Delain - April Rain review



Reviewer:
8.0

295 users:
8.07
Band: Delain
Album: April Rain
Release date: March 2009


01. April Rain
02. Stay Forever
03. Invidia
04. Control The Storm
05. On The Other Side
06. Virtue And Vice
07. Go Away
08. Start Swimming
09. Lost
10. I'll Reach You
11. Nothing Left
12. Come Closer [limited edition bonus]
13. No Compliance [Charlotte version] [Japanese bonus]


What started as a project, later became what we know today as Delain. Their debut album was more than welcome by the metal industry. Containing catchy songs and featuring plenty of guest appearances, Lucidity provided the band a great beginning of their career. In 2009, Delain returned with their second studio album April Rain, ready to enlarge their fanbase and establish themselves on the scene.

Delain is surely not your typical Symphonic metal band. Their music lacks operatic vocals and usually follows the hit formula of compositions - introduction, 2 verses, melodic chorus, overall short duration of each song, etc. This, however, could be considered an advantage because it makes the band's music sound different compared to other Symphonic metal acts. On the other hand, I could not help but call Delain a "mainstream-ish" band. The arguably clever marketing strategies of their label surely placed them on top of female-fronted metal. A demonstrative example of that is the production of the album which is nearly perfect.

In comparison with the previous release, April Rain is a bit weaker but more experimental as well. This could be recognized on tracks such as "Go Away" that has a good dramatic orchestration and "On The Other Side" which contains pretty interesting cello parts. A guest appearance is not missing again - Marco Hietala has yet added some power and energy to two of the songs off the record, "Control The Storm" and "Nothing Left." This time, though, the band has decided to focus more on their actual talent and skills. Evidently, Charlotte Wessels' voice has improved significantly and that has helped to create a rather distinct sound. On April Rain, one could easily discover the difference between her vocal parts on both albums. Apart from Hietala's appearance, other male vocals are also to be heard on the record - both normal ones and growls done by former Delain member Ronald Landa. Honestly, it does not seem as if growls are necessarily needed in the band's music, but the guy has definitely done a nice job on the song.

Quite a big flaw of the album is the totally uninspiring and cliché lyrics. In contrast with the music itself that has, seemingly, been made with huge effort, there is nothing indeed emotional and original about them. Composers have put all their creativity and skills into use, whereas lyric writers simply have not managed to succeed in creating decent lines.

In conclusion, we could call April Rain an easy-listening album. Musically, it is a bit experimental, but still - nothing special to be seriously impressed by. Moreover, the record shows a significant absence of originality. "Control The Storm," "Virtue And Vice," and "Nothing Left" are among the best songs off the record. I am not sure if I would name April Rain one of the outstanding Symphonic metal albums of 2009, but it surely is entertaining. Delain's music could be humorously described as "well-made mainstream female-fronted metal." We shall see if they will surprise us with their forthcoming record...


Rating breakdown
Performance: 8
Songwriting: 8
Originality: 6
Production: 9

Written by Elodie Artour | 21.09.2010


 


Guest review disclaimer:
This is a guest review, which means it does not necessarily represent the point of view of the MS Staff.


Comments

Comments: 22   Visited by: 105 users
21.09.2010 - 23:55
Fat & Sassy!
Nomcat
Good, honest review, Elodie. Even if the score kinda conflicts with your thoughts in the final paragraph.
----
"Information is not knowledge
Knowledge is not wisdom
Wisdom is not truth
Truth is not beauty
Beauty is not love
Love is not music
Music is THE BEST..." ____Frank Zappa
Loading...
22.09.2010 - 00:57
Elodie Artour
Slania
Thanks, man! It may look as if the score kinda conflicts with my thoughts because of performance and production which give additional points to the final rating.
----
Speak up dear 'cause I cannot hear you...
Loading...
22.09.2010 - 01:33
Lovecraft
Account deleted
In comparison with the previous release, April Rain is a bit weaker but more experimental as well.

Quite a big flaw of the album is the totally uninspiring and cliché lyrics.

In conclusion, we could call April Rain an easy-listening album.

Delain's music could be humorously described as "well-made mainstream female-fronted metal." We shall see if they will surprise us with their forthcoming record...

I couldn't agree more! You read my mind. Well done on the review!

I like Delain, but they are weak, imo.
Loading...
22.09.2010 - 01:46
Elodie Artour
Slania
Wow

LOL, thanks! When I started reading those quotes, it felt as if you were gonna criticize me about the whole review. Nice to know we share similar points of view on this one. And, YES, Delain indeed aren't among the best female-fronted metal acts.
----
Speak up dear 'cause I cannot hear you...
Loading...
22.09.2010 - 04:20
Jason W.
Razorbliss
Yes, excellent review Sums up everything I'd have said as well, and it's exactly those totally bland lyrics that keep me from replaying the album once listening to it. I still however, enjoy this album more than their debut, mainly because the production is huge here, and this is more of a band, and less of the (obvious) project feel.

Charlotte sounded great live, even better than her already big improvement on this disc, at last year's MFVF
----
"After silence that which comes nearest to expressing the inexpressible is music." - Aldous Huxley
Loading...
22.09.2010 - 14:36
Elodie Artour
Slania
Thank you, Jason! I'm not sure which Delain album I actually prefer - both have some kick-ass-songs that make me wonder... However, "Lucidity" is definitely better than "April Rain." And it's not only because of all those guest appearances. It sounds more massive and...Symphonic.
----
Speak up dear 'cause I cannot hear you...
Loading...
22.09.2010 - 15:12
Marcel Hubregtse
Grumpy Old Fuck
Written by Elodie Artour on 22.09.2010 at 14:36

It sounds more massive and...Symphonic.


Because of the number of people participating
----
Member of the true crusade against European Flower Metal

Yesterday is dead and gone, tomorrow is out of sight
Dawn Crosby (r.i.p.)
05.04.1963 - 15.12.1996

Loading...
22.09.2010 - 15:20
Elodie Artour
Slania
Now that I'm listening to "Lucidity" (which I haven't done in quite a while) I can once again state it's definitely more massive and sort of more Symphonic but it's not because of the guest appearances on it. "April Rain" is totally mainstream, whereas the first record is more than just enjoyable; it actually fits the standards of female-fronted metal.
----
Speak up dear 'cause I cannot hear you...
Loading...
22.09.2010 - 16:19
annodomini
I found both albums interesting and enjoyable in different ways. Delain supposed to be a mainstream band, and as a mainstream band they are great, because all songs has strong compositions. I am looking forward to a new album with a full real orchestra, and I hope that we will get more dynamic music, but even if it won't happen, I am sure that the album will be absolutely great.
----
there is nothing left to die for...
Loading...
22.09.2010 - 16:27
Marcel Hubregtse
Grumpy Old Fuck
Written by Elodie Artour on 22.09.2010 at 15:20

Now that I'm listening to "Lucidity" (which I haven't done in quite a while) I can once again state it's definitely more massive and sort of more Symphonic but it's not because of the guest appearances on it. "April Rain" is totally mainstream, whereas the first record is more than just enjoyable; it actually fits the standards of female-fronted metal.


Sorry, but the first album also is totally mainstream. That sort of female fronted metal is totally mainstream.
----
Member of the true crusade against European Flower Metal

Yesterday is dead and gone, tomorrow is out of sight
Dawn Crosby (r.i.p.)
05.04.1963 - 15.12.1996

Loading...
22.09.2010 - 16:39
Ag Fox
Angel No More
I was planning a review for this album, but I don't need to know since you've said it better than I could ^^
----
loves 小巫
Loading...
22.09.2010 - 16:55
Elodie Artour
Slania
@Ag Fox: Haha, nice.

@Marcel: It depends on each single band. As for examlpe, Theatre Of Tragedy were totally not mainstream during their golden era. Symphonic metal, as a whole, is definitely a popular and commercial genre, I agree. Delain are just way too 'mainstreamish.'
----
Speak up dear 'cause I cannot hear you...
Loading...
22.09.2010 - 18:39
The Shape 1973
Well written review. You summed up my views exactly. Good album to listen to, easy on the ear, but not much depth for repeated listenings.

I would like to see them going a bit heavier in the future, Whyzdom's debut would be a good example of a slightly rawer female fronted band.

They are better in the studio than live, as when I saw them I thought Charlotte's vocals were a bit weak compared to someone like Floor Jensen.
Loading...
22.09.2010 - 20:04
Elodie Artour
Slania
It seems like if it comes to Charlotte's live performances, people don't share same opinion. Her voice is indeed weak, though. That's just the way it is - poppy, 'normal,', sweet. However, she doesn't sound that different live compared to the studio versions and that surely is a great thing. In addition, her voice may be a bit weak but she does do a nice job at gigs.
----
Speak up dear 'cause I cannot hear you...
Loading...
23.09.2010 - 22:50
mariano
Nice review, although I'm not sure if I agree on tagging Delain as a Symphonic Metal band... they sound more like a Gothic band to me, like Stream of Passion or Within Temptation.

But hey, there so many different sub-styles out there, so who knows what makes a band sound symphonic after all...
Loading...
24.09.2010 - 16:27
Elodie Artour
Slania
Well, before starting to review "April Rain," I was pretty uncertain how to call their music. On here, they were listed as Symphonic metal, so...

By the way, acts such as Stream of Passion and WT have actually nothing to do with Gothic metal. A Gothic metal band is, for instance, Tiamat.
----
Speak up dear 'cause I cannot hear you...
Loading...
25.09.2010 - 03:40
advent
I never was interested in Delain or Symphonic metal, but ur review is well-written .

"Quite a big flaw of the album is the totally uninspiring and cliché lyrics."

Well it is a big flaw of most metal Gothic / Symphonic metal albums .
Loading...
25.09.2010 - 19:26
Elodie Artour
Slania
Unfortunately, you're probably right.

Thanks anyway!
----
Speak up dear 'cause I cannot hear you...
Loading...
30.01.2011 - 01:21
ErnilEnNaur
Account deleted
Written by The Shape 1973 on 22.09.2010 at 18:39

They are better in the studio than live, as when I saw them I thought Charlotte's vocals were a bit weak compared to someone like Floor Jensen.


That's not really a fair comparison though. A man called William Shakesman once wrote: "What's in a name?" A lot, that's what's in a name. Clint Eastwood is an anagram of old west action, Marie Curie is an anagram of radium came and Floor's first name is such, because she wipes the floor with her competition.
Loading...
30.01.2011 - 14:40
The Shape 1973
Written by Guest on 30.01.2011 at 01:21

Written by The Shape 1973 on 22.09.2010 at 18:39

They are better in the studio than live, as when I saw them I thought Charlotte's vocals were a bit weak compared to someone like Floor Jensen.


That's not really a fair comparison though. A man called William Shakesman once wrote: "What's in a name?" A lot, that's what's in a name. Clint Eastwood is an anagram of old west action, Marie Curie is an anagram of radium came and Floor's first name is such, because she wipes the floor with her competition.

Loading...
30.01.2011 - 18:04
ErnilEnNaur
Account deleted
Written by The Shape 1973 on 30.01.2011 at 14:40

Written by Guest on 30.01.2011 at 01:21

Written by The Shape 1973 on 22.09.2010 at 18:39

They are better in the studio than live, as when I saw them I thought Charlotte's vocals were a bit weak compared to someone like Floor Jensen.


That's not really a fair comparison though. A man called William Shakesman once wrote: "What's in a name?" A lot, that's what's in a name. Clint Eastwood is an anagram of old west action, Marie Curie is an anagram of radium came and Floor's first name is such, because she wipes the floor with her competition.




OK, here's the translation: Floor Jansen is such a superb vocalist that everyone is weak compared to her, so saying that Charlotte's vocals aren't as good as Floor's is pointing out the obvious.
Loading...
31.01.2011 - 11:46
The Shape 1973
Written by Guest on 30.01.2011 at 18:04

Written by The Shape 1973 on 30.01.2011 at 14:40

Written by Guest on 30.01.2011 at 01:21

Written by The Shape 1973 on 22.09.2010 at 18:39

They are better in the studio than live, as when I saw them I thought Charlotte's vocals were a bit weak compared to someone like Floor Jensen.


That's not really a fair comparison though. A man called William Shakesman once wrote: "What's in a name?" A lot, that's what's in a name. Clint Eastwood is an anagram of old west action, Marie Curie is an anagram of radium came and Floor's first name is such, because she wipes the floor with her competition.




OK, here's the translation: Floor Jansen is such a superb vocalist that everyone is weak compared to her, so saying that Charlotte's vocals aren't as good as Floor's is pointing out the obvious.

Loading...

Hits total: 4875 | This month: 35