Rating:
8.3
Heaven Shall Burn - Invictus (Part III: The Final Resistance)
21 May 2010


Disc I
01. Intro
02. The Omen
03. Combat
04. I Was I Am I Shall Be
05. Buried In Forgotten Grounds
06. Sevastopoll
07. The Lie You Bleed For
08. Return To Sanity
09. Against Bridge Burners
10. Of Forsaken Poets
11. Nowhere [Therapy? cover] [bonus]
12. Given In Death
13. Outro

Disc II [DVD] [Defending Sparta - Live In Vienna]
01. Forlorn Skies
02. Counterweight
03. Voice Of The Voiceless
04. Endzeit
05. Buried In Forgotten Grounds
06. The Disease
07. Architects Of The Apocalypse
08. The Omen
09. Unleash Enlightenment
10. Of No Avail
11. Black Tears [Edge Of Sanity cover]
12. Behind A Wall Of Silence


Ah… Metalcore. A genre we all love to bash about to show how superior we are. Or not. My dear reader, if you can just take off those glasses clouded by stereotypes for the moment.

This is death-infused metalcore we are talking about, folks! Devoid of those good cop, bad cop vocals, Heaven Shall Burn is actually more brutal than the majority of metalcore bands and modern Gothenburg acts that seems to have a loyal following. The riffs here blaze like an inferno with melody and the vocals by long time member Marcus Bischoff come across as extremely angry while Matthias Voigt attacks the drum kit relentlessly, just the way metalcore is meant to be. Breakdowns for the sake of breaking down are absent, it's straightforward face melting hammering all the way. Wait… not all the way. Invictus does know the term "slow down", such as in "Buried In Forgotten Grounds" which is a piano interlude and when the onslaught begins again it just feels that much heavier. Or take it to another level where "Combat" features some trance beats. Bet you didn't expect that, did you? As a result, each song has been given an identity of its own rather than letting all of them sound too similar. Admittedly, it's not the most successful attempt and some flow has been sacrificed at certain places but it certainly is better than a lot of others out there. Throw in guest appearances of band members from Deadlock in the last track (excluding the outro), Heaven Shall Burn actually surprised me a little.

The end product is an album with quite a considerable number of moments. Major pitfalls so often associated with this genre have been avoided, but there are still some kinks that need to be ironed out, such as the Therapy? cover which sounds extremely sugary relative to all the other tracks, and more work is needed in the song writing department to further develop each song's identity without compromising on flow and aggression. They are, however, very much in the right direction and this is still a fine piece of head banging material.

Performance: 9
Songwriting: 7
Originality: 6
Production: 9


Band profile: Heaven Shall Burn
Album: Invictus (Part III: The Final Resistance)


 


written by Ag Fox | 26.08.2010


Guest review disclaimer:
This is a guest review, which means it does not necessarily represent the point of view of the MS Staff.



Comments

‹‹ Back to the Reviews
Comments: 16  
Users visited: 72  
Search this topic:  


Edmund Fogg - 26.08.2010 at 07:49  
Nice review.I'll check it out.Heaven Shall Burn is one of those few gems that makes Metalcore a genre worth listening to
albatros - 26.08.2010 at 13:40  
The review sums up my own impressions. I love the power and the melodies. Wonderful to be heard outdoors, be it on a bicycle or in a car while riding through a remote area.
Ag Fox - 26.08.2010 at 15:00  
Written by Edmund Fogg on 26.08.2010 at 07:49

Nice review.I'll check it out.Heaven Shall Burn is one of those few gems that makes Metalcore a genre worth listening to

Thank you! Let me know what you think of the music when you get the chance (=

Written by albatros on 26.08.2010 at 13:40

The review sums up my own impressions. I love the power and the melodies. Wonderful to be heard outdoors, be it on a bicycle or in a car while riding through a remote area.

Haha, I do not have a boom box
K†ulu - 26.08.2010 at 22:23  
Nice review indeed. I listened to their previous album and didn't really like it. I guess I will check this out as a "what if" album.
Ag Fox - 26.08.2010 at 23:18  
Written by K†ulu on 26.08.2010 at 22:23

Nice review indeed. I listened to their previous album and didn't really like it. I guess I will check this out as a "what if" album.

Cheers <:
I did not really like their previous one either apart from the first track because it was very samey. But as I said in the review, individual songs have more identity now, so you might like it more.
Edmund Fogg - 28.08.2010 at 09:18  
Yuppe gave it a spin and I have a feeling it's gonna stay in my mp3 for quite some time now.The anger displayed there is so raw it makes me want to see how they deliver that live.And finally Metalcore with song structures that actually flows well haha
Lovecraft - 11.10.2010 at 15:14  
This album is very enjoyable, and this review pretty much sums up my thoughts about it. Nice review.
RavenKing - 11.10.2010 at 15:19  
Strange to see another album titled "Invictus".
Boxcar Willy - 04.01.2012 at 04:49  
Written by RavenKing on 11.10.2010 at 15:19

Strange to see another album titled "Invictus".

not really.
Troy Killjoy - 04.01.2012 at 05:21  
Written by Boxcar Willy on 04.01.2012 at 04:49
not really.

He's probably used to seeing the Virgin Steele release...

Necronomicon have a new one coming out this year called Invictus.
Boxcar Willy - 04.01.2012 at 05:26  
Written by Troy Killjoy on 04.01.2012 at 05:21

Written by Boxcar Willy on 04.01.2012 at 04:49
not really.

He's probably used to seeing the Virgin Steele release...

Necronomicon have a new one coming out this year called Invictus.

TBH, I thought there was more than the three
Troy Killjoy - 04.01.2012 at 05:28  
Written by Boxcar Willy on 04.01.2012 at 05:26
TBH, I thought there was more than the three

Oh there's probably a ton, and some with variations of the spelling as well (Inviktus, Inviktvs).

This is probably one of the few metalcore bands I could stomach these days. Not that I wanna test my theory any time soon.
Boxcar Willy - 04.01.2012 at 05:30  
Written by Troy Killjoy on 04.01.2012 at 05:28

Written by Boxcar Willy on 04.01.2012 at 05:26
TBH, I thought there was more than the three

Oh there's probably a ton, and some with variations of the spelling as well (Inviktus, Inviktvs).

This is probably one of the few metalcore bands I could stomach these days. Not that I wanna test my theory any time soon.



it's a start.
Mr. Doctor - 04.01.2012 at 13:24  
Written by Troy Killjoy on 04.01.2012 at 05:28
This is probably one of the few metalcore bands I could stomach these days. Not that I wanna test my theory any time soon.


I really enjoy this band, seem to be one of the few that really know how to get shit done the way it's supposed to be in the Metalcore genre.
Troy Killjoy - 04.01.2012 at 20:39  
Written by Mr. Doctor on 04.01.2012 at 13:24
I really enjoy this band, seem to be one of the few that really know how to get shit done the way it's supposed to be in the Metalcore genre.

They covered Tiamat's "Whatever That Hurts", and - at the risk of losing more kvlt points - I personally enjoyed their version more than the original.
deadone - 05.06.2014 at 04:23  
Well writen review.


The only true weak point is that rubbish song with that silly bitch from Deadlock.

Advertise on Metal Storm


Login or register to post here.



Similar topics

Forum Topic Similarity Started
Albums Heaven Shall Burn - Invictus (Part III: The Final Resistance) 7.5 14.04.2010 by Xhris
News Heaven Shall Burn - New Album Cover, New Song Available For Download 6 20.02.2013 by chrisʇrenounced
News Heaven Shall Burn - To Tour Europe In December 6 24.06.2014 by Mr. Doctor
News Heaven Shall Burn - Reveal New Album Release Date 6 31.01.2013 by infernaldeath87
News Heaven Shall Burn - New Video To Kick Off Your Weekend 6 23.07.2010 by



Hits total: 3129 | This month: 41