Rating:
9.0
Draconian - Arcane Rain Fell
24 January 2005


01. A Scenery Of Loss
02. Daylight Misery
03. The Apostasy Canticle
04. Expostulation
05. Heaven Laid In Tears (Angel's Lament)
06. The Abhorrent Rays
07. The Everlasting Scar
08. Death, Come Near Me


I remember, 10 years before, a band from Norway was the king, the emperor of the Gothic Doom Metal music with female vocals. Its was of course the great Theatre Of Tragedy, but we all know what happened no need to add anything else about it… Luckily, some bands like Draconian tried to follow this spirit… and it was good… or not… "Where Lovers Mourn", the first album of Draconian was a good one but not really special not really new, a bit too much "easy" in my opinion with too many female vocals, and it certainly was too much "happy" for a Gothic Metal band. But now… honestly I don't know what happened with them, this is a real metamorphosis… In general we always see the opposite, the bands which did something good, fall into facility with success… That's not the case of Draconian, god bless them…

For the ones who was expecting something in the spirit of the first album of the band, you must know, and I'm sorry to give you this news, that you'll be disappointed. No more female vocals, no more fast tempo, we are in the pure Doom area now. Of course Lisa Johansson is always a member of the band, of course is voice is always nice and of course she sings on this album but in comparison of Anders Jacobsson we don't hear her a lot, she is only like a backing-vocals singer on the majority of the songs excepted on "Heaven Laid In Tears". For all the other tracks of the album, the lead singer is Anders with of course his Death Metal voice and the result is a nice Gothic Death/Doom Metal.
This album is also different musically; the music is slow, monotonous. There are some exceptions, some passages are a bit faster but well in general all that really sounds Doom. The guitars riffs are heavy and loud, very slow, the double pedal drums very present, the bass is also an important instrument, and the keyboards however are not very active [they do only some backing-sounds or some few piano melodies].
The songs aren't linear, from the beginning to the end, you could hear that the band did a nice work of composition for the music but also for the lyrics. Some songs are more melodic than some others which are bit more agressive, but a masterpiece like the 15 mins long song "Arcane Rain Fell - Death, Come Near Me" only confirm that we are in front of some very good compositors.
This album is a great album, dark and full of sadness but beautiful like an autumn dusk, this is only poesy, something magic. You could see, when you will listen to it, that the band did something really surprising, and the work on the musical composition just talks. "Arcane Rain Fell" is this kind of album which will give you shivers, and if like me you are a fan of Doom Metal or real Gothic music, no doubt that you'll be dazzle of this new release.
With a great and perfect production, a great artwork in the pure tradition of the Gothic Doom Metal, I can't find any problems to this CD. This is a real perfection…

That's good to see that a band is able to do this kind of change, that a band is able to take a radical turn in its musical orientation. How could we blame them to do that, how could we blame them to do the opposite of the majority of the other Metal bands which are all falling in the pit of the banality? No, we must only congratulate this Swedish combo, they did the good choice and will only win the respect of the ones who like this music, and can't find a lot of albums of such quality. I have the feeling that I'm doing a come back in the past, but in fact, a new band is just born, and with this great "Arcane Rain Fell" we have the proof, that the king of Gothic Doom Metal reigns now in Sweden. A must…


Band profile: Draconian
Album: Arcane Rain Fell


 


written by Jeff | 21.01.2005



Comments

‹‹ Back to the Reviews
Comments: 24  
Users visited: 299  
Search this topic:  


vhaldemar - 13.02.2007 at 21:13  
perfect doom metal...
Nasi2 - 14.02.2007 at 12:57  
Yesterday I listened to this album after a very long hiatus, and it simply sounded astonishingly well to me. Heavy but not brutal, dark, sad, with excellent performances by the two vocalists, beautiful melodies, eerie synths and extremelly well done lyrics... Amazing, simply amazing.
Maral - 30.06.2007 at 13:40  
it's one of my fav bands and this album is nice
Sunioj - 17.09.2007 at 12:58  
This album is indeed amazing, I bought right after seeing Draconian play live. more like 8.something from me, I didn't think 'Where lovers mourn' sounded that happy, but definetly is shadowed by this record. Good points there.
Paradox0 - 03.05.2008 at 20:17  
Sounds like a MUCh darker and heavier "Gothic" by Paradise lost. Some of the stuff was interesting but the music just never seemed to go in the direction I was hoping. What I was hoping was that they'd elaborate a bit on the great riffs (especially daylight misery's), but instead seem to cut it off with somewhat better than mediocre ambient pianos. Kind of a 7/10 for me, just for the fact that it keeps me interested in an extreme way but just not my cup of tea i guess.

Edit:
Wow. Why did I give this 7/10 before. I guess i was listening to it in completly the wrong way. After getting Daylight Misery Stuck in my head and apreciating every part of it, I finbally got the feel for this masterpiece. Just a truely beautiful album. 9.5/10 (for now)
HolyandFallen - 16.06.2008 at 19:58  
It's 10/10 for me. It was one of my first METAL experience. I heard it for the first time back in 2005 when it was released, at the same time when I started to listen Metal. Three years have passed, but it still kicks seriously like if I listen to it for the first time. Draconian are great guys! 10/10 once again
REGRET. - 26.09.2008 at 14:18  
Heaven Laid In Tears (Angel's Lament):(
Powerslavex - 07.10.2008 at 23:29  
Nice Nice Nice!!!!!!!!:maniac:
Land Of Doom - 11.05.2009 at 22:10  
The Most beautiful Album For Draconian

I like it very much Espicially A Scenery Of Loss
ROMIL - 10.06.2009 at 06:06  
"Death, Come Near Me" is one of the best doom metal songs ever written...truly epic in scope. "A Scenery of Loss" is amazing as well, as is the entire album in general.
Umideath - 25.07.2009 at 10:24  
Death, Come Near Me best for me !!!
Vonpire - 21.02.2010 at 07:40  
Masterpiece from on eof my Fav bands! 10 easily
advent - 29.03.2010 at 00:09  
For me this album is just a classic,,,true one
Carl Berg - 12.04.2010 at 02:44  
What an album... definately has a place in the annals of metal...
DRACONIAN_ - 02.05.2010 at 00:40  
They just deserve 2 be the best GOTHIC DOOM METAL BAND..............and it's one od the best albums they have ever had :bow::bow:
Vonpire - 11.05.2010 at 18:45  
Listening to it right now. This is really perfect music!
Dark†SymphonY - 26.05.2010 at 13:32  
One of the best albums in this genre.
My opinion, THE BEST.
Behdad K - 10.07.2010 at 17:28  
I think this album is simply the best one in Gothic Doom.

It's a 10/10 for me. If I could: 100 from 10!
serega25 - 19.02.2011 at 00:00  
Arcane Rain Fell...
Surion - 02.09.2011 at 00:05  
Just too great to describe with words...perfection reached a new level with this album.
Daniell - 02.09.2011 at 18:49  
This thread is missing Vonpire's whining about someone who doesn't like the album.
Vonpire - 02.09.2011 at 19:37  
Written by Daniell on 02.09.2011 at 18:49

This thread is missing Vonpire's whining about someone who doesn't like the album.


You're the whiner, the stalker, the obsessive dumbass, not me Don't even try to steal that dry joke!

Ok, but as you like me more than honey, here you go!

Whoever don't like this album and rate it below 8 is a complete troll and has a terrible bad taste in music!

Better?
Lit. - 04.09.2011 at 03:30  
Written by Vonpire on 02.09.2011 at 19:37

Written by Daniell on 02.09.2011 at 18:49

This thread is missing Vonpire's whining about someone who doesn't like the album.


You're the whiner, the stalker, the obsessive dumbass, not me Don't even try to steal that dry joke!

Ok, but as you like me more than honey, here you go!

Whoever don't like this album and rate it below 8 is a complete troll and has a terrible bad taste in music!

Better?

Irritating little bastard, ain't ya?
Thymournia - 28.09.2012 at 17:02  
Written by Guest on 28.09.2012 at 17:02

It's not only the music, The lyrics and the deeper meaning of the words dwelling inside are completing the album.

A pure tribute to desolation and desperation.

Advertise on Metal Storm


Login or register to post here.



Similar topics

Forum Topic Similarity Started
Albums Draconian - Arcane Rain Fell 7.5 06.02.2010 by advent
Reviews Rain - Dad Is Dead 4.5 14.03.2010 by iceland_Norway
Reviews Black Rain - License To Thrill 4.5 23.09.2008 by Doc Godin
Reviews Manigance - L'ombre Et La Lumière 3 08.06.2006 by ylside
Reviews Axxis - Doom Of Destiny 3 19.12.2007 by Baz Anderson



Hits total: 8295 | This month: 93