Rating:
8.0
Jumalhämärä - Resignaatio
18 October 2010


01. Ecstasy In Blood - A Ballad
02. Storm Is Coming
03. Haul
04. 596
05. Resignaatio
06. Of Enlightenment And Righteousness Pt II


Black metal
Finland
Ahdistuksen Aihio Productions


Jumalhämärä is an extremely... well, extreme black metal band from Finland. So extreme they don't have so much as an official MySpace page. So extreme that, in their 14 years of headbanging, they have released only one full-length studio album. In case you were wondering, this is it.

After treading the path of a true underground black metal outfit (releasing demo tapes, a live album and some mini-CDs), Jumalhämärä are ready to take a stab at the genre's heavyweights, perhaps first getting a head start by overtaking countrymates Horna and Sargeist.

The album begins with an incredibly hazy guitar intro, then unleashes a no-frills, by-the-numbers black metal assault before calming down about halfway through "A Ballad", carrying the listener off into apocalyptic dreamlike sequences for essentially the remainder of the album. This is where the band really shines as a unit - when they slow things down, access their melodic side, and give in to their intrinsic jazzy progression. While not overly experimental (and therefore, not overly pretentious), there are definitely elements of surrealism, thanks to some wonderfully produced keyboard effects and somber vocal passages.

Fortunately Resignaatio is drenched in this imaginative nature, swaying from utter barbaric minimalism to poignant mollification, similar in a way to most Deathspell Omega works. The differing drum techniques (despite routine blastbeat abuse), utilization of droning choirs, and odd timing signatures makes Resignaatio a welcome addition to the Finnish black metal family. Undoubtedly unappealing to die-hard tr00 crusaders, Jumalhämärä still have what it takes to attract most black metal fans, possibly even acquiring fans of various extreme atmospheric and melodic genres in the process.

Performance: 8
Songwriting: 8
Originality: 8
Production: 8


 



Written on 05.09.2010 by
Troy Killjoy
Just another opinionated guy telling you what to listen to.
More reviews by Troy Killjoy ››



Comments

‹‹ Back to the Reviews
Comments: 8  
Users visited: 145  
Search this topic:  


Lucas - 05.09.2010 at 12:05  
Really? Woah. I once reviewed one of their EP's and absolutely hated it. I can't wait to hear this one, if it really is an '8' then props to them for growing so much.
!J.O.O.E.! - 05.09.2010 at 12:07  
Written by Lucas on 05.09.2010 at 12:05

Really? Woah. I once reviewed one of their EP's and absolutely hated it. I can't wait to hear this one, if it really is an '8' then props to them for growing so much.

I actually really liked that EP at least I think it was that one. Very strange and unusual black metal.
Lucas - 05.09.2010 at 12:38  
Written by !J.O.O.E.! on 05.09.2010 at 12:07

Written by Lucas on 05.09.2010 at 12:05

Really? Woah. I once reviewed one of their EP's and absolutely hated it. I can't wait to hear this one, if it really is an '8' then props to them for growing so much.

I actually really liked that EP at least I think it was that one. Very strange and unusual black metal.


Heh, really? I heard a lot of unusual ideas in that one, but in the end it turned out such a mess that I'd rather listen to .... ew ... Dark Funeral than that EP.
!J.O.O.E.! - 05.09.2010 at 12:41  
Written by Lucas on 05.09.2010 at 12:38

I'd rather listen to .... ew ... Dark Funeral than that EP.

Talk about kicking a band while it's down!
Got Mayhem? - 06.09.2010 at 06:03  
This sounds like something I would love, based on the description given in this very well written review of course
Bloeddorst - 26.09.2010 at 15:07  
I'm about to review this CD as well. I like it as well!
Karlabos - 05.05.2014 at 02:19  
The description of this youtube video sounds familiar =P
Troy Killjoy - 08.05.2014 at 07:04  
Written by Karlabos on 05.05.2014 at 02:19
The description of this youtube video sounds familiar =P

I feel like I've seen those exact words somewhere before...

Advertise on Metal Storm


Login or register to post here.



Similar topics

Forum Topic Similarity Started
Reviews W.A.I.L. - Wisdom Through Agony Into Illumination And Lunacy 4.5 02.03.2011 by BloodTears
Reviews Woods Of Desolation - Torn Beyond Reason 4.5 19.06.2011 by Mr. Doctor
Reviews Cruciamentum - Convocation Of Crawling Chaos 4.5 28.04.2010 by Uirapuru
Reviews I Shalt Become - Poison 4.5 01.08.2010 by Got Mayhem?
Reviews Eternal September - Your Computer Lies 4.5 30.06.2010 by Visioneerie



Hits total: 4438 | This month: 39