Ash Pool - Genital Tomb review



Reviewer:
8.5
Band: Ash Pool
Album: Genital Tomb
Release date: 2006


01. Lascivious Tyranny
02. Demolishing Obsession
03. First Rape
04. Dragged Down The Cobblestones


Although I haven't heard everything they've released, I dare say Ash Pool peaked on their second demo, Genital Tomb. It is their best release, at least for now (moment of writing: just after For Which He Plies The Lash). What makes Genital Tomb so great is present on all their releases, but on this particular one, every element is presented with extra vehemence.

As with other Ash Pool releases, the most appealing factor is that their music is just so utterly insane and so utterly black. Ash Pool gives Black metal its dangerous and deranged vibe back. Isn't that why we all fell in love with this genre to begin with, because of its constant lurking sense of terror? Especially "Lascivious Tyranny" and "Dragged Down The Cobblestones" (killer track!) convey this atmosphere magnificently. Ash Pool know how to record utterly distorted, noisy and echoing shrieks. And the raging black vortex of riffs behind them... Delicious!

"Demolishing Obsession" is a bit more upbeat, jumpy and punkier, while "First Rape" redefines the meaning of 'lo-fi'. Well, sort of. But I do think it is safe to say that no producer has come within miles of this particular song. Each of the four songs carries Ash Pool's trademark sound, even if they all sound different. That rusty, catchy, maniacally raw and malicious vibe, that... awesome.

Genital Tomb is a great release if you know how to appreciate it. It's a cassette, it''s a demo, it's extremely lo-fi, it's raw, it's extreme, it's pure hate... it's every cliché packed into the skin of a lamb, buried in a forlorn graveyard and dug up months after (at midnight, of course), yet it''s not at all phony or fake. It's Ash Pool!


Rating breakdown
Performance: 9
Songwriting: 8
Originality: 7
Production: 8


 



Written on 13.09.2010 by If you're interested in extreme, often emotional and underground music, check out my reviews. I retired from reviewing, but I really used to be into that stuff.


Comments

Comments: 6   Visited by: 37 users
13.09.2010 - 23:58
!J.O.O.E.!
Defunct
I think part of the appeal of Ash Pool is knowing that the guy behind it is also a bit of an expert on noise, his other project Prurient being one of the biggest and most respected on the noise circuit at the moment. And he runs his own record label to boot. His stuff on Prurient is quite unusual in that he uses a little melody along with the ultra harshness which is not something I've heard done very often. I don't think I've heard this one so I'll put it onto my to-do list. Nicely written review, as always.
Loading...
14.09.2010 - 20:30
Lucas
Mr. Noise
Written by !J.O.O.E.! on 13.09.2010 at 23:58

I think part of the appeal of Ash Pool is knowing that the guy behind it is also a bit of an expert on noise, his other project Prurient being one of the biggest and most respected on the noise circuit at the moment. And he runs his own record label to boot. His stuff on Prurient is quite unusual in that he uses a little melody along with the ultra harshness which is not something I've heard done very often. I don't think I've heard this one so I'll put it onto my to-do list. Nicely written review, as always.


Hmm, I don't know. I heard about Ash Pool way before I ever heard of Prurient (any getting-into suggestions, btw?). Thanks for the compliment.
----
SLUDGE. DOOM. DEATH. Wait, what?

"The reason I'm running for president is because I can't be Bruce Springsteen." - Barack Obama
Loading...
14.09.2010 - 20:42
!J.O.O.E.!
Defunct
Written by Lucas on 14.09.2010 at 20:30

Hmm, I don't know. I heard about Ash Pool way before I ever heard of Prurient (any getting-into suggestions, btw?). Thanks for the compliment.

I always really liked 'And Still, Wanting', it's hella noisy though (but still with plenty underlying melody) I found out about Ash Pool when some randomer messaged me on last.fm and recommended them after he saw me listening to Prurient. One of the better things I've been recommended on there.
Loading...
14.09.2010 - 20:50
Lucas
Mr. Noise
Written by !J.O.O.E.! on 14.09.2010 at 20:42

I always really liked 'And Still, Wanting', it's hella noisy though (but still with plenty underlying melody) I found out about Ash Pool when some randomer messaged me on last.fm and recommended them after he saw me listening to Prurient. One of the better things I've been recommended on there.


Ok thanks, I'll give it go.
----
SLUDGE. DOOM. DEATH. Wait, what?

"The reason I'm running for president is because I can't be Bruce Springsteen." - Barack Obama
Loading...
21.09.2010 - 19:13
-tom-
Mr FancyPants
Lucas, I remember ages ago we talked about me sending you a dub of the first demo but don't think you ever sent me your address. I've got the tape dubbed already (because i got it before I found an original copy). Let me know if you want it.
----
"This rudderless world is not shaped my metaphysical forces. It is not God who kills the children. Not fate that butchers them or destiny that feeds them to the dogs. It's us. Only us"

Read Watchmen.
Loading...
21.09.2010 - 20:41
Lucas
Mr. Noise
Written by -tom- on 21.09.2010 at 19:13

Lucas, I remember ages ago we talked about me sending you a dub of the first demo but don't think you ever sent me your address. I've got the tape dubbed already (because i got it before I found an original copy). Let me know if you want it.


Oh really? I vaguely remember something like that, yeah... But I own it already, real copy. Thanks for the kind offer though.
----
SLUDGE. DOOM. DEATH. Wait, what?

"The reason I'm running for president is because I can't be Bruce Springsteen." - Barack Obama
Loading...

Advertise on Metal Storm

Hits total: 2039 | This month: 3