Rating:
8.0
Dawn Of Ashes - Genocide Chapters
14 September 2010


01. Conjuration Of The Maskim's Black Blood
02. Nyarlathotep's Children Of The Void
03. Seething The Flesh In The River Of Phlegethon
04. Transformation Within Fictional Mutation
05. The Ancient Draining Room
06. Reanimation Of The Dark Ages
07. London's Anthem For The Pleasure Of Mutilation
08. Sacrilegious Reflection
09. God-Like Demon
10. Carnal Consummation In The Empty Space
11. Epilogue - Beginning Of The End


After two blood-stained in terms of atmosphere and highly-acclaimed aggro-industrial/dark electro releases, In The Acts Of Violence and The Crypt Injection, three years after the second one Dawn Of Ashes managed to return with their third full-length to date, Genocide Chapters. One very natural question would be why am I reviewing this here on a metal site, well, the answer is simple, the band changed chapter and they are more metal than you would ever imagine. The only thing that connects them with their recent past is the horrific image, although more apocalyptic this time, and the ominous aesthetic. Everything else flows in utterly guitar-driven standards and the band moves in melodic death/black metal soundscapes with great production.

Kristof Bathory remains the main figure of the band and alongside keyboardist Bahemoth, who was present as well on the other releases of the band, the band marches onto the future with a new line-up so as to support the new sound era of Dawn Of Ashes. Henceforth, Valkar Kael performs the guitars, Othuum the bass lines and Orias the drumming. And to tell the truth, the band blends wonderfully together as if they were playing together for quite some time. Also, had Genocide Chapters been mediocre, I'd understand it, you can't just wake up one day and make drastic changes in your sound, but this malevolent US act made it flow naturally!

On the previous works we had a glimpse of Kristof's capabilities with his distorted screams/recites, this time though he proves what a gifted extreme vocalist he is due to the music the band cherished. You will find a variety of atrocious lines ranging from horrid grunts or threatening recites/whispers to injecting shrieks, without forgetting his past, henceforth offering a more core-ish accent at times. The keyboards do not appear all the time, they float like a veil above the music enough times though, evoking a scenery of guilt through devoutness, offering some really interesting and slightly more complex passages often whereas some FX and samples adorn psychotically the soundscape. The guitar riffing is powerful with interesting soloing moments, crafting a schism in the heart of mankind as the sonic wave the rhythm section creates turns to nuclear arrows.

Of course you will find generic references from bands moving in the melodic death/black metal scene, it's unavoidable, yet if you know the past of the band you will notice they took the basic idea, aborted the electronics and inserted the womb a full metal embryo, giving birth to Genocide Chapters. As for highlights, it's easy to mention some. The bombastic and harassing opener "Conjuration Of The Maskim's Black Blood" and "The Ancient Draining Door", the single "Seething The Flesh In The River Of Phlegethon", the nightmarish "Nyarlathotep's Children Of The Void", the devouring "Carnal Consumation In The Empty Space" and the ending opus which brings forth agonising ambiances from the recent past, "Epilogue – Beginning Of The End". Yet, before concluding I'd like to state that Genocide Chapters flows as one, after all, its duration is around 43 minutes, keeping the interest of the listener at high levels, vanquishing the term "boredom".

If you're searching for some very interesting melodic death/black metal new-comers then Dawn Of Ashes won't dissapoint you, on the contrary, they will even make you listen to their previous works (which, by the way, are remarkable) and who knows, maybe you'll get to like dark electro. Genocide Chapters is a very good metal debut album for the band, they still have to master their sound, only time will tell. “Seething the flesh!”

PS.
US/Canadian fans of Dimmu Borgir will get to see Dawn Of Ashes supporting them in their North American tour this November/December.

Performance: 9
Songwriting: 8
Originality: 7
Production: 9


Band profile: Dawn Of Ashes
Album: Genocide Chapters


 



Written on 27.09.2010 by
DerRozzengarten
"It is myself I have never met, whose face is pasted on the underside of my mind."
More reviews by DerRozzengarten ››

Guest review by
wormdrink414

Rating:
5.5
And now for an unwanted second opinion.

Once a cliché spewing industrial metal band (or Aggrotech, if you want to be a genre-dick about it), Dawn Of Ashes has risen, like a griffin, from the ashes of a struggling genre and become a cliché spewing melodic black metal outfit.

Although Dawn Of Ashes is clearly fond of experimentation, it appears that they're incapable of creating anything original. They experiment with sounds and styles that have already been done and done nearly to death. Though that is not enough to make a band bad, mediocrity isn't strong enough a word to describe the expertly-executed boringness of their new, genre-hopping album, Genocide Chapters.

Read more ››
published 22.02.2011 | Comments (1)



Comments

‹‹ Back to the Reviews
Comments: 19  
Users visited: 144  
Search this topic:  


Visioneerie - 27.09.2010 at 17:58  
Industrial and dark electro you say ? hmm.
MeTalRea|istiK - 27.09.2010 at 18:02  
Great cover!!
DerRozzengarten - 27.09.2010 at 18:02  
Written by Visioneerie on 27.09.2010 at 17:58

Industrial and dark electro you say ? hmm.

Their first two albums, their new one is metal, how many lines did you read anyway?
Visioneerie - 27.09.2010 at 18:06  
Written by DerRozzengarten on 27.09.2010 at 18:02

Written by Visioneerie on 27.09.2010 at 17:58

Industrial and dark electro you say ? hmm.

Their first two albums, their new one is metal, how many lines did you read anyway?

Haha, it's nothing personal. I usually read the intro and the conclusion to get an idea of the type of music and if really interested I'll read the entire thing. I grasped the fact that this release was more metal driven so I'm checking their previous album At The Dawn of Ashes at the moment. Not bad at all.
Visioneerie - 27.09.2010 at 18:11  
Well... you can tell I just woke up, I don't know where I got 'At the Dawn of Ashes' from. What I meant was The Crypt Injection.
DerRozzengarten - 27.09.2010 at 18:49  
Hahahaha so this worked as a counter-review in your case and you're checking their previous albums
Visioneerie - 27.09.2010 at 19:01  
Written by DerRozzengarten on 27.09.2010 at 18:49

Hahahaha so this worked as a counter-review in your case and you're checking their previous albums

It's a good thing you know of their previous releases. Reviews can be helpful in more than one way. thanks man, lol.
DerRozzengarten - 27.09.2010 at 19:10  
Written by Visioneerie on 27.09.2010 at 19:01

Written by DerRozzengarten on 27.09.2010 at 18:49

Hahahaha so this worked as a counter-review in your case and you're checking their previous albums

It's a good thing you know of their previous releases. Reviews can be helpful in more than one way. thanks man, lol.

You're welcome mate! I like a lot aggro-industrial/dark electro and such stuff like Hocico, Suicide Commando, Nurzery Rhymes, A7IE, Amduscia, Siva Six etc, to name a few, in case you wanna search more, if you don't know them already.
Visioneerie - 27.09.2010 at 19:29  
Written by DerRozzengarten on 27.09.2010 at 19:10

Written by Visioneerie on 27.09.2010 at 19:01

Written by DerRozzengarten on 27.09.2010 at 18:49

Hahahaha so this worked as a counter-review in your case and you're checking their previous albums

It's a good thing you know of their previous releases. Reviews can be helpful in more than one way. thanks man, lol.

You're welcome mate! I like a lot aggro-industrial/dark electro and such stuff like Hocico, Suicide Commando, Nurzery Rhymes, A7IE, Amduscia, Siva Six etc, to name a few, in case you wanna search more, if you don't know them already.

Heard of a few of them (Suicide Commando and Nurzery Rhymes) but never heard any of their material. I'm more knowledgeable in the dubstep/drum n bass field but I'll be sure to check these artists out eventually, thanks again.
DerRozzengarten - 27.09.2010 at 19:31  
No problem mate, these bands have a harsh sound with harsh distorted vocals, dynamic beat, frequences, FX, samples etc, you wanna destroy the whole place hope you enjoy!
!J.O.O.E.! - 27.09.2010 at 22:40  
Sounds like their earlier stuff would be my kind of thang.

And Amduscia are kick ass. From Abuse to Apostasy has had some heavy plays in my life.
DerRozzengarten - 27.09.2010 at 22:42  
I think you will enjoy their first era.
Same here, these Mexicans have definitely something!
!J.O.O.E.! - 27.09.2010 at 22:46  
Cool beans! =J
Valaskjalf - 27.09.2010 at 23:23  
Not sure why this is refered to as "Melodic Black Metal" at all. Its way too industrial and monotonous with "some" keyboards on top of that. The strange effects layered over the vocals and repetition of the riffs really makes this seem very industrial. Which is not really my cup of tea....bored me to death sorry.
Carl Berg - 27.09.2010 at 23:32  
Never heard of this band, but reading your review I might check it out soon
Ag Fox - 28.09.2010 at 22:24  
Very intriguing.
Xnoybis - 29.09.2010 at 05:54  
They are touring with Dimmu and Enslaved, so i'll try to check them out. based on the Rozzenator's comments, sound intriguing.
+{Jonas}+ - 10.11.2010 at 14:07  
YEah, they've had a big big change, but they keep the dark athmosphere, great band and great review.
rational.gaze - 13.11.2010 at 22:22  
Written by Xnoybis on 29.09.2010 at 05:54

They are touring with Dimmu and Enslaved, so i'll try to check them out. based on the Rozzenator's comments, sound intriguing.

Just saw em last night on that tour. They opened up. The sound guy fucked them over really bad, the guitars were waaaaay too low. The drums were the only thing mic'd properly, and they sounded amazing. DTA put on a great performance in spite fo the technical issues. I hope the house sound treats them a bit better where you see them. I enjoyed what I heard, so I bought the newest album to get a clearer absorption of their music. Well worth the 10 bucks. Their stage antics definitley bring a heavy sense of 'end of days' horror.

Advertise on Metal Storm


Login or register to post here.



Similar topics

Forum Topic Similarity Started
Reviews Dawn Of Ashes - Genocide Chapters 8.5 22.02.2011 by Întunecatul
Albums Dawn Of Ashes - Genocide Chapters 7.5 02.07.2011 by ApotheoSystem
Reviews Ondskapt - Arisen From The Ashes 4.5 26.09.2010 by Thanntos
Reviews Septicflesh - Mystic Places Of Dawn 4.5 16.12.2010 by Uirapuru
Reviews Ashes You Leave - The Passage Back To Life 4.5 28.03.2009 by



Hits total: 4221 | This month: 64