Deathspell Omega - Paracletus review




Bandcamp music player
Reviewer:
8.0

220 users:
8.45
Band: Deathspell Omega
Album: Paracletus
Release date: November 2010


01. Epiklesis I
02. Wings Of Predation
03. Abscission
04. Dearth
05. Phosphene
06. Epiklesis II
07. Malconfort
08. Have You Beheld The Fevers?
09. Devouring Famine
10. Apokatastasis Pantôn


Deathspell Omega's Paracletus was certainly one of the most anticipated Black metal releases of 2010. With a history such as theirs come high expectations. Expectations they do not live up to.

Whoops. Did I just spoil the ending for you?

No, Paracletus does not live up to the expectations, but that's no surprise really, when the expectations are so unbelievably high. There's no shame in that. Unfortunately, in my opinion Deathspell Omega also disappoints in terms of delivered insanity and intensity.

The cover art promises a lot - a raging ball of hissing snakes spawning from a fiery mouth. A very accurate depiction of their sound (later era) - a chaotic noise fest of dissonance guitar lashings, spiteful roars and thunder like drums. The music is quite different though - while there's still more chaos and dissonance than in many other Black metal bands, there's also a touch of... I don't know... softness? Paracletus sounds much... nicer than their previous work. As if they fused with Pelican or Mono... what the fuck? Yeah, while you'd be wrong to classify this as Post-Rock, there's definitely much, much more melody and feeling in this new album. And I'm not going to make it a secret that I miss the vicious brutality of Kénôse.

However, judged on its own merit - a chaotic, sonic Black metal assault, Paracletus is definitely a very good and fun album. The riffs are still mind-boggling (though less than before), the chaos is still overwhelming (though less than before), the vocals are still thundering and emotive (though less than before), the complexity of the songs/album is still something to marvel at (though less than before), the overall product is still very impressive and worthwhile (though less than before)... you know where I'm going with this, don't you?

Bottomline: a new direction for Deathspell Omega (maybe not the most desired one, but remember, that is not our decision to make) and a good and enjoyable album, with plenty of great stuff going on.


Rating breakdown
Performance: 9
Songwriting: 8
Originality: 9
Production: 8


 



Written on 11.11.2010 by If you're interested in extreme, often emotional and underground music, check out my reviews. I retired from reviewing, but I really used to be into that stuff.


Comments page 2 / 2

Comments: 36   Visited by: 383 users
25.12.2010 - 21:24
Dangerboner
:D
So the EP's have nothing to do with the concept of the trilogy? Not even Chaining the K-thing?
Loading...
26.12.2010 - 01:06
!J.O.O.E.!
Defunct
They're regarded as addendums to the full lengths that preceded them as far as I'm aware so should probably be included, if you want to see it in that way.
Loading...
26.12.2010 - 15:24
Marcel Hubregtse
Grumpy Old Fuck
Written by !J.O.O.E.! on 26.12.2010 at 01:06

They're regarded as addendums to the full lengths that preceded them as far as I'm aware so should probably be included, if you want to see it in that way.


That's what I read somewhere as well, but then somewhere else stating that that isn't the case eother. So, it's probably safest to not include them as part of the trilogy.
----
Member of the true crusade against European Flower Metal

Yesterday is dead and gone, tomorrow is out of sight
Dawn Crosby (r.i.p.)
05.04.1963 - 15.12.1996

Loading...
26.12.2010 - 15:43
!J.O.O.E.!
Defunct
Written by Marcel Hubregtse on 26.12.2010 at 15:24

Written by !J.O.O.E.! on 26.12.2010 at 01:06

They're regarded as addendums to the full lengths that preceded them as far as I'm aware so should probably be included, if you want to see it in that way.


That's what I read somewhere as well, but then somewhere else stating that that isn't the case eother. So, it's probably safest to not include them as part of the trilogy.

In terms of theme I have no idea what the connection is between the proposed trilogy, I can't say I really care though as lyrically they're so self indulgent any real understanding seems to go more on personal interpretation (which probably appeals to some but doesn't exactly gel all that well for connecting records together) but Kenose is a rather ideal bridge between SMRC and the ultra dense FAS. The same goes for Katechon and Paracletus too in many ways. I'd find the transistion from album to album a lot easier, and far more satisfying, if the two EP's were included.
Loading...
26.12.2010 - 15:45
Marcel Hubregtse
Grumpy Old Fuck
Written by !J.O.O.E.! on 26.12.2010 at 15:43

Written by Marcel Hubregtse on 26.12.2010 at 15:24

Written by !J.O.O.E.! on 26.12.2010 at 01:06

They're regarded as addendums to the full lengths that preceded them as far as I'm aware so should probably be included, if you want to see it in that way.


That's what I read somewhere as well, but then somewhere else stating that that isn't the case eother. So, it's probably safest to not include them as part of the trilogy.

In terms of theme I have no idea what the connection is between the proposed trilogy, I can't say I really care though as lyrically they're so self indulgent any real understanding seems to go more on personal interpretation (which probably appeals to some but doesn't exactly gel all that well for connecting records together) but Kenose is a rather ideal bridge between SMRC and the ultra dense FAS. The same goes for Katechon and Paracletus too in many ways. I'd find the transistion from album to album a lot easier, and far more satisfying, if the two EP's were included.



I did play the five in order as well yesterday (Christamss day ) and even though playing the three full-lengths back to back already does the trick, playing the five back to back makes for an even better flow musicwise.
----
Member of the true crusade against European Flower Metal

Yesterday is dead and gone, tomorrow is out of sight
Dawn Crosby (r.i.p.)
05.04.1963 - 15.12.1996

Loading...
26.12.2010 - 15:54
!J.O.O.E.!
Defunct
I really need to do that at some point, it's quite an undertaking though, especially if want to stay consciously aware of it throughout.

It's an interesting way to spend Christmas =P
Loading...

Advertise on Metal Storm

Hits total: 9725 | This month: 30