Hermann Langke on 29.07.2010 at 15:02

Written by vezzy on 29.07.2010 at 14:59

Great album, but I feel this doesn't live up to your previous reviews. Besides, it's yet another one we've already heard about countless times.

Oh! Thank You! I will try to improve myself! Come on Persecution Mania isn't widely known. I think it is quite under-rated.


Not really. It's very well known, if you ask me. Beginner's metal staple. Try something UNKNOWN. =]


Mortis, you are speaking like as if I am new to Metal and let me tell you that I am not.


That isn't my real name. I made it up. Never give out personal info to human databases like Facebook. I registered for a different reason.

Never said you were.
Hermann Langke - 29.07.2010 at 17:07  
Written by vezzy on 29.07.2010 at 17:04

Written by Hermann Langke on 29.07.2010 at 16:57

Written by vezzy on 29.07.2010 at 15:06

Written by Hermann Langke on 29.07.2010 at 15:02

Written by vezzy on 29.07.2010 at 14:59

Great album, but I feel this doesn't live up to your previous reviews. Besides, it's yet another one we've already heard about countless times.

Oh! Thank You! I will try to improve myself! Come on Persecution Mania isn't widely known. I think it is quite under-rated.


Not really. It's very well known, if you ask me. Beginner's metal staple. Try something UNKNOWN. =]


Mortis, you are speaking like as if I am new to Metal and let me tell you that I am not.


That isn't my real name. I made it up. Never give out personal info to human databases like Facebook. I registered for a different reason.

Never said you were.

Speaking of FB, please accept my request. Then why did you call it beginner's metal staple?
vezzy - 29.07.2010 at 17:10  
Written by Hermann Langke on 29.07.2010 at 17:07

Written by vezzy on 29.07.2010 at 17:04

Written by Hermann Langke on 29.07.2010 at 16:57

Written by vezzy on 29.07.2010 at 15:06

Written by Hermann Langke on 29.07.2010 at 15:02

Written by vezzy on 29.07.2010 at 14:59

Great album, but I feel this doesn't live up to your previous reviews. Besides, it's yet another one we've already heard about countless times.

Oh! Thank You! I will try to improve myself! Come on Persecution Mania isn't widely known. I think it is quite under-rated.


Not really. It's very well known, if you ask me. Beginner's metal staple. Try something UNKNOWN. =]


Mortis, you are speaking like as if I am new to Metal and let me tell you that I am not.


That isn't my real name. I made it up. Never give out personal info to human databases like Facebook. I registered for a different reason.

Never said you were.

Speaking of FB, please accept my request. Then why did you call it beginner's metal staple?


Mostly because it's part of the Teutonic thrash metal trio classics. AKA, the popular thrash besides Big Four and Exodus/Testament (Bay Area).

Not that it's a bad thing. They're classics and deserve reviews, including to interest newcomers.
Hermann Langke - 31.07.2010 at 09:46  
Written by vezzy on 29.07.2010 at 17:10

Written by Hermann Langke on 29.07.2010 at 17:07

Written by vezzy on 29.07.2010 at 17:04

Written by Hermann Langke on 29.07.2010 at 16:57

Written by vezzy on 29.07.2010 at 15:06

Written by Hermann Langke on 29.07.2010 at 15:02

Written by vezzy on 29.07.2010 at 14:59

Great album, but I feel this doesn't live up to your previous reviews. Besides, it's yet another one we've already heard about countless times.

Oh! Thank You! I will try to improve myself! Come on Persecution Mania isn't widely known. I think it is quite under-rated.


Not really. It's very well known, if you ask me. Beginner's metal staple. Try something UNKNOWN. =]


Mortis, you are speaking like as if I am new to Metal and let me tell you that I am not.


That isn't my real name. I made it up. Never give out personal info to human databases like Facebook. I registered for a different reason.

Never said you were.

Speaking of FB, please accept my request. Then why did you call it beginner's metal staple?


Mostly because it's part of the Teutonic thrash metal trio classics. AKA, the popular thrash besides Big Four and Exodus/Testament (Bay Area).

Not that it's a bad thing. They're classics and deserve reviews, including to interest newcomers.

Vezzy you are kind of being arrogant in your tone. I do know about METAL, my friend. Just being from a place that's not conducive to Metal doesn't mean that I know nothing about Metal.
JÄY - 24.10.2011 at 05:03  
Quote:
Quote:

Vezzy you are kind of being arrogant in your tone. I do know about METAL, my friend. Just being from a place that's not conducive to Metal doesn't mean that I know nothing about Metal.

He was just sincerily trying to tell you that it is a pretty popular album...which it is. It is not NUMBER OF THE BEAST, but a pretty well known one, ya know?
vezzy - 24.10.2011 at 11:11  
Written by JÄY on 24.10.2011 at 05:03
He was just sincerily trying to tell you that it is a pretty popular album...which it is. It is not NUMBER OF THE BEAST, but a pretty well known one, ya know?


You're over a year late for the party.
JÄY - 24.10.2011 at 19:34  
Written by vezzy on 24.10.2011 at 11:11

Written by JÄY on 24.10.2011 at 05:03
He was just sincerily trying to tell you that it is a pretty popular album...which it is. It is not NUMBER OF THE BEAST, but a pretty well known one, ya know?


You're over a year late for the party.


Youre kind of annoying
vezzy - 25.10.2011 at 16:02  
Written by JÄY on 24.10.2011 at 19:34
Youre kind of annoying


I'm just saying the post was written over a year ago, so he's gotten it by then. Whatever though.

Advertise on Metal Storm


Login or register to post here.



Similar topics

Forum Topic Similarity Started
Reviews Sodom - Agent Orange 8 15.07.2010 by Hermann Langke
Albums Sodom - Persecution Mania 6 10.10.2010 by Deadmeat
Reviews Def Leppard - Euphoria 5 31.10.2010 by Hermann Langke
Reviews Mötley Crüe - Dr. Feelgood 5 12.08.2010 by Hermann Langke
Reviews Evile - Infected Nations 5 19.11.2010 by Hermann Langke



Hits total: 2999 | This month: 38