Rating:
7.7
Kolp - The Covered Pure Permanence
28 March 2010


01. Attrited
02. The Covered Pure Permanence
03. Lost Horizon
04. Alienation
05. All Desolate
06. Flickering Lights
07. The End Of Beginning
08. Lay To Meaninglessness
09. Pass... Enter... Dissolve...


Black / doom metal
Hungary
Temple Of Torturous

Line-up on the CD:
Jim Jones - vocals
Knot - all instruments


Remember a time back in the '90s when black metal pioneers like Satyricon, Gorgoroth, Darkthrone et al were busy creating unrefined, primitive, occult discord? Now those were the days!

Remember other esteemed Norwegian bands like Lord Foul, Demonthor, and Fimbulwinter? Don't be ashamed if these names are unfamiliar to you, as you can count the combined releases of all three bands on your two hands.

Every black metal fan who's heard Dark Medieval Times and its foreboding repugnance - Pentagram and its Satanic fanaticism - A Blaze In The Northern Sky and its chilling distortion - every black metal fan who calls himself a black metal fan knows what made these albums so extreme, yet so alluring: conceptualism. It was about the idea(s) of the music, not the aesthetics. It didn't need to look or sound pretty, but it did need you to listen to the message being sent, in all its ugliness and spite and rejection.

The problem with most modern black metal bands who choose to perform this primitive art style simply lack the talent and vision required to make their concept become more than just elitist vogue - yet another aesthetic that was, if not completely overlooked, purposely avoided during the genre's initial induction to the book of heavy metal.

Then that little thing called the "second wave" happened, and now we're back to square one with bands like Kolp.

Kolp is a two-man band from Hungary. Sure they aren't Norwegians, but if this was 1990 and I didn't have the Internet I wouldn't have been able to tell otherwise.

The band members are definitely motivated to spread their message, and thankfully for us kvlt kids, their concept is on par with their musicianship. While the main style of the band is minimalistic black metal, The Covered Pure Permanence is structured much like your average doom metal release, making for an interesting array of negative emotions. The songs are played at mid-tempo, seemingly repeating a few short crunching notes over and over until you finally listen to the band's message distorted beneath the bombastic drum sound, when you finally overlook the aesthetics - the pulverizing production, the messy punk-infused rhythms, the disturbing screams and shrieks - and you finally read into the music: A man is only as miserable as he thinks he is.


Website: http://www.myspace.com/xyk3z

Performance: 8
Songwriting: 9
Originality: 6
Production: 9


 



Written on 06.08.2010 by
Troy Killjoy
Just another opinionated guy telling you what to listen to.
More reviews by Troy Killjoy ››



Comments

‹‹ Back to the Reviews
Comments: 10  
Users visited: 116  
Search this topic:  


!J.O.O.E.! - 06.08.2010 at 11:30  
You remember the glory days of early 90's? Took 6 paragraphs to get to the review. Nice history lesson... er review!
Troy Killjoy - 06.08.2010 at 16:09  
Written by !J.O.O.E.! on 06.08.2010 at 11:30

You remember the glory days of early 90's? Took 6 paragraphs to get to the review. Nice history lesson... er review!

I thought it was all relevant.

The part about conceptual black metal helps the reader understand what kind of release this is, and the part about the bands that "didn't have it" also helps the reader understand that this isn't just another no-talent band to forget about. Once I set up all the facts surrounding the style I was able to talk about the specific sound of the album.

I'll make sure my future reviews aren't considered more of a lecture... Nobody wants to sit through that and they might lose interest in a good album because of it.
!J.O.O.E.! - 06.08.2010 at 17:11  
Written by Troy Killjoy on 06.08.2010 at 16:09

Written by !J.O.O.E.! on 06.08.2010 at 11:30

You remember the glory days of early 90's? Took 6 paragraphs to get to the review. Nice history lesson... er review!

I thought it was all relevant.

The part about conceptual black metal helps the reader understand what kind of release this is, and the part about the bands that "didn't have it" also helps the reader understand that this isn't just another no-talent band to forget about. Once I set up all the facts surrounding the style I was able to talk about the specific sound of the album.

I'll make sure my future reviews aren't considered more of a lecture... Nobody wants to sit through that and they might lose interest in a good album because of it.

I just would have expected such a portentous opening would have been leading onto describing something exceptional in quality, even revolutionary, but you didn't seem to think so if your score is anything to by, and listening to it I didn't really think so. Just felt a little wasted here.
Troy Killjoy - 06.08.2010 at 17:17  
Written by !J.O.O.E.! on 06.08.2010 at 17:11

I just would have expected such a portentous opening would have been leading onto describing something exceptional in quality, even revolutionary, but you didn't seem to think so if your score is anything to by, and listening to it I didn't really think so. Just felt a little wasted here.

Fair enough. It isn't a good review, I'll admit that straight up. While there are elements to it that aren't awful, it doesn't compare to any of my previous works (unless you dig back to when I was a guest reviewer - now those were some awful reviews). Not to say I'm SUCH a great reviewer or whatever...but I do have standards and this doesn't live up to them. I wrote it at 2 in the morning (this morning technically) but that's no excuse.

I'll be reviewing Spectral Lore's II which will be published at some point on the weekend. Keep an eye out for it - I'll be looking to redeem myself.
!J.O.O.E.! - 06.08.2010 at 17:49  
Written by Troy Killjoy on 06.08.2010 at 17:17

Written by !J.O.O.E.! on 06.08.2010 at 17:11

I just would have expected such a portentous opening would have been leading onto describing something exceptional in quality, even revolutionary, but you didn't seem to think so if your score is anything to by, and listening to it I didn't really think so. Just felt a little wasted here.

Fair enough. It isn't a good review, I'll admit that straight up. While there are elements to it that aren't awful, it doesn't compare to any of my previous works (unless you dig back to when I was a guest reviewer - now those were some awful reviews). Not to say I'm SUCH a great reviewer or whatever...but I do have standards and this doesn't live up to them. I wrote it at 2 in the morning (this morning technically) but that's no excuse.

I'll be reviewing Spectral Lore's II which will be published at some point on the weekend. Keep an eye out for it - I'll be looking to redeem myself.

I wouldnt worry too much about it, your reviews are amongst the highest quality I've seen on this site and there isn't a specific method by one is supposed to review. I'd love to delete/redo some of my early reviews too; they're cringeworthy to read.
Troy Killjoy - 06.08.2010 at 17:51  
Written by !J.O.O.E.! on 06.08.2010 at 17:49

...your reviews are amongst the highest quality I've seen on this site...

Well thank you kindly!

Do you have any reviews on the go I should be aware of?
!J.O.O.E.! - 06.08.2010 at 19:12  
Written by Troy Killjoy on 06.08.2010 at 17:51

Written by !J.O.O.E.! on 06.08.2010 at 17:49

...your reviews are amongst the highest quality I've seen on this site...

Well thank you kindly!

Do you have any reviews on the go I should be aware of?

Nope nothing at the moment, kinda lost the mojo really. I tend to go through phases of wanting to write but generally I'm just too lazy. I'll probably hear something interesting that'll make me want to write about it and that'll get me in the zone but nothing right now.
vezzy - 06.08.2010 at 20:30  
Same here. I utterly regret writing my terrible review of Venom's Black Metal... say, didn't Jupitreas mention he could delete reviews if asked to or am I just deluding myself?

Either way, it was a bit confused, but oh well. I'll still check out the band. Might like it, who knows?
Troy Killjoy - 06.08.2010 at 20:36  
Written by vezzy on 06.08.2010 at 20:30

Same here. I utterly regret writing my terrible review of Venom's Black Metal... say, didn't Jupitreas mention he could delete reviews if asked to or am I just deluding myself?

Either way, it was a bit confused, but oh well. I'll still check out the band. Might like it, who knows?

You could send him a PM about it, although I don't really have a choice in the matter with this one because it was a label request.
vezzy - 06.08.2010 at 20:46  
Written by Troy Killjoy on 06.08.2010 at 20:36

Written by vezzy on 06.08.2010 at 20:30

Same here. I utterly regret writing my terrible review of Venom's Black Metal... say, didn't Jupitreas mention he could delete reviews if asked to or am I just deluding myself?

Either way, it was a bit confused, but oh well. I'll still check out the band. Might like it, who knows?

You could send him a PM about it, although I don't really have a choice in the matter with this one because it was a label request.


Oh yeah. My review of Neuromist's Move of Thought was actually requested by the band's guitarist, at least I thought that one turned out decent.

Advertise on Metal Storm


Login or register to post here.



Similar topics

Forum Topic Similarity Started
Reviews Enthral - Prophecies Of The Dying 6.5 29.08.2010 by !J.O.O.E.!
Reviews Hæresiarchs Of Dis - In Obsecration Of The Seven Darks 6 05.04.2011 by toadstoolcomics
Reviews Valediction - The Primitive Architecture 6 08.05.2011 by MechanisT
Reviews Satan's Host - By The Hands Of The Devil 6 30.04.2011 by wormdrink414
Reviews The Royal Arch Blaspheme - The Royal Arch Blaspheme 6 03.05.2010 by Mikyz



Hits total: 2779 | This month: 2