Moonspell - Wolfheart review



Reviewer:
9.5

733 users:
8.86
Band: Moonspell
Album: Wolfheart
Release date: April 1995


01. Wolfshade (A Werewolf Masquerade)
02. Love Crimes
03. ...Of Dreams And Drama (Midnight Ride)
04. Lua d'Inverno
05. Trebraruna
06. Vampiria
07. An Erotic Alchemy
08. Alma Mater
09. Ataegina [digipak bonus]


The first and only Black Metal Full Length Album made by Moonspell, A great album with the most incredible atmosphere I've heard in metal scene. The album is incredible well structured, the double bass are in the right place, the distorted and acoustic guitars came in the exact moment, The cleanest Bass-lines are shown in the most depressive moments of the album, and the vocals, man the vocals are beautiful, filled with anger (the guttural voice show only anger and pain, the vocals are not low and throaty for no reason) this album is a true masterpiece.

I can't talk much about the production and artwork (I bought the re-mastered version with different artwork, yes I know that sucks) so I will go directly to the music, first of all…

The Lyrics: deep and with a philosophical matter, the songs are filled with vampire histories and goddesses from other worlds (Trebaruna, Ataegina) for this fact is great to have a sister that sings Bossa-nova and other Brazilian genres, she helped me to understand those Portuguese lyrics, and believe it was amazing when I found Trebaruna (one of the best songs of the album) talks about a sacred warrior, love goddess is life and death, two wolves guard her, we feed your desire of love and war, etc… cool or what. So one of the best things on this album is the lyrical content.

The Music: you can tell when a song was made with pressure and with preoccupations, well Wolfheart is wrapped by the most thoughtful music, it certainly shows that Moonspell took some time to write the best music they could think of, gothic elements, black fundaments, folk concept, everything is here written in a beautiful way, every instrument has it's moments, for example in the 3rd track "…Of Dream And Drama (Midnight Ride)" in the minute 2:42 starts one of the best keyboards solos I've heard. The keyboards in Wolfheart are a very important thing, it's incredibly used in most intros and also with a lot of precision to create a grim or whatever environment and atmosphere (Trebaruna again is a good example, also An Erotic Alchemy) the bass-lines are awesome again hear Trebaruna for this matter (0:59)

The Songs: Every song in Wolfheart is beautiful, it has shades all over the album, "Love Crimes" the most violent song in the album, incredible lyrics (poetical as an ancient book) the vocals are amazing, a mixture of painful feelings and sentimental chords, 7 minutes of true bliss(I've always wanted to use this word).
"Trebaruna" musically the greatest song in Wolfheart, it has been mentioned before in this review so I won't tell more, just please hear this song as fast as you can.
"Vampiria" again a crazy intro, grim and depressing, then the double-bass starts drilling in your head, irregular tempo, crazy fills, the most loveable vocals of the album (with some weird yet incredible articulation, I love when he says …Conceiving The Creed of all Creeds…)
"Alma Mater" the best song in structure matter, the instruments are accomplished incredibly, the vocal tempo is incredibly catchy, the chorus is amazingly low(not raspy) and the phrase "…Alma Mater…" is chilling I swear. The drums are incredible (not only in this song but in the whole album) a great song in every way you can foresee it.

A must have album, for all metal lovers, no matter what genre you like, this album will blow your mind guaranteed.

Written by Herzebeth | 07.01.2005


 

Guest review by
Wolf
Rating:
8.0
A metal band from Portugal isn't something you see every day...and of course Moonspell is already a band with a reputation, a band that commands respect! You cannot mention gothic or doom metal without naming Moonspell, that's for sure!
For the following review we have to go back in time...

The Wolfheart is my one and only Moonspell album I have in my collection for the moment and to come straight at the point, it is a tremendous one! This Portuguese gothic/doom metal band or as we used to call it 'dark metal' has a great ability of combining external instruments with 'metal? and other rhythmical music styles.

Read more ››
published 01.12.2003 | Comments (1)


Comments

Comments: 20   Visited by: 148 users
04.05.2007 - 03:37
lazarus
Good review my friend, you captured the essence that Moonspell probably had at that specific moment.
I agree about Trabaruna, one of the best song on this album, so is An Erotic Alchemy.
----
And sometimes I despair
At who I've become
I have to come to terms
With what I've done
Loading...
02.07.2007 - 18:38
iaberis
Advice Troll
I have nothing more to say. This review tells it all - maybe the best I've read so far.
About the album; what I loved most were those folk elements. The vocals were good too, although they were more into Black Metal. Oh... I loved their music, it's an awesome album. Some of my favourite tracks are in here... I have nothing more to say... read the review!
----
Bitch! Please
Loading...
20.04.2008 - 12:40
THE_BLACK_GOD
Account deleted
in my opnion its not no black metal album.and if i have to talk about this album i can say that this album rlues,one of my best albums ever.i worship this album and if i dont give 10 ponnts to this album,which albums of them deserves it ? maybe just Irreligious
Loading...
19.06.2008 - 11:48
Hamird
HIV+
This album is very nice, and as Herzebeth said, Alma Mater is the best composed song by Moonspell in all their career. I've listened to this albums over and over and I found this album is one of the best metal albums released in all time.
Loading...
19.06.2008 - 15:11
BloodTears
ANA-thema
Just noticed, I havent posted here. I think the first Moonspell album is huge. Even Lua D'inverno (winter moon) is brilliant and it captures the essence of the album. I think very few bands have Moonspell's ability to write great, dark, and why not say it, strange music.

Wolfshade is my favourite song although I like them all. I even like Trebraruna which in the end sounds like a sailor's song but if you understand portuguese, that kinda changes.

Alma Mater is unforgettable and one the best Moonspell songs ever.

----
Written by BloodTears on 19.08.2011 at 18:29

Like you could kiss my ass.
Loading...
27.06.2008 - 17:21
THE_BLACK_GOD
Account deleted
Written by BloodTears on 19.06.2008 at 15:11

Just noticed, I havent posted here. I think the first Moonspell album is huge. Even Lua D'inverno (winter moon) is brilliant and it captures the essence of the album. I think very few bands have Moonspell's ability to write great, dark, and why not say it, strange music.

Wolfshade is my favourite song although I like them all. I even like Trebraruna which in the end sounds like a sailor's song but if you understand portuguese, that kinda changes.

Alma Mater is unforgettable and one the best Moonspell songs ever.



this Album is a Masterpiece. i cant remember that i was readin Dracula book and listenin this album together

@Blood Tears
Alma Mater means somthin like Mother Portugal?
Loading...
27.06.2008 - 18:11
Hamird
HIV+
Written by Guest on 27.06.2008 at 17:21

@Blood Tears
Alma Mater means somthin like Mother Portugal?


I've found two meaning for this, one was a kind of School (which it can't be Moonspells purpose) and the other is an ancient god which I don't remember what kind of god he was. but what ever it was, this song is the best song of Moonspell
Loading...
27.06.2008 - 18:11
BloodTears
ANA-thema
Written by Guest on 27.06.2008 at 17:21

Written by BloodTears on 19.06.2008 at 15:11

Just noticed, I havent posted here. I think the first Moonspell album is huge. Even Lua D'inverno (winter moon) is brilliant and it captures the essence of the album. I think very few bands have Moonspell's ability to write great, dark, and why not say it, strange music.

Wolfshade is my favourite song although I like them all. I even like Trebraruna which in the end sounds like a sailor's song but if you understand portuguese, that kinda changes.

Alma Mater is unforgettable and one the best Moonspell songs ever.



this Album is a Masterpiece. i cant remember that i was readin Dracula book and listenin this album together

@Blood Tears
Alma Mater means somthin like Mother Portugal?


Its latin actually.

[From Latin Alma Mter, nourishing mother (epithet of certain goddesses) : alma, feminine of almus, nourishing; see al-2 in Indo-European roots + mter, mother; see maternal.]

But I do think there is something about Portugal's identity behind that song. Some people might not notice but they use a lot of portuguese history and feeling in their songs. I get that feeling, maybe because I'm portuguese. Or maybe its just my interpretation of their lyrics. The great thing about music is that you can put your own experiences in the songs.

You were reading Dracula at the same time? Don't you find Wolfheart a bit scary?
----
Written by BloodTears on 19.08.2011 at 18:29

Like you could kiss my ass.
Loading...
27.06.2008 - 18:24
THE_BLACK_GOD
Account deleted
Written by BloodTears on 27.06.2008 at 18:11

Written by Guest on 27.06.2008 at 17:21

Written by BloodTears on 19.06.2008 at 15:11

Just noticed, I havent posted here. I think the first Moonspell album is huge. Even Lua D'inverno (winter moon) is brilliant and it captures the essence of the album. I think very few bands have Moonspell's ability to write great, dark, and why not say it, strange music.

Wolfshade is my favourite song although I like them all. I even like Trebraruna which in the end sounds like a sailor's song but if you understand portuguese, that kinda changes.

Alma Mater is unforgettable and one the best Moonspell songs ever.



this Album is a Masterpiece. i cant remember that i was readin Dracula book and listenin this album together

@Blood Tears
Alma Mater means somthin like Mother Portugal?


Its latin actually.

[From Latin Alma Mter, nourishing mother (epithet of certain goddesses) : alma, feminine of almus, nourishing; see al-2 in Indo-European roots + mter, mother; see maternal.]

But I do think there is something about Portugal's identity behind that song. Some people might not notice but they use a lot of portuguese history and feeling in their songs. I get that feeling, maybe because I'm portuguese. Or maybe its just my interpretation of their lyrics. The great thing about music is that you can put your own experiences in the songs.

You were reading Dracula at the same time? Don't you find Wolfheart a bit scary?

i was listening to that album before that, but a i remember that album is one of those albums which i listen to it always (at least one time each 2 mounths) and when i was readin the book i have a feelling that this is the soundtrack of Dracula book. it was amazin Bloody Tears! i didn scared i enjoyed it so much. remember when vampiric ladies wanted to drink blood, there was a sexy atmosphere at those lines of book and take a look at "An Erotic Alchemy" :

"Queen of all my sleepless nights
For whose beauty I, Faun
have played my pipes, with heart
Queen in white silk, skin like milk....

just like that
Loading...
16.12.2008 - 15:24
Slayer666
Emmm,don't wanna burst your bubble or anything,but this album is just not that good.Sure,good vocals,folk music etc. but guitar rrffs are pretty dull and boring as well as the rythm and melody.
IMO,a good 7/10/.
Loading...
26.01.2009 - 23:20
Morphis
This is probably the metal album that i eared most and after many years sometimes, some of the songs still come to my mind, (most of the times is Alma Mater or Vampiria) and when i go and listen to it again it sound me like the 1st times. This for me is a perfect timeless album that will be with me forever.
Loading...
03.04.2009 - 18:13
THE_BLACK_GOD
Account deleted
Written by Morphis on 26.01.2009 at 23:20

This is probably the metal album that i eared most and after many years sometimes, some of the songs still come to my mind, (most of the times is Alma Mater or Vampiria) and when i go and listen to it again it sound me like the 1st times. This for me is a perfect timeless album that will be with me forever.

absolutely agree with you man, it seems that this album is in your blood!
Loading...
05.05.2009 - 21:37
paradise_lostdk
Very great review. Wolfheart is my favorite album in my big collection, dont ever think that Moonspell will make a album as good as Wolfheart, even though they have tried. Alma mater is one of the most beautiful songs i have ever heard. And Vampiria is one of the greatest songs ever made. Can hear this album again and again and love it just as much each time!
Loading...
06.05.2009 - 09:50
THE_BLACK_GOD
Account deleted
Written by paradise_lostdk on 05.05.2009 at 21:37

Very great review. Wolfheart is my favorite album in my big collection, dont ever think that Moonspell will make a album as good as Wolfheart, even though they have tried. Alma mater is one of the most beautiful songs i have ever heard. And Vampiria is one of the greatest songs ever made. Can hear this album again and again and love it just as much each time!

they are so far to make some album again man, those times they were fresh.
Loading...
01.06.2009 - 15:30
Uirapuru
Liver Failure
Good album. I especially liked the flute parts on ''Ataegina'', Lua d'Inverno'' and the instruments on ''Trebraruna''. One of the best Moonspell works.
----

----
member of the true crusade against old school heavy metal, early 80s thrash, NWOBHM, traditional doom, first and second wave black metal, old school death metal, US power metal, 70s prog rock and atmospheric doomsludgestoner. o/
Loading...
28.09.2009 - 07:48
Jan
This is one of my absolute favorites - one of the few albums that I would rate 10.

Love it everytime I get around to listening to it - which is too seldom - always new stuff demanding my attention
Loading...
18.05.2010 - 16:24
Vonpire
Well i can only say i've listened to this masterpiece more than 1000 times and every time i hear it i get chills over my spine with such amazing music. This is certainly in my top 5 metal albums ever!

Long Live to Moonspell.
----
Beware the Shadows of Dusk
Loading...
21.11.2010 - 19:02
Himann
Orm KrigGud
Giving this another spin right now. Good old memories.
----
To be Draped by the Shadow of your Morbid Palace. Ohh, Hate Living...The only heat is warm blood

So Pure... So Cold
Transilvanian Hunger
Loading...
23.11.2010 - 08:33
Asgard Bard
Hey, how nice, a review of Wolfheart, from my countrymen, Moonspell. My first concert, more than a decade ago.

Wolfheart is a mix of folk, black metal, gothic and ambient. Great album. Trebaruna is pure folk metal. And Cruachan say they invented Folk Metal...

Alma Mater is a very patriotic song. The meaning of "Alma Mater" was already explained.

The chorus:

"Virando costas ao mundo, orgulhosamente sós. Glória Antiga, volta a nós!" - was a famous declaration of war, of Salazar, the fascist dictator that ruled our country for almost 40 years. It means something like:

"We turn our back on the world, proudly alone. Ancient Glory, come back to us!"

Because in the United Nations everyone was against Portugal keeping its colonies, but Salazar wanted to fight for them until the end. Just a piece of History.
Loading...
15.02.2011 - 21:15
Sentenced Odiin
gothic.moorion@gmail.com
Best Moonspell and best gothic metal album all the time! I haven't heard any other album, which possesses this dark atmosphere as Wolfheart. It can be described as the soundtrack of the night
----
Life has given me much, maybe taken more...
Loading...

Hits total: 9199 | This month: 52