Rating:
8.0
Dimmu Borgir - Abrahadabra
24 September 2010


01. Xibir
02. Born Treacherous
03. Gateways
04. Chess With The Abyss
05. Dimmu Borgir
06. Ritualist
07. The Demiurge Molecule
08. A Jewel Traced Through Coal
09. Renewal
10. Endings And Continuations
11. Gateways (Orchestral version) [Limited Edition/iTunes bonus]
12. The Demiurge Molecule (Orchestral version) [iTunes bonus]
13. Dimmu Borgir (Orchestral version) [bonus*]
14. Perfect Strangers [Deep Purple cover] [Hot Topic bonus]
15. D.M.D.R. [GGFH cover] [Hot Topic bonus]
+ Gateways [video] [Digipak/Hot Topic bonus]


Dimmu Borgir sucks. Dimmu Borgir are sellouts. Dimmu Borgir have a stupid image and idiotic videos. Dimmu Borgir kick members out with no explanation. Dimmu Borgir is only about squeezing cash from stupid kids who are naive enough to buy their albums. They suck, they suck, they suck!

If you believe that any of the above statements are true, you may as well stop reading now. This review will not take into consideration anything other than music. In other words, if you expect a biased review aimed against one of the most popular extreme bands, you'll be better off helping your father cut the lawn or doing dishes for your mum, because you won't find what you're looking for here.

I don't know about you, but I got fooled by Shagrath and his cronies. When I listened to “Gateways,” the first single from Abrahadabra, I was appalled. It seemed strange, to say the least. You may easily guess that I wasn't exactly dying to hear Abrahadabra. I expected more songs like “Gateways,” but I didn't get any more. What I got was a solid piece of extreme music with an abundance of good arrangements and embellishments which make for a satisfying listen. Even “Gateways” grew on me, because it indeed is a good song.

From epic and lightning fast “Born Treacherous,” through incredibly catchy “Gateways,” till grandiose “Endings and Continuations,” this time Dimmu Borgir delivers. Their style hasn't changed that much, but their old ideas mixed with a few new things make for a very convincing whole. If you want good old blasting, go for the aforementioned “Born Treacherous” or “Ritualist.” If you are fond of orchestrations and epic scope of songs, listen to “Endings and Continuations” or “Chess With the Abyss.” If you're keen on slower tempos and some decent guitar solos, “Dimmu Borgir” and “Renewal” are for you. Yes, guitar solos, played with talent and knowledge, flawlessly blending into the songs. Variety is the spice of life they say. Variety is what you will find here. An occasional intro, bass interlude, female vocals, they're all cherries on top of this unexpectedly tasty cake.

I've always thought that the marriage of extreme metal with mainstream must end in tears. Thornography or Cold Lake prove me right, but Abrahadabra proves me wrong. While undoubtedly accessible and easy to digest, it simultaneously retains a necessary dose of aggression, speed and heaviness. In their own words:

Be the broken or the breaker
Be the giver or the undertaker
Unlock and open the door
Be the healer or the breaker
The keys are in your hands
Realize you are the source of all created
Of your own master plan


Dimmu Borgir might have gone astray on some of their recent albums, but now I'm sure they found their own master plan. The door is wide open, and the sky is the limit.

Performance: 8
Songwriting: 8
Originality: 7
Production: 9


Band profile: Dimmu Borgir
Album: Abrahadabra


 


written by Daniell | 23.09.2010

Guest review by
Windrider

Rating:
6.0
If you like Abrahadabra by Dimmu Borgir you can make two great mistakes like I did. Let me warn you! The first thing is listening to classical music like Mozart or Haydn. It won't take more than a single stroke to realize that all the so-called great orchestrations are simply nothing in comparison to the dead composers. The second big fail is listening to real and raw black metal. To quote the famous snake, if you do something of that, "your eyes will be opened, and you will be like God, knowing good and evil." This album is neither anything of black metal nor of classical compositions.

Read more ››
published 28.01.2011 | Comments (22)



Comments page 3 of 3

‹‹ Back to the Reviews Pages: 1 2 [3]
Comments: 131  
Users visited: 935  
Search this topic:  


Windiz - 27.09.2010 at 18:11  
"Variety is what you will find here. An occasional intro, bass interlude, female vocals, they're all cherries on top of this unexpectedly tasty cake."

Haha, wonderful words.
Paradox0 - 28.09.2010 at 04:51  
Much like everyone else, I was kind of expecting crap, and Gateways grew on me as well. Much better than "In Sorte" and a bit better than Death cult. I'd say its even MORE symphonic than Death Cult, but the arrangements fit so much more perfectly than that album. Pretty solid album without any really "bad" songs. 8/10
Malphas - 28.09.2010 at 15:25  
Ok so i got this album...it's much better than i expected it to be...i am pleasantly surprised, it's much better than In Sorte Diaboli for instance...the only thing missing is Vortex' clean vocals (not that they r missing as a part of the music)...but since they decided to do clean parts on this one too, they r not as good as on the previous albums
fjms - 28.09.2010 at 21:03  
Well, personally, i don´t agree with the review!

I have listened the whole album, and to be honest this latest album of Dimmu Borgir sounds to me like
you are listening a Immortal´s album! Pretty much old school!!!
It´s not a bad album, but it misses at all the Symphonic Dark/Sick environment, the progressive/power/trash riffs of lastest albums! "Gateways" song is a minor sample of others songs that you can find the Albums like "In Sorti...", "Death Cult...." and "Puritanical..." The latest albums are so much powerful!!! But this is only me!!!
Elyar S. - 28.09.2010 at 21:31  
Written by fjms on 28.09.2010 at 21:03

Well, personally, i don´t agree with the review!
It´s not a bad album, but it misses at all the Symphonic Dark/Sick environment, the progressive/power/trash riffs of lastest albums! "Gateways" song is a minor sample of others songs that you can find the Albums like "In Sorti...", "Death Cult...." and "Puritanical..." The latest albums are so much powerful!!! But this is only me!!!

first of all plz READ the review then start whining. 8 for this album by the reviewer and I guess youve just read the first Paragraph!
Quote:

I have listened the whole album, and to be honest this latest album of Dimmu Borgir sounds to me like
you are listening a Immortal´s album! Pretty much old school!!!

well then I have to say listen to the album as well , Immortal? piss myself laughing.
farfaramir - 29.09.2010 at 17:21  
Written by fjms on 28.09.2010 at 21:03

Well, personally, i don´t agree with the review!

I have listened the whole album, and to be honest this latest album of Dimmu Borgir sounds to me like
you are listening a Immortal´s album! Pretty much old school!!!

You must have download the fake version... Which is not the real album... It's not even Dimmu .
Vonpire - 29.09.2010 at 17:37  
Buhahahaha, OMG i can't believe fjms comment.

You (bad) pirate!
Nerevarine - 30.09.2010 at 00:35  
OMG this sounds like rhapsody with blast beats and "growls"
trendkill- - 30.09.2010 at 04:28  
Written by fjms on 28.09.2010 at 21:03

Well, personally, i don´t agree with the review!

I have listened the whole album, and to be honest this latest album of Dimmu Borgir sounds to me like
you are listening a Immortal´s album! Pretty much old school!!!
It´s not a bad album, but it misses at all the Symphonic Dark/Sick environment, the progressive/power/trash riffs of lastest albums! "Gateways" song is a minor sample of others songs that you can find the Albums like "In Sorti...", "Death Cult...." and "Puritanical..." The latest albums are so much powerful!!! But this is only me!!!


now why would you dis immortal like that sir?
Daniell - 30.09.2010 at 09:23  
He isn't dissing them, he just downloaded a fake version of the album
Kamil - 30.09.2010 at 17:54  
Well, shit happens sometimes
s_t_s - 02.10.2010 at 17:33  
Hmm odd I could swear I had already posted some comment...

Nervermind : when I first listened to Gateways, I was REALLY disappointed !

When I listened to the full album, the first time I was a bit lost.

Now I just cannot stop listenning to it, it's just so freaking great !!! I don't know where the 80 people choir (announced earlier) has gone, but it's not in the album. Instead we have great solos, slow and fast tracks, and a great inspiration ! I still think that Gateways is an intruder here, it doesn't fit the album atmosphere and it's not up to the quality of the other tracks.
Kamil - 04.10.2010 at 00:05  
By the way, does anyone knows what is the name of a band from fake verion of Abrahadabra?
vezzy - 04.10.2010 at 14:05  
Written by Kamil on 04.10.2010 at 00:05

By the way, does anyone knows what is the name of a band from fake verion of Abrahadabra?


A Greek band called The Eternal Suffering, from their album Miasma.
Kamil - 04.10.2010 at 17:30  
Written by vezzy on 04.10.2010 at 14:05

Written by Kamil on 04.10.2010 at 00:05

By the way, does anyone knows what is the name of a band from fake verion of Abrahadabra?


A Greek band called The Eternal Suffering, from their album Miasma.

Thanks man.
Ziom - 20.10.2010 at 12:00  
Their image is theatrical. It sucks. It doesn't suck because it's theatrical, it sucks because it's done without taste.
Compare them with Cradle of Filth. COF can look cool, with all those costumes, fangs, make up and props.
Dimmu look ridiculous. Their videos, their faces... aaaaaarrrrrr pure horror.
Daniell - 20.10.2010 at 13:00  
And their image, obviously, affects their music in a very very negative way...

*end sarcasm*
Marcel Hubregtse - 20.10.2010 at 14:27  
Cradle looking cool that's a first they look just as ridiculous as Dimmu Borgir.
Daniell - 20.10.2010 at 15:30  
Or even more

I don't really care about appearances, as long as the music is good. Unless a band's image is repulsive, disgusting or the like,
Slayer666 - 20.10.2010 at 18:42  
Written by Marcel Hubregtse on 20.10.2010 at 14:27

Cradle looking cool that's a first they look just as ridiculous as Dimmu Borgir.

Oh, please, it's more than obvious you have no fashion sense...
vezzy - 20.10.2010 at 18:47  
That's kind of it, really. Fashion is rather pointless to me anyway.
Trojanman190 - 27.10.2010 at 05:41  
Written by Ziom on 20.10.2010 at 12:00

Their image is theatrical. It sucks. It doesn't suck because it's theatrical, it sucks because it's done without taste.
Compare them with Cradle of Filth. COF can look cool, with all those costumes, fangs, make up and props.
Dimmu look ridiculous. Their videos, their faces... aaaaaarrrrrr pure horror.


Have you seen the video for "Forgive me Father"? Holy crap it hurts to watch... Dani has freaking glitter.

But I'm only dising your comparison, both bands have been very theatrical for a long time. The campiness is almost something i look forward to. Just when you think they can't get any goofier they make a video like "Gateways." Lucky for us the sillier they look the better the music seems to sound.
.Nemesis. - 13.11.2010 at 18:37  
I loved Ritualist! All the other songs were great but not as good as Ritualist.
Netherlander - 23.11.2010 at 11:43  
I don't like this CD at all. In my opinion the claim that the departure of Vortex and Mustis do not affect the sound of Dimmu is plainly wrong.
The only song i like is Gateways. The rest is too flat, to orchestral, too not Dimmu.
vezzy - 25.11.2010 at 16:37  
Written by Guest on 23.11.2010 at 11:43

I don't like this CD at all. In my opinion the claim that the departure of Vortex and Mustis do not affect the sound of Dimmu is plainly wrong.
The only song i like is Gateways. The rest is too flat, to orchestral, too not Dimmu.


Now that's unorthodox.
SatyriconChick - 26.11.2010 at 01:34  
The album has its moments, but Dimmu doesn't sound like Dimmu anymore. TOO MUCH orchestra! It's just too over the top. I do like the album, but it's just nowhere near comparable to their previous releases, all the way down the line from For Al Tid up to In Sorte Diaboli. The best track is "Born Treacherous," IMO. "Dimmu Borgir" is also good, and "Endings and Continuations" has been really growing on me.

Still, I'd rather listen to Spiritual Black Dimensions, Enthrone Darkness Triumphant or Puritanical Euphoric Misanthropia any day over this one.
Thryce - 09.01.2011 at 09:17  
Written by Kamil on 24.09.2010 at 12:19

Dimmu Borgir IS black metal

Nope, Dimmu Borgir is NOT black metal. Even Shagrath knows it.
Go to the 2:13 mark in the first video of this interview, where he'll eventually say "we are not black metal".

That sound you hear is your heart breaking.
gnum - 23.03.2011 at 13:48  
So.....nobody can say this is not a good album by DB.I just miss the haunted atmosphere the past albums had.Excellent work but i don't like it that much.i think i will miss mustis too
Troy Killjoy - 24.03.2011 at 02:54  
Written by gnum on 23.03.2011 at 13:48

So.....nobody can say this is not a good album by DB...
...i don't like it that much...

For someone who doesn't think anyone can say this is a bad album, you should like it a little more than "not liking it that much".
AngelofDeth - 28.04.2011 at 21:56  
I love symphonic and orchestrations mixed with metal. Sooo this album is a masterpiece to me, best Dimmu album imo. I understand people dont like it cuz it doesnt sound as harsh as they used to, but as a symphonic metal fan its a great album and shouldnt be disregarded jus because it isnt what people expected to hear. Great Review!
Valentin B - 30.07.2012 at 20:38  
This imo is a great album, as with most of symphonic metal I don't have the attention span needed to go through a whole album anymore, but the singles I listen to from this album are just mindblowing: Gateways and Dimmu Borgir. The live versions of these two songs with the Oslo orchestra are just fabulous and amazingly epic.

Who gives a shit if it's not black metal anymore? people who dislike Dimmu and Cradle of Filth solely based on that need a reality check. How about people dissing Sabbath and Priest because they don't play blues anymore like when they just started out? what matters is if it sounds good or not.

Advertise on Metal Storm
Pages: 1 2 [3]


Login or register to post here.



Similar topics

Forum Topic Similarity Started
Reviews Dimmu Borgir - Abrahadabra 7 28.01.2011 by moe5512
Albums Dimmu Borgir - Abrahadabra 6 14.03.2010 by SATANSCHAMBER666
Reviews Dimmu Borgir - Puritanical Euphoric Misanthropia 5.5 15.07.2006 by
Reviews Dimmu Borgir - Stormblåst 5.5 19.12.2011 by fosi
News Dimmu Borgir - New Video Online 4.5 22.10.2006 by



Hits total: 22792 | This month: 9