Rating:
7.7
Acid Witch - Stoned
29 October 2010


01. Satanic Faith
02. Witchfynder Finder
03. Trick Or Treat
04. Thundering Hooves
05. Live Forever
06. Whispers In The Dark
07. If Hell Exists
08. Stoned To The Grave
09. Metal Movie Marijuana Massacre Meltdown
10. Sabbath Of The Undead


In a world full of dead-serious satanists, devil worshipers, goat-slaughterers and sheepfuckers, Acid Witch are a true breath of fresh air. (A true breath, not a tr00 breath). Their debut Witchtanic Hellucinations was an insanely catchy and fun cauldron of Death metal, Heavy metal and various other rotten substances. And drugs. Plenty of drugs. And a seriously large deal of tongue-in-cheek brutalness.

Stoned is much the same. From the very first seconds, it's clear we're dealing with an Acid Witch album here: the guitar tune that has become oh-so typical (with only one full-length and two EP's released, that's quite a feat) and the just-as-typical organ. If you haven't heard the full-length, imagine a fuzzy, psychedelic guitar tone with a nasty pinch playing solely horror house-themed riffs. The organ is much the same, consisting mostly of reverb-laden dark tones played with an infectiously undercurrent. With ditto lyrics. "Trick or treeeaaaat… trick or treeeeeaaaaat…".

And that brings me to my criticism. Stoned brings nothing new to the table. Sure, we should all compliment Acid Witch for delivering a fine and fresh album. Their style is quite unique and that is an accomplishment. But that was their debut - let's not re-use and re-hash compliments.

I feel a bit bad about shooting down a band that has found a unique style for re-creating their debut, with so many copy-cats and run-of-the-mill bands around, but I do undeniably consider Acid Witch's self-created sub-sub-sub-sub-subgenre a niche that can do with only one great release. That was Witchtanic Hellucinations. Stoned feels like a carbon copy.

Performance: 8
Songwriting: 7
Originality: 8
Production: 8


Band profile: Acid Witch
Album: Stoned


 



Written on 11.11.2010 by
Lucas
If you're interested in extreme, often emotional and underground music, check out my reviews. I retired from reviewing, but I really used to be into that stuff.
More reviews by Lucas ››



Comments

‹‹ Back to the Reviews
Comments: 17  
Users visited: 183  
Search this topic:  


Dangerboner - 11.11.2010 at 18:11  
Some dude fucked a sheep in a small town in my state not too long ago and got arrested. Before that, a dude fucked a horse, then let the horse fuck him, and he died from it. After that, our government made it illegal to fuck animals.
!J.O.O.E.! - 11.11.2010 at 18:14  
I had no idea this was even on the cards. Probably like this then if it's like t'other one.
Lucas - 11.11.2010 at 18:18  
Written by Dangerboner on 11.11.2010 at 18:11

Some dude fucked a sheep in a small town in my state not too long ago and got arrested. Before that, a dude fucked a horse, then let the horse fuck him, and he died from it. After that, our government made it illegal to fuck animals.


That's the best comment I've ever had on my reviews.
!J.O.O.E.! - 11.11.2010 at 18:19  
Written by Dangerboner on 11.11.2010 at 18:11

Some dude fucked a sheep in a small town in my state not too long ago and got arrested.

So how was prison then?
Dangerboner - 11.11.2010 at 18:21  
Lawl fucking prison mice isn't as satisfying, but at least they're portable
!J.O.O.E.! - 11.11.2010 at 18:24  
Written by Dangerboner on 11.11.2010 at 18:21

Lawl fucking prison mice isn't as satisfying, but at least they're portable

I hope you wrapped them in scotch tape so they didn't split.
Dangerboner - 11.11.2010 at 18:27  
It gave me rabies though so now I cum foam
!J.O.O.E.! - 11.11.2010 at 18:29  
Well that's hours of fun right there?
vezzy - 11.11.2010 at 18:39  
Wow, I only discover this now. It's a strange sensation... like a kick in the nads...

I have to check it out.
silenius - 11.11.2010 at 19:00  
Spot on review matie, nothing new to the table but still fucking kick-ass insanly awesome music! cant get enough of this shit
K†ulu - 11.11.2010 at 19:41  
Nevertheless, I really want to check it out!
Mikyz - 11.11.2010 at 23:05  
Lasse Pykko did it again, after Hooded Menace's Never Cross Dead, he released another solid album this year. That guy earned my respect. A definite highlight for me.
Daggon - 12.11.2010 at 05:36  
Yay! Another Acid Witch album? I hope I'll enjoy it, I mean, even if they are copying themselves, seems like I'll enjoy this release too
Ozman - 12.11.2010 at 11:25  
Written by Mikyz on 11.11.2010 at 23:05

Lasse Pykko did it again, after Hooded Menace's Never Cross Dead, he released another solid album this year. That guy earned my respect. A definite highlight for me.


Lasse left Acid Witch before this album.
Mikyz - 12.11.2010 at 16:24  
Written by Ozman on 12.11.2010 at 11:25

Written by Mikyz on 11.11.2010 at 23:05

Lasse Pykko did it again, after Hooded Menace's Never Cross Dead, he released another solid album this year. That guy earned my respect. A definite highlight for me.


Lasse left Acid Witch before this album.


He did? Damn, I didn't bother to check the info on this album + It still says current member on the band profile here. Well, they still sound good, so no worries.
Big E - 16.11.2010 at 00:50  
Sweeeeet! F-ing awesome album.
Koen Smits - 22.11.2010 at 22:40  
I agree with the review for the most part but I don't mind that it sounds like their debut: good shit stays good shit.

Advertise on Metal Storm


Login or register to post here.



Similar topics

Forum Topic Similarity Started
Reviews Acid Witch - Witchtanic Hellucinations 7.5 24.11.2008 by Mr. Doctor
Albums Acid Witch - Stoned 6 05.03.2013 by RottingDeathHead
Albums Acid Witch - Witchtanic Hellucinations 4.5 06.02.2013 by RottingDeathHead
Reviews Acid Bath - When The Kite String Pops 4.5 06.07.2008 by Ozman
News Acid Witch - Update On New EP And Album 4.5 13.08.2010 by Ozman



Hits total: 5025 | This month: 33