Rating:
10
Black Sabbath - Paranoid (Classic Albums) [DVD]
28 June 2010


+ Story behind the making of Paranoid


The problem with making documentaries about various subjects on metal is quite apparent: Metal is such a vast, complex genre which is next to impossible to analyze. Naturally, you're always going to get some pompous asshole journalist with a bloated ego who thinks he's the final word on everything metal trying to direct the documentary, but in the end winds up misinterpreting the entire subject.

So here's an idea: why not get the band to basically make the documentary on THEIR music. You've probably seen or heard something about this whole line of documentaries called Classic Albums, it's pretty self explanatory, really: Step 1) Take a classic album, Step 2) Sit the artists down and go through the fine details about it, as well as background stories. The newest one off the press is none other than Black Sabbath's Paranoid. Can you honestly think of a better album to have a nice, in-depth look at? Everything you'd ever want to know about this genre-defining album is packed in here; from individual riffs to society's influence over the music is laid out and picked apart. Their career leading up to this album is covered to some degree, though only briefly, which is fair considering this is about Paranoid, not the entire discography. If you are truly enthusiastic about metal, you'll certainly feel a slight tingle down your spine when Iommi walks us through the origin of the genres defining songs (riffs played in front of the camera as well). As a bonus, the makers of this introspective somehow convinced Sharon to let Ozzy come out and play, who, miraculously (despite some totally incoherent moments), seems to recall many details with astonishing clarity. Aside from the band itself there's input and commentaries from people outside the band; management, famous journalists, and for some inexplicable reason, Henry Rollins.

You can probably catch this special on TV sometime in the near future, but the DVD has all the bonus material. The idea of bonus material sounds exciting, but in reality it's basically material that didn't make the cut on the original program. Nothing outrageously noteworthy, just an extended version of what you already watched, probably more suited towards the 'Sabbath diehards, interesting stuff nonetheless.

There's no conceivable reason not to watch this, whether you like/love Black Sabbath and want to have a deeper look at the fine details of the music, or if you just consider yourself a metal historian of some sort, this is a must see.


Band profile: Black Sabbath
Album: Paranoid (Classic Albums)


 



Written on 25.08.2010 by
Doc Godin
Former EIC. Now just a reviewer guy.
More reviews by Doc Godin ››



Comments

‹‹ Back to the Reviews
Comments: 22  
Users visited: 286  
Search this topic:  


vezzy - 25.08.2010 at 16:28  
I'll take your word for it and check it out.
Angelic Storm - 25.08.2010 at 16:31  
Im actually a fan of the "Classic Albums" series. So I'm looking forward to seeing this one. xD
Doc Godin - 25.08.2010 at 16:33  
Written by Angelic Storm on 25.08.2010 at 16:31

Im actually a fan of the "Classic Albums" series. So I'm looking forward to seeing this one. xD

Me as well. Maybe my review is a bit biased, but I love the classic albums series.
Angelic Storm - 25.08.2010 at 16:37  
Written by Doc Godin on 25.08.2010 at 16:33
Me as well. Maybe my review is a bit biased, but I love the classic albums series.


All the ones Ive seen, even ones about albums Im not a huge fan of, have been a very interesting watch. Having the bands actually going through the album, and discussing it, is what makes the series such great viewing. Although its a pet hate of mine that in some instances, certain tracks are ignored and not even spoke about. lol
Fat & Sassy! - 25.08.2010 at 17:23  
Written by Doc Godin on 25.08.2010 at 16:33

Written by Angelic Storm on 25.08.2010 at 16:31

Im actually a fan of the "Classic Albums" series. So I'm looking forward to seeing this one. xD

Me as well. Maybe my review is a bit biased, but I love the classic albums series.


Me too. I have one on Zappa's Apostrophe/Over-nite Sensation, and it's awesome... much like this one.
Delius - 25.08.2010 at 17:59  
I got this the day it was released in Canada, worth every cent. If your a fan of Sabbath (and thus MUST be a fan of the Paranoid album) this is a must watch.
Angelic Storm - 25.08.2010 at 18:32  
Written by Fat & Sassy! on 25.08.2010 at 17:23
Me too. I have one on Zappa's Apostrophe/Over-nite Sensation, and it's awesome... much like this one.


Ive seen the ones for Number Of The Beast, Nevermind, Metallica (black album), A Night At The Opera, British Steel, Ace Of Spades, and Dark Side Of The Moon. All of them were great, especially the Queen one.
Fat & Sassy! - 25.08.2010 at 18:37  
Written by Angelic Storm on 25.08.2010 at 18:32

Ive seen the ones for Number Of The Beast, Nevermind, Metallica (black album), A Night At The Opera, British Steel, Ace Of Spades, and Dark Side Of The Moon. All of them were great, especially the Queen one.


I should prob get the ones you mentioned that I haven't seen! :O
Angelic Storm - 25.08.2010 at 20:40  
Written by Fat & Sassy! on 25.08.2010 at 18:37
I should prob get the ones you mentioned that I haven't seen! :O


You definitely should! hehe

Im really looking forward to seeing the Paranoid one, though Id prefer it if Sharon wasn't in it.
Marcel Hubregtse - 25.08.2010 at 21:31  
I don't find it surprsing at all that Rollins is there as well. Black Fag took a lot out of the book of Black Sabbath, incorporating Sabbathian grooves into hardcore. Thus more or less laying the foundations of sludge.
Derwood - 25.08.2010 at 21:37  
Written by Marcel Hubregtse on 25.08.2010 at 21:31

...Black Fag took a lot out of the book of Black Sabbath, incorporating Sabbathian grooves into hardcore.


Black Flag's My War album is dripping with Sabbath influence.
Doc Godin - 25.08.2010 at 22:08  
Written by Marcel Hubregtse on 25.08.2010 at 21:31

I don't find it surprsing at all that Rollins is there as well. Black Fag took a lot out of the book of Black Sabbath, incorporating Sabbathian grooves into hardcore. Thus more or less laying the foundations of sludge.

I just found it odd because of all the artists influenced by Sabbath, Rollins was the one to make it onto the show.
Angelic Storm - 25.08.2010 at 23:13  
Written by Doc Godin on 25.08.2010 at 22:08
I just found it odd because of all the artists influenced by Sabbath, Rollins was the one to make it onto the show.


Yep. Itd be far more logical to have somone like Lee Dorrian on the show instead. But Cathedral and none of the other bands who were very heavily influenced by Sabbath, are very well known in mainstream circles. But frrom a marketing standpoint if not a musical one, it makes more sense for Rollins to be on it instead. lol
Hermann Langke - 26.08.2010 at 09:21  
I have the classic album series of Metallica, Def Leppard and Judas Priest. Judging by your review, I should get this one as well!
dodstink - 28.08.2010 at 00:53  
INRI(Sarcofago) and KILL´EM ALL(Metallica) keeps the high importance of the classic albums.
Doc Godin - 28.08.2010 at 05:44  
Written by dodstink on 28.08.2010 at 00:53

INRI(Sarcofago) and KILL´EM ALL(Metallica) keeps the high importance of the classic albums.

Honestly, what the fuck are you talking about?
dodstink - 29.08.2010 at 19:10  
The above mentioned first albums are masterpieces that created/enhenced/developed riffs, patterns of music listenable NOT TO everyone.
Acolyt#1 - 30.08.2010 at 18:16  
I should check it out, I love the old Sabbs, however I think Sabbath Bloody Sabbath could have been a more interesting material to inspect in details.
DIO Is God - 02.09.2010 at 00:24  
The Deep Purple-Machine Head dvd was pretty kewl. I'll have to check this out.
animal71 - 07.09.2010 at 04:00  
I've seen most of the classic albums that have been shown on TV, whether they are metal or not metal.

But I am yet to see Black Sabbabth's Paranoid yet

But the best one i have seen is Motorhead's Ace Of Spades.!!!

A fkn classic
Lit. - 07.09.2010 at 22:05  
I learned all I need to know about the making of Paranoid from Ozzy's autobiography, I AM OZZY.
But I will check it out. This, Number of the Beast and Ace of Spades.
Doc Godin - 31.01.2011 at 13:03  
Written by Lit. on 07.09.2010 at 22:05

I learned all I need to know about the making of Paranoid from Ozzy's autobiography, I AM OZZY.
But I will check it out. This, Number of the Beast and Ace of Spades.

I just finished reading that book (literally, like 10 minutes ago.) And I can tell you that this DVD covers a lot of interesting trivia that isn't covered in the book.

Advertise on Metal Storm


Login or register to post here.



Similar topics

Forum Topic Similarity Started
Albums Black Sabbath - Paranoid (Classic Albums) [DVD] 9.5 30.07.2010 by vezzy
Reviews Black Sabbath - Paranoid 7 31.03.2008 by IronBlackZepp
Reviews Rusted Dawn - The Black Tides Of War 6 20.06.2010 by Ag Fox
Reviews Astra - The Black Chord 6 10.04.2012 by Merchant of Doom
Reviews Everything Went Black - Cycles Of Light 6 18.01.2012 by Mikyz



Hits total: 4630 | This month: 39