Black Tusk - Taste The Sin review




Bandcamp music player
Reviewer:
7.0

24 users:
7.38
Band: Black Tusk
Album: Taste The Sin
Release date: May 2010


01. Embrace The Madness
02. Snake Charmer
03. Red Eyes, Black Skies
04. Way Of Horse And Bow
05. Unleash The Wrath
06. Twist The Knife
07. Double Clutchin (In Four Chapters)
    1 - Redline
    2 - The Take Off
    3 - The Ride
    4 - The Crash


Black Tusk are one of the gaggle of bands that arose from the musical sludge hub of Georgia, USA. Georgia is to modern Sludge what Florida was to Death Metal.

Y'all \m/ back now, ya hear?

Whereas their contemporaries from "Hotlanta" and Savannah in Kylesa, Mastodon, and Baroness have recently all embraced exterior influences, such as 70's prog rock or dove deep into their vault of stomp boxes to add exterior elements to deepen their sound, Black Tusk have done no such thing.

They've basically adhered to a K.I.S.S. formula - "Keep It Sludgy, Stupid."

The Tuskan Raiding Trio plow through thirtyodd minutes of rapidfire music that, well, uh, we'll call "Motörsludge". Thundering riffs, pounding driven drums, shouted vocals. Nothing too fancy, just a raw, visceral slab.

The upshot of this approach is that the album is straightforward and energetic. You don't need to take time out of your busy metal day to try and decipher deeper philosophical subtexts, nor discerning hidden nuances. It's good music for brawling, drinking, partying, and driving. Driving perhaps in particular thanks to the closer in "Double Clutchin' " in four parts ("Redline", "The Take Off", "The Ride" and "The Crash") … just don't engage in the driving after the drinking.

The drawback… it lacks the depth of the recent releases of their fellow Georgians. It's not a headphone album you'll pop in late at night to veg off to sleep getting all mental with.

But hey, that's a-ok. There's noting wrong at all with being direct and to the crunching point.


Rating breakdown
Performance: 8
Songwriting: 7
Originality: 6
Production: 8


 



Written on 20.11.2010 by BitterCOld has been officially reviewing albums for MetalStorm since 2009.


Comments

Comments: 9   Visited by: 61 users
22.11.2010 - 08:53
Marcel Hubregtse
Grumpy Old Fuck
Quite the enjoyable album this is. Like you said... K.I.S.S.
----
Member of the true crusade against European Flower Metal

Yesterday is dead and gone, tomorrow is out of sight
Dawn Crosby (r.i.p.)
05.04.1963 - 15.12.1996

Loading...
22.11.2010 - 11:45
!J.O.O.E.!
Account deleted
Another Baizley artwork...?
Loading...
22.11.2010 - 11:47
Marcel Hubregtse
Grumpy Old Fuck
Written by Guest on 22.11.2010 at 11:45

Another Baizley artwork...?



what does it say at the top of the review?
Second studio album, with artwork by John Baizley of Baroness.
----
Member of the true crusade against European Flower Metal

Yesterday is dead and gone, tomorrow is out of sight
Dawn Crosby (r.i.p.)
05.04.1963 - 15.12.1996

Loading...
22.11.2010 - 15:20
!J.O.O.E.!
Account deleted
Written by Marcel Hubregtse on 22.11.2010 at 11:47

Written by Guest on 22.11.2010 at 11:45

Another Baizley artwork...?



what does it say at the top of the review?
Second studio album, with artwork by John Baizley of Baroness.

Yes I know, I was pointing out subtly using rhetoric that I'm sick of seeing his art =P
Loading...
22.11.2010 - 15:24
Marcel Hubregtse
Grumpy Old Fuck
Hahahaha I didn't catch on. Most probably cause I am a huge fan of his art.
----
Member of the true crusade against European Flower Metal

Yesterday is dead and gone, tomorrow is out of sight
Dawn Crosby (r.i.p.)
05.04.1963 - 15.12.1996

Loading...
22.11.2010 - 15:31
!J.O.O.E.!
Account deleted
As I'd said before I like his style I'd just like him to try a different subject matter every now and then. Or maybe it's the band's fault for asking for a woman to be drawn.
Loading...
22.11.2010 - 23:18
Mr. Doctor
Skandino
Written by Guest on 22.11.2010 at 15:31

As I'd said before I like his style I'd just like him to try a different subject matter every now and then. Or maybe it's the band's fault for asking for a woman to be drawn.


THANK YOU
I thought I was the only one who thought that he's overusing women. But then again... they are so hot most of the times I can't really be against it

Oh... And I like this stuff, sometimes you just have to keep it simple... Stupid!
----
Written by BloodTears on 19.08.2011 at 18:29
Like you could kiss my ass
Written by Milena on 20.06.2012 at 10:49
Rod, let me love you.
Loading...
28.03.2011 - 17:37
Guib
Thrash Talker
Love the album... this new sludge band is awesome Can't wait for their next release
----
- I love my technical, melodic, my thrash, agressive and fast paced, my sludge, well thought, my heavy, heavier and my metal, ever-growing -
Loading...
27.04.2011 - 14:23
Spirit Molecule
spirit molecule
I've been meaning to get my hands on this one. I've heard tracks online and they sound awesome. Its what mastodon would be today if they didn't mello out(not a bad thing) in my opinion. The John dyer artwork is always a plus (I'm a fanboy )
I don't mind the guys overuse of hot women
----
If you never wake up from a dream does it become reality?

Last fm
Don't click here
Loading...

Hits total: 3620 | This month: 2