Bandcamp music player

Rating:
8.5
Inquisition - Ominous Doctrines Of The Perpetual Mystical Macrocosm
31 October 2010


01. Astral Path To Supreme Majesties
02. Command Of The Dark Crown
03. Desolate Funeral Chant
04. Cosmic Invocation Rites
05. Conjuration
06. Upon The Fire Winged Demon
07. Ominous Doctrines Of The Perpetual Mystical Macrocosm
08. Crepuscular Battle Hymn
09. Hymn For A Dead Star
10. Across The Abyss Ancient Horns Bray


Inquisition... nyaaaaaaaaaaarghhghghghhhhh!!!!!!

No further introduction necessary I'd say, so let's continue.

Ominous Doctrines Of The Perpetual Mystical Macrocosm is the new Inquisition album and it is Inquisition at its most inquisition-y. A lightning fast, razor-sharp riff accompanied by thundering drums (got any more clichés? i'm game), followed by Lord Frog's awesome croak... it's all there. Yeah, yeah baby, yeah!

I'm sorry.

Inquisition prove with ODOTMM they are still masters at what they do, which is invoking a trancelike, satanic atmosphere through employing both droning, croaky vocals coupled with tremolo-heavy yet catchy and infectiously dark Black metal sharp-as-a-razor, fast-as-a-shark riffs. With kick-ass-soul-cutting solos. Ace! Honestly, who kicks it like Lord Frog and his companion does? Not even the infernal lord himself, I dare say.

I'm pretty much at a loss for words right now, because what is their to add...

Inqy once again releases an album of high quality, in their own truly unique style. You're going to love it or hate it, depending on what you thought of their previous albums. You can trust me on that one. Oh - if you've never heard Inqy before, but you are into to evil and raw Black metal, check them out! Today! Or tomorrow, whatever works best for you. I don't really care either way; I'm occupied banging my head to the tunes of Lord Inqy!

Lucifer, punish your enemies oh lord of the night! Destroy them all!

Performance: 9
Songwriting: 8
Originality: 8
Production: 8


Band profile: Inquisition
Album: Ominous Doctrines Of The Perpetual Mystical Macrocosm


 



Written on 13.11.2010 by
Lucas
If you're interested in extreme, often emotional and underground music, check out my reviews. I retired from reviewing, but I really used to be into that stuff.
More reviews by Lucas ››



Comments

‹‹ Back to the Reviews
Comments: 37  
Users visited: 258  
Search this topic:  


Ag Fox - 14.11.2010 at 01:58  
Lol, what a wicked review (so many high points haha). Now I really can't wait >:
TheBigRossowski - 14.11.2010 at 15:04  
I had NO fuckin' idea that their new record just came out.

I'm outta my fuckin' element...
vezzy - 14.11.2010 at 16:08  
Oh yeah, I was gonna check this out sometime. Great review though, hahaha.
RavenKing - 14.11.2010 at 16:10  
The only feeling I can get when hearing their songs is laughing and taking this band as a joke because vocals suck so much ass.
Lucas - 14.11.2010 at 16:15  
Written by RavenKing on 14.11.2010 at 16:10

The only feeling I can get when hearing their songs is laughing and taking this band as a joke because vocals suck so much ass.


If you don't worship Lord Inqy you're not worthy of manhood.
Ozman - 14.11.2010 at 18:42  
Inquisition is imo thwe single most overrated cult bm band
!J.O.O.E.! - 14.11.2010 at 19:39  
Sorry but I'm probably closer to agreeing with Marcel on this band =P Haven't heard this one though.
Lucas - 14.11.2010 at 20:41  
Written by Ozman on 14.11.2010 at 18:42

Inquisition is imo thwe single most overrated cult bm band


More overrated than Leviathan, Xasthur, Marduk etc.? Come on.
Ozman - 14.11.2010 at 20:56  
Written by Lucas on 14.11.2010 at 20:41

Written by Ozman on 14.11.2010 at 18:42

Inquisition is imo thwe single most overrated cult bm band


More overrated than Leviathan, Xasthur, Marduk etc.? Come on.


Yes, certainly, cause at least those bands have some sort to a lot of artistic merit to them.
Lucas - 14.11.2010 at 21:01  
Bleh, I don't see it. I personally find them very overrated. Artistic merit? Wtf is that? Inquisition is unique, at least.
Ozman - 14.11.2010 at 21:04  
Written by Lucas on 14.11.2010 at 21:01

Bleh, I don't see it. I personally find them very overrated. Artistic merit? Wtf is that? Inquisition is unique, at least.


Unique don't make me laugh. They sound like a totally underporduced Dissection with worse songs and even worse vocals.
The riffs they play have been done to death.
Lucas - 14.11.2010 at 21:06  
Written by Ozman on 14.11.2010 at 21:04

Written by Lucas on 14.11.2010 at 21:01

Bleh, I don't see it. I personally find them very overrated. Artistic merit? Wtf is that? Inquisition is unique, at least.


Unique don't make me laugh. They sound like a totally underporduced Dissection with worse songs and even worse vocals.
The riffs they play have been done to death.


Find me a vocalist that sounds like Dagon. Riffs, ok, not unique but still pretty killer compared to most bands imo. Could be due to the fact I never liked Dissection.
RavenKing - 15.11.2010 at 14:20  
Written by Lucas on 14.11.2010 at 21:06

Find me a vocalist that sounds like Dagon.


No thanks. The guy fucking sucks. If you want well-done croaking vocals, listen to Summoning "Lugburz" or the song "Elfstone" (on "Dol Guldur") or to Abbath (of Immortal).
Inquisition's vocals are just lame, sleep-inducing and boring to death.

And Marcel is right: there's nothing original in their music. Rather mediocre, in fact.
The only distinctive element in this band is vocals, and they're distinctive in the bad way.
Lucas - 15.11.2010 at 20:02  
Written by RavenKing on 15.11.2010 at 14:20

Written by Lucas on 14.11.2010 at 21:06

Find me a vocalist that sounds like Dagon.


No thanks. The guy fucking sucks. If you want well-done croaking vocals, listen to Summoning "Lugburz" or the song "Elfstone" (on "Dol Guldur") or to Abbath (of Immortal).
Inquisition's vocals are just lame, sleep-inducing and boring to death.

And Marcel is right: there's nothing original in their music. Rather mediocre, in fact.
The only distinctive element in this band is vocals, and they're distinctive in the bad way.


To each his own, I gues. I personally dislike Summoning and Immortal as well, though I appreciate the latter for their past.
UnknownCheese - 19.11.2010 at 02:29  
Never heard more than one minute of Inquisition, but being worse than Leviathan or Xasthur is an impossibility.
Ozman - 19.11.2010 at 02:52  
Written by UnknownCheese on 19.11.2010 at 02:29

Never heard more than one minute of Inquisition, but being worse than Leviathan or Xasthur is an impossibility.


first of all that is simple since 90% of black metal is worse and second Striborg is possibly the worst ever bm to grace the face of the earth.
UnknownCheese - 19.11.2010 at 02:56  
Written by Ozman on 19.11.2010 at 02:52

Written by UnknownCheese on 19.11.2010 at 02:29

Never heard more than one minute of Inquisition, but being worse than Leviathan or Xasthur is an impossibility.


first of all that is simple since 90% of black metal is worse and second Striborg is possibly the worst ever bm to grace the face of the earth.


Nah, those two are pretty much the bottom of the barrel, though yeah, Striborg are really bad.
Ozman - 19.11.2010 at 03:08  
Written by UnknownCheese on 19.11.2010 at 02:56

Written by Ozman on 19.11.2010 at 02:52

Written by UnknownCheese on 19.11.2010 at 02:29

Never heard more than one minute of Inquisition, but being worse than Leviathan or Xasthur is an impossibility.


first of all that is simple since 90% of black metal is worse and second Striborg is possibly the worst ever bm to grace the face of the earth.



Nah, those two are pretty much the bottom of the barrel, though yeah, Striborg are really bad.


mmm checking your posts there isn't a single thing there about what you like or think is good. Looks as if we have a troll here... Only whining how crap everything is. Would be mor interested in seeing what BM you DO like so it's possible to understand where you're coming from when you say Xasthur and Leviathan are the bottom of the barrel.
RavenKing - 21.11.2010 at 15:42  
Written by Ozman on 19.11.2010 at 02:52

Striborg is possibly the worst ever bm to grace the face of the earth.


Indeed. But Elffor and Burzum both come very close, imo.
Ozman - 21.11.2010 at 15:47  
Written by RavenKing on 21.11.2010 at 15:42

Written by Ozman on 19.11.2010 at 02:52

Striborg is possibly the worst ever bm to grace the face of the earth.


Indeed. But Elffor and Burzum both come very close, imo.


Never heard Elffor, so I can't judge. BBurzum I generally I agree although there are one or two tracks I do enjoy.
Mr. Doctor - 21.11.2010 at 19:49  
Written by Ozman on 21.11.2010 at 15:47

although there are one or two tracks I do enjoy.


... WHAT?


XD

Next time you will tell me that you enjoy some tracks by Lifelover or Mithras
spirit_inblack - 22.11.2010 at 02:30  
They are AWESOME. Cmon, to play in Winnipeg you've gotta be somewhat awesome.
spirit_inblack - 22.11.2010 at 02:36  
Inquisition need no artistic merit! It's not about that here, dudes. Xasthur.. you've scoped out the real piss there, same with most Marduk, but Leviathan's pretty decent IMO. If the argument is about being worse than most USBM, give me some examples fellows, cause I'd like to hear them.
Ozman - 22.11.2010 at 07:00  
Written by spirit_inblack on 22.11.2010 at 02:36

If the argument is about being worse than most USBM, give me some examples fellows, cause I'd like to hear them.


99.9% of the LLN bands, loads of German BM such as Nargaroth. Actually loads of bands are worse than most USBM
spirit_inblack - 22.11.2010 at 09:03  
Haha, I'll never post after having a few drinks again on the subject of black metal, cause I'm well aware of this lol. You're quite correct (to be fair, LLN has more good bands than that though).

I guess what I meant was, disregarding all the bands that are clones and shitty bedroom wankery, who are they any worse than? Can probably just be chalked up to difference of opinion though, since they aren't for everyone (especially with those vocals). We can agree that Striborg are probably not only the worst BM band ever, but the worst project ever. The only thing Sin Nanna ever did that was worth anything was Pentemple.
Ozman - 22.11.2010 at 09:36  
Written by spirit_inblack on 22.11.2010 at 09:03

Haha, I'll never post after having a few drinks again on the subject of black metal, cause I'm well aware of this lol. You're quite correct (to be fair, LLN has more good bands than that though).

I guess what I meant was, disregarding all the bands that are clones and shitty bedroom wankery, who are they any worse than? Can probably just be chalked up to difference of opinion though, since they aren't for everyone (especially with those vocals). We can agree that Striborg are probably not only the worst BM band ever, but the worst project ever. The only thing Sin Nanna ever did that was worth anything was Pentemple.


And of course Sin Nanna's claim to fame is that Sunn O))) named a song on Black One after him and are fans of Striborg
Mr. Doctor - 22.11.2010 at 23:21  
Written by Ozman on 22.11.2010 at 09:36

And of course Sin Nanna's claim to fame is that Sunn O))) named a song on Black One after him and are fans of Striborg


I understand that the guys from Sunn O))) must have smoked a lot and probably still do... But how can they smoke so much that they think Striborg is good? Shit...
Lucas - 22.11.2010 at 23:25  
It's called crack, bro.
CrypticMyth - 19.12.2010 at 04:50  
When I saw the opening 'nyaaaaaaaaaaarghhghghghhhhh!!!!!!' I knew it was Lucas who was reviewing this one

Great 'OMG-this shit is awesome (on first listen)' review. I think you've hit it on the spot. And I can somewhat see the comparisons to Dissection but this album is so damn catchy and has such a menacing atmosphere that I don't care - I like the mid-paced grooves that they've got going on too. Also, I've really taken a liking to the croaked-style of vocals over the years so that doesn't bother me one bit.

Desolate Funeral Chant!! \m/
-DC-002- - 27.02.2012 at 11:55  
Why am I just hearing this? Sounds great and I'm only on my first listen!
StephenTheBoss - 04.06.2012 at 04:46  
Written by Ozman on 14.11.2010 at 20:56

Written by Lucas on 14.11.2010 at 20:41

Written by Ozman on 14.11.2010 at 18:42

Inquisition is imo thwe single most overrated cult bm band


More overrated than Leviathan, Xasthur, Marduk etc.? Come on.


Yes, certainly, cause at least those bands have some sort to a lot of artistic merit to them.


Marcel what are you smoking? Nothing? Either am I, but come on man, those 3 listed by Lucas suck compared to Inqui, Leviathan, Marduk and Xasthur, almost emo.
pkillerjp - 12.02.2014 at 21:47  
The reason Inquisition are listenable is because of the obvious heavy thrash undertones in the riffing and the ability to actually write a song with melody and trance like ambiance. All the talking of trash like Marduk, Xasthur, Leviathan, etc..etc..of course it sucks, it's corny 2nd wave black metal/norsecore/usbm...the whole genre needs to die already really enough!!!! Have Dark Thrones first 4 albums been ripped off enough yet??? Were they ever worth ripping off to begin with??? This genre must die..
Troy Killjoy - 12.02.2014 at 22:58  
I think this guy doesn't like black metal, I'm not sure though.
!J.O.O.E.! - 14.02.2014 at 11:26  
Written by pkillerjp on 12.02.2014 at 21:47

Marduk, Xasthur, Leviathan,

Have Dark Thrones first 4 albums been ripped off enough yet???

Suggesting that those 3 bands sound anything like Darkthrone?
Kiven Kantaja - 08.03.2014 at 23:41  
People, who say that Inquisition is overrated or with funny vocal or another shit like that, just don't understand what Inquisition actually is.
I thought the same way, Dagon's vocal seemed to me as a voice of some cyborg. I saw them live at Carpathian Festival in 2012 and laughed at them
as a fucking stupid idiot, I watched them for about 10 min, and then went to the hotel, because it was very cold there. And only several months later
I understood that it was THE BIGGEST FAIL in my fucking life. This music is transcendent. You just need to open your consciousness for it.
Dagon's brain is a dark channel which can connect you with the darkest corners of our being. It's very difficult to describe feelings during listening to this stuff.
It's something like irradiation. Pure shamanic vocal and drums, and of course Dagon's roaring guitar with mindblowing riffs - this is THE BLACK METAL.
!J.O.O.E.! - 08.03.2014 at 23:46  
Written by Kiven Kantaja on 08.03.2014 at 23:41

People, who say that Inquisition is overrated or with funny vocal or another shit like that, just don't understand what Inquisition actually is.
I thought the same way, Dagon's vocal seemed to me as a voice of some cyborg. I saw them live at Carpathian Festival in 2012 and laughed at them
as a fucking stupid idiot, I watched them for about 10 min, and then went to the hotel, because it was very cold there. And only several months later
I understood that it was THE BIGGEST FAIL in my fucking life. This music is transcendent. You just need to open your consciousness for it.
Dagon's brain is a dark channel which can connect you with the darkest corners of our being. It's very difficult to describe feelings during listening to this stuff.
It's something like irradiation. Pure shamanic vocal and drums, and of course Dagon's roaring guitar with mindblowing riffs - this is THE BLACK METAL.

Actually I think what one really needs to enjoy Inquisition is a degree in herpetology
Kiven Kantaja - 09.03.2014 at 00:02  
Written by !J.O.O.E.! on 08.03.2014 at 23:46

Written by Kiven Kantaja on 08.03.2014 at 23:41

People, who say that Inquisition is overrated or with funny vocal or another shit like that, just don't understand what Inquisition actually is.
I thought the same way, Dagon's vocal seemed to me as a voice of some cyborg. I saw them live at Carpathian Festival in 2012 and laughed at them
as a fucking stupid idiot, I watched them for about 10 min, and then went to the hotel, because it was very cold there. And only several months later
I understood that it was THE BIGGEST FAIL in my fucking life. This music is transcendent. You just need to open your consciousness for it.
Dagon's brain is a dark channel which can connect you with the darkest corners of our being. It's very difficult to describe feelings during listening to this stuff.
It's something like irradiation. Pure shamanic vocal and drums, and of course Dagon's roaring guitar with mindblowing riffs - this is THE BLACK METAL.

Actually I think what one really needs to enjoy Inquisition is a degree in herpetology

Or some spinach) Yeah.. I remember my jokes about froggy-styled or popeye's voice, but I really feel stupid now.

Advertise on Metal Storm


Login or register to post here.



Similar topics

Forum Topic Similarity Started
Albums Inquisition - Ominous Doctrines Of The Perpetual Mystical Macrocosm 12 16.09.2013 by AtrumHiberna
Reviews Inquisition - Into The Infernal Regions Of The Ancient Cult 7.5 11.05.2010 by BreadGod
Reviews Church Of Misery - Houses Of The Unholy 5 15.12.2009 by Ag Fox
Reviews Led To The Grave - Led To The Grave 4.5 25.03.2010 by Doc Godin
Reviews Hyatari - The Light Carriers 4.5 26.03.2012 by Boxcar Willy



Hits total: 7675 | This month: 98