Proghma-C - Bar-Do Travel review



Reviewer:
6.0

10 users:
7.50
Band: Proghma-C
Album: Bar-Do Travel
Release date: July 2010


01. Kana
02. FO
03. Spiralling TO Another
04. Spitted Out
05. Spitted Out (Out)
06. So Be-Live
07. I Can't Illuminate With You
08. Naan
09. Army Of Me
10. Kana


Hey! Here's a great idea - take all the tedious aspects of prog, and make an entire album of it! Nobody will find it boring at all! This is up there as honestly one of the most self-indulgent displays of wankery I've ever come across, and I'm a man who knows all about wanking.

Some albums with a high rating on the bore scale have value as a substitute for sleeping medication, this album doesn't. You know those really annoying rhythmic passages you can't wait to end? The ones that have the same feel to them as being a passenger in a stalling car? Yeah, those ones - this album consists 90% of those, so any hope of just nodding off and waking up when it's over is gone. It's basically a Tool album, remove any effective atmosphere set by the eerie, stark sounding tranquil bits and you've got Proghma-C.

It looks like someone did make a solid attempt to polish this turd, though. There is occasionally some halfway decent melodies brought out, but nothing that really makes this any more exciting. Oh, and the supposed death metal influence you'll rarely hear. It's also not that this album is particularly terrible, in order to make something terrible one needs to make a big leap into something different enough to stand out in your mind. Bar-Do Travel is basically another one of those albums you won't remember having listened to a couple hours later. To sum things up this album is merely flat and unremarkable. Perhaps the more prog-inclined crowd would find this album OK, but I doubt much more than that.


Rating breakdown
Performance: 8
Songwriting: 6
Originality: 5
Production: 8


 



Written on 15.08.2010 by Former EIC. Now just a reviewer guy.


Comments

Comments: 10   Visited by: 65 users
15.08.2010 - 21:03
Edmund Fogg
Wow! How you managed to sit trough the entire album is amazing.I'm halfway done34 with Kana and I already feel sleepy.Albums like that must make you hate the time you dedicate to MS haha
----
You cannot sedate all the things you hate - MM
The Observer is the source of reality - Bloom
God damn it!! What did Diddy didn't do? - Satan
Loading...
15.08.2010 - 22:37
Troy Killjoy
perfunctionist
What a difference from Eyeless.
----
Prettier than BloodTears.
Loading...
15.08.2010 - 23:21
Jeeers
It MUST be that bad. My firefox crashed 2 times trying to play it on MySpace player.
Loading...
16.08.2010 - 03:02
Marcus
Doit Like Bernie
Well dayumm. I've never seen a comparison to Tool come out in a negative way.
Loading...
16.08.2010 - 16:17
Merchant of Doom
O.S.I.'s ugly sister...
Loading...
17.08.2010 - 18:32
Rupert
Written by Marcus on 16.08.2010 at 03:02

Well dayumm. I've never seen a comparison to Tool come out in a negative way.

Ya eh
Loading...
21.08.2010 - 14:09
fatguymercenary
Sorry about this but imo this is a brilliant album. I reckon it integrates "djent" into the prog genre very nicely, love the vocals, however it can get a little repetitive at times but most albums do
Loading...
22.08.2010 - 04:21
Doc Godin
Obnoxious
Written by fatguymercenary on 21.08.2010 at 14:09

Sorry about this but imo this is a brilliant album. I reckon it integrates "djent" into the prog genre very nicely, love the vocals, however it can get a little repetitive at times but most albums do

Repetitive and utterly boring & derivative. To be brilliant an album should have something that makes it stand out.
----
"I got a lot of really good ideas, problem is, most of them suck."
- George Carlin
Loading...
22.08.2010 - 04:38
fatguymercenary
Written by Doc Godin on 22.08.2010 at 04:21

Written by fatguymercenary on 21.08.2010 at 14:09

Sorry about this but imo this is a brilliant album. I reckon it integrates "djent" into the prog genre very nicely, love the vocals, however it can get a little repetitive at times but most albums do

Repetitive and utterly boring & derivative. To be brilliant an album should have something that makes it stand out.


To me it does stand out and I believe it is original but I understand its all about having different opinions, we just have different taste I geuss.
Loading...
21.09.2012 - 22:42
Rupert
Siding with fatguy here. I don't think it's brilliant but I do like it. It's kind of like Meshuggah's groovier rhythms meet some generic alternative band. And they get along well.
Loading...

Hits total: 3478 | This month: 6