Aborted - Coronary Reconstruction review



Reviewer:
6.5

29 users:
7.62
Band: Aborted
Album: Coronary Reconstruction
Release date: January 2010


01. Coronary Reconstruction
02. From A Tepid Whiff
03. Grime
04. A Cadaverous Dissertation
05. Left Hand Path [Entombed cover]


Let's face it. Aborted aren't really going to return to their well-known abrasive and explosive style of brutal death/deathgrind we know and love, à la Goremageddon and Engineering The Dead. They've taken a more dulled down, melodic death path, while still retaining their brutality, even though it just doesn't live up to their early days.

What we have here is this year's new EP by them, Coronary Reconstruction through Century Media. This is a digital EP and only 1,000 physical copies were made. That said, it is pretty much the spiritual successor to Strychnine.213. We have two vocal styles like in its predecessor: the raspy growl and the weak, somewhat deathcore-esque shout. The sound is definitely loud and raging. It is also a bit rawer, losing the groove vibe which was present in their previous effort. Although what's especially notable is the completely new lineup with the Goremageddon-era drummer Dirk Verbeuren having returned.

Yet sadly, it is only a shadow of their signature work. It really seems like they tried to recreate it but in the end you get a rawer Strychnine (the melody is here to stay, but at least it isn't keyboard bombardment or forced to you). This isn't necessarily bad that they try to experiment more, no not at all, we actually still have grinding guitars, even if not as intense, but the problem is it sounds washed up and already done many times. It can't hold out on its own, despite its shining moments (parts of "Grime" and "A Cadaverous Dissertation"). Verbeuren does a good job as well. Blast beats, fills, plenty of good parts, but that doesn't help much as the guitar is quite high in the mix (this also means, you guessed it… largely inaudible bass).

In conclusion, although Sven insists that this is a return to their old school style of grinding death metal, that doesn't seem to be the case. Unless you're a die-hard fan or enjoyed their efforts from Slaughter and Apparatus and beyond, I wouldn't recommend it beyond a Last.FM listen if you're curious.


Rating breakdown
Performance: 8
Songwriting: 8
Originality: 6
Production: 9

Written by vezzy | 02.08.2010


 


Guest review disclaimer:
This is a guest review, which means it does not necessarily represent the point of view of the MS Staff.


Comments

Comments: 10   Visited by: 59 users
02.08.2010 - 13:38
!J.O.O.E.!
Account deleted
Nice review. Haven't actually listened to these guys since The Archaic Abattoir, which I actually enjoyed, though of course not as much as Engineering The Dead. Might give this a whirl at some point.
Loading...
02.08.2010 - 13:40
vezzy
Stallmanite
Written by Guest on 02.08.2010 at 13:38

Nice review. Haven't actually listened to these guys since The Archaic Abattoir, which I actually enjoyed, though of course not as much as Engineering The Dead. Might give this a whirl at some point.


Haha, glad you notice EtD. Lots of people focus solely on Goremageddon for some reason.
----
Licensed under the GPLv3.
Relinquish proprietary software for a greater GNU/America.
Loading...
02.08.2010 - 13:44
!J.O.O.E.!
Account deleted
Written by vezzy on 02.08.2010 at 13:40

Written by Guest on 02.08.2010 at 13:38

Nice review. Haven't actually listened to these guys since The Archaic Abattoir, which I actually enjoyed, though of course not as much as Engineering The Dead. Might give this a whirl at some point.


Haha, glad you notice EtD. Lots of people focus solely on Goremageddon for some reason.

Yeah they both kick many varieties of ass but I prefer EtD's simpler, straighter less "Aborted" kind of sound, if they makes any sense at all. Feels a bit more riff based.
Loading...
02.08.2010 - 13:46
vezzy
Stallmanite
Written by Guest on 02.08.2010 at 13:44

Written by vezzy on 02.08.2010 at 13:40

Written by Guest on 02.08.2010 at 13:38

Nice review. Haven't actually listened to these guys since The Archaic Abattoir, which I actually enjoyed, though of course not as much as Engineering The Dead. Might give this a whirl at some point.


Haha, glad you notice EtD. Lots of people focus solely on Goremageddon for some reason.

Yeah they both kick many varieties of ass but I prefer EtD's simpler, straighter less "Aborted" kind of sound, if they makes any sense at all.


I get what you mean. Goremageddon grinds like a beast while EtD roars along without giving a damn... while having moments to shine as Goremageddon is too busy delivering spoken word parts.
----
Licensed under the GPLv3.
Relinquish proprietary software for a greater GNU/America.
Loading...
05.08.2010 - 05:16
Troy Killjoy
perfunctionist
I haven't really enjoyed anything from these guys since Engineering The Dead. I still can't make up my mind about which I like more - ETD or The Purity Of Perversion.

Regardless, this definitely isn't a return to their original style. The weak vocals and contrite melodies don't suit their attempts at brutality, and though this is very specific, "Left Hand Path" is one of the worst metal cover songs I've ever heard.

5.5/10 from me.
----
Prettier than BloodTears.
Loading...
09.08.2010 - 15:54
Boxcar Willy
yr a kook
As i said i broke my collarbone and wrist, now i cant go see their tour... NOOOOOO!!! even no im typing with one hand...
----
forever bummed out
Loading...
09.08.2010 - 16:17
Marcel Hubregtse
Grumpy Old Fuck
Written by Boxcar Willy on 09.08.2010 at 15:54

As i said i broke my collarbone and wrist, now i cant go see their tour... NOOOOOO!!! even no im typing with one hand...

Ouch. So no internet porn for you then until th wrist is healed
----
Member of the true crusade against European Flower Metal

Yesterday is dead and gone, tomorrow is out of sight
Dawn Crosby (r.i.p.)
05.04.1963 - 15.12.1996

Loading...
09.08.2010 - 16:25
Boxcar Willy
yr a kook
Written by Marcel Hubregtse on 09.08.2010 at 16:17

Written by Boxcar Willy on 09.08.2010 at 15:54

As i said i broke my collarbone and wrist, now i cant go see their tour... NOOOOOO!!! even no im typing with one hand...

Ouch. So no internet porn for you then until th wrist is healed

yuk yuk yuk
----
forever bummed out
Loading...
11.08.2010 - 22:04
Don Martin
le fu-
I bought the physical copy and actually thought the same thing upon listening it, althought it IS a serious improvement to the crap they came up with on Strychnine.213.
----
What a tackastrophe!
Loading...
16.09.2010 - 17:42
MetalDesperado
In the first couple of times i listened to it, it sounded interesting but after a while it became boring.But this is one of the sickest artworks I've ever seen!!!
Loading...

Hits total: 4146 | This month: 20