Rating:
4.0
Pussy Sister - Pussy Sisster
23 July 2010


01. Today
02. Hold Us Down
03. Way To Nowhere
04. Back Again
05. Angel Dust
06. In Your Arms
07. Melody Of Pain
08. Leader Of The Gang
09. Pussy Sisster [bonus]


Really now, if you ask me the glam metal scene as a whole has never really been a breeding pool for exorbitantly brilliant music. Ok, I suppose there were a couple bands that are still pleasant to listen to, but they were definitely a minority. I can also understand people listening to those bands for nostalgia's sake. What I don't understand why anyone would want to listen to a new band - playing exactly the same old music - that would have been sub-par many years ago.

Perhaps one could make a case for Pussy Sister being awesome party music. You know the kind of party where lots of underage boys "rock out" to "old school music", drink about four times the amount they can hold and then proceed to spread out their drinks over the floor again, then a fat, desperate chick or two comes along and tries making out with the first of the aforementioned boys that isn't too drunk to push her away, as soon as he wiped the former contents of his stomach off his face. Yeah we've all been at those parties and we know it wasn't pretty, but hey, there are people who're still into that sort of stuff. If you're one of them I won't judge you for it, I will however recommend Pussy Sister to you.

To be fair, the band at least doesn't play sloppy. A few of their compositions even get close to being catchy. So if you're really desperate for a band that tries to play it like the original glam and sleaze rock band did, Pussy Sister actually isn't a bad bet for your next concert. Everyone else shouldn't really have any reason to listen to these guys, you can just as well listen to your old Mötley Crüe and Twisted Sister records (or even Poison for all I care).

Performance: 7
Songwriting: 3
Originality: 3
Production: 6


 


written by Bas | 06.09.2010



Comments

‹‹ Back to the Reviews
Comments: 24  
Users visited: 212  
Search this topic:  


BreadGod - 06.09.2010 at 19:25  
With a name like that, you know it's bound to suck.
vezzy - 06.09.2010 at 19:32  
Seems to me like a joke band.
AngelofDeth - 06.09.2010 at 19:38  
I agree that the good glam bands are a minority in the scene(most of them are a pile of cheesy shit) but theres actually some really good new Sleaze metal bands out there. Crashdiet, Vains of Jenna, Panzer Princess, thats about all i can vouch for, but these bands dont sound exactly like the older bands, they all have a unique sound.
Fat & Sassy! - 06.09.2010 at 20:08  
This is one of the most accurate reviews I have ever read. The second paragraph is awesome.
Troy Killjoy - 07.09.2010 at 01:34  
Read the name, assumed the worst, saw the 4, gave myself a pat on the back for my ESP.
Doc Godin - 07.09.2010 at 02:22  
Even being a glam fan, I have to admit this is shit.
RavenKing - 07.09.2010 at 02:30  
Written by BreadGod on 06.09.2010 at 19:25

With a name like that, you know it's bound to suck.


Indeed. Anyway, glam always sucked and will always suck. It's retarded music made by retarded people with a retarded attitude. Glam always made me sick even more than pop music. Fucking garbage I always looked at with utter contempt.
Marcel Hubregtse - 07.09.2010 at 02:54  
@hidden, totally agreed with. I have always utterly and totally despised glam. Both the music and what it stood for. There is not single good glam band around. Yes, also Motley Crue sucked donkey balls all of the time. Why do you think they cancelled loads of tours on mainland Europe? Yep they thought they could play 10000 seaters when in fact they couldn't even sell out a 400 capacity club on mainland Europe.
Where the hell is Paul Baloff with his "kill any poser you see near you" attitude. Yes the word POSER was originally used to refer to glam metal poodles.
Daggon - 07.09.2010 at 04:26  
Written by Marcel Hubregtse on 07.09.2010 at 02:54

Yes the word POSER was originally used to refer to glam metal poodles.


But Marcel, I thought you were a fan of Twisted Sister back in the day
Marcel Hubregtse - 07.09.2010 at 05:25  
Written by Daggon on 07.09.2010 at 04:26

Written by Marcel Hubregtse on 07.09.2010 at 02:54

Yes the word POSER was originally used to refer to glam metal poodles.


But Marcel, I thought you were a fan of Twisted Sister back in the day


I actually began to appriacte Twisted Sister much later. And although they looked glam their music sure as hell wasn't. Glam wasn't only the looks. It was also the lifestyle and music.
Troy Killjoy - 07.09.2010 at 05:59  
Dee Snider is too intelligent for glam.

Always thought of TS as hard rock/heavy metal anyway...
Doc Godin - 07.09.2010 at 09:11  
Written by Marcel Hubregtse on 07.09.2010 at 05:25

Written by Daggon on 07.09.2010 at 04:26

Written by Marcel Hubregtse on 07.09.2010 at 02:54

Yes the word POSER was originally used to refer to glam metal poodles.


But Marcel, I thought you were a fan of Twisted Sister back in the day


I actually began to appriacte Twisted Sister much later. And although they looked glam their music sure as hell wasn't. Glam wasn't only the looks. It was also the lifestyle and music.

It's strange, I considered myself an avid glam fan, but most of my favourite bands that I thought fit into that genre aren't really considered glam. Bands like Lizzy Borden, WASP, Twisted Sister, etc. With new glam like this it's almost being separated just as much, you get bands like this, then there are bands like Hardcore Superstar, who touch on that whole lifestyle quite a bit, but don't exactly celebrate it, it's almost discussed in their lyrical content in almost a remorseful manner. I have no idea where I'm going with this.
RavenKing - 07.09.2010 at 14:29  
Written by Doc Godin on 07.09.2010 at 09:11

It's strange, I considered myself an avid glam fan, but most of my favourite bands that I thought fit into that genre aren't really considered glam. Bands like Lizzy Borden, WASP, Twisted Sister, etc. With new glam like this it's almost being separated just as much, you get bands like this, then there are bands like Hardcore Superstar, who touch on that whole lifestyle quite a bit, but don't exactly celebrate it, it's almost discussed in their lyrical content in almost a remorseful manner. I have no idea where I'm going with this.


I consider those bands as heavy rock or hard rock, not glam rock like Motley Crue or Poison.
By the way, I use the term glam ROCK, not glam METAL for the obvious reason that glam metal doesn't exist. Glam is not metal but mainstream commercial bullshit.
Marcel Hubregtse - 07.09.2010 at 14:38  
Somethin weird withthe quoting happened there
Bas - 07.09.2010 at 20:23  
Written by vezzy on 06.09.2010 at 19:32

Seems to me like a joke band.

Unfortunately they aren't.
Written by AngelofDeth on 06.09.2010 at 19:38

I agree that the good glam bands are a minority in the scene(most of them are a pile of cheesy shit) but theres actually some really good new Sleaze metal bands out there. Crashdiet, Vains of Jenna, Panzer Princess, thats about all i can vouch for, but these bands dont sound exactly like the older bands, they all have a unique sound.

Yeah I don't think it's all bad either, last year I reviewed a pretty good album by a new sleaze band, they didn't sound like the older bands either though. We might have found a pattern here
Written by Fat & Sassy! on 06.09.2010 at 20:08

This is one of the most accurate reviews I have ever read. The second paragraph is awesome.

Thanks, it's nice to know people got the drift of my picturesque description^^
Angelic Storm - 07.09.2010 at 21:54  
Written by Doc Godin on 07.09.2010 at 09:11
It's strange, I considered myself an avid glam fan, but most of my favourite bands that I thought fit into that genre aren't really considered glam. Bands like Lizzy Borden, WASP, Twisted Sister, etc. With new glam like this it's almost being separated just as much, you get bands like this, then there are bands like Hardcore Superstar, who touch on that whole lifestyle quite a bit, but don't exactly celebrate it, it's almost discussed in their lyrical content in almost a remorseful manner. I have no idea where I'm going with this.


Ive never really been a glam fan, aside from a very brief time before I got into metal. And even then, it was only 2 or 3 bands, rather than the whole genre itself. The only bands today which I am a fan of that some connected with the glam scene are W.A.S.P. and Guns N' Roses. To me, GNR were never really glam, and I never understood why some lumped them into that scene. Their music had an aggression and attitude that never really fitted with glam. Same kinda thing with W.A.S.P., although their image was quite glammish, and some of their lyrical content certainly fitted the glam stereotype. And Inside The Electric Circus is for the most part, glam. (Its probably not a coincidence that this album is the one by W.A.S.P. I like the least) But W.A.S.P.'s music always had an edge to it, and a meanness that was abscent in most other glam bands.

As for this album, going by the band name, and the review, I think I'll give it a miss. Not my thing at all.
vezzy - 07.09.2010 at 21:58  
GnR never were glam. Maybe at times their image was only a bit glam-esque (I think hair is more accurate here), but nothing to do with it whatsoever.
Doc Godin - 07.09.2010 at 22:07  
Written by vezzy on 07.09.2010 at 21:58

GnR never were glam. Maybe at times their image was only a bit glam-esque (I think hair is more accurate here), but nothing to do with it whatsoever.

Well, if you saw old pictures of the band and listened to the old stuff, then yes, it was glam. But by old stuff I mean REALLY old stuff, the stuff that was only recently released as "Hollywood Rose - The Roots Of Guns N Roses", which was the most primitive line up of the band and I suppose shouldn't even be considered GnR.

But this is getting off topic, if you want to continue this discussion feel free to quote me over to the GnR thread.
RavenKing - 07.09.2010 at 23:32  
Written by Marcel Hubregtse on 07.09.2010 at 14:38

Somethin weird withthe quoting happened there


It's fixed now.

On a sidenote, I ued the term 'glam rock' in my previous posts but I normally never use it. I call this shitty genre cock rock.
Marcel Hubregtse - 08.09.2010 at 07:10  
Written by RavenKing on 07.09.2010 at 23:32

Written by Marcel Hubregtse on 07.09.2010 at 14:38

Somethin weird withthe quoting happened there


It's fixed now.

On a sidenote, I ued the term 'glam rock' in my previous posts but I normally never use it. I call this shitty genre cock rock.


Cock Rock, Glam Rock, Hair Metal, Poser Metal, it's all one and the same thing
vezzy - 08.09.2010 at 14:19  
You sure that's the only poser metal?
Marcel Hubregtse - 09.09.2010 at 12:36  
Glam/hair is the one and only original true poser metal.
Valentin B - 15.09.2010 at 16:26  
Written by Doc Godin on 07.09.2010 at 09:11

It's strange, I considered myself an avid glam fan, but most of my favourite bands that I thought fit into that genre aren't really considered glam. Bands like Lizzy Borden, WASP, Twisted Sister, etc. With new glam like this it's almost being separated just as much, you get bands like this, then there are bands like Hardcore Superstar, who touch on that whole lifestyle quite a bit, but don't exactly celebrate it, it's almost discussed in their lyrical content in almost a remorseful manner. I have no idea where I'm going with this.

aside from imagery, i cannot think of any reason to consider Lizzy Borden or WASP glam. i thought they were glam too until i listened to them.

as for this record, sounds fun, i might download it sometime, if only to get a good laugh haha.
advent - 25.09.2010 at 04:13  
Written by BreadGod on 06.09.2010 at 19:25

With a name like that, you know it's bound to suck.

+1

Advertise on Metal Storm


Login or register to post here.



Similar topics

Forum Topic Similarity Started
Reviews Lethal Saint - Lethal Saint 3 25.03.2010 by Valentin B
Reviews Natan - Het Zicht Van De Dood 3 01.12.2008 by ArcesseEum
Reviews Forhekset - First Step To Nowhere 3 19.12.2007 by Lucas
Reviews Rammstein - Herzeleid 3 17.06.2007 by Katatronik
Reviews For Ruin - Last Light 3 10.11.2009 by xRichardx



Hits total: 8965 | This month: 99