Opeth - Still Life review



Reviewer:
9.0

1724 users:
9.07
Band: Opeth
Album: Still Life
Release date: October 1999


01. The Moor
02. Godhead's Lament
03. Benighted
04. Moonlapse Vertigo
05. Face Of Melinda
06. Serenity Painted Death
07. White Cluster


Technicality, Progression, Complexity, a lot of solos, and some other good things describe Opeth's music, Still Life is one of those albums that everyone loves, that everyone talks about, so I decided to buy it, actually I have this album since 2000 but anyway that does not matter.

This album is generally good, of course for those persons that consider Opeth's music as Death Metal this album will be hideously boring and dull, but dudes Opeth is not only death metal, in fact the best thing in Opeth is their versatility and flexibility in the music they create, of course also the complexity and everything else is brilliant, but the main thing is their adaptability.

So anyway about this album, Still Life has a lot of layers, great music in general, Mikael has one of the weirdest vocal tones in metal, he can reach insane low Growls and then clean as water tones, the album opens with "The Moor" this song is really amazing, I really like that annoying long intro, the song is mostly a sum of what Opeth represents, a mixture of both brutal and melodic changes, a very interesting song if you ask me, of course very progressive and with a lot of character, the riffs are of course challenging as well as the solos, the bass-lines are very good and clear, and the drumming is quite amazing (I never imagined that Martin Lopez could play the drums that good really), so this song is one of the best songs in "Still Life", check it for sure. The most brutal song is "Serenity Painted Death" a very direct song, with brutal riffs from the beginning to the end (of course with some melodic twists) so if you like brutality and extreme riffs try this song right away.

Well in the end this is a very good album, different from what we are used to hear, ok I'll be honest, there are many other bands like this one, have you heard Mourning Beloveth? Or Amorphis? Sorry man but Opeth is not the only Death/Doom/Progressive/othershit band out there, so well this album has a lot of good things, awesome Production, the best artwork, and incredible music, so yes buy it, and buy it now.

Written by Herzebeth | 21.01.2005


 

Staff review by
Deadsoulman
Rating:
10
Thanks to Still Life, I have become an Opeth fan, simply because it has all I ask: at the same time violent and calm, heavy and melodic, metal and acoustic, the long songs, the wonderful singing, the perfect musicians, the sublime quality of the songwriting... I still wonder how can one not give the highest rating to an Opeth album, and especially to this one, which is for me their best.

Read more ››
published 18.09.2003 | Comments (29)

Guest review by
Xaphiris
Rating:
10
I don't know a lot of bands who, like Opeth, progress so much after each album and stay so good. Alongside the brutality of death metal, which is the fuel of Opeth, there is a very strong progressive side which are of past generations, old and even obscure rock and metal bands from he '70s. Their progression was short lived, but thanks to Mike Akerfeldt, their soul lives on in Opeth.

Read more ››
published 10.08.2006 | Comments (19)


Comments

Comments: 18   Visited by: 136 users
05.08.2006 - 13:10
dark awakening
I totally agree: great album as always.
----
Baptized in a lake of acid tears...
Loading...
06.08.2006 - 02:14
Dangerboner
:D
Well, I haven't heard this album yet so I can't comment on it, but I think this album has their best cover art.
Loading...
26.12.2006 - 04:59
sumatra
Account deleted
well what can I say, this album kicks ass, I mean who dunno OPETH and wanna start listening to there music just begin with this albums ....... \m/
Loading...
06.01.2007 - 18:25
DeadEternity
Account deleted
There isn't anything I don't like about this one. Still Life is a complex masterpiece! Every song is great. My favorites are The Moor, Moonlapse Vertigo, and Face of Melinda...
Loading...
21.06.2007 - 16:52
Warman
Erotic Stains
Which Opeth fan don't love The Moor? Maybe their best song.
----
Loading...
05.07.2007 - 17:59
toXic
if you ask me this is the greatest opeth album, and the production should get all the credit. the way the sound is so clean and minimum artificial effects and still beeing able to making the low and brutal parts so amasingly terrifying. how do you like my avatar btw?
----
<You that walk in the night, you are afraid of the light,
from a glorius and fearles night to the shadow of a man beaten in a fight,
ones granted the power of steel the promis he made NEVER to kneel.>
Loading...
05.07.2007 - 20:30
BloodTears
ANA-thema
Serenity Painted Death. oh I can tell that this one is a stormer from beginning to end.
----
Written by BloodTears on 19.08.2011 at 18:29

Like you could kiss my ass.
Loading...
06.07.2007 - 22:02
lazarus
I like the review and the comments about this album, one of my favorites of all-time
----
And sometimes I despair
At who I've become
I have to come to terms
With what I've done
Loading...
07.07.2007 - 04:40
Bitch Boy
XD
I liked the review except one thing: WTF with the Amorphis mention?? Opeth is very different from them.

Anyway, this album is a real masterpiece.
Loading...
09.03.2009 - 05:37
Daggon
Underpaid M.D.
I didn't use to enjoy too much this album, but after some time I found it really amazing. Shit, the 5.1 surround sound mix is very good, it is like watching your favorite movie in HD, I have multiple mental orgasms (MOM en español jeje) while listening the guitar solo of "White Cluster".
----
"Les vers savent qu'ils n'ont pas d'ailes, c'est pour cela qu'ils se cachent sous terre"

Loading...
09.03.2009 - 23:31
Elio
Red Nightmare
This is probably my favourite Opeth album, for the fact that really all the songs are great. Its only flaw is the lack of just one killer song, like When, To Bid You Farewell, Bleak. You'll say that this is not bad but I don't know, with only one of the songs I meantioned this would have been better.

Well, I'm trying to understand myself too
----
IntoPlighT said: "Slipknot is 15 years old how the fuck is that Nu metal?"

BEST. QUOTE. EVER.
Loading...
17.04.2010 - 19:34
@gent_-_orange
Opeths best IMO just cant get enough of "The Moor" and "Benighted".
----
Alone he sits, A vanquished Lord upon an oaken throne, presiding o'er this conflict that chills him to the bone, for each tarnished blade that festers is a thorn thrust in his side and his pain alone bears witness to the folly of mankind.
Loading...
17.04.2010 - 19:47
soadbyob
Account deleted
Amazing fucking album, then again, have Opeth had any that werent?
Loading...
18.04.2010 - 11:51
Mr. Doctor
Skandino
Written by Guest on 17.04.2010 at 19:47

Amazing fucking album, then again, have Opeth had any that werent?


Actually yes, it took me a hell of a lot ol time to get into Ghost Reveries. Now it's not "a huge disappointment" but just " a good album".

Watershed is definitely an average album, I never understood the review that one of the staff members wrote.

Everything else is amazing indeed. but thelast two albums are kinda meh.
----
Written by BloodTears on 19.08.2011 at 18:29
Like you could kiss my ass
Written by Milena on 20.06.2012 at 10:49
Rod, let me love you.
Loading...
18.04.2010 - 17:55
soadbyob
Account deleted
Written by Mr. Doctor on 18.04.2010 at 11:51

Written by Guest on 17.04.2010 at 19:47

Amazing fucking album, then again, have Opeth had any that werent?


Actually yes, it took me a hell of a lot ol time to get into Ghost Reveries. Now it's not "a huge disappointment" but just " a good album".

Watershed is definitely an average album, I never understood the review that one of the staff members wrote.

Everything else is amazing indeed. but thelast two albums are kinda meh.


, I loved those albums, but whatever. Not a HUGE fan of Orchid though
Loading...
18.04.2010 - 18:10
Mr. Doctor
Skandino
Written by Guest on 18.04.2010 at 17:55

, I loved those albums, but whatever. Not a HUGE fan of Orchid though


It's lovely how tastes differ. IMO everything before BlackWater Park is way better than everything they did since BlackWater Park.
----
Written by BloodTears on 19.08.2011 at 18:29
Like you could kiss my ass
Written by Milena on 20.06.2012 at 10:49
Rod, let me love you.
Loading...
18.04.2010 - 18:30
Roro
Not my best, but i do enjoy benighted
still, opeth are my no.1 band
Loading...
19.03.2011 - 00:59
FrozenJoy
Written by Elio on 09.03.2009 at 23:31

This is probably my favourite Opeth album, for the fact that really all the songs are great. Its only flaw is the lack of just one killer song, like When, To Bid You Farewell, Bleak. You'll say that this is not bad but I don't know, with only one of the songs I meantioned this would have been better.

Well, I'm trying to understand myself too


Dude, Benighted IS a killer track! and it's the song that spent the most time playing in my computer... xD
This is one of Opeth's best albums... I don't know which one to choose... Stilll Life or Blackwater Park? I guess I have to listen to this one a few more times... Now seriously, I see Moonlapse Vertigo as a killer track... I still don't know why, but I love it... And it's not the only awesome track... The Moor, Benighted, and Face of Melinda are among those...
Loading...

Advertise on Metal Storm

Hits total: 7858 | This month: 13