Immortal - Sons Of Northern Darkness review



Reviewer:
9.0

809 users:
8.69
Band: Immortal
Album: Sons Of Northern Darkness
Release date: February 2002


Disc I [CD]
01. One By One
02. Sons Of Northern Darkness
03. Tyrants
04. Demonium
05. Within The Dark Mind
06. In My Kingdom Cold
07. Antarctica
08. Beyond The North Waves

Disc II [DVD: Live at the B.B. King New York 2003] [Deluxe Edition bonus]
01. Wrath From Above
02. Damned In Black
03. One By One
04. Tyrants (Part 1)
05. Tyrants (Part 2)
06. Solarfall
07. Beyond The North Waves


Sons Of Northern Darkness is Immortal's seventh studio album, following the good but not great Damned In Black. The expectations were pretty high for this record, especially that Damned In Black could not fully live up to the majestic At The Heart Of Winter. So, is this new album worthy of Immortal? Does it deliver that cold, chilly Immortal-esque feeling that we all love? Let's find out.

As the first song starts playing, we immediately realize that Sons Of Northern Darkness is no joke. "One by One" jumps into your face with its raw brutality and unexpected speed. Spectacular guitar riffs and outstanding drumming characterize the first few minutes of this album, leaving no doubt that Immortal have put a lot of creative effort into this release.

Right after "One by One," we are treated with one of Immortal's most memorable and beautiful songs: the wonder that is the title track "Sons Of Northern Darkness." Yes, here we have a song that could easily rival the epicness of any songs from the legendary At The Heart Of Winter: the lyrics as well as the guitar work are very solid. Immortal is back!

This record shows a return to the sound of At The Heart Of Winter. And after all, why change a formula that shows such success? The album is marked by very creative riffing, irreproachable lyrics and a wonderful atmosphere. A good number of songs are instant classics, with unforgettable choruses ("Tyrants"), epic acoustic passages ("Beyond The North Waves"), and pure black metal ("In My Kingdom Cold").

As for the technical aspect of the album, Abbath puts on a truly great performance: his guitar work is without faults and his singing reflects perfectly the Immortal sound. The bass is also well performed. However, what deserves the biggest mention is the drumming: Horgh shows beyond any doubt that he is still one of the best in the black metal scene: his work transpires creativity and execution, and of course speed.

Hands down, Sons Of Northern Darkness is a great release and a wonderful piece of art. If you are just remotely interested in black metal, get this album, for it is a grand display of black, epic and atmospheric metal, coming from the sons of northern darkness themselves.


Rating breakdown
Performance: 10
Songwriting: 9
Originality: 8
Production: 9

Written by Carl Berg | 27.09.2010


 


Guest review disclaimer:
This is a guest review, which means it does not necessarily represent the point of view of the MS Staff.


Comments

Comments: 16   Visited by: 197 users
27.09.2010 - 16:11
InnerSelf
proofread free
Nice review , totally covered every aspect of the album "but skipped the perfect production"
the drumming is one of this albums highlights and especially on In My Kingdom Cold
perfect BM
----
He who is not bold enough
to be stared at from across the abyss
is not bold enough
to stare into it himself.
Loading...
27.09.2010 - 16:24
Carl Berg
Carl Berg
Yeah indeed! Thanks dude
Loading...
27.09.2010 - 16:29
MeTalRea|istiK
Great review!!
Loading...
27.09.2010 - 17:07
DerRozzengarten
Odysseus
I remember buying the gatefold digi-pack when it was released, i loved the album, dark, freezing, with great production that made the album show its real power! I've always thought Iscariah is like a horny bitch the way he poses good review!
----
Dec. 30, 1334.

...And the whiskey and wine entered our veins when blood was too weak to carry on.
Loading...
27.09.2010 - 18:05
Malphas
Great album indeed, i can only agree with your review
----
exclude the impossible and what's left is the truth.
Loading...
28.09.2010 - 03:13
..ExoTeaR..
I couldnt agree more with everything thats been written here. great review. i still kill this album on the way to work.
----
[-0-] Aussie Aussie Aussie!!!
Loading...
28.09.2010 - 04:07
RavenKing
I agree about riffs on this album being great. I read many comments from people complaining that the riffs are 'not Black Metal' or 'too much Thrash' or 'not minimalistic enough' but I think it's bullshit. I really love the guitarwork on this album and "At The Heart Of Winter".
And yes, drumming is great and varied. I think Horgh deserves more recognition. He's never mentioned among the good Black Metal drummers but he's an excellent drummer.
----
They shake your hand and they smile and they buy you a drink
They say we'll be your friends we'll stick with you till the end
But everybody's only looking out for themselves
And you say who can you trust I'll tell you nobody
Loading...
28.09.2010 - 11:57
oroboros
Gud review mate. It's a smashing album.
Loading...
29.09.2010 - 21:13
serega25
Really great album! My favorite song is Beyond The North Waves!!!!!!
Loading...
12.11.2010 - 14:33
Storm Rider
This album I like songs "One By One" & "Antarctica". Keep the best guys
Loading...
24.02.2011 - 00:52
Slayer666
IMO, this is Immortal's best by far, and 10 times superior to the epicly overrated At The Heart of Winter.
It has a perfect mix of black metal's icy atmosphere and thrash's catchynes.
Loading...
16.08.2012 - 00:38
Oaken
Hipster
^
Meh.
Anyways, good review for this spectacular album, which IMO is Immortal's third best, just after ATHOW and BITN.
----
In that case, man is only air as well.
Loading...
16.08.2012 - 13:04
Daniell
No, you don't
Written by Slayer666 on 24.02.2011 at 00:52

It has a perfect mix of black metal's icy atmosphere and thrash's catchynes.


This is a very precise description of "At the Heart of Winter"
----
Now loving:
Avatarium - Pearls and Coffins
Iron Maiden - Empire of the Clouds
Ahab - The Weedmen
Finsterforst - Mach dich frei!
My Dying Bride - Feel the Misery
Loading...
16.08.2012 - 13:44
Mr. Doctor
Skandino
Written by Daniell on 16.08.2012 at 13:04
Written by Slayer666 on 24.02.2011 at 00:52
It has a perfect mix of black metal's icy atmosphere and thrash's catchynes.

This is a very precise description of "At the Heart of Winter"


The main reason why that quote is funny in the first place.
----
Written by BloodTears on 19.08.2011 at 18:29
Like you could kiss my ass
Written by Milena on 20.06.2012 at 10:49
Rod, let me love you.
Loading...
16.08.2012 - 13:59
Daniell
No, you don't
Written by Mr. Doctor on 16.08.2012 at 13:44

Written by Daniell on 16.08.2012 at 13:04
Written by Slayer666 on 24.02.2011 at 00:52
It has a perfect mix of black metal's icy atmosphere and thrash's catchynes.

This is a very precise description of "At the Heart of Winter"


The main reason why that quote is funny in the first place.


'zackly!
----
Now loving:
Avatarium - Pearls and Coffins
Iron Maiden - Empire of the Clouds
Ahab - The Weedmen
Finsterforst - Mach dich frei!
My Dying Bride - Feel the Misery
Loading...
17.12.2016 - 14:05
Bad English
Masterchief
Written by Oaken on 16.08.2012 at 00:38

^
Meh.
Anyways, good review for this spectacular album, which IMO is Immortal's third best, just after ATHOW and BITN.


in some way I have to agree whit you even if 1 and 2 would be better produced and had better quality they would be good to
----
Life is to short for LOVE, there is many great things to do online !!!

Stormtroopers of Death - ''Speak English or Die''

I better die, because I never will learn speek english, so I choose dieing
Loading...

Advertise on Metal Storm

Hits total: 5643 | This month: 26