Rating:
6.5
Solution .45 - For Aeons Past
9 April 2010


01. The Close Beyond
02. Gravitational Lensing
03. Through Night-Kingdomed Gates
04. For Aeons Past
05. Lethean Tears
06. Bladed Vaults
07. Wirethrone
08. On Embered Fields Adust
09. Into Shadow
10. Clandestinity Now
11. Spirit Side Dreaming [Japanese bonus]


Melodic death metal
Sweden
AFM Records

Line-up on the CD:
Christian Älvestam - vocals
Tom Gardiner - guitars
Jani Stefanovic - guitars
Anders Edlund - bass
Mikko Härkin - keyboards
Rolf Pilve - drums


Torchbearer, Miseration, Incapacity, The Few Against Many, formerly Scar Symmetry, and now Solution .45. Needless to say, Christian Älvestam is obviously a very busy man.

One might be so inclined as to call him a genius. What For Aeons Past proves, if anything, is that Älvestam may well be one of the most talented vocalists still contributing to the scene, but even a voice this strong can't save an album from incredibly generic guitar leads, conventional song structures, monotonous drumming, subdued keyboard passages... Basically this album is Sweden's demonstration of how a lack of musical prowess can cripple an otherwise monumental performance on behalf of a multi-dimensional vocalist. Think Geddy Lee in front of Diminished with archetypal melodies.

Ya, that crippling.

Älvestam and his cohorts are so far apart in terms of musical proficiency I can't even begin to imagine how this band was labeled a supergroup. Usually such distinctions are bestowed upon bands that are comprised of a handful of established musicians. The problem with Solution .45 is that the only member deserving of praise for his efforts is the vocalist - the rest of the musicians can't keep up playing follow the leader and fade into obscurity before the third track gets under way.

Don't get me wrong - For Aeons Past is filled with energy, carried by Pilve's rapid pace (monotonous, but rapid) behind the kit and extremely catchy with its semi-Natural Born Chaos chugging worship, an added aggression that doesn't exactly buoy Älvestam's talent, but even with the extremity factor the music on this release is too neutral.

Oh, and then of course there's everybody's favorite song: "Clandestinity Now". An indisputable beast of a closer, this is what the band should have focused on creating throughout the entire album. Again the musicianship is anything but outstanding, but the instruments seem to work with Älvestam this time around - a bit late considering it's the final track on the album.

With this much room for improvement, it's hard to say what Älvestam will do. Both Mikko Härkin and Jani Stefanovic are out, and Patrik Gardberg is in (surprise - he plays in Torchbearer and The Few Against Many with Älvestam, so don't expect much of a change).

Either everyone goes back to the drawing board, or everyone simply goes home. These over-sugared melodic death metal outfits can no longer survive off the "celebrity" status of a single member anymore, even with the guarantee of several followers blindly deeming every release of said celebrity a masterpiece. There needs to be cohesion, that little thing called teamwork, for an album to make a lasting impression on a metal community with ever-rising standards.

We are oft to blame in this,
'Tis too much prov'd, that with devotion's visage,
And pious action, we do sugar o'er
The devil himself.


Website: http://www.myspace.com/solution45

Performance: 6
Songwriting: 5
Originality: 6
Production: 9


Band profile: Solution .45
Album: For Aeons Past


 



Written on 04.08.2010 by
Troy Killjoy
Just another opinionated guy telling you what to listen to.
More reviews by Troy Killjoy ››



Comments

‹‹ Back to the Reviews Pages: [1] 2
Comments: 56  
Users visited: 321  
Search this topic:  


JÄY - 04.08.2010 at 17:48  
Haha good review, old boy!
Troy Killjoy - 04.08.2010 at 17:50  
Written by JÄY on 04.08.2010 at 17:48

Haha good review, old boy!

Merci, merci.
elseif - 04.08.2010 at 18:30  
Good review
MeloDeathViking - 04.08.2010 at 18:31  
I was so disapointed when I got this album. I wasn't a fan of Scar Symmetry, but all the hype I saw around this album made me really want to get it. I really wanted to like it, but I just didn't think it was that great. There are a couple of songs that stand out for me, but mainly for the vocals. I gave this a 7 after a few listens, might go back and listen another time or two, see if the rating goes up or down.
Derwood - 04.08.2010 at 18:53  
A pretty balanced review, Troy. This one is high on my list of biggest disappointments of the year. The hype raised a lot of expectations but the reality is that this is a pretty forgettable album over all.

Though I must say using Geddy Lee in a vocalist analogy in a context other than, "...not as annoying as Geddy Lee..." (and I'm a Rush fan) would never occur to me.
Troy Killjoy - 04.08.2010 at 18:55  
Written by Derwood on 04.08.2010 at 18:53

A pretty balanced review, Troy. This one is high on my list of biggest disappointments of the year. The hype raised a lot of expectations but the reality is that this is a pretty forgettable album over all.

Though I must say using Geddy Lee in a vocalist analogy in a context other than, "...not as annoying as Geddy Lee..." (and I'm a Rush fan) would never occur to me.

Thanks! Definitely a disappointment for me too, although I half-expected it because of the hype surrounding its release.

I like Geddy Lee's vocals!
Mikyz - 04.08.2010 at 20:51  
I couldn't have said it any better, Alvestam's musical prowess overshadows the rest of the band. The only reason I got through the album is because of Alvestam's skill and versatility. And as you said they should have made the rest of the album similar to "Clandestinity Now"
Marcel Hubregtse - 04.08.2010 at 21:02  
I agree with every word said here. But I can see the shit hitting the fan when the people that think Solution 45 is the second coming of Christ read this review.
Diabolos - 04.08.2010 at 21:25  
Finally someone who sees that this album is only average, good review!
Vitriolic Hate - 04.08.2010 at 22:21  
''Think Geddy Lee in front of Diminished with archetypal melodies''
Troy Killjoy - 04.08.2010 at 23:21  
Thanks for the comments guys!
Daggon - 05.08.2010 at 01:34  
I have never been a fan of "sugary melodic death metal", and I have found almost every praised album of this category (or similar) really boring. It's not about making something innovative or groundbreaking, it's about a well-done execution, you don't have to reinvent the scene, just make it better, but seems that lots of melodeath bands are going the wrong way.

Nice review by the way.
Troy Killjoy - 05.08.2010 at 03:47  
Written by Daggon on 05.08.2010 at 01:34

...you don't have to reinvent the scene, just make it better...

Exactly!
Ancient Ruin - 05.08.2010 at 05:02  
This review is shit. Anything Alvestam does is awesome, and just because the guitars aren't progressive or something new doesn't mean its not awesome. This CD rules (if you appreciate good melodic Swedish death metal)
Troy Killjoy - 05.08.2010 at 05:06  
Written by Ancient Ruin on 05.08.2010 at 05:02

This review is shit.

I wish I was as cool as you.
Edmund Fogg - 05.08.2010 at 05:29  
Oooh! Ooh! Will that make the same uselless shitstorm that the review of Nightmare? I better go get my popcorn.
Troy Killjoy - 05.08.2010 at 05:34  
Written by Edmund Fogg on 05.08.2010 at 05:29

Oooh! Ooh! Will that make the same uselless shitstorm that the review of Nightmare? I better go get my popcorn.

Nothing will rival that thread, at least not a review as subdued as mine.
Edmund Fogg - 05.08.2010 at 05:52  
Written by Troy Killjoy on 05.08.2010 at 05:34

Written by Edmund Fogg on 05.08.2010 at 05:29

Oooh! Ooh! Will that make the same uselless shitstorm that the review of Nightmare? I better go get my popcorn.

Nothing will rival that thread, at least not a review as subdued as mine.

haha.Well we can always try.Let's see...This review sucks if you don't like a band then just don't review it.You have no musical taste whatsoever and my dick is bigger then yours.hihi
Troy Killjoy - 05.08.2010 at 06:02  
Written by Edmund Fogg on 05.08.2010 at 05:52

...and my dick is bigger then yours.hihi

My girlfriend says I'm average!
Daggon - 05.08.2010 at 06:36  
Written by Troy Killjoy on 05.08.2010 at 06:02

Written by Edmund Fogg on 05.08.2010 at 05:52

...and my dick is bigger then yours.hihi

My girlfriend says I'm average!


My girlfriend says the same
Dangerboner - 05.08.2010 at 06:54  
My mom says I'm lacking
hadriel - 05.08.2010 at 08:20  
Alvestam is definitely the star of the show here and I agree that the musicianship is anything but innovative or outstanding, but nonetheless the album as a whole just works for me. Of course, I'd much rather have another Holographic Universe, but I didn't think this album was as bland/lacking as the review makes it out to be....

..Then again, maybe my mind is playing games one me due to being over halfway through the year and having an embarrassingly small number of quality albums released.
BlueMobius - 05.08.2010 at 08:35  
Yeah. I think, if you are going to listen to one of Alvestam's recent works, you should go for the new Miseration album.
!J.O.O.E.! - 05.08.2010 at 12:36  
Written by Dangerboner on 05.08.2010 at 06:54

My mom says I'm lacking

Your mom says the same about me too
BaneConall - 05.08.2010 at 15:51  
I totally agree with the review. It's one of those albums that seems amazing at first but quickly becomes boring and old. Not up to par with the first three scar symmetry releases at all.
Kwis - 05.08.2010 at 16:15  
Alvestam, go back to Scar Symmetry! We need you!
Kamil - 05.08.2010 at 17:04  
Good review indeed.
I will only add, that in my opinion this stuff sounds too similiar to Scar Symmetry.
6,5 /10 is very good rate for this album.
Wes - 05.08.2010 at 18:39  
Written by Kamil on 05.08.2010 at 17:04

Good review indeed.
I will only add, that in my opinion this stuff sounds too similiar to Scar Symmetry.
6,5 /10 is very good rate for this album.


You mean it sounds too similar to Holographic Universe.. Come on

Anyway yeah I guess 6.5 is ok but its a flawed review nonetheless. I enjoy this album more than almost any other album I own now and SS albums. I've just listened to them too much. As a CD with christians vocals its really enjoyable but yeah that's it. Christian's vocals = 10/10, album 6.5/10 FAIR...
Kamil - 05.08.2010 at 19:15  
I agree, that Christian is very good on this stuff.
Sydney. - 05.08.2010 at 20:39  
Hey, fave boyfriend
After listening at your house i agree with the rating. The vocals are great but the instruments are so average (like your dick) which is pretty unfortunate.

There isn't much to say because we've already talked about the album, but good, well-written review, as usual.
(ps - my first comment, holla)
Thanntos - 05.08.2010 at 21:24  
Good to see an honest rating for this rather then people sucking Alvestams left nut. I would rather listen to Scar Symmetry any day. This album was pretty boring for me to listen to all the way through.
Troy Killjoy - 06.08.2010 at 04:45  
Written by Wes on 05.08.2010 at 18:39

...but its a flawed review nonetheless...

Care to elaborate on that thought?
Valaskjalf - 06.08.2010 at 18:54  
Oh well I still love the album, it depends what you wanna get out of it. I listen to different bands for different reasons and for wanting to experience different things depending on the mood Im in. We all know this is a severely vocal-driven album, but for me thats fine because with this particular band thats enough for me. The same way I still listen to Abba and Simon&Garfunkel because their vocal harmonies are of the best ever....it doesnt mean Im in love with pop music now that I listen to Abba, it all rides on the fact that theres something in their music that I think is fucking awesome and thats good enough for me.

I happen to enjoy Christian's vocals with S45 more than Scar Symmetry as to me it feels he had more freedom....and therefor that is enough for me. Sure there arent as many killer solos and song structure as in Scar Symmetry but so what? I didnt buy this album to view it as a 5th SS album I bought it for the reasons explained.

So thats why Im fine with giving this a 10.
Troy Killjoy - 06.08.2010 at 18:58  
A 10 for a metal album that you'd listen to for the same reason as listening to Simon & Garfunkel?

I fear popular metal music is worse than I thought. :/
Valaskjalf - 07.08.2010 at 00:23  
Dont use the words I said out of context.......I was speaking of the quality of vocals and vocal melodies (harmonising), you make it seem as if I compared the bands head on musically. And before you misunderstand me again, when I "compare" them its more symbolic in that its uplifting to me, regardless of it being metal or not.

Maybe next time I will write shorter sentences so you can come to grips with what I actually mean. And who gives a crap if I gave it a 10? I think the vocals are fucking rad and thats pretty much what I wanted out of this album from the start.
BitterCOld - 07.08.2010 at 05:04  
Written by Valaskjalf on 07.08.2010 at 00:23

And who gives a crap if I gave it a 10? I think the vocals are fucking rad and thats pretty much what I wanted out of this album from the start.


i find that comment amusing given your meltdown about someone scoring it a "2"...

Written by Valaskjalf on 28.04.2010 at 19:34

Pity that one fucktard gave it 2/10....pretty sure he didnt even listen to the album. Because if he did Im pretty sure his rating would be better. I mean seriously....9/10 for new Eluveitie and 2/10 for this? come on...


... I guess we're not supposed to concern ourselves with your motives, but you can refer to people whose tastes differ from yours as "fucktards"? If anything making disparaging remarks like that sort of opens your own position on the same album to criticism.

And this is made even more amusing given the "1" hatchet job you did to the new Overkill, Exodus, and Heathen albums. May I ask, did you even listen to those albums? A 10 for this, and 1's for those albums? "come on..."

But this a 10 because all you wanted was "rad vocals"? Talk about lowered expectations. I wonder what you'd score this album if they ditched the bassist and added a 3rd guitarist*? go Spinal Tap and crank it up to 11?

Thanks for keeping me heartily amused with your wit, wisdom, and obviously superior musical tastes!



*

Written by Valaskjalf on 14.12.2009 at 20:09

Favourite metal bassist?

Who really gives a crap about bassists? Unless you're a whale and can hear a seal take a shit from 10 miles away then you might care who the best bassist is. I can possibly recall hearing bass maybe 5 times in the music I listen to...and even then I wont mind them being replaced by a third guitarist. I think theres only a bassist in a metal band because the instrument has fat strings and kinda looks cool. Other than that I hardly see the point...or maybe my ears are just fucked from listening too much music - either way who cares.
Aetherius - 07.08.2010 at 08:34  
I liked the music a lot but wasnt a big fan of the vocals. Good review though.
Valaskjalf - 07.08.2010 at 11:36  
Written by BitterCOld on 07.08.2010 at 05:04

Written by Valaskjalf on 07.08.2010 at 00:23

And who gives a crap if I gave it a 10? I think the vocals are fucking rad and thats pretty much what I wanted out of this album from the start.


i find that comment amusing given your meltdown about someone scoring it a "2"...

Written by Valaskjalf on 28.04.2010 at 19:34

Pity that one fucktard gave it 2/10....pretty sure he didnt even listen to the album. Because if he did Im pretty sure his rating would be better. I mean seriously....9/10 for new Eluveitie and 2/10 for this? come on...


... I guess we're not supposed to concern ourselves with your motives, but you can refer to people whose tastes differ from yours as "fucktards"? If anything making disparaging remarks like that sort of opens your own position on the same album to criticism.

And this is made even more amusing given the "1" hatchet job you did to the new Overkill, Exodus, and Heathen albums. May I ask, did you even listen to those albums? A 10 for this, and 1's for those albums? "come on..."

But this a 10 because all you wanted was "rad vocals"? Talk about lowered expectations. I wonder what you'd score this album if they ditched the bassist and added a 3rd guitarist*? go Spinal Tap and crank it up to 11?

Thanks for keeping me heartily amused with your wit, wisdom, and obviously superior musical tastes!



*

Written by Valaskjalf on 14.12.2009 at 20:09

Favourite metal bassist?

Who really gives a crap about bassists? Unless you're a whale and can hear a seal take a shit from 10 miles away then you might care who the best bassist is. I can possibly recall hearing bass maybe 5 times in the music I listen to...and even then I wont mind them being replaced by a third guitarist. I think theres only a bassist in a metal band because the instrument has fat strings and kinda looks cool. Other than that I hardly see the point...or maybe my ears are just fucked from listening too much music - either way who cares.



Well I did actually listen to those albums, perhaps I will steer clear of listening to thrash because it is my least favourite genre. Then again the rating system has been a farce from the start - so perhaps I just decided to participate in the same farcical manner.

And what the fuck does this have to do with my comment about bassists? Seriously dude, if you have to scratch around in my comments for taking me on then thats pretty funny. We all know everyone in this forum ESPECIALLY you think your opinion is law and we've learned this ages ago that comments like "you give this 10 but that 1" is absolutely fucking ridiculous because I hate pretty much everything you listen to and you always have an opinion on things I listen to.

So really...the point youre trying to make is fucking dumb. Just deal with it, we're never going to enjoy the same music and thats about it. And it will always be reflected in the way I vote for albums.
Daniell - 07.08.2010 at 12:36  
Dammit, I rate this album 5.5... I sense Enola Gay flying towards my city.
VanHelsing - 08.08.2010 at 12:22  
Perhaps the music isn't outstanding, but I think it blends perfectly with Christian's vocal job (which is impressive), so I guess I'm in the minority here 'cause I gave this album a 10.

Still; the review is pretty accurate when separating the instruments, I guess without Älvestam it wouldn't even go past the 5 mark, but again, I think that when joining it with the vocals it just feels right.

Good review anyway, even if I disagree
Asat0r - 08.08.2010 at 22:56  
The first time I listened to this album, I would have agreed with this review. But after listening to it in depth, it's really grown on me. I'm a pretty big fan of it now. Yes, it's not incredibly original, and Christian is definitely the star of the show. But it's still a solid album in my opinion.
Promonex - 09.08.2010 at 01:44  
Spot on! Here's to the average Canadian
Thanntos - 09.08.2010 at 06:25  
Written by Asat0r on 08.08.2010 at 22:56

The first time I listened to this album, I would have agreed with this review. But after listening to it in depth, it's really grown on me. I'm a pretty big fan of it now. Yes, it's not incredibly original, and Christian is definitely the star of the show. But it's still a solid album in my opinion.


That's actually not saying much nor is it giving the band much credit. Saying he is the star of the show sort of dismisses the music ifself. When with Scar Symmetry, both the instrumentals and vocals were stellar. Here, very mediocre music with good vocals. Should have stuck with Scar Symm tbh. I listened to i a couple times again and it still bores me quite a bit.

@ Valaskjalf - You give trash albums a 1 and you say you want to stay clear of trash since its not your type of music, yet you include Nevermore in you '10 mid year best of. Irony...
Winterthrone - 12.08.2010 at 04:06  
Nay...That album is awesome,,, That album is awesome. Yeah the guitars are not individually exceptionnal, the bass is not individually exceptionnal nor the drumming...Butr the whole just sounds amazingly good with Christian's exceptionnal vocals over it! I'm sorry but 6.5 is a joke to me, this album is certainly not average...
Ancient Ruin - 17.08.2010 at 09:48  
Written by BlueMobius on 05.08.2010 at 08:35

Yeah. I think, if you are going to listen to one of Alvestam's recent works, you should go for the new Miseration album.


Christian not singing at all in that band is alot like eating a peanut butter and jelly sandwich with only peanut butter and jelly on it, and no cocaine.
Boxcar Willy - 18.08.2010 at 16:56  
Written by Troy Killjoy on 05.08.2010 at 05:06

Written by Ancient Ruin on 05.08.2010 at 05:02

This review is shit.

I wish I was as cool as you.

yuk yuk yuk
Boxcar Willy - 18.08.2010 at 17:01  
Written by Promonex on 09.08.2010 at 01:44

Spot on! Here's to the average Canadian

Eh!
lord artan - 19.09.2010 at 19:04  
I can not accept such a beautiful album that I be judged.Undoubtedly, each group is singer Ann Kristin is a masterpiece...
Kennoth - 03.11.2010 at 15:24  
Well... I honestly didn't like this album at first. But since I'm a huge fan of Christian, I grew to love it. There lacks certain originality about it, and that dark edge that was present in SS albums, Holographic Universe in particular.

Harmonies and melodies go superbly with Christians voice, while I agree they would suck ass if played without it, so naturally he's the brightest point of the album. You also failed to mention ''Lethean Tears'', which is a pretty moving ballade where the singer fully showcases his clean vocal range.
Dannyvect - 24.11.2010 at 23:47  
I'm just going to let it out...

Firstly I am a massive fan of pre can't really sing power metal dude and cookie monster Scar Symmetry..

Don't get me wrong not all of there songs are good but most of them deliver a sort of fall in love with it effect.

But how does this get 6.5 when you get some real shit floating about the internet getting 8 or 9? The musicians are proven some of the best in there genre.. Musicianship aside even as a singer / guitarist I don't give a shit how fast you can fret wank.. Don't get me wrong it needs to grow on you a little but it is a solid effort which says we have so much potential.

It is better than 90% of the crap out there and in some ways it does re-invent... I truly hope this sugary sweet metal takes off the ground before alot of the current bunch of fuckwits, who only care about bands that sound like they are having a rectal imbalance, with people smashing the fooking room up (which is pretty much most new bands) if these fuktards destroy the pop metal recruiters your just putting the nail in the coffin for people who could enjoy this.. You don't have a right to destroy these sort of bands, they are for everyone to enjoy.

Music industry is screwed in general, metal especially in the UK is non - existent.. With this eliteist attitude and no pop metal to recruit people it will never make a comeback and will keep on dieing.

Advertise on Metal Storm
Pages: [1] 2


Login or register to post here.



Similar topics

Forum Topic Similarity Started
Albums Solution.45 - For Aeons Past 6 08.03.2010 by Westvann
Reviews An Autumn For Crippled Chidren - Lost 6 19.07.2010 by !J.O.O.E.!
Reviews Dråpsnatt - Hymner Till Undergången 4.5 26.08.2010 by Derwood
Reviews Totalselfhatred - Apocalypse In Your Heart 4.5 29.03.2011 by !J.O.O.E.!
Reviews Aiumeen Basoa - Iraganeko Bide Malkartsutik 4.5 15.05.2010 by Winterthrone



Hits total: 6438 | This month: 87