Solution .45 - For Aeons Past review



Reviewer:
6.5

207 users:
7.99
Band: Solution .45
Album: For Aeons Past
Release date: April 2010


01. The Close Beyond
02. Gravitational Lensing
03. Through Night-Kingdomed Gates
04. For Aeons Past
05. Lethean Tears
06. Bladed Vaults
07. Wirethrone
08. On Embered Fields Adust
09. Into Shadow
10. Clandestinity Now
11. Spirit Side Dreaming [Japanese bonus]


Melodic death metal
Sweden
AFM Records

Line-up on the CD:
Christian Älvestam - vocals
Tom Gardiner - guitars
Jani Stefanovic - guitars
Anders Edlund - bass
Mikko Härkin - keyboards
Rolf Pilve - drums


Torchbearer, Miseration, Incapacity, The Few Against Many, formerly Scar Symmetry, and now Solution .45. Needless to say, Christian Älvestam is obviously a very busy man.

One might be so inclined as to call him a genius. What For Aeons Past proves, if anything, is that Älvestam may well be one of the most talented vocalists still contributing to the scene, but even a voice this strong can't save an album from incredibly generic guitar leads, conventional song structures, monotonous drumming, subdued keyboard passages... Basically this album is Sweden's demonstration of how a lack of musical prowess can cripple an otherwise monumental performance on behalf of a multi-dimensional vocalist. Think Geddy Lee in front of Diminished with archetypal melodies.

Ya, that crippling.

Älvestam and his cohorts are so far apart in terms of musical proficiency I can't even begin to imagine how this band was labeled a supergroup. Usually such distinctions are bestowed upon bands that are comprised of a handful of established musicians. The problem with Solution .45 is that the only member deserving of praise for his efforts is the vocalist - the rest of the musicians can't keep up playing follow the leader and fade into obscurity before the third track gets under way.

Don't get me wrong - For Aeons Past is filled with energy, carried by Pilve's rapid pace (monotonous, but rapid) behind the kit and extremely catchy with its semi-Natural Born Chaos chugging worship, an added aggression that doesn't exactly buoy Älvestam's talent, but even with the extremity factor the music on this release is too neutral.

Oh, and then of course there's everybody's favorite song: "Clandestinity Now". An indisputable beast of a closer, this is what the band should have focused on creating throughout the entire album. Again the musicianship is anything but outstanding, but the instruments seem to work with Älvestam this time around - a bit late considering it's the final track on the album.

With this much room for improvement, it's hard to say what Älvestam will do. Both Mikko Härkin and Jani Stefanovic are out, and Patrik Gardberg is in (surprise - he plays in Torchbearer and The Few Against Many with Älvestam, so don't expect much of a change).

Either everyone goes back to the drawing board, or everyone simply goes home. These over-sugared melodic death metal outfits can no longer survive off the "celebrity" status of a single member anymore, even with the guarantee of several followers blindly deeming every release of said celebrity a masterpiece. There needs to be cohesion, that little thing called teamwork, for an album to make a lasting impression on a metal community with ever-rising standards.

We are oft to blame in this, —
'Tis too much prov'd, — that with devotion's visage,
And pious action, we do sugar o'er
The devil himself.


Website: http://www.myspace.com/solution45


Rating breakdown
Performance: 6
Songwriting: 5
Originality: 6
Production: 9


 



Written on 04.08.2010 by Just another opinionated guy telling you what to listen to.


Comments

Comments: 57   Visited by: 357 users
04.08.2010 - 17:48
JÄY
Metal slave
Haha good review, old boy!
Loading...
04.08.2010 - 17:50
Troy Killjoy
perfunctionist
Written by JÄY on 04.08.2010 at 17:48

Haha good review, old boy!

Merci, merci.
----
Prettier than BloodTears.
Loading...
04.08.2010 - 18:30
elseif
Good review
Loading...
04.08.2010 - 18:31
MeloDeathViking
I was so disapointed when I got this album. I wasn't a fan of Scar Symmetry, but all the hype I saw around this album made me really want to get it. I really wanted to like it, but I just didn't think it was that great. There are a couple of songs that stand out for me, but mainly for the vocals. I gave this a 7 after a few listens, might go back and listen another time or two, see if the rating goes up or down.
----
"I am not superstitious, but I'm a little 'stitious." - Michael Scott
Loading...
04.08.2010 - 18:53
Derwood
A pretty balanced review, Troy. This one is high on my list of biggest disappointments of the year. The hype raised a lot of expectations but the reality is that this is a pretty forgettable album over all.

Though I must say using Geddy Lee in a vocalist analogy in a context other than, "...not as annoying as Geddy Lee..." (and I'm a Rush fan) would never occur to me.
----
You can't fight evil with a macaroni duck!
Loading...
04.08.2010 - 18:55
Troy Killjoy
perfunctionist
Written by Derwood on 04.08.2010 at 18:53

A pretty balanced review, Troy. This one is high on my list of biggest disappointments of the year. The hype raised a lot of expectations but the reality is that this is a pretty forgettable album over all.

Though I must say using Geddy Lee in a vocalist analogy in a context other than, "...not as annoying as Geddy Lee..." (and I'm a Rush fan) would never occur to me.

Thanks! Definitely a disappointment for me too, although I half-expected it because of the hype surrounding its release.

I like Geddy Lee's vocals!
----
Prettier than BloodTears.
Loading...
04.08.2010 - 20:51
Mikyz
I couldn't have said it any better, Alvestam's musical prowess overshadows the rest of the band. The only reason I got through the album is because of Alvestam's skill and versatility. And as you said they should have made the rest of the album similar to "Clandestinity Now"
----
Laugh and the world laughs with you. Weep and you weep alone.
Loading...
04.08.2010 - 21:02
Marcel Hubregtse
Grumpy Old Fuck
I agree with every word said here. But I can see the shit hitting the fan when the people that think Solution 45 is the second coming of Christ read this review.
----
Member of the true crusade against European Flower Metal

Yesterday is dead and gone, tomorrow is out of sight
Dawn Crosby (r.i.p.)
05.04.1963 - 15.12.1996

Loading...
04.08.2010 - 21:25
Diabolos
Space For Rent!
Finally someone who sees that this album is only average, good review!
Loading...
04.08.2010 - 22:21
Vitriolic Hate
Chaos Reaper
''Think Geddy Lee in front of Diminished with archetypal melodies''
Loading...
04.08.2010 - 23:21
Troy Killjoy
perfunctionist
Thanks for the comments guys!
----
Prettier than BloodTears.
Loading...
05.08.2010 - 01:34
Daggon
Underpaid M.D.
I have never been a fan of "sugary melodic death metal", and I have found almost every praised album of this category (or similar) really boring. It's not about making something innovative or groundbreaking, it's about a well-done execution, you don't have to reinvent the scene, just make it better, but seems that lots of melodeath bands are going the wrong way.

Nice review by the way.
----
"Les vers savent qu'ils n'ont pas d'ailes, c'est pour cela qu'ils se cachent sous terre"
Loading...
05.08.2010 - 03:47
Troy Killjoy
perfunctionist
Written by Daggon on 05.08.2010 at 01:34

...you don't have to reinvent the scene, just make it better...

Exactly!
----
Prettier than BloodTears.
Loading...
05.08.2010 - 05:02
Ancient Ruin
This review is shit. Anything Alvestam does is awesome, and just because the guitars aren't progressive or something new doesn't mean its not awesome. This CD rules (if you appreciate good melodic Swedish death metal)
Loading...
05.08.2010 - 05:06
Troy Killjoy
perfunctionist
Written by Ancient Ruin on 05.08.2010 at 05:02

This review is shit.

I wish I was as cool as you.
----
Prettier than BloodTears.
Loading...
05.08.2010 - 05:29
Edmund Fogg
Oooh! Ooh! Will that make the same uselless shitstorm that the review of Nightmare? I better go get my popcorn.
----
You cannot sedate all the things you hate - MM
The Observer is the source of reality - Bloom
God damn it!! What did Diddy didn't do? - Satan
Loading...
05.08.2010 - 05:34
Troy Killjoy
perfunctionist
Written by Edmund Fogg on 05.08.2010 at 05:29

Oooh! Ooh! Will that make the same uselless shitstorm that the review of Nightmare? I better go get my popcorn.

Nothing will rival that thread, at least not a review as subdued as mine.
----
Prettier than BloodTears.
Loading...
05.08.2010 - 05:52
Edmund Fogg
Written by Troy Killjoy on 05.08.2010 at 05:34

Written by Edmund Fogg on 05.08.2010 at 05:29

Oooh! Ooh! Will that make the same uselless shitstorm that the review of Nightmare? I better go get my popcorn.

Nothing will rival that thread, at least not a review as subdued as mine.

haha.Well we can always try.Let's see...This review sucks if you don't like a band then just don't review it.You have no musical taste whatsoever and my dick is bigger then yours.hihi
----
You cannot sedate all the things you hate - MM
The Observer is the source of reality - Bloom
God damn it!! What did Diddy didn't do? - Satan
Loading...
05.08.2010 - 06:02
Troy Killjoy
perfunctionist
Written by Edmund Fogg on 05.08.2010 at 05:52

...and my dick is bigger then yours.hihi

My girlfriend says I'm average!
----
Prettier than BloodTears.
Loading...
05.08.2010 - 06:36
Daggon
Underpaid M.D.
Written by Troy Killjoy on 05.08.2010 at 06:02

Written by Edmund Fogg on 05.08.2010 at 05:52

...and my dick is bigger then yours.hihi

My girlfriend says I'm average!


My girlfriend says the same
----
"Les vers savent qu'ils n'ont pas d'ailes, c'est pour cela qu'ils se cachent sous terre"
Loading...
05.08.2010 - 06:54
Dangerboner
:D
My mom says I'm lacking
Loading...
05.08.2010 - 08:20
hadriel
Alvestam is definitely the star of the show here and I agree that the musicianship is anything but innovative or outstanding, but nonetheless the album as a whole just works for me. Of course, I'd much rather have another Holographic Universe, but I didn't think this album was as bland/lacking as the review makes it out to be....

..Then again, maybe my mind is playing games one me due to being over halfway through the year and having an embarrassingly small number of quality albums released.
Loading...
05.08.2010 - 08:35
bluemobiusx
Account deleted
Yeah. I think, if you are going to listen to one of Alvestam's recent works, you should go for the new Miseration album.
Loading...
05.08.2010 - 12:36
!J.O.O.E.!
Account deleted
Written by Dangerboner on 05.08.2010 at 06:54

My mom says I'm lacking

Your mom says the same about me too
Loading...
05.08.2010 - 15:51
BaneConall
Fart Enthusiast
I totally agree with the review. It's one of those albums that seems amazing at first but quickly becomes boring and old. Not up to par with the first three scar symmetry releases at all.
Loading...
05.08.2010 - 16:15
Kwis
Alvestam, go back to Scar Symmetry! We need you!
Loading...
05.08.2010 - 17:04
Kamil
Good review indeed.
I will only add, that in my opinion this stuff sounds too similiar to Scar Symmetry.
6,5 /10 is very good rate for this album.
Loading...
05.08.2010 - 18:39
Wes
Written by Kamil on 05.08.2010 at 17:04

Good review indeed.
I will only add, that in my opinion this stuff sounds too similiar to Scar Symmetry.
6,5 /10 is very good rate for this album.


You mean it sounds too similar to Holographic Universe.. Come on

Anyway yeah I guess 6.5 is ok but its a flawed review nonetheless. I enjoy this album more than almost any other album I own now and SS albums. I've just listened to them too much. As a CD with christians vocals its really enjoyable but yeah that's it. Christian's vocals = 10/10, album 6.5/10 FAIR...
Loading...
05.08.2010 - 19:15
Kamil
I agree, that Christian is very good on this stuff.
Loading...
05.08.2010 - 20:39
Sydney.
Account deleted
Hey, fave boyfriend
After listening at your house i agree with the rating. The vocals are great but the instruments are so average (like your dick) which is pretty unfortunate.

There isn't much to say because we've already talked about the album, but good, well-written review, as usual.
(ps - my first comment, holla)
Loading...

Hits total: 7753 | This month: 16