Rating:
5.9
Kamelot - Poetry For The Poisoned
10 September 2010


Disc I
01. The Great Pandemonium [feat. Björn "Speed" Strid]
02. If Tomorrow Came
03. Dear Editor
04. The Zodiac [feat. Jon Oliva]
05. Hunter's Season
06. House On A Hill [feat. Simone Simons]
07. Necropolis
08. My Train Of Thoughts
09. Seal Of Woven Years
10. Poetry For The Poisoned
    1 - Part I: Incubus
    2 - Part II: So Long
    3 - Part III: All Is Over
    4 - Part IV: Dissection
11. Once Upon A Time
12. Where The Wild Roses Grow [bonus] [Nick Cave cover]
13. Thespian Drama [Japanese bonus]

Disc II [Live from Wacken 2010]
01. The Great Pandemonium
02. Human Stain
03. Center Of The Universe
04. Pendulous Fall
05. Hunter's Season
06. Karma
07. Forever
08. March Of Mephisto

[Super Limited Collector's Edition Bonus 7" Vinyl]
01. Rule The World [Live - Wacken]
02. Thespian Drama


Kamelot, at least in my eyes, has always been a band that sought their own path through the world of metal. The most fitting description of their sound is, no matter how I hate to admit it, power metal. Not the cheesiest, happiest German type, but power metal nevertheless. What made it more distinguished than most of the other power bands were Thomas Youngblood's distinctive guitar style, clever use of keyboards and orchestrations, and, above everything else, Roy Khan's vocals - so unlike any other metal singer, so non-metal so to speak. These three essential elements carried Kamelot's music through almost 20 years of their career, which has been on the rise all that time. Being quite a prolific band, they managed to deliver 9 full length releases, whose quality was constantly satisfactory, with occasional hints at excellence (Epica, Ghost Opera). Some progressive and symphonic elements crept into Kamelot's music in the meantime, making it richer, more textured and ambitious.

Alas my friends, not anymore. Poetry for the Poisoned is a letdown. The courage that Kamelot had to implement new elements into the fossilized body of power metal was enough for one brave, enjoyable song, "The Great Pandemonium." Electronic beginning, growling in the background, dense drumming that almost turns into blastbeats at the end. If it wasn't for the vocalist, it'd be hard to recognize Kamelot. The song is tight, to the point, and it genuinely hooked me up for the rest of the album. Bravo gentlemen, you're expanding your sound!

Too bad you don't know which direction you want to take your expansion. "If Tomorrow Came" is a typical power metal number, "The Zodiac" is a boring, theatrical exercise in role-playing, "Necropolis" balances on the edge of some kind of shy, half-hearted industrial rock. An honorable mention should be made about the terrible "House On A Hill." A few more songs like this and Kamelot will become new kings of sickeningly sweet cheese called power metal ballad. When I heard the verse "Cry me a river," I literally fell off my couch. Seriously, Michael Bolton meets Whitney Houston. It's scarier than "The Shining"! The title track, an ambitious four-part opus, doesn't save the day. It seems to go nowhere and everywhere at the same time. As a result, my finger hits the "STOP" button.

I can understand why the band wants to play a bit differently after 19 years of existence. But I was kind of hoping that they would figure it out during those 3 years that passed since their previous release. Apparently they had so many ideas for the new album that they couldn't make up their minds, so they crammed every idea they had into those 11 songs. The result is dubious. It'll probably scare off many old fans (like me) and won't bring too many new ones. Fanboys will be delighted, I'm sure, but they'd be delighted even if Khan started to fart in a melodic way. No offense, but this is just one inch over crap.

Performance: 8
Songwriting: 6
Originality: 7
Production: 7


Band profile: Kamelot
Album: Poetry For The Poisoned


 


written by Daniell | 18.09.2010

Guest review by
ponderer

Rating:
9.0
Brilliant. This cd will probably be totally misinterpreted by many, but after listening to it enough it finally dawned on me that Poetry for the Poisoned is just an evolutionary step of Kamelot's musical genius. It's nice to see this band evolving and growing from their power metal roots into something which appeals more to the musically inclined as opposed to serving up the same driving beats and power chords cd after cd. Welcome to the world of progressive metal.

Read more ››
published 12.12.2010 | Comments (21)

Guest review by
ZGoten

Rating:
8.2
Three long years fans had to wait for an all new full-length studio album, and here it finally is. So what's the deal on Poetry For The Poisoned? In a word - great, although not as great as expected. Kamelot is one of those bands that kept improving from album to album until they reached their zenith with the incredible The Black Halo. The following release was a letdown for many fans, because of new influences on the band's sound. If you are one of those fans, then better pass on this record, since it's one step further along the same road. If you however, like me, loved Ghost Opera, definately give this one a try.

Read more ››
published 15.12.2010 | Comments (4)



Comments page 2 of 3

‹‹ Back to the Reviews Pages: 1 [2] 3
Comments: 146  
Users visited: 629  
Search this topic:  


Vikcen - 19.09.2010 at 20:41  
Sometimes reminds me to album Epica, but this last record is a lot less inspired than Epica in my oppinion.
Wes - 19.09.2010 at 20:50  
No it is not like Epica at all.

Nice and honest review, this album is BAD, at any standard. It forces me, like the reviewer to TURN IT OFF. It's almost an annoying album.

The worst song is undoubtedly "Hunter's Season", "someone to protect and be protected by..." I wonder where this vocal melody is going... terrible!

It's all bad, that's about all there is to it. Many of the song's are extremely predictable, simplified versions of earlier songs by Kamelot.
RafaRata - 19.09.2010 at 22:42  
Written by Guest on 19.09.2010 at 04:29

Written by RafaRata on 18.09.2010 at 19:30

Again, uninspired album, superb production...


I agree. I am so disappointed. I had really high hopes for this. Roy's voice is also sleepy. Ghost Opera is definitely better.

Well, this year is kinda sucking... I've been disappointed by Gamma Ray then Angra and now Kamelot
Opethian - 20.09.2010 at 00:54  
HAHAHA its sad how the retard who reviewed the album was too ass hurt to admit the fact that Kamelot isnt a band that is going to put out the same record year after year. This band doesnt please a certain crowd and i take it that is what gets everyones panties mixed in a bunch .. so to say.

IMHO this album is a TRUE follow up to TBH, i respect the fact that Kamelot doesnt in no way depend on their passed albums to move forward! Every album is a different experience. I love PFTP and its Kamelot doing what their excellent at, which is delivering great music
Opethian - 20.09.2010 at 00:57  
Written by Wes on 19.09.2010 at 20:50

No it is not like Epica at all.

Nice and honest review, this album is BAD, at any standard. It forces me, like the reviewer to TURN IT OFF. It's almost an annoying album.

The worst song is undoubtedly "Hunter's Season", "someone to protect and be protected by..." I wonder where this vocal melody is going... terrible!

It's all bad, that's about all there is to it. Many of the song's are extremely predictable, simplified versions of earlier songs by Kamelot.


EPIC FAIL
UnknownCheese - 20.09.2010 at 02:16  
Leave it to the Opeth fan.
BlankFile - 20.09.2010 at 02:22  
I repeat: Boring and predictable album. I almost fell asleep listening to it (its true honest!). Kamelot is really getting sloppy.
Opethian - 20.09.2010 at 04:02  
Written by UnknownCheese on 20.09.2010 at 02:16

Leave it to the Opeth fan.


Leave it to the ASS who decides to stay on the side lines and TROLL all day
vezzy - 20.09.2010 at 15:55  
Hate to break it to you buddy, but you are the troll here. Forcing your idiotic opinion around and attacking all those who don't agree.

Yes, it is different. It's plain and boring.
Carrion Misery - 20.09.2010 at 16:29  
This has to be one of the largest net of opinions about a band's album catalog I've seen in a while. Ghost Opera was terrible. Ghost Opera is a masterpiece. They went down hill when they came out with Black Halo. Black Halo is their best album ever. It's an ok album, but it's no Black Halo. I'm on the band wagon of their old stuff is awesome, their new stuff is horrible slop. blah blah blah Honestly, It's good to see a wide variety of opinions and it shows we really care about our musical preferences!

In this case, PftP might be lame for many, but I truly enjoy the vocal melodies. I think the guitar tends to be too much in the background on many of the songs and some vocal effects were a bit unnecessary. A great vocalist is like a great cut of steak - you don't need A1 to make it better. I really like all the first 6 songs, but after that it sort of feels a bit uninspired as if they rushed the last half of the album. I've been stuck on the first half because of that, so I'll eventually dissect the rest. PftP is definitely a grower imo and I've caught myself singing Hunter's Season and As If Tomorrow Came. I can agree with some points in the review, but it was absolutely trying too hard to reach for flaws and searching to add to it's paper trail of suck. Industrial Rock? Really? When it started off saying "The most fitting description of their sound is, no matter how I hate to admit it, power metal." There's no way around it. Kamelot is 100% power metal whether you like it or not. When I read that, I knew right away this review would be biased. Anyways, I give this CD a 7.5 which I'm sure will rise throughout time. Can't wait to see them live.
ponderer - 20.09.2010 at 17:14  
Written by Daniell on 19.09.2010 at 20:34

Written by ponderer on 19.09.2010 at 19:08

Totally disagree with the entire review. Great Kamelot cd.

Also you know when a review comes out the day after the cd retails that it's going to be totally biased because the reviewer has maybe listened to it once or twice at best. The criteria for writing reviews and the quality of reviews on the whole has hit an all-time new low at Metalstorm.


You seem to be a very strange person. I stated that I listened to the album about 20 times, which I did. I also stated that I really like Kamelot - hte whole 1st paragraph of the review is about it. I even named 2 albums that I regard great.
Yet you accuse me of writing a review after 1-2 listens... It looks like you only read the rating of the album, and didn't bother to check the rest.


I read your entire review and I've never read anything more one-sided and jaded on Metalstorm to this date. Why don't we all start writing reviews for the latest Madonna cd? People usually review cds of bands they like, but when you start getting biased "posts" which yours clearly is, there's something wrong with the system in place here at MS. I hate everything Judas Priest did after Stained Class, should I be writing reviews for Point of Entry? Why don't you let me submit my own review for the new Kamelot cd? Oh wait, I can't. You conveniently make everyone else wait to submit their reviews making sure nobody is allowed to disagree with your holier than thou biased diatribe. I think your review is good in that it points out just exactly what direction this site is headed in regards to what kind of bullshit they'll allow from those in charge.

The reviews section was already in decline because the self-proclaimed, self-titled "extreme" EuroTards are allowed to spam their biased opinions everywhere spoiling any chance those of us with unbiased opinions who actually LISTEN TO THE MUSIC have of voicing our own. It's just a shame that MS has stooped to this new low. There should be a system of checks and balances in regards to what's submitted.

Wait until someone gets ahold of the "extreme" fanboys favorite cd and gives it a totally justified overall rating of 2. You will see all hell break loose on MS.

I do love it that I've become the martyr (scapegoat) for the few people who have a difference of opinion on Metalstorm. Anyone who goes against popular opinion here at MS, which is that it HAS TO BE EXTREME OR ITS SHIT, gets the 3rd degree from the peanut gallery. Keep in mind that the majority of the people in the "extreme" department are teen-angst adolescents with a chip on their shoulder already, and they aren't about to listen to anyone elses opinion. The only way this will ever change is if the people like myself who don't care for popular opinion and aren't interested in going with the flow here at MS, which is "extreme or it sucks", start standing up and voicing their opinion. You don't have to like "extreme" to have an opinion here at MS and in fact yours is more likely to be heard and appreciated since it goes against MS standard of misguided popular beliefs.
!J.O.O.E.! - 20.09.2010 at 17:22  
Another example of ponderer accidentally showing his inferiority complex toward extreme metallers. This whole "extreme = good" argument is pure drivel. The fact that you attack anyone who has heavier tastes than you destroys your credibility on a day to day basis. You only need to look at the multitude of positive reviews for non-extreme records as well as the negative ones for extreme ones.

Lets cut through the bullshit with a well used axiom:

ponderer = butthurt. I've never seen someone with a more oblique personal problem. The over compensatory personal profile doesn't help either.
vezzy - 20.09.2010 at 17:27  
Seriously? The general MS attitude isn't "extreme = good", on the other hand, the average Metalstormer prefers melodic metal.

There are plenty of negative reviews on extreme records, like Joe says.

You know what? I'd honestly like to see you review Repulsion's Horrified. Do it now.
ponderer - 20.09.2010 at 17:32  
The extreme people have spoken, everyone else bow down now. Your opinions aren't welcomed here, just kneel.
vezzy - 20.09.2010 at 17:34  
I think this guy is from 4chan or Something Awful.
!J.O.O.E.! - 20.09.2010 at 17:39  
I'm embarrassed by his age. The kind of blind lack of logic and childish belligerence is to be expected from a pre-teen. Oh well, I'm sure MS will always have a playpen from which he can throw his toys out of. We accept you ponderer!
Mr. Doctor - 20.09.2010 at 17:59  
Written by ponderer on 20.09.2010 at 17:32

The extreme people have spoken, everyone else bow down now.


Omg, please... You're argument doesn't have any basis, have you seen most of the reviews here in MS? Most of them are about the bands that are in the melodic side, and most of them have 7-10 reviews. The more extreme scene is clearly in minority here. Have someone REALLY told you something in the vein of "you suck because you ain't extreme?" How many?... one? The problem I have with your post in not the text itself.... it's the thing that you really don't know what you're talking about.
Marcel Hubregtse - 20.09.2010 at 18:46  
Weird argument about writing reviews about stuff you like. That is just as biased and tbh even more one sided because then all of a sudden everything is good. It actually refreshing to read reviews about albums people dislike as long as they come up with arguments.
Reviewing is about being able to write reviews of albums one likes and dislikes without it turning into a bashfest for the sake of bashing, which clearly isn't the case here. Daniell even says he likes other Kamelot. So he is not blinded by hate but judging from his review also not by blinded fanboyism.
farfaramir - 20.09.2010 at 18:53  
Written by ponderer on 20.09.2010 at 17:32

The extreme people have spoken, everyone else bow down now. Your opinions aren't welcomed here, just kneel.

Eeeeem, just check the most extreme music review and you will notice that the generally, they get even worst rating.

And no one complains XD.
ponderer - 20.09.2010 at 19:04  
Written by Marcel Hubregtse on 20.09.2010 at 18:46

Weird argument about writing reviews about stuff you like. That is just as biased and tbh even more one sided because then all of a sudden everything is good. It actually refreshing to read reviews about albums people dislike as long as they come up with arguments.
Reviewing is about being able to write reviews of albums one likes and dislikes without it turning into a bashfest for the sake of bashing, which clearly isn't the case here. Daniell even says he likes other Kamelot. So he is not blinded by hate but judging from his review also not by blinded fanboyism.


This isn't a personal attack against Daniell at all, but more about putting the spotlight on the review system at MS. If we are going to start writing reviews for bands and cds we hate, this is going to turn (already has) into a complete circus. Why would anyone even bother wasting their time writing a review for a cd they don't like?!?!?!??! This is just opening the door wide inviting trouble. I guess I need to check the lists of these guys that deem everything other than "extreme" metal garbage and submit a few more reviews.

I cannot wait to see the can of worms opened up the first time someone disagrees with their opinion in an open public review because we've all seen how they act when I comment. I'll grab any cd they recommend which they think is the most extreme metal offering ever created and drop a review.
vezzy - 20.09.2010 at 19:08  
Is it really that hard to admit that a certain album is weak or weaker than other efforts?
ponderer - 20.09.2010 at 19:09  
Written by Opethian on 20.09.2010 at 00:54

HAHAHA its sad how the retard who reviewed the album was too ass hurt to admit the fact that Kamelot isnt a band that is going to put out the same record year after year. This band doesnt please a certain crowd and i take it that is what gets everyones panties mixed in a bunch .. so to say.

IMHO this album is a TRUE follow up to TBH, i respect the fact that Kamelot doesnt in no way depend on their passed albums to move forward! Every album is a different experience. I love PFTP and its Kamelot doing what their excellent at, which is delivering great music


Well said. I'm glad I'm not the only one who thinks this offering is pretty damn good. Let the haters hate it's just a shame everyone has to look at that tragic review as soon as they click on the cd. Totally unfair and biased.
Mr. Doctor - 20.09.2010 at 19:16  
Written by ponderer on 20.09.2010 at 19:04

If we are going to start writing reviews for bands and cds we hate, this is going to turn (already has) into a complete circus.


You're right, but you don't understand why.... it's going to be a circus because people like you can't take a negative review of an album of your liking.

He's clearly not bashing the album like a troll (I mean... have you ever been on Metal archives?) and gives arguments... You don't need to agree with them though. The negavite reviews in the melodic side of the metalstorm spectrum are a minority, so it is refreshing to read some dude that writes what he/she thinks.

The other thing I don't understand is the way you keep on saying "haters"..... I don't think that anybody really hates the album, it's not their liking, that is all.

I'm also still waiting for a good argument about how this review is biased.
ponderer - 20.09.2010 at 21:12  
Written by Mr. Doctor on 20.09.2010 at 19:16

Written by ponderer on 20.09.2010 at 19:04

If we are going to start writing reviews for bands and cds we hate, this is going to turn (already has) into a complete circus.


You're right, but you don't understand why.... it's going to be a circus because people like you can't take a negative review of an album of your liking.

He's clearly not bashing the album like a troll (I mean... have you ever been on Metal archives?) and gives arguments... You don't need to agree with them though. The negavite reviews in the melodic side of the metalstorm spectrum are a minority, so it is refreshing to read some dude that writes what he/she thinks.

The other thing I don't understand is the way you keep on saying "haters"..... I don't think that anybody really hates the album, it's not their liking, that is all.

I'm also still waiting for a good argument about how this review is biased.


I've had a good long look at his favorite bands list and I don't see anything in the progressive or melodic metal genres yet all the sudden he's writing a review for the latest Kamelot cd? What's wrong with that picture. It's obvious he doesn't like the band or the genre and now everyone who clicks on that particular cd has to see this giant 5 for a score which is totally unjustified and TOTALLY BIASED.

Man I cannot wait to review one of the "extreme" fanboys favorite cds. This is going to be good.
ErnilEnNaur - 20.09.2010 at 21:32  
Written by ponderer on 20.09.2010 at 21:12


I've had a good long look at his favorite bands list and I don't see anything in the progressive or melodic metal genres yet all the sudden he's writing a review for the latest Kamelot cd? What's wrong with that picture. It's obvious he doesn't like the band or the genre and now everyone who clicks on that particular cd has to see this giant 5 for a score which is totally unjustified and TOTALLY BIASED.

Man I cannot wait to review one of the "extreme" fanboys favorite cds. This is going to be good.


Biased or not, the album is just not good. I am a huge fan of Kamelot, but everything they've done since Ghost Opera has been average.
!J.O.O.E.! - 20.09.2010 at 21:41  
A while back I reviewed the latest Dark Tranquillity album but if you look through my band list you won't find many melodeath bands there. Does that make me unfit to review it? No, because before I arrived at my current taste in music I listened to every melodeath band under the sun for many years before finally getting bored of the genre due to repetition. Now I'd like to think I have an insight into melodeath and Gothenburg style of music because I can easily recognise when something is new, interesting or different and worthy of a positive review. Just because someone doesn't obsess over the style of music of the album they're reviewing, and consequently have a fave band list full of bands of a similar style, doesn't mean they aren't qualified. In fact showing you understand an album's style and history (which Daniel obviously does) without being an overt fan of the genre is the most qualified a person can be as far as I'm concerned and guarantees a pretty impartial review.
ponderer - 20.09.2010 at 21:46  
Written by !J.O.O.E.! on 20.09.2010 at 21:41

A while back I reviewed the latest Dark Tranquillity album but if you look through my band list you won't find many melodeath bands there. Does that make me unfit to review it? No, because before I arrived at my current taste in music I listened to every melodeath band under the sun for many years before finally getting bored of the genre due to repetition. Now I'd like to think I have an insight into melodeath and Gothenburg style of music because I can easily recognise when something is new, interesting or different and worthy of a positive review. Just because someone doesn't obsess over the style of music of the album they're reviewing, and consequently have a fave band list full of bands of a similar style, doesn't mean they aren't qualified. In fact showing you understand an album's style and history (which Daniel obviously does) without being an overt fan of the genre is the most qualified a person can be as far as I'm concerned and guarantees a pretty impartial review.


If I had reviewed Nevermore's Obsidian Conspiracy the first days it came out I would have given it a 5 as mediocre. On the 3rd day I had finally listened to it enough times where it began to grow on me. By the end of the first week it was all I was listening to and couldn't get enough. I think it's easily one of the heaviest, most talented things they've done to date and I'd give it a 10 without hesitation. My point is that doing a review after a few days isn't giving the band a chance in hell. Listen to it a few times, give it a rest, pick it up again, so on and so forth repeat as needed until you fully understand what you are listening to. Daniell's review sounds like a kid who hates Kamelot, nothing more.
Mr. Doctor - 20.09.2010 at 21:54  
Written by ponderer on 20.09.2010 at 21:12

I've had a good long look at his favorite bands list and I don't see anything in the progressive or melodic metal genres yet all the sudden he's writing a review for the latest Kamelot cd?


Iron Maiden, Dream Theater, Opeth, Enslaved, Type O Negative, Candlemass, Tiamat, Mercyful Fate, Isole, System of A Down, Judas Priest, Dark Tranquillity, Katatonia, Alcest, Virgin Black

I'm sorry Ponderer, But I don't think you can really take "a good look" when you're so biased about bashing a review you don't like (oh the irony)... I mean, he even wrote Un-metal stuff too like Jean Michell Jarre (damn good electronica if you ask me)... I found plenty of non-extreme, melodic or progressive stuff there thus proving you should take a better look.

Written by ponderer on 20.09.2010 at 21:46

My point is that doing a review after a few days isn't giving the band a chance in hell. Listen to it a few times, give it a rest, pick it up again, so on and so forth repeat as needed until you fully understand what you are listening to. Daniell's review sounds like a kid who hates Kamelot, nothing more.


PLEASE, WHERE did he write that he just listened to the album a few times and reviewed it a couple of days later...
Also please give me reasons to why he hates the band when he already mentioned SEVERAL times that he LIKES most of Kamelot's discography. I'm sorry man, I can't really understand how you read (and translate) the texts that you read...
Daniell - 20.09.2010 at 22:02  
That Ponderer guy is really entertaining He fails to notice that I stated several times that I really like Kamelot, I just happen not to like their latest release. Talk about blinded by prejudice...
Angelic Storm - 20.09.2010 at 22:02  
@Mr. Doctor: Yep, his (the reviewer's) fave band's list only makes Ponderer's arguement all the more feeble. I mean, come on, System Of A Down? To the tr00 extreme metal crowd, they are nu metal, which is the bane of all underground elitist metalheads. lol Also, Dream Theater are both melodic AND progressive. Sorry, his review is not biased in the slightest, he just doesnt like the album very much.
WorpeX - 20.09.2010 at 23:09  
After reading the review and comments here I was expecting the average rating for this album to be really low (for Kamelot standards). Turns out its an 8.1, which is pretty good in my opinion. I enjoyed Ghost Opera, which is only .1 higher, so I'm sure i'll enjoy this also once I get it.
Lovecraft - 21.09.2010 at 02:29  
Quote:
Well, this year is kinda sucking... I've been disappointed by Gamma Ray then Angra and now Kamelot


True, but, look on the bright side, Blind Guardian's At The Edge Of Time is the best power metal release this year.
Amonisis - 21.09.2010 at 04:24  
You all are crazy, this album is great
Wes - 21.09.2010 at 06:33  
Consensus = new Kamelot its god awful.

You can have your opinion too.
Marcel Hubregtse - 21.09.2010 at 15:32  
Written by Wes on 21.09.2010 at 06:33

Consensus = new Kamelot its god awful.

You can have your opinion too.



Apparently the consensus is like that on Metal Storm.

I don't know Kamelot really. The couple of songs I heard from them in the past make me not to check anything out by them completely.

But... everywhere I go and mags and such I read (even from sources that usually aren't too positive about Kamelot) this release gets very good reviews. Daniell's is the worst by far I have come across.
The Shape 1973 - 21.09.2010 at 20:58  
I'm going to join the minority. I have listened to it and it is definitely not as bad as people are making out. I cannot hear a bad album. The vocals are good, the instrumentals are good, the song writing is good. No BAD whatsoever.

Yes, it is not power metal anymore, so the speed is less apparent, it seems a more mature album with more depth and a certain grower.

It reminds me more of Conception's middle two albums, which were masterpieces of progressive power metal. So maybe if your tastes are more simplified then that is why you don't appreciate the added depth.

My only criticism is that the production is a bit muddy, the rhythm guitars seem lost in the mix.

I'm sure by the end of the year this will be up there with The Black Halo in my favorite Kamelot albums.

5.9 for the review, you are just trying to make a name for yourself by slagging off a big name release. Cheap journalism.
BlankFile - 21.09.2010 at 21:00  
Man i´ve tried once again and have listened to it again. All i can say is that half of the album, more or less, is quite listenable, but the rest of it really is forgettable. Way too much forgettable. I have listened to the Japanease version with an interesting bonus track "Thespian Drama". A nice instrumental song. Actually for me is one of the best tracks of the album. "The Great Pandemonium" "If Tomorrow Came" "The Hunter´s Season" "Once Upon the Time" and "The Thespian Drama" are good tracks, but the rest is boring and predictable. I´ve listened more than 10 times already, and my opinion is definitive. I mean even Simone Simons perfomance in this album, is quite vulgar and efortless really. Like she was doing a favour singing in this album... Nothing at all compared to the fabulous perfomances in Epica albums. This album is really uninspired and sloppy in lots of aspects in my opinion.
Rui Correia - 22.09.2010 at 00:10  
Performance:8
Songwriting:6
Originality: 7
Production: 7

overall = 5,9
I am impressed with your math...
jess_lacrymosa - 22.09.2010 at 00:19  
What I do hate about Kamelot "fans" lately is that everybody's opinion is sacred. Saying it's boring or bad as if it is the absolute truth...
COME ON
It's a taste thing, one likes it, the other doesn't.
Personally I really really like this album a lot, they're experimenting new things and I like it. In my opinion there are a lot of wonderful songs, I'm not fond of Necropolis for example but it's only one song.
I thank Kamelot for this album, I do love it and can't wait to see them live, singing the new songs!
WorpeX - 22.09.2010 at 05:40  
Just got the album, and I hate to admit it... but this is really not as good as any of their previous releases. :/ First Kamelot album to disappoint me. Maybe, hopefully, it will get better after repeated listens. The first five songs are great, but once I got to House On a Hill it was like a road block. The rest bored me to death. T_T

Great Pandemonium is good and I also like The Zodiac, If Tomorrow Came and Hunter's Season a lot. The rest are so miserable I can barely even make it to the end of the album to hear Once Upon a Time, which is the only other worthwhile song.
MeTalRea|istiK - 22.09.2010 at 06:59  
They will come back..eventhough this is boring album but still have unique touch,marvellous riff,epic vocal etc..wake up kamelot..deliver us something killer (waiting for album like the fourth legacy back)
dismaleuphony - 22.09.2010 at 07:03  
My expectations were only average, since I didn't like Ghost Opera so much, but I think my uncertainy about this new album is regarding Khan's performance. There's something flat, maybe a bit touched up in the studio, who knows, but it's just like he's past his peak somehow. He's still better than the majority of power metal singers, but I can only hear that greatness on the opening track, unfortunately.

Still decent though for me, so I'd rate it higher than your review, maybe 7ish. I'm a bit surprised about the comments about ballads by Kamelot - they've had them for awhile, and I've never liked many of them as they've always seemed cheesy; this album is no different for me. But, nice production, and some innovative ideas are hinted at that I hope the band explores - and finds stronger focus with
Daniell - 22.09.2010 at 09:31  
Written by Rui Correia on 22.09.2010 at 00:10

Performance:8
Songwriting:6
Originality: 7
Production: 7

overall = 5,9
I am impressed with your math...


You're assuming that the final rating is based on those 4. you're wrong. In my opinion, songwriting is THE most important.
Rui Correia - 22.09.2010 at 14:09  
Written by Daniell on 22.09.2010 at 09:31

Written by Rui Correia on 22.09.2010 at 00:10

Performance:8
Songwriting:6
Originality: 7
Production: 7

overall = 5,9
I am impressed with your math...


You're assuming that the final rating is based on those 4. you're wrong. In my opinion, songwriting is THE most important.


yes, it is fair, but even the worst score (songwriting) is larger than the final score ... It seems inappropriate ...
Marcel Hubregtse - 22.09.2010 at 14:33  
Written by Rui Correia on 22.09.2010 at 14:09

yes, it is fair, but even the worst score (songwriting) is larger than the final score ... It seems inappropriate ...


5.9 = 6
Daniell - 22.09.2010 at 15:45  
It's the closest round number, isn't it?
When a reviewer rates an album, he has the general rating, which is from 2.0 to 10.0, making 5.9 possible. The 4 detailed elements can only be rated in round numbers.

Let me also elaborate on these marks a bit:

Performance 8 - the band is very adept at their instruments, guitar solos are good, the vocalist is very good.
Songwriting 6 - its biggest fault is its discrepancy - too many ideas that don't go well together. The songs don't "flow" one after another, the listening experience is spoiled.
Originality 7 - the relatively high mark is for band's courage to juxtapose songs that differ so much. the mark isn't higher, because the juxtaposition isn't entirely successful.
Production 7 - it's adequate, but lacks depth and good guitar sound.

Overall, it's 5.9, because it isn't complete crap, but it's very disappointing.
Mr. Doctor - 22.09.2010 at 16:15  
Written by The Shape 1973 on 21.09.2010 at 20:58

5.9 for the review, you are just trying to make a name for yourself by slagging off a big name release. Cheap journalism.


Sometimes a review is just a review man, you're overthinking a little bit. I completely disagree with what you wrote because I doubt that daniell_p is such an asshole that believes that one can make a name for yourself here. He's just writing his opinion.
____

I also want to point out how sensitive people are here when it comes to A FUCKING NUMBER. This album is not shit, it's just average as the review explains. Damn, now I understand why Jupitreas don't use numbers anymore.
BlankFile - 22.09.2010 at 21:38  
I agree with the review and also with the rating. I gave it a 5 myself.
Rui Correia - 22.09.2010 at 22:16  
Yeah!!!


Written by Marcel Hubregtse on 22.09.2010 at 14:33

Written by Rui Correia on 22.09.2010 at 14:09

yes, it is fair, but even the worst score (songwriting) is larger than the final score ... It seems inappropriate ...


5.9 = 6
Daniell - 23.09.2010 at 19:04  
Written by Mr. Doctor on 22.09.2010 at 16:15

I also want to point out how sensitive people are here when it comes to A FUCKING NUMBER. This album is not shit, it's just average as the review explains. Damn, now I understand why Jupitreas don't use numbers anymore.


Exactly
However, I'm not afraid of stating my opinion, no matter how unpopular it'll turn out to be. Also, I don't give a shit about shit thrown at me by those who can't accept my ratings. It only put them in a bad light, not me.

Advertise on Metal Storm
Pages: 1 [2] 3


Login or register to post here.



Similar topics

Forum Topic Similarity Started
Reviews Kamelot - Poetry For The Poisoned 10 15.12.2010 by WorpeX
Reviews Kamelot - Poetry For The Poisoned 10 12.12.2010 by Susan
Albums Kamelot - Poetry For The Poisoned 9 01.03.2010 by JÄY
Albums Kamelot - Poetry For The Poisoned + Live From Wacken 2010 (Limited Tour Edition) 9 07.05.2011 by lingus99
Reviews Kamelot - The Fourth Legacy 5.5 28.10.2012 by The Shape 1973



Hits total: 17564 | This month: 160