Rating:
9.0
Void Of Silence - The Grave Of Civilization
21 June 2010


01. Prelude To The Death Of Hope
02. The Grave Of Civilisation
03. Apt Epitaph
04. Temple Of Stagnation (D.F.M.I. MMX)
05. None Shall Mourn
06. Empty Echo


"There can be no return from this, I envy the dead."

The italian doom metal act Void Of Silence hail once again with a new effort, The Grave Of Civilization. A few years have passed since the monumental Human Antithesis saw the light of day and their fourth full-length was more than welcome after all this time, being the sound sequel of its predecessor one could say. Alan Nemtheanga is no longer behind the microphone and this role was given to Brooke Johnson and to tell the truth, he succeeds both in terms of interpretation and feeling.

The overall music is a soundtrack to ruin, tending to evoke an industrial pro-apocalyptic scenery filled with despair, fear, woe and an omnipresent menacing essence. The white figure with the dark shade under sun's stare in front of a colossal monument on the cover artwork says it all, along with the title and the aforementioned atmosphere. Apart from the ominous aesthetic that floats here and there distorting your mind in the most appropriate way, you'll always find a glimpse of devoutness inside these dreary musical halls, euphoria before utter end? Probably, but still, you keep on listening, lurking deeper and deeper and the more you proceed the darker it gets; the clearer the sight in front of your weary yet still naked eyes.

The guitar work is as it should, weeping riffs and desolate chords begin the structure whereas the utterly bombastic or just accompanying rhythm section hold it tight, until it shatters to pieces along with your thoughts at the very end of the album. The everflowing keyboard melodies caress you in such a manner as if time could stand still for a moment in eternity and see humanity's course from beginning to end, the so called civilization of vulgar experimentation of one upon another, presenting various soundscapes, bitter, desperate, devout, ominous, even oriental and with this enriching and strengthening the overall scenery. Brooke Johnson's heart-rending interpretation resembles to Nemtheanga's on Human Antithesis, but still, you don't give a piece of spit, you lose yourself in undorned by hope and light pits of knowledge with Brooke being the prophet of elegant disharmony.

Six compositions, about an hour from your precious time, but the "repeat" button doesn't lie, there will be more hours ahead, from your precious time, until The Grave Of Civilization.

"My voice has become a distant echo in an empty world,
conversant with the ghost of dead memories.
Truth be told, I like the solitude, now that I am alone."

At least then, you can harm nobody. Except for yourself.

Performance: 10
Songwriting: 10
Originality: 8
Production: 9


Band profile: Void Of Silence
Album: The Grave Of Civilization


 



Written on 18.09.2010 by
DerRozzengarten
"It is myself I have never met, whose face is pasted on the underside of my mind."
More reviews by DerRozzengarten ››



Comments

‹‹ Back to the Reviews
Comments: 36  
Users visited: 205  
Search this topic:  


!J.O.O.E.! - 18.09.2010 at 18:56  
Happy 300th review!
DerRozzengarten - 18.09.2010 at 19:01  
Written by !J.O.O.E.! on 18.09.2010 at 18:56

Happy 300th review!

Thanks
Marcel Hubregtse - 18.09.2010 at 21:18  
Great album this is. imo it surpasses Human Antithesis.
!J.O.O.E.! - 18.09.2010 at 21:42  
I also really like that cover art. I'll check this out asap.
dismaleuphony - 18.09.2010 at 21:59  
The preview samples sound like a sure thing, very ominous indeed, and I can hear part of some great solos in there
Daggon - 19.09.2010 at 08:51  
This seems quite interesting, I'll be sure to check it out as soon as possible
Dude, you should keep on writing reviews
Merchant of Doom - 19.09.2010 at 10:26  
Too long, pompous, overblown and, to be honest, this apocalyptic theme is getting tiring, in my opinion... the grave of civilization... how original! New singer far too whiny... HA was miles better. I suspect Marcel's equation Italians + Metal = bad is correct this time 'round...
Marcel Hubregtse - 19.09.2010 at 12:06  
Written by Merchant of Doom on 19.09.2010 at 10:26

I suspect Marcel's equation Italians + Metal = bad is correct this time 'round...


Nope here the equation is wrong.
This is a great album imo, better than Human Antithesis.

Who is HA? Or do you somehow mean Alan Averill a.k.a. Naihmass Nemtheanga
Merchant of Doom - 19.09.2010 at 12:29  
Written by Marcel Hubregtse on 19.09.2010 at 12:06


Who is HA? Or do you somehow mean Alan Averill a.k.a. Naihmass Nemtheanga


Human Antithesis...
Marcel Hubregtse - 19.09.2010 at 12:32  
Written by Merchant of Doom on 19.09.2010 at 12:29

Written by Marcel Hubregtse on 19.09.2010 at 12:06


Who is HA? Or do you somehow mean Alan Averill a.k.a. Naihmass Nemtheanga


Human Antithesis...


Okay, it's still early for me. I should have known you meant the album title and NOT the vocalist
Elyar S. - 19.09.2010 at 12:43  
Oh this is Italian Merchant of Doom is right Marcel , Im listening to to it right now, I was listened to their ex works but I dont remember how was their works but this one kicks ass.
Marcel Hubregtse - 19.09.2010 at 12:57  
Written by Elyar S. on 19.09.2010 at 12:43

Oh this is Italian Merchant of Doom is right Marcel , Im listening to to it right now, I was listened to their ex works but I dont remember how was their works but this one kicks ass.


I know it is Italian but this is one of the exceptions to the rule about Italian metal. This one is good whereas usually Italian metal/doom is bad.
Elyar S. - 19.09.2010 at 13:09  
Written by Marcel Hubregtse on 19.09.2010 at 12:57

Written by Elyar S. on 19.09.2010 at 12:43

Oh this is Italian Merchant of Doom is right Marcel , Im listening to to it right now, I was listened to their ex works but I dont remember how was their works but this one kicks ass.


I know it is Italian but this is one of the exceptions to the rule about Italian metal. This one is good whereas usually Italian metal/doom is bad.

maybe, but at least as I remember we have the same opinions about Italian football! lol maybe for you their metal is like their football just borrring
Merchant of Doom - 19.09.2010 at 13:11  
Written by Marcel Hubregtse on 19.09.2010 at 12:57

Written by Elyar S. on 19.09.2010 at 12:43

Oh this is Italian Merchant of Doom is right Marcel , Im listening to to it right now, I was listened to their ex works but I dont remember how was their works but this one kicks ass.


I know it is Italian but this is one of the exceptions to the rule about Italian metal. This one is good whereas usually Italian metal/doom is bad.


come on, there are lots of good Italian bands... Forgotten Tomb, Arcana Coelestia, Urna, Ufomammut, How Like A Winter, Consummatum Est, The Foreshadowing, Thunderstorm. Novembre (doomish), Void Of Silence (:P), Doomsword... are they all bad?
Marcel Hubregtse - 19.09.2010 at 13:27  
Written by Merchant of Doom on 19.09.2010 at 13:11

Written by Marcel Hubregtse on 19.09.2010 at 12:57

Written by Elyar S. on 19.09.2010 at 12:43

Oh this is Italian Merchant of Doom is right Marcel , Im listening to to it right now, I was listened to their ex works but I dont remember how was their works but this one kicks ass.


I know it is Italian but this is one of the exceptions to the rule about Italian metal. This one is good whereas usually Italian metal/doom is bad.


come on, there are lots of good Italian bands... Forgotten Tomb, Arcana Coelestia, Urna, Ufomammut, How Like A Winter, Consummatum Est, The Foreshadowing, Thunderstorm. Novembre (doomish), Void Of Silence (:P), Doomsword... are they all bad?


Forgotten Tomb used to be good. AC = good, Urna I still have to check. Ufomammut is good, How Like A Winter I hate, Thunderstorm is crap, Novembre is crap, Doomsword is crap, the Foreshadowing is crap, Consummatum I still have to check. Void Of Silence is good.
Doomraiser is okay btw.
The problem with Italians and metal (not just doom) is that they make it sound so incredibly cheesy. Even though I like VoS it is still quite cheesy.
Merchant of Doom - 19.09.2010 at 13:31  
Written by Marcel Hubregtse on 19.09.2010 at 13:27

The problem with Italians and metal (not just doom) is that they make it sound so incredibly cheesy. Even though I like VoS it is still quite cheesy.


DerRozzengarten - 19.09.2010 at 14:11  
Written by Merchant of Doom on 19.09.2010 at 13:31

Written by Marcel Hubregtse on 19.09.2010 at 13:27

The problem with Italians and metal (not just doom) is that they make it sound so incredibly cheesy. Even though I like VoS it is still quite cheesy.




Merchant of Doom - 19.09.2010 at 14:43  
Written by DerRozzengarten on 19.09.2010 at 14:11

Written by Merchant of Doom on 19.09.2010 at 13:31

Written by Marcel Hubregtse on 19.09.2010 at 13:27

The problem with Italians and metal (not just doom) is that they make it sound so incredibly cheesy. Even though I like VoS it is still quite cheesy.







hey, DerRozzengarten, I wasn't shooting at you... mind your own business...
DerRozzengarten - 19.09.2010 at 14:50  
I put Marcel's krieg face to scare you
Marcel Hubregtse - 19.09.2010 at 15:05  
Written by DerRozzengarten on 19.09.2010 at 14:50

I put Marcel's krieg face to scare you


My beergut is more krieg than my face
Merchant of Doom - 19.09.2010 at 15:05  
Written by DerRozzengarten on 19.09.2010 at 14:50

I put Marcel's krieg face to scare you


maybe if you put Marcel's real face...
lord artan - 19.09.2010 at 18:48  
This album is very conceptual poetry and They have tried modern human problems as well as display...In terms of the music were acceptable
Although the singer will be changed each year group but Quality group is not reduced
Elyar S. - 28.09.2010 at 01:46  
Good album name, a better cover art and excellent music. Vocals are as well too, I think it will be in the first top 10 albums of MS doom metal awards this year.
DerRozzengarten - 28.09.2010 at 01:47  
Written by Elyar S. on 28.09.2010 at 01:46

I think it will be in the first top 10 albums of MS doom metal awards this year.

I hope that too
Elyar S. - 28.09.2010 at 02:09  
Ok ppl dont laugh at me but when I listen to this album in some part of it vocals reminds me Robert Smith
DerRozzengarten - 28.09.2010 at 02:13  
Written by Elyar S. on 28.09.2010 at 02:09

Ok ppl dont laugh at me but when I listen to this album in some part of it vocals reminds me Robert Smith

Probably from Pornography?
Elyar S. - 28.09.2010 at 02:15  
Written by DerRozzengarten on 28.09.2010 at 02:13

Written by Elyar S. on 28.09.2010 at 02:09

Ok ppl dont laugh at me but when I listen to this album in some part of it vocals reminds me Robert Smith

Probably from Pornography?

I dont mean an special album. Just an special song maybe! "None Shall Mourn" my favorite song in this album. I said its just my feeling
DerRozzengarten - 28.09.2010 at 02:18  
Written by Elyar S. on 28.09.2010 at 02:15

Written by DerRozzengarten on 28.09.2010 at 02:13

Written by Elyar S. on 28.09.2010 at 02:09

Ok ppl dont laugh at me but when I listen to this album in some part of it vocals reminds me Robert Smith

Probably from Pornography?

I dont mean an special album. Just an special song maybe! "None Shall Mourn" my favorite song in this album. I said its just my feeling

I will give it a shot tomorrow to check my ears on that, my mind is like an air balloon at the moment and soon i should be going to sleep or something
dismaleuphony - 30.09.2010 at 19:22  
Thanks again for this review Rozz, I may have missed this album for quite some time. I received it in the mail a few days back, and the review echoes my thoughts exactly. And, "Apt Epitaph" is just beautifully vacant. The artwork reflects the music seemlessly, as well as my own perspective on life lately Not so many 9s or 10s this year from me, but this has made it to the list
DerRozzengarten - 30.09.2010 at 19:29  
Written by dismaleuphony on 30.09.2010 at 19:22

Thanks again for this review Rozz, I may have missed this album for quite some time. I received it in the mail a few days back, and the review echoes my thoughts exactly. And, "Apt Epitaph" is just beautifully vacant. The artwork reflects the music seemlessly, as well as my own perspective on life lately Not so many 9s or 10s this year from me, but this has made it to the list

You're very welcome, I'm glad you enjoyed it that much! Yeah, the artwork reflects my point of view somehow as well i'm still searching for my ten for this year
Derwood - 23.10.2010 at 06:46  
I find it hard to believe people actually like the vocals on this; they completely destroy this album for me. Terrible.
W-Lash - 01.12.2010 at 08:29  
Written by Derwood on 23.10.2010 at 06:46

I find it hard to believe people actually like the vocals on this; they completely destroy this album for me. Terrible.

I disagree. Vocals fit to this album very well (for me).
Growing - 19.02.2011 at 10:52  
Written by W-Lash on 01.12.2010 at 08:29

Written by Derwood on 23.10.2010 at 06:46

I find it hard to believe people actually like the vocals on this; they completely destroy this album for me. Terrible.

I disagree. Vocals fit to this album very well (for me).

I disagree also,the vocals are part of what makes this album so good.They are great.
Mr. Doctor - 26.02.2011 at 01:48  
Written by Marcel Hubregtse on 19.09.2010 at 13:27

Even though I like VoS it is still quite cheesy.


Holy shit, you weren't kidding. I like what I've heard so far in their myspace, nice stuff indeed but there's still *that* tiny bit of cheese that puts me off. I can take the cheese from other bands like My Dying Bride because I like them that way, but this music is too good to sound cheesy


But still.... awesome music and maybe it won't get my vote for best Doom album but it sure as hell gets the best doom artwork... It's beautiful.
ravendeath - 02.08.2011 at 20:39  
Incredible album! I already discover it and it amazes me with its gloomy atmosphere...
Erik M. - 16.05.2014 at 18:41  
All I can say is: great review. You very nicely described what this album is like.

Written by Marcel Hubregtse on 18.09.2010 at 21:18

Great album this is. imo it surpasses Human Antithesis.


At the moment I've spun both not enough to say which one I prefer, but both blew me away and that doesn't happen often. Fantastic, original music.

Written by Marcel Hubregtse on 19.09.2010 at 12:57

I know it is Italian but this is one of the exceptions to the rule about Italian metal. This one is good whereas usually Italian metal/doom is bad.


Yeah, Novembre comes to mind. Not checked out a whole lot, but Classica surely is a mediocre, overrated album. Don't quite get why Novembre gets so much praise.

Advertise on Metal Storm


Login or register to post here.



Similar topics

Forum Topic Similarity Started
Albums Void Of Silence - The Grave Of Civilization 9 13.05.2014 by Erik M.
Reviews Void Of Silence - Toward The Dusk 7 12.03.2008 by Dangerboner
Reviews The Howling Void - Shadows Over The Cosmos 6 23.09.2010 by Marcel Hubregtse
Reviews Grave Digger - The Clans Will Rise Again 6 01.10.2010 by JÄY
News Void Of Silence - New Demo Sample Online 4.5 11.12.2007 by Bad English



Hits total: 4619 | This month: 71