Rating:
4.1
Avenged Sevenfold - Nightmare
27 July 2010


01. Nightmare
02. Welcome To The Family
03. Danger Line
04. Buried Alive
05. Natural Born Killer
06. So Far Away
07. God Hates Us
08. Victim
09. Tonight The World Dies
10. Fiction
11. Save Me


Frankly, this album sucks. It really does. I had never listened to A7X before and going in to the review I had hoped it would at least be decent.

It's not.

I could list everything that I thought was wrong with this album, but apparently it'd be too long for most of your ADD-addled brains to handle. So here's the short version.

I figured out about three minutes in it's basically the same blueprint as Metallica, only modernized. Radio-friendly rock music with enough of a metal edge to convince angsty teenagers it's "dangerous" or something.

The album has more ballads than a "Best of Aerosmith Since '88" box set and even during aggressive songs the band still finds time to pop their testicles back in Warner Music's purse and wuss out. The closest thing this album has to an start-to-finish aggressive song is "God Hate's Us" outside of a useless breakdown in the middle... but even four minutes of distortion is too edgy for the accountants, so this otherwise pretty decent song has to close with a clean outro.

Hetfield-esq barking for verses, with an annoying almost nasal second vocal style used all too frequently, with catchy choruses. The dude at least has a decent voice when he doesn't switch to the annoying tone. The guitarist has some chops.

But ultimately the entire album feels more like a creation of what a Record Exec's idea of a (highly profitable) metal album should sound like, rather than what a metal enthusiast is likely to think a metal album should be. I guess the suits knew what they were doing, as apparently this was the top "purchased" album on iTunes last week.

But I imagine their target audience is certainly not the MetalStorm audience. I don't like it. And I imagine the vast majority of you won't either.

Avoid like the plague.

Performance: 7
Songwriting: 4
Originality: 4
Production: 9


Band profile: Avenged Sevenfold
Album: Nightmare


 



Written on 31.07.2010 by
BitterCOld
BitterCOld has been officially reviewing albums for MetalStorm since 2009.
More reviews by BitterCOld ››



Comments page 4 of 4

‹‹ Back to the Reviews Pages: 1 2 3 [4]
Comments: 169  
Users visited: 730  
Search this topic:  


BlindToNegotiate - 02.04.2012 at 18:20  
Quote:
It's really quite annoying. I mean, I can understand from a newcomer's point of view that someone stating an opinion as fact (This album is awesome!) looks like some kind of elitist attempt at making everyone think the same thing.

Well as I already said, you have to excuse me, as I am new to the whole forum scene and metalstorm community (your statement was spot on- I just saw these statements here as very a elitist view).

Given some time though, I should catch on soon!
Angelic Storm - 02.04.2012 at 20:34  
Written by Troy Killjoy on 02.04.2012 at 17:05
It's really quite annoying. I mean, I can understand from a newcomer's point of view that someone stating an opinion as fact (This album is awesome!) looks like some kind of elitist attempt at making everyone think the same thing.

But people who are familiar with the Internet should know better. Not every single post requires an "imo" or whatever.


I tend to just put "imo" in most posts where I state a point of view purely to stave off aggravated comments like many of the ones shown in this thread. It doesn't require it, but I'd rather save myself the annoyance of having to argue with people who are trying to put words in my mouth.

@BlindToNegotiate: Once you've been on messageboards for a while, it becomes easier to spot elitist comments from simply personal opinions. lol
Troy Killjoy - 02.04.2012 at 20:37  
Written by BlindToNegotiate on 02.04.2012 at 18:20
Given some time though, I should catch on soon!

Honestly it won't take you long to differentiate. We have resident elitists as much as we have resident... experimentalists? And not only do you get to know posting habits of the community, but of specific users.
Troy Killjoy - 02.04.2012 at 20:37  
Written by Angelic Storm on 02.04.2012 at 20:34
It doesn't require it, but I'd rather save myself from having to argue with people who try to put words in my mouth.

But arguing can be so much fun! Sometimes you get the best out of people that way. Or the worst, but most of the time it's a risk I feel is worth taking.
Angelic Storm - 02.04.2012 at 20:42  
Written by Troy Killjoy on 02.04.2012 at 20:37
But arguing can be so much fun! Sometimes you get the best out of people that way. Or the worst, but most of the time it's a risk I feel is worth taking.


I can see what you mean. I have had some meaningful and productive arguements on here the same as I've had pointless and stupid ones. The latter almost exclusively happens only with elitists or fanboys though.
BlindToNegotiate - 02.04.2012 at 21:44  
@Troy Killjoy & Angelic Storm: thanks for the heads up! I look forward to both the productive and pointless elitist arguments.
Angelic Storm - 02.04.2012 at 21:54  
Written by BlindToNegotiate on 02.04.2012 at 21:44

@Troy Killjoy & Angelic Storm: thanks for the heads up! I look forward to both the productive and pointless elitist arguments.


No, don't look forward to the pointless ones, they are no fun at all! Well, maybe some people find them fun, but for me they are annoying and monotonous.
BlindToNegotiate - 03.04.2012 at 15:43  
Quote:
No, don't look forward to the pointless ones, they are no fun at all! Well, maybe some people find them fun, but for me they are annoying and monotonous.

Well I guess only time will tell how obnoxious they'll turn out!
Nemo Atkins - 28.05.2012 at 02:47  
This was my first metalcore record (basically, got it as I had some free time before an audition along with Born In The USA by Bruce Springsteen for £10: I chose it because the cover art looked cool and it was in the offer). I only like the title track, Welcome to the Family and Victim, if only because those are the only songs I have on semi-regular replay. I don't listen to the other songs much, but there are some redeeming qualities to them that I've recently rediscovered (Danger Line is kind of cool and has a catchy chorus, for example). While I do disagree with the review, I think that BC has a few fair points (if put a bit too harshly): M Shadows does have a nasal voice which can grate on the ears (and I'm saying this as a guy who likes bits of A7X: namely, Unholy Confessions, Bat Country, Dear God and the previously mentioned) and this album does have more ballads than most metal albums (although, considering the album was a tribute to a fallen member of the band, that is understandable).
Nimlot - 12.01.2013 at 15:25  
Written by Got Mayhem? on 31.07.2010 at 06:47

Now, my high horse and I have some Blind Guardian to listen to so we'll be riding off now thank you very much.


I haven't posted on MetalStorm in years, I visit all the time to check updates, news, concert dates, reviews and keep up my collection and ratings (MetalStorm is awesome!), however, I just had to say this comment made my day.
To provide some possibly unnecessary context, allow me to elaborate. I only read this review because, after introducing my flatmate to Opeth he said they reminded him of Avenged Sevenfold. To this I replied by blasting Blind Guardian as loud as possible to drown out the torrent of utter shit spewing from his mouth.
Good day.
metalbrat - 27.08.2013 at 08:41  
I really don't understand why someone who is reviewing for MS is totally against 'metalcore' genre. If thats the case why the reviewer can't ask MS not to include metalcore albums in it's list hereafter?. I feel like some people wanna show others that they have a greater IQ level if they listen only to heavier metal versions and if they listen to 'metallica' like music they will be considered as less 'metalhead'. This album is really a good one and I rate it as high as 8 and I don't care what others think about me.
Daniell - 27.08.2013 at 11:41  
Written by metalbrat on 27.08.2013 at 08:41

I really don't understand why someone who is reviewing for MS is totally against 'metalcore' genre. If thats the case why the reviewer can't ask MS not to include metalcore albums in it's list hereafter?. I feel like some people wanna show others that they have a greater IQ level if they listen only to heavier metal versions and if they listen to 'metallica' like music they will be considered as less 'metalhead'. This album is really a good one and I rate it as high as 8 and I don't care what others think about me.


I don't think that genres have anything to do with the rating the album was given. It's simply a deeply mediocre album that offers almost nothing interesting to the listener. I can see why it's very popular, but its popularity doesn't make it better. It's unoriginal, painfully repetitive and completely uninspired. In other words, it's a perfect product for mass audience. The rating of 5.5 is the most generous I can imagine. Bitter was slightly harsher, and I can't blame him.
Uldreth - 28.08.2013 at 20:29  
This isn't metalcore though, they stopped being metalcore after Waking The Fallen.

Which doesn't really matter, just saying cause this throws the "metalcore" bias out of the window.

In fact I'd say most staffers would agree this band was much better when they were playing metalcore.
At least I like WTF a lot, it has some quite memorable songs like Chapter Four, Unholy Confessions or I Won't See You Tonight, whilst this is just bland 80s metal ripoff.
WPMoraes - 02.09.2013 at 21:01  
The huge pre-release marketing built upon Rev's death is also worth mention.
Shame on A7x for such an awful album.
metalbrat - 04.09.2013 at 13:45  
Written by Daniell on 27.08.2013 at 11:41

Written by metalbrat on 27.08.2013 at 08:41

I really don't understand why someone who is reviewing for MS is totally against 'metalcore' genre. If thats the case why the reviewer can't ask MS not to include metalcore albums in it's list hereafter?. I feel like some people wanna show others that they have a greater IQ level if they listen only to heavier metal versions and if they listen to 'metallica' like music they will be considered as less 'metalhead'. This album is really a good one and I rate it as high as 8 and I don't care what others think about me.


I don't think that genres have anything to do with the rating the album was given. It's simply a deeply mediocre album that offers almost nothing interesting to the listener. I can see why it's very popular, but its popularity doesn't make it better. It's unoriginal, painfully repetitive and completely uninspired. In other words, it's a perfect product for mass audience. The rating of 5.5 is the most generous I can imagine. Bitter was slightly harsher, and I can't blame him.


Well if you had given those rating for their new album I would have agreed completely eventhough MS fans have given them a higher rating. I heard a photocopy of 'Sad but True' of Metallica in it and another sounded like Axl Rose. And I thank you for telling that this album was perfect for mass audience. I think I have proved my point with that hoping that you would not say 'Mass audience' does not listen to music but trash. I am a part of that 'mass audience' and if they accept something as audible and re-audible then I call it music.
Daniell - 04.09.2013 at 14:29  
Written by metalbrat on 04.09.2013 at 13:45

Well if you had given those rating for their new album I would have agreed completely eventhough MS fans have given them a higher rating. I heard a photocopy of 'Sad but True' of Metallica in it and another sounded like Axl Rose. And I thank you for telling that this album was perfect for mass audience. I think I have proved my point with that hoping that you would not say 'Mass audience' does not listen to music but trash. I am a part of that 'mass audience' and if they accept something as audible and re-audible then I call it music.


It is music, it is adeptly performed and composed. Technically there is nothing wrong with it. But nothing wrong isn't enough to impress some people
metalbrat - 04.09.2013 at 14:55  
Written by Daniell on 04.09.2013 at 14:29

Written by metalbrat on 04.09.2013 at 13:45

Well if you had given those rating for their new album I would have agreed completely eventhough MS fans have given them a higher rating. I heard a photocopy of 'Sad but True' of Metallica in it and another sounded like Axl Rose. And I thank you for telling that this album was perfect for mass audience. I think I have proved my point with that hoping that you would not say 'Mass audience' does not listen to music but trash. I am a part of that 'mass audience' and if they accept something as audible and re-audible then I call it music.


It is music, it is adeptly performed and composed. Technically there is nothing wrong with it. But nothing wrong isn't enough to impress some people


I do agree with that point of yours. Still somewhere inside I feel that some MS fan groups hate 'metalcore'..... well let's wait till another review of a metalcore album comes out.;D
BitterCOld - 06.09.2013 at 20:10  
I published this three years ago... i still find it amusing that simply because i didn't like this album that people somehow think the entirety of the staff hate the totality of metalcore. we don't have to go through that again, do we?
DoctorDetroit - 16.10.2013 at 06:06  
Honestly? Up until a few days ago I was no fan....Hated them, grouped them with Five Finger Crotch Punch as everything that is wrong with Metal today. But then I saw them live...

I went to the show to see GHOST, who was amazing, but I am cheap and I figured "Hey I paid for the ticket lets see what they got"

They melted my face.

Their old stuff is more aggressive (Some say MetalCore but I dont use genre's another thing that is ruining metal ) But I find them comparable to the like of Maiden and Priest. Not saying they are Maiden or Priest, but it is comparable. Big Sound, Catchy choruses and just Metal enough to be metal.

What I can say to the "haters" is this; Give the band a chance...As a metal fan, if you are a true Metal fan you will appreciate what this album and others from this band have to offer

And I know how the internet works so before anyone calls me anytype of names...Yes I like A7X, but I am also going to see High on Fire, Toxic Holocaust, Here Comes the Kraken, Slayer, Sepultura in the coming months and next year I am going to Wacken and I pray Abbath with grace me with his presence.

Advertise on Metal Storm
Pages: 1 2 3 [4]


Login or register to post here.



Similar topics

Forum Topic Similarity Started
Albums Avenged Sevenfold - Not Ready To Die [Single] 4.5 15.06.2011 by John Shock
Albums Avenged Sevenfold - Nightmare 4.5 27.12.2009 by Lit.
News Avenged Sevenfold - New Single Online 4.5 15.07.2013 by Doge of Venice
News Avenged Sevenfold - New Video Online 4.5 19.07.2010 by pcgecko85
News Avenged Sevenfold - New Video Online 4.5 06.07.2014 by cossaisVendeurs



Hits total: 13829 | This month: 75