Rating:
7.9
Torche - Songs For Singles
21 September 2010


01. U.F.O.
02. Lay Low
03. Hideaway
04. Arrowhead
05. Shine On My Old Ways
06. Cast Into Unknown
07. Face The Wall
08. Out Again


Songs For Singles, the latest from Sludgesters Torche blows by in nearly the blink of an eye... Compressed into under 25 minutes we find eight infectious songs with more hooks than a deep sea fishing vessel. Torche are heavy, like other sludge acts, with a tendency to keep the tempos upbeat, but there is a joyful quality to their music that really separates them from the pack. Tracks like "U.F.O." and "Cast Into Unknown" can put a smile on your face... even if you don't want them to.

The human Torches have a tendency to make The Ramones seem long-winded. The first six pack of ditties in Songs For Singles barely crack 12 minutes. Whereas some bands go on and on and on milking a good riff until heaven becomes hell, these guys get to the point and get out fast. The last two songs are slower paced, basically half speed and give the album some length.

While the album might be half over and done between the time you start the car and finish backing out of the driveway, it's fine. It's so infectious you'll be happy to just play it again.

So seeing as the band are really into the whole brevity thing, I think it shouldn't take longer to write (or read) this review than to listen to the album.

In closing... fast, happy music. Crushing riffs. Thundering bass. Pounding drums. Catchy vocals. Hooks. Fun. Yay!

Performance: 8
Songwriting: 8
Originality: 7
Production: 8


Band profile: Torche
Album: Songs For Singles


 



Written on 23.11.2010 by
BitterCOld
BitterCOld has been officially reviewing albums for MetalStorm since 2009.
More reviews by BitterCOld ››



Comments

‹‹ Back to the Reviews
Comments: 8  
Users visited: 126  
Search this topic:  


Susan - 23.11.2010 at 04:15  
So, I'm intrigued now.

Love how the review was as short as the CD!
BitterCOld - 23.11.2010 at 04:23  
Written by Susan on 23.11.2010 at 04:15

So, I'm intrigued now.

Love how the review was as short as the CD!

Is it really a compilation, though?


i don't think so. i've seen it labeled a "stopgap EP" ... but i didn't enter the album in the discography. someone made a mess!


U.F.O.

Ag Fox - 23.11.2010 at 04:24  
Haha, just listened to their self titled album today for the first time (before reading this review). 10 tracks under 30 minutes is pretty brief, but it's definitely the right length
Susan - 29.12.2010 at 04:38  
So I loved this review when I first read it and then it took me for damn ever to get around to listening to the album. Finally I have listened, and loved. Even though it's an EP it has definitely earned itself a place on my Best of 2010 list.

I love how they're doing something different with the genre, something a little counter-intuitive actually. That's refreshing. And, of course, it's damn fun.
INÆRIS - 04.02.2011 at 02:12  
This album is amazing! So much fun to jam out to.
Boxcar Willy - 26.01.2012 at 06:09  
Downloading now, seems interesting.
Lokaeda - 01.05.2012 at 14:42  
Seems like Sum 41 met Baroness.
Boxcar Willy - 01.05.2012 at 14:50  
Written by Lokaeda on 01.05.2012 at 14:42

Seems like Sum 41 met Baroness.

Naw it's a lovechild of Blink 182 and Black Cobra.

Pretty much the same thing but slighty different.

Advertise on Metal Storm


Login or register to post here.



Similar topics

Forum Topic Similarity Started
Articles So, you want to write a Guest Review for Metal Storm? 3.5 09.05.2009 by BitterCOld
News Lordi - Four New Songs Available For Pre-Listening, Tour Dates 3 23.10.2008 by iaberis
News Anger As Art - Two New Songs Available For Streaming 3 12.05.2012 by exomorphyx89
Melodic metal forum Looking for songs with melodic/catchy riffs and clean vocals 3 27.06.2006 by
News Primal Fear - 15 Songs Written For New Album 3 22.04.2011 by Angelic Storm



Hits total: 3404 | This month: 44