Kamelot - Poetry For The Poisoned review



Reviewer:
5.9

555 users:
7.57
Band: Kamelot
Album: Poetry For The Poisoned
Release date: September 2010


Disc I
01. The Great Pandemonium [feat. Björn "Speed" Strid]
02. If Tomorrow Came
03. Dear Editor
04. The Zodiac [feat. Jon Oliva]
05. Hunter's Season
06. House On A Hill [feat. Simone Simons]
07. Necropolis
08. My Train Of Thoughts
09. Seal Of Woven Years
10. Poetry For The Poisoned
    1 - Part I: Incubus
    2 - Part II: So Long
    3 - Part III: All Is Over
    4 - Part IV: Dissection
11. Once Upon A Time
12. Where The Wild Roses Grow [bonus] [Nick Cave cover]
13. Thespian Drama [Japanese bonus]

Disc II [Live from Wacken 2010]
01. The Great Pandemonium
02. Human Stain
03. Center Of The Universe
04. Pendulous Fall
05. Hunter's Season
06. Karma
07. Forever
08. March Of Mephisto

[Super Limited Collector's Edition Bonus 7" Vinyl]
01. Rule The World [Live - Wacken]
02. Thespian Drama


Kamelot, at least in my eyes, has always been a band that sought their own path through the world of metal. The most fitting description of their sound is, no matter how I hate to admit it, power metal. Not the cheesiest, happiest German type, but power metal nevertheless. What made it more distinguished than most of the other power bands were Thomas Youngblood's distinctive guitar style, clever use of keyboards and orchestrations, and, above everything else, Roy Khan's vocals - so unlike any other metal singer, so non-metal so to speak. These three essential elements carried Kamelot's music through almost 20 years of their career, which has been on the rise all that time. Being quite a prolific band, they managed to deliver 9 full length releases, whose quality was constantly satisfactory, with occasional hints at excellence (Epica, Ghost Opera). Some progressive and symphonic elements crept into Kamelot's music in the meantime, making it richer, more textured and ambitious.

Alas my friends, not anymore. Poetry for the Poisoned is a letdown. The courage that Kamelot had to implement new elements into the fossilized body of power metal was enough for one brave, enjoyable song, "The Great Pandemonium." Electronic beginning, growling in the background, dense drumming that almost turns into blastbeats at the end. If it wasn't for the vocalist, it'd be hard to recognize Kamelot. The song is tight, to the point, and it genuinely hooked me up for the rest of the album. Bravo gentlemen, you're expanding your sound!

Too bad you don't know which direction you want to take your expansion. "If Tomorrow Came" is a typical power metal number, "The Zodiac" is a boring, theatrical exercise in role-playing, "Necropolis" balances on the edge of some kind of shy, half-hearted industrial rock. An honorable mention should be made about the terrible "House On A Hill." A few more songs like this and Kamelot will become new kings of sickeningly sweet cheese called power metal ballad. When I heard the verse "Cry me a river," I literally fell off my couch. Seriously, Michael Bolton meets Whitney Houston. It's scarier than "The Shining"! The title track, an ambitious four-part opus, doesn't save the day. It seems to go nowhere and everywhere at the same time. As a result, my finger hits the "STOP" button.

I can understand why the band wants to play a bit differently after 19 years of existence. But I was kind of hoping that they would figure it out during those 3 years that passed since their previous release. Apparently they had so many ideas for the new album that they couldn't make up their minds, so they crammed every idea they had into those 11 songs. The result is dubious. It'll probably scare off many old fans (like me) and won't bring too many new ones. Fanboys will be delighted, I'm sure, but they'd be delighted even if Khan started to fart in a melodic way. No offense, but this is just one inch over crap.


Rating breakdown
Performance: 8
Songwriting: 6
Originality: 7
Production: 7


 



Written on 18.09.2010 by Writes overly honest and totally subjective reviews when fancy strikes him. Which is not often. Which is probably good, all things considered.

Guest review by
ponderer
Rating:
9.0
Brilliant. This cd will probably be totally misinterpreted by many, but after listening to it enough it finally dawned on me that Poetry for the Poisoned is just an evolutionary step of Kamelot's musical genius. It's nice to see this band evolving and growing from their power metal roots into something which appeals more to the musically inclined as opposed to serving up the same driving beats and power chords cd after cd. Welcome to the world of progressive metal.

Read more ››
published 12.12.2010 | Comments (21)

Guest review by
ZGoten
Rating:
8.2
Three long years fans had to wait for an all new full-length studio album, and here it finally is. So what's the deal on Poetry For The Poisoned? In a word - great, although not as great as expected. Kamelot is one of those bands that kept improving from album to album until they reached their zenith with the incredible The Black Halo. The following release was a letdown for many fans, because of new influences on the band's sound. If you are one of those fans, then better pass on this record, since it's one step further along the same road. If you however, like me, loved Ghost Opera, definately give this one a try.

Read more ››
published 15.12.2010 | Comments (4)

Guest review by
Kais
Rating:
8.8
It's been 5 years since Poetry For The Poisoned was released. Five long years in which illustrious Kamelot and Conception vocalist decided to bid farewell to the music industry as a whole, for a higher cause, and it was the first studio appearance of original bassist Sean Tibbetts, after long-time bassist Glenn Berry had left the band.

Read more ››
published 28.06.2015 | Comments (4)


Comments page 2 / 5

Comments: 146   Visited by: 664 users
19.09.2010 - 04:29
Lovecraft
Account deleted
Written by RafaRata on 18.09.2010 at 19:30

Again, uninspired album, superb production...


I agree. I am so disappointed. I had really high hopes for this. Roy's voice is also sleepy. Ghost Opera is definitely better.
Loading...
19.09.2010 - 04:32
Lovecraft
Account deleted
Quote:
Agreed. Ghost Opera was a nose-dive into mediocricy. It's actually hard to believe that Kamelot was the band who made the great four (Fourth legacy, Karma, Epica, The Black Halo) when you listen to their latest two albums.


Ghost Opera was mediocre in a way, but it's better than PftP.
Loading...
19.09.2010 - 04:33
spiritofvengence
Can we all agree that none of you like change?
----
I'd rather like what I like because I like it, despite if everyone hates me for it, then like what I hate just to be accepted by you.
Loading...
19.09.2010 - 04:47
Lachy
Account deleted
I liked the album, i mean the black halo is still the best but you would all get sick of a band if they brought album after album out that sounded the same. Every band has the right to experiment even if you personally don't like it, its how they grow as musicians. Be happy with the albums already out and accept that others might like the new ones too. Personally i think the reviewer was not good for the job due to the fact that he isn't a fan of the band at all.
Loading...
19.09.2010 - 05:36
farfaramir
Written by spiritofvengence on 19.09.2010 at 04:33

Can we all agree that none of you like change?

Change is good when it doesn't change to mediocrety. Black Halo was a change. This is just a letdown.
Loading...
19.09.2010 - 07:40
MeTalRea|istiK
Written by Guest on 18.09.2010 at 09:50

That's too bad. Kamelot hasn't been the same since The Black Halo. I had my doubts about this album ever since I first heard what it was going to be named. I didn't like the name. I must also disagree with the reviewer about "The Great Pandemonium", I find the song forced, boring and too "hardcore" for it's own good. Guess we'll just have to go listen to The Fourth Legacy, Karma, Epica and The Black Halo and wait for Kamelot to return to their days of greatness.


hope and pray for it!!kamelot will come back!!
Loading...
19.09.2010 - 10:53
Daniell
No, you don't
I'm sorry to disappoint everyone who loves this album. I don't, and it shows...
Oh, I listened to it about 20 times, so it did have time to grow on me, but it didn't.
----
Now loving:
Katatonia - Takeover
Kreator - World War Now
Ortega - Crows
Ahab - The Light In the Weed
Anaal Nathrakh - Depravity Favours the Bold
Dark Tranquillity - Encircled
Moonsorrow - Ihmisen Aika
Loading...
19.09.2010 - 14:26
Angel_Lament
Written by Daniell on 19.09.2010 at 10:53

I'm sorry to disappoint everyone who loves this album. I don't, and it shows...
Oh, I listened to it about 20 times, so it did have time to grow on me, but it didn't.

Im sorry to tell u this too, but it surely wouldnt coz u dont want it to....
Loading...
19.09.2010 - 14:33
vezzy
Stallmanite
You mean to tell me we're supposed to manipulate our minds into thinking it's good when it really isn't?
----
Licensed under the GPLv3.
Relinquish proprietary software for a greater GNU/America.
Loading...
19.09.2010 - 14:38
MeTalRea|istiK
I dont like this album..this is very worst kamelot album ever..i hope that kamelot will produce a better album then this next time..
Loading...
19.09.2010 - 18:14
Zhao
The Arkaholic
Atleast it's better than Eternity
Loading...
19.09.2010 - 18:27
MeTalRea|istiK
Yeah!!more stupid progpower!!
Loading...
19.09.2010 - 19:08
ponderer
Totally disagree with the entire review. Great Kamelot cd.

Also you know when a review comes out the day after the cd retails that it's going to be totally biased because the reviewer has maybe listened to it once or twice at best. The criteria for writing reviews and the quality of reviews on the whole has hit an all-time new low at Metalstorm.
Loading...
19.09.2010 - 19:16
BlankFile
This Kamelot cd is really forgettable. I don´t want to listen to it again because im already bored... I have listened to it about 5 or 6 times and that´s enough for me to form a solid opinion about it. It simply doesn´t stay with you...
Loading...
19.09.2010 - 19:21
BlankFile
Written by ponderer on 19.09.2010 at 19:08

Totally disagree with the entire review. Great Kamelot cd.

Also you know when a review comes out the day after the cd retails that it's going to be totally biased because the reviewer has maybe listened to it once or twice at best. The criteria for writing reviews and the quality of reviews on the whole has hit an all-time new low at Metalstorm.



I don´t know if you read all the opinions posted in this page, but almost all of them agrees with the reviewer. Only fanboys of Kamelot will like this cd. Im a great fan of this band for a long time and I recognize that the band is different, for worse since Ghost Ópera.
Loading...
19.09.2010 - 19:23
vezzy
Stallmanite
Written by ponderer on 19.09.2010 at 19:08

Totally disagree with the entire review. Great Kamelot cd.

Also you know when a review comes out the day after the cd retails that it's going to be totally biased because the reviewer has maybe listened to it once or twice at best. The criteria for writing reviews and the quality of reviews on the whole has hit an all-time new low at Metalstorm.


Ladies and gentlemen, the fanboy of the year award goes to ponderer.

Now, if you listen to it twice or thrice and don't like it, there's something wrong with it. And I do believe he wraps it up quite well. The album sucks, that's the case. Bland and laced in lots of poor melody to cover it up. First track reminded me of Rammstein, actually.
----
Licensed under the GPLv3.
Relinquish proprietary software for a greater GNU/America.
Loading...
19.09.2010 - 19:30
Angelic Storm
Melodious
Written by BlankFile on 19.09.2010 at 19:21
I don´t know if you read all the opinions posted in this page, but almost all of them agrees with the reviewer. Only fanboys of Kamelot will like this cd. Im a great fan of this band for a long time and I recognize that the band is different, for worse since Ghost Ópera.


So merely disagreeing with popular opinion makes someone a fanboy? Thats a bit shallow methinks....
Loading...
19.09.2010 - 19:35
vezzy
Stallmanite
It isn't merely disagreeing, he's saying MS is going down to the toilet because of one review he doesn't agree with.

Also, I sort of find it funny how he finds this a great Kamelot CD. Mostly because it's so predictable considering his general perspective on things.
----
Licensed under the GPLv3.
Relinquish proprietary software for a greater GNU/America.
Loading...
19.09.2010 - 19:41
Angelic Storm
Melodious
Written by vezzy on 19.09.2010 at 19:35

It isn't merely disagreeing, he's saying MS is going down to the toilet because of one review he doesn't agree with.

Also, I sort of find it funny how he finds this a great Kamelot CD. Mostly because it's so predictable considering his general perspective on things.


Okay, that is being fanboyish, I agree. lol I just took exception to the statement that he was a fanboy merely for liking an album which the majority here seem to be slating. He's a fanboy for getting so agitated over the review, and at the reviewer for not giving a positive review to an album he likes. Just liking an album that most others seem to hate doesn't make someone a fanboy.
Loading...
19.09.2010 - 20:34
Daniell
No, you don't
Written by ponderer on 19.09.2010 at 19:08

Totally disagree with the entire review. Great Kamelot cd.

Also you know when a review comes out the day after the cd retails that it's going to be totally biased because the reviewer has maybe listened to it once or twice at best. The criteria for writing reviews and the quality of reviews on the whole has hit an all-time new low at Metalstorm.


You seem to be a very strange person. I stated that I listened to the album about 20 times, which I did. I also stated that I really like Kamelot - hte whole 1st paragraph of the review is about it. I even named 2 albums that I regard great.
Yet you accuse me of writing a review after 1-2 listens... It looks like you only read the rating of the album, and didn't bother to check the rest.
----
Now loving:
Katatonia - Takeover
Kreator - World War Now
Ortega - Crows
Ahab - The Light In the Weed
Anaal Nathrakh - Depravity Favours the Bold
Dark Tranquillity - Encircled
Moonsorrow - Ihmisen Aika
Loading...
19.09.2010 - 20:41
Vikcen
Metálico
Sometimes reminds me to album Epica, but this last record is a lot less inspired than Epica in my oppinion.
Loading...
19.09.2010 - 20:50
Wes
No it is not like Epica at all.

Nice and honest review, this album is BAD, at any standard. It forces me, like the reviewer to TURN IT OFF. It's almost an annoying album.

The worst song is undoubtedly "Hunter's Season", "someone to protect and be protected by..." I wonder where this vocal melody is going... terrible!

It's all bad, that's about all there is to it. Many of the song's are extremely predictable, simplified versions of earlier songs by Kamelot.
Loading...
19.09.2010 - 22:42
RafaRata
Written by Guest on 19.09.2010 at 04:29

Written by RafaRata on 18.09.2010 at 19:30

Again, uninspired album, superb production...


I agree. I am so disappointed. I had really high hopes for this. Roy's voice is also sleepy. Ghost Opera is definitely better.

Well, this year is kinda sucking... I've been disappointed by Gamma Ray then Angra and now Kamelot
Loading...
20.09.2010 - 00:54
Opethian
HAHAHA its sad how the retard who reviewed the album was too ass hurt to admit the fact that Kamelot isnt a band that is going to put out the same record year after year. This band doesnt please a certain crowd and i take it that is what gets everyones panties mixed in a bunch .. so to say.

IMHO this album is a TRUE follow up to TBH, i respect the fact that Kamelot doesnt in no way depend on their passed albums to move forward! Every album is a different experience. I love PFTP and its Kamelot doing what their excellent at, which is delivering great music
Loading...
20.09.2010 - 00:57
Opethian
Written by Wes on 19.09.2010 at 20:50

No it is not like Epica at all.

Nice and honest review, this album is BAD, at any standard. It forces me, like the reviewer to TURN IT OFF. It's almost an annoying album.

The worst song is undoubtedly "Hunter's Season", "someone to protect and be protected by..." I wonder where this vocal melody is going... terrible!

It's all bad, that's about all there is to it. Many of the song's are extremely predictable, simplified versions of earlier songs by Kamelot.


EPIC FAIL
Loading...
20.09.2010 - 02:16
UnknownCheese
Leave it to the Opeth fan.
Loading...
20.09.2010 - 02:22
BlankFile
I repeat: Boring and predictable album. I almost fell asleep listening to it (its true honest!). Kamelot is really getting sloppy.
Loading...
20.09.2010 - 04:02
Opethian
Written by UnknownCheese on 20.09.2010 at 02:16

Leave it to the Opeth fan.


Leave it to the ASS who decides to stay on the side lines and TROLL all day
Loading...
20.09.2010 - 15:55
vezzy
Stallmanite
Hate to break it to you buddy, but you are the troll here. Forcing your idiotic opinion around and attacking all those who don't agree.

Yes, it is different. It's plain and boring.
----
Licensed under the GPLv3.
Relinquish proprietary software for a greater GNU/America.
Loading...
20.09.2010 - 16:29
Carrion Misery
This has to be one of the largest net of opinions about a band's album catalog I've seen in a while. Ghost Opera was terrible. Ghost Opera is a masterpiece. They went down hill when they came out with Black Halo. Black Halo is their best album ever. It's an ok album, but it's no Black Halo. I'm on the band wagon of their old stuff is awesome, their new stuff is horrible slop. blah blah blah Honestly, It's good to see a wide variety of opinions and it shows we really care about our musical preferences!

In this case, PftP might be lame for many, but I truly enjoy the vocal melodies. I think the guitar tends to be too much in the background on many of the songs and some vocal effects were a bit unnecessary. A great vocalist is like a great cut of steak - you don't need A1 to make it better. I really like all the first 6 songs, but after that it sort of feels a bit uninspired as if they rushed the last half of the album. I've been stuck on the first half because of that, so I'll eventually dissect the rest. PftP is definitely a grower imo and I've caught myself singing Hunter's Season and As If Tomorrow Came. I can agree with some points in the review, but it was absolutely trying too hard to reach for flaws and searching to add to it's paper trail of suck. Industrial Rock? Really? When it started off saying "The most fitting description of their sound is, no matter how I hate to admit it, power metal." There's no way around it. Kamelot is 100% power metal whether you like it or not. When I read that, I knew right away this review would be biased. Anyways, I give this CD a 7.5 which I'm sure will rise throughout time. Can't wait to see them live.
----
-- Carrion Misery
Loading...

Hits total: 19941 | This month: 88