Rating:
5.9
Kamelot - Poetry For The Poisoned
10 September 2010


Disc I
01. The Great Pandemonium [feat. Björn "Speed" Strid]
02. If Tomorrow Came
03. Dear Editor
04. The Zodiac [feat. Jon Oliva]
05. Hunter's Season
06. House On A Hill [feat. Simone Simons]
07. Necropolis
08. My Train Of Thoughts
09. Seal Of Woven Years
10. Poetry For The Poisoned
    1 - Part I: Incubus
    2 - Part II: So Long
    3 - Part III: All Is Over
    4 - Part IV: Dissection
11. Once Upon A Time
12. Where The Wild Roses Grow [bonus] [Nick Cave cover]
13. Thespian Drama [Japanese bonus]

Disc II [Live from Wacken 2010]
01. The Great Pandemonium
02. Human Stain
03. Center Of The Universe
04. Pendulous Fall
05. Hunter's Season
06. Karma
07. Forever
08. March Of Mephisto

[Super Limited Collector's Edition Bonus 7" Vinyl]
01. Rule The World [Live - Wacken]
02. Thespian Drama


Kamelot, at least in my eyes, has always been a band that sought their own path through the world of metal. The most fitting description of their sound is, no matter how I hate to admit it, power metal. Not the cheesiest, happiest German type, but power metal nevertheless. What made it more distinguished than most of the other power bands were Thomas Youngblood's distinctive guitar style, clever use of keyboards and orchestrations, and, above everything else, Roy Khan's vocals - so unlike any other metal singer, so non-metal so to speak. These three essential elements carried Kamelot's music through almost 20 years of their career, which has been on the rise all that time. Being quite a prolific band, they managed to deliver 9 full length releases, whose quality was constantly satisfactory, with occasional hints at excellence (Epica, Ghost Opera). Some progressive and symphonic elements crept into Kamelot's music in the meantime, making it richer, more textured and ambitious.

Alas my friends, not anymore. Poetry for the Poisoned is a letdown. The courage that Kamelot had to implement new elements into the fossilized body of power metal was enough for one brave, enjoyable song, "The Great Pandemonium." Electronic beginning, growling in the background, dense drumming that almost turns into blastbeats at the end. If it wasn't for the vocalist, it'd be hard to recognize Kamelot. The song is tight, to the point, and it genuinely hooked me up for the rest of the album. Bravo gentlemen, you're expanding your sound!

Too bad you don't know which direction you want to take your expansion. "If Tomorrow Came" is a typical power metal number, "The Zodiac" is a boring, theatrical exercise in role-playing, "Necropolis" balances on the edge of some kind of shy, half-hearted industrial rock. An honorable mention should be made about the terrible "House On A Hill." A few more songs like this and Kamelot will become new kings of sickeningly sweet cheese called power metal ballad. When I heard the verse "Cry me a river," I literally fell off my couch. Seriously, Michael Bolton meets Whitney Houston. It's scarier than "The Shining"! The title track, an ambitious four-part opus, doesn't save the day. It seems to go nowhere and everywhere at the same time. As a result, my finger hits the "STOP" button.

I can understand why the band wants to play a bit differently after 19 years of existence. But I was kind of hoping that they would figure it out during those 3 years that passed since their previous release. Apparently they had so many ideas for the new album that they couldn't make up their minds, so they crammed every idea they had into those 11 songs. The result is dubious. It'll probably scare off many old fans (like me) and won't bring too many new ones. Fanboys will be delighted, I'm sure, but they'd be delighted even if Khan started to fart in a melodic way. No offense, but this is just one inch over crap.

Performance: 8
Songwriting: 6
Originality: 7
Production: 7


Band profile: Kamelot
Album: Poetry For The Poisoned


 


written by Daniell | 18.09.2010

Guest review by
ponderer

Rating:
9.0
Brilliant. This cd will probably be totally misinterpreted by many, but after listening to it enough it finally dawned on me that Poetry for the Poisoned is just an evolutionary step of Kamelot's musical genius. It's nice to see this band evolving and growing from their power metal roots into something which appeals more to the musically inclined as opposed to serving up the same driving beats and power chords cd after cd. Welcome to the world of progressive metal.

Read more ››
published 12.12.2010 | Comments (21)

Guest review by
ZGoten

Rating:
8.2
Three long years fans had to wait for an all new full-length studio album, and here it finally is. So what's the deal on Poetry For The Poisoned? In a word - great, although not as great as expected. Kamelot is one of those bands that kept improving from album to album until they reached their zenith with the incredible The Black Halo. The following release was a letdown for many fans, because of new influences on the band's sound. If you are one of those fans, then better pass on this record, since it's one step further along the same road. If you however, like me, loved Ghost Opera, definately give this one a try.

Read more ››
published 15.12.2010 | Comments (4)



Comments

‹‹ Back to the Reviews Pages: [1] 2 3
Comments: 146  
Users visited: 625  
Search this topic:  


ErnilEnNaur - 18.09.2010 at 09:50  
That's too bad. Kamelot hasn't been the same since The Black Halo. I had my doubts about this album ever since I first heard what it was going to be named. I didn't like the name. I must also disagree with the reviewer about "The Great Pandemonium", I find the song forced, boring and too "hardcore" for it's own good. Guess we'll just have to go listen to The Fourth Legacy, Karma, Epica and The Black Halo and wait for Kamelot to return to their days of greatness.
Daniell - 18.09.2010 at 09:59  
Of all the songs on this album that are a departure from Kamelot's style, I find "The Great Pandemonium" the most convincing.
Hrothdane - 18.09.2010 at 10:20  
While I don't share daniell_p's hatred of the album due to some differences in subjective taste, I am rather disappointed with Poetry for the Poisoned. I enjoy everything up through House on a Hill, and then completely lose interest until Once Upon a Time.

The title track is the worst song on the album imo. The spoken part ruins the song for me every time.
annodomini - 18.09.2010 at 10:44  
Very accurate review. It seems that vocalist is singing in his sleep, and other things also are so plastic.
vezzy - 18.09.2010 at 11:43  
Completely agree with this review.

Now we just have to brace ourselves from the fanboy stampedes.
Dark†SymphonY - 18.09.2010 at 11:53  
Written by Hrothdane on 18.09.2010 at 10:20

While I don't share daniell_p's hatred of the album due to some differences in subjective taste, I am rather disappointed with Poetry for the Poisoned. I enjoy everything up through House on a Hill, and then completely lose interest until Once Upon a Time.

The title track is the worst song on the album imo. The spoken part ruins the song for me every time.

I agree with you on that. I thought that some parts of the songs were a bit uninteresting. But I did enjoy the last song
Justece - 18.09.2010 at 14:00  
Just look at Daniels favorite bands and then wonder why he reviewed this album in the first place.
Imo, PotP continues the same kind of Kamelot we heard in the Ghost Opera album, which i enjoy. Sure there are some bad stuff in the album like the chorus of "House on a Hill", but surely PotP deserves better than 5.9. Someone who puts stuff like "one inch over crap" in a review shouldn't be allowed to review anything.
Andreas - 18.09.2010 at 14:17  
I have to say that Daniels list of favourite bands doesn't show any bands that come close to Kamelots general sound over the years, so I doubt the reliability of this review.

I haven't listened to the album enough yet, so let it be noted that I don't disagree with this review (yet?), only wondering if the right person wrote this.
vezzy - 18.09.2010 at 14:18  
Written by Justece on 18.09.2010 at 14:00

Just look at Daniels favorite bands and then wonder why he reviewed this album in the first place.
Imo, PotP continues the same kind of Kamelot we heard in the Ghost Opera album, which i enjoy. Sure there are some bad stuff in the album like the chorus of "House on a Hill", but surely PotP deserves better than 5.9. Someone who puts stuff like "one inch over crap" in a review shouldn't be allowed to review anything.


Why? His bands aren't THAT "extreme", to be fair. And regardless, I don't see why he can't review it. Are you against honesty or something?
ErnilEnNaur - 18.09.2010 at 14:36  
Here's a fun little fact: you can't leave a negative comment on the video for "The Great Panda Moaning" on Youtube. It will be REMOVED pretty soon. I am not kidding about this. Unwilling to accept criticism = they know it sucks.
MeTalRea|istiK - 18.09.2010 at 16:39  
Good review..and very accurate..but still..kamelot is a great band!!
BlankFile - 18.09.2010 at 16:58  
I must agree that this album isn´t satisfying enough to be considered a great Kamelot album. In my mind, since Ghost Ópera Kamelot have become different in their style. The songs, in the most part are slow and a bit forgettable and where are the fast and epic songs that made Kamelot an excellent band in this genre? They vanished from this earth... I simply cannot understand, how a band that created such albuns like the fabulous The Black Halo, Epica or Karma, and than suddenly changes to a more forgettable and boring sound... "The Great Pandemonium", "Hunter´s Season" and "Poetry for the Poisoned" are for me the only 3 songs that deserve a really good note. The others are nothing more than fillers. and yeah "House on the Hill" is a really bad song, and i love Simone Simons voice and her band Epica, but unfortunetly the track is really cheesy. Ghost Ópera has its moments, but still remains a forgettable album. This one is even worse. Kamelot? What´s happening guys?
farfaramir - 18.09.2010 at 17:23  
Well, it's not a perfect album (not even a very good one), but I don't think it thaaaaat bad either, you almost treated it like a new St Anger.

But it's ok, I guess like Im more fan of the band my opinion is more subjective, so except for the Rating, I can agree with the review. (It deserve a better rating than ghost opera).
MetalSpider - 18.09.2010 at 19:20  
I like the new album. Yeah its definitely nothing like their greatest album Black Halo and more along the lines of Ghost Opera (which I liked), but I still think its a good one. I know when I listened to the album for the first time, I wasn't all that impressed. But the more I listened to it, the more I enjoyed it. Thats just me though.
RafaRata - 18.09.2010 at 19:30  
Again, uninspired album, superb production...
RafaRata - 18.09.2010 at 19:30  
Again, uninspired album, superb production...
Susan - 18.09.2010 at 19:38  
So disappointing to read this review and have it confirmed by most of the comments. I haven't heard the album yet, but am bracing myself. The Ghost Opera was SUCH a masterpiece that I wouldn't have been surprised if the band peaked with it.. but if that was the case I wouldn't have expected them to crash so hard afterwards. Damn.

I am holding out a shred of hope though - maybe when I listen I'll love it and you guys will all have been wrong
Adus11 - 18.09.2010 at 19:54  
As a fan of Kamelot since I bought Karma completely on a whim while browsing in a store many years ago, I feel rather let down by this album. Their production is tight as ever, but other than The Great Pandemonium, not a single song sticks in my mind. Every album with Khan on it has a lot of great, memorable songs but this is the first time I just don't even see any growing on me. Ghost Opera took me a bit at first, but I learned to appreciate it soon. I've listened to this one about ten times now trying hard to like it but I don't.

Sorry Kamelot. I guess everyone makes a dud once in a while. I don't doubt you guys will have the ability to surprise us again in the future, but it's a shame it couldn't have been right now.
farfaramir - 18.09.2010 at 19:54  
Written by Susan on 18.09.2010 at 19:38

So disappointing to read this review and have it confirmed by most of the comments. I haven't heard the album yet, but am bracing myself. The Ghost Opera was SUCH a masterpiece that I wouldn't have been surprised if the band peaked with it.. but if that was the case I wouldn't have expected them to crash so hard afterwards. Damn.

I am holding out a shred of hope though - maybe when I listen I'll love it and you guys will all have been wrong

Well, if you read the review:

"...whose quality was constantly satisfactory, with occasional hints at excellence (Epica, Ghost Opera)."
It's seems the reviewer also liked Ghost Opera a lot, so Im wouldn't be surprised if you get dissapointed. I can tell you, I have it and it's an ok album, but nothing more than that.
Andreas - 18.09.2010 at 20:01  
I've also heard from people who didn't like it, but after a few listens they began to appreciate it. Maybe this album is the example of a grower? No idea.
vezzy - 18.09.2010 at 20:03  
Written by Susan on 18.09.2010 at 19:38

So disappointing to read this review and have it confirmed by most of the comments. I haven't heard the album yet, but am bracing myself. The Ghost Opera was SUCH a masterpiece that I wouldn't have been surprised if the band peaked with it.. but if that was the case I wouldn't have expected them to crash so hard afterwards. Damn.

I am holding out a shred of hope though - maybe when I listen I'll love it and you guys will all have been wrong


Brace yourself for disappointment then.

(or you can lower your expectations brutally and suddenly, making it seem it's better than it really is)
annodomini - 18.09.2010 at 20:48  
For me the last good album was Black Halo. Ghost Opera was a big disappointment.
ErnilEnNaur - 18.09.2010 at 21:32  
Written by annodomini on 18.09.2010 at 20:48

For me the last good album was Black Halo. Ghost Opera was a big disappointment.


Agreed. Ghost Opera was a nose-dive into mediocricy. It's actually hard to believe that Kamelot was the band who made the great four (Fourth legacy, Karma, Epica, The Black Halo) when you listen to their latest two albums.
Iron Priest - 18.09.2010 at 21:47  
Like one guy said why would this reviewer even write a review. Looking at his favorite bands. I would say this review isn't worth spit.

Point #1 He said Kamelots moments of genius were Epica and "Ghost Opera." GO was boring, Karma or Black Halo would of been more suitable.

Point #2 Heres the best part. He didn't even listen to the whole album. He Pressed stop and states so in a review. Not very professional.

All that being said, The album is not very good. better than GO but it is lacking (catchyness)
perroide77 - 18.09.2010 at 22:27  
Written by annodomini on 18.09.2010 at 20:48

For me the last good album was Black Halo. Ghost Opera was a big disappointment.


I agree with you. Poetry for the poisoned is the worse album since Roy Khan joined to the band.
Papa_Ray - 18.09.2010 at 22:48  
Better than Ghost Opera
Angel_Lament - 19.09.2010 at 00:47  
IMO, in a review, the reviewer shouldnt compare the album to other album made by the band, especially if its very different in terms of music, I mean that Poetry for the Poisoned shouldnt be compared to Karma, Epica, The Black Halo or even Ghost Opera, simply its very different....
Im a huge fan of kamelot, since I listened to their masterpiece, The Black Halo, and the first time I listened to the new album I was like sooooo shocked and disappointed too, but after like 5 listens I started to like it more and more until I realize its very good album.... this album isnt power metal, its mix of prog, symphony and modern rock....so it shouldnt be compared to anything kamelot has done over the years....
I understand that they wanted to explore some new things...for an example: the solos on The Great Pandemonium and Hunter's Season are so awesome and never been on any kamelot album like them....
also Necropolis contains a great solo and have nice modern-industrial rock sound...
well maybe the lyrics on House on a Hill is a bit weird, but the song is very nice and the classic guitars in it give it a beautiful atmosphere
the title song is clearly a symphonic piece more than power, but its great when u listen to it as a whole....
so maybe this album may not be their best, but still a very good and exploring-new-ideas, which I think, turned out to be a refreshing experience...
Aeox - 19.09.2010 at 01:03  
Written by Angel_Lament on 19.09.2010 at 00:47

IMO, in a review, the reviewer shouldnt compare the album to other album made by the band, especially if its very different in terms of music, I mean that Poetry for the Poisoned shouldnt be compared to Karma, Epica, The Black Halo or even Ghost Opera, simply its very different....


I agree with you completely...
It's not my favourite album by them, but it's definitely not a rubbish album - still a few strong songs on here.
brunotvrs - 19.09.2010 at 03:18  
I totally agree with this review. I was really addicted to "Karma" and "Epica", and enjoyed "The Black Halo", though not as much as the previous albums. Then, for some reason, I just stopped listening to them. Now I came here to see what was new and really didin't like "The Great Pandemonium", which I find boring, not original and so NOT Kamelot. Still, I tried. Put their whole album in my cellphone and tried to listen to it in my way to university. Didn't work. I really couldn't do it anymore after 20 minutes or less. Really a shame
Hammer Pie - 19.09.2010 at 04:07  
This actually isn't a bad album at all - it just isn't really power metal. It's more interesting than the overrated Black Halo, and MUCH better than Ghost Opera.
Lovecraft - 19.09.2010 at 04:29  
Written by RafaRata on 18.09.2010 at 19:30

Again, uninspired album, superb production...


I agree. I am so disappointed. I had really high hopes for this. Roy's voice is also sleepy. Ghost Opera is definitely better.
Lovecraft - 19.09.2010 at 04:32  
Quote:
Agreed. Ghost Opera was a nose-dive into mediocricy. It's actually hard to believe that Kamelot was the band who made the great four (Fourth legacy, Karma, Epica, The Black Halo) when you listen to their latest two albums.


Ghost Opera was mediocre in a way, but it's better than PftP.
spiritofvengence - 19.09.2010 at 04:33  
Can we all agree that none of you like change?
Lachy - 19.09.2010 at 04:47  
I liked the album, i mean the black halo is still the best but you would all get sick of a band if they brought album after album out that sounded the same. Every band has the right to experiment even if you personally don't like it, its how they grow as musicians. Be happy with the albums already out and accept that others might like the new ones too. Personally i think the reviewer was not good for the job due to the fact that he isn't a fan of the band at all.
farfaramir - 19.09.2010 at 05:36  
Written by spiritofvengence on 19.09.2010 at 04:33

Can we all agree that none of you like change?

Change is good when it doesn't change to mediocrety. Black Halo was a change. This is just a letdown.
MeTalRea|istiK - 19.09.2010 at 07:40  
Written by Guest on 18.09.2010 at 09:50

That's too bad. Kamelot hasn't been the same since The Black Halo. I had my doubts about this album ever since I first heard what it was going to be named. I didn't like the name. I must also disagree with the reviewer about "The Great Pandemonium", I find the song forced, boring and too "hardcore" for it's own good. Guess we'll just have to go listen to The Fourth Legacy, Karma, Epica and The Black Halo and wait for Kamelot to return to their days of greatness.


hope and pray for it!!kamelot will come back!!
Daniell - 19.09.2010 at 10:53  
I'm sorry to disappoint everyone who loves this album. I don't, and it shows...
Oh, I listened to it about 20 times, so it did have time to grow on me, but it didn't.
Angel_Lament - 19.09.2010 at 14:26  
Written by Daniell on 19.09.2010 at 10:53

I'm sorry to disappoint everyone who loves this album. I don't, and it shows...
Oh, I listened to it about 20 times, so it did have time to grow on me, but it didn't.

Im sorry to tell u this too, but it surely wouldnt coz u dont want it to....
vezzy - 19.09.2010 at 14:33  
You mean to tell me we're supposed to manipulate our minds into thinking it's good when it really isn't?
MeTalRea|istiK - 19.09.2010 at 14:38  
I dont like this album..this is very worst kamelot album ever..i hope that kamelot will produce a better album then this next time..
Zhao - 19.09.2010 at 18:14  
Atleast it's better than Eternity
MeTalRea|istiK - 19.09.2010 at 18:27  
Yeah!!more stupid progpower!!
ponderer - 19.09.2010 at 19:08  
Totally disagree with the entire review. Great Kamelot cd.

Also you know when a review comes out the day after the cd retails that it's going to be totally biased because the reviewer has maybe listened to it once or twice at best. The criteria for writing reviews and the quality of reviews on the whole has hit an all-time new low at Metalstorm.
BlankFile - 19.09.2010 at 19:16  
This Kamelot cd is really forgettable. I don´t want to listen to it again because im already bored... I have listened to it about 5 or 6 times and that´s enough for me to form a solid opinion about it. It simply doesn´t stay with you...
BlankFile - 19.09.2010 at 19:21  
Written by ponderer on 19.09.2010 at 19:08

Totally disagree with the entire review. Great Kamelot cd.

Also you know when a review comes out the day after the cd retails that it's going to be totally biased because the reviewer has maybe listened to it once or twice at best. The criteria for writing reviews and the quality of reviews on the whole has hit an all-time new low at Metalstorm.



I don´t know if you read all the opinions posted in this page, but almost all of them agrees with the reviewer. Only fanboys of Kamelot will like this cd. Im a great fan of this band for a long time and I recognize that the band is different, for worse since Ghost Ópera.
vezzy - 19.09.2010 at 19:23  
Written by ponderer on 19.09.2010 at 19:08

Totally disagree with the entire review. Great Kamelot cd.

Also you know when a review comes out the day after the cd retails that it's going to be totally biased because the reviewer has maybe listened to it once or twice at best. The criteria for writing reviews and the quality of reviews on the whole has hit an all-time new low at Metalstorm.


Ladies and gentlemen, the fanboy of the year award goes to ponderer.

Now, if you listen to it twice or thrice and don't like it, there's something wrong with it. And I do believe he wraps it up quite well. The album sucks, that's the case. Bland and laced in lots of poor melody to cover it up. First track reminded me of Rammstein, actually.
Angelic Storm - 19.09.2010 at 19:30  
Written by BlankFile on 19.09.2010 at 19:21
I don´t know if you read all the opinions posted in this page, but almost all of them agrees with the reviewer. Only fanboys of Kamelot will like this cd. Im a great fan of this band for a long time and I recognize that the band is different, for worse since Ghost Ópera.


So merely disagreeing with popular opinion makes someone a fanboy? Thats a bit shallow methinks....
vezzy - 19.09.2010 at 19:35  
It isn't merely disagreeing, he's saying MS is going down to the toilet because of one review he doesn't agree with.

Also, I sort of find it funny how he finds this a great Kamelot CD. Mostly because it's so predictable considering his general perspective on things.
Angelic Storm - 19.09.2010 at 19:41  
Written by vezzy on 19.09.2010 at 19:35

It isn't merely disagreeing, he's saying MS is going down to the toilet because of one review he doesn't agree with.

Also, I sort of find it funny how he finds this a great Kamelot CD. Mostly because it's so predictable considering his general perspective on things.


Okay, that is being fanboyish, I agree. lol I just took exception to the statement that he was a fanboy merely for liking an album which the majority here seem to be slating. He's a fanboy for getting so agitated over the review, and at the reviewer for not giving a positive review to an album he likes. Just liking an album that most others seem to hate doesn't make someone a fanboy.
Daniell - 19.09.2010 at 20:34  
Written by ponderer on 19.09.2010 at 19:08

Totally disagree with the entire review. Great Kamelot cd.

Also you know when a review comes out the day after the cd retails that it's going to be totally biased because the reviewer has maybe listened to it once or twice at best. The criteria for writing reviews and the quality of reviews on the whole has hit an all-time new low at Metalstorm.


You seem to be a very strange person. I stated that I listened to the album about 20 times, which I did. I also stated that I really like Kamelot - hte whole 1st paragraph of the review is about it. I even named 2 albums that I regard great.
Yet you accuse me of writing a review after 1-2 listens... It looks like you only read the rating of the album, and didn't bother to check the rest.

Advertise on Metal Storm
Pages: [1] 2 3


Login or register to post here.



Similar topics

Forum Topic Similarity Started
Reviews Kamelot - Poetry For The Poisoned 10 15.12.2010 by WorpeX
Reviews Kamelot - Poetry For The Poisoned 10 12.12.2010 by Susan
Albums Kamelot - Poetry For The Poisoned 9 01.03.2010 by JÄY
Albums Kamelot - Poetry For The Poisoned + Live From Wacken 2010 (Limited Tour Edition) 9 07.05.2011 by lingus99
Reviews SubRosa - No Help For The Mighty Ones 4 02.11.2011 by Milena



Hits total: 17167 | This month: 161