Rammstein - Mutter review



Reviewer:
8.0

939 users:
8.64
Band: Rammstein
Album: Mutter
Release date: 2001


Disc I
01. Mein Herz Brennt
02. Links 2 3 4
03. Sonne
04. Ich Will
05. Feuer Frei!
06. Mutter
07. Spieluhr [feat. Khira Li Lindemann]
08. Zwitter
09. Rein Raus
10. Adios
11. Nebel [feat. Christiane "Bobo" Herbold]
12. Du Hast [limited edition bonus]
13. Rammstein [limited edition bonus]
14. Du Riechst So Gut [limited edition bonus]
15. Engel [limited edition bonus]
16. Das Modell [Kraftwerk cover] [limited edition bonus]
17. Alter Mann [limited edition bonus]
18. Sehnsucht [limited edition bonus]

Disc II [limited tour edition]
01. Ich Will
02. Links 2 3 4
03. Sonne
04. Spieluhr [feat. Khira Li Lindemann]


Industrial Metal is one of those genres that most Metalheads Hate, Lately I've been listening a lot this particular genre to actually know why's that, well yes most Industrial bands are simplistic, boring, tedious, and every insulting term you can think, but in my industrial journey I've found bands such as Static-X, American Head Charge and Ministry which are actually very good, and now this time I am hearing a German band called Rammstein, so this is what I got from their album Mutter.

The album opener "Mein Herz Brennt" is ok, nothing special really, the riffs are very catchy (I mean is Industrial Metal, after all every Guitar Riff must be Catchy right?) the drumming is very simple and the bass-lines are just average, the keyboards are very good and have a lot of cool effects (as in every other Industrial Band). Ok the real thing comes in "Links 2 3 4" this song has an incredible intro, I admit that the drumming is simplistic but it actually sounds awesome when the song cracks into the chorus, the keyboards create a funny atmosphere that soon turns out just fine, the vocals (filled with special effects) sound incredible and sometimes even creepy, in the end of the song (2:46) a really cool and funky guitar sound enters, it's like a short high-pitched riff but I swear it sounds awesome, this song is actually amazing.

The album in general is good, actually there's no "bad" track or something, Ok after hearing it 2 times in a row it might get a little tedious, but that does not mean awful, actually you can really enjoy this album in those "relaxation" breaks we all have in our lives, the real attraction are the keyboard effects that in every track fill the environment with all kind of weird yet pleasant moments and multi faceted musical shapes. Of course other great points are the guitar Riffs that are incredibly catchy and sometimes even powerful and the vocals that are the best I've heard in this Genre, Till Lindemann can actually sing in a lot of good tones.

Well this album is very good indeed, give it a try, or at least I recommend you to download their videos for "Sonne" and "Links 2 3 4", in links you will see an army of carnivorous ants that fight and kill some scarabs (cool video indeed), and in "Sonne" well let me tell you only this, don't you want to see snow-white snuffing coke (the drug also known as Snow-white) till she dies? Plus the dwarfs are Rammstein members. So I recommend this album, the bad part is that I don't know what the fuck are they talking about in their lyrics.

Follow: "Links 2 3 4", "Mutter", "Fever Frei"

Written by Herzebeth | 13.02.2005


 


Comments

Comments: 23   Visited by: 231 users
21.11.2006 - 20:27
Keoren
Account deleted
I usually hate industrial, but Rammstein has quite a few song I actually find myself enjoying. "Sonne" being an example.
Loading...
23.11.2006 - 19:05
matthioso
This is Rammstein's last great album. It's very good, but when it comes to Industrial Metal no one can beat Fear Factory
----
www.seedofrock.be
Loading...
23.11.2006 - 19:27
The Alchemist
Metalchemist
I knew Rammstein thanks to this album, the songs are good, my favorite ones are: "links 2 3 4", "Sonne", "Ich Will", and "Feuer Frei"
These videos are quite good, specially Links 2 3 4 and Sonne
----


I'm not afraid to die, I'm afraid to be alive without being aware of it
Sensorium - Epica
Loading...
30.11.2006 - 23:17
angel
Account deleted
rammstein is great. if you do not know what they are talking about it is not SO bad.i can understand them very good, and it is not needed too. although most of the lyrics are great anyway..feuer frei is just a headbanging track , also the soundtrack to triple X. live they are killers.oh yeah.
Loading...
30.11.2006 - 23:26
Bas
Retired Staff
i havent heard the newest Rosenrot, but from the other albums this is the worst one in my opinion, it still has some great songs though (Mutter, Zwitter, Adios for example)

the greatest thing about Rammstein is definitely their lyrics though, some of the most amazing stuff i've heard

till really doesnt say much in his song, but every single sentence is such a powerful saying/metaphor/parabel/idiom, just amazing, every single song can be read in two or three ways, most social critical or about terror, death, rape, sexual abuse, sex, pain, cannibalism, masochism, murder, death penalty, drugs, etc

the music is great, but i'd also listen to them if they'd sound like madonna, the lyrics are so amazing!
----
BAS - Beautifully Accented Sexiness
Loading...
06.12.2006 - 00:57
Möbius
Account deleted
Germany's biggest music export of all time. No other german musician/s sold this many albums. Not even Blind Guardian!

Mutter is the best!
Loading...
10.02.2007 - 14:38
Carrion
Account deleted
Almost the best, Sehnsucht and Herzeleid are still better for me But this record has probably the best music videos that Rammstein has done. Sonne and Links 234 for ex.
Loading...
11.06.2007 - 14:56
Grey_Dandelion
its perfect...all the songs are magnificent-especially spieluhr and nebel!!!i would give 1,5-2 points more...rammstein are one of a kind
----
Don't turn away just take my hand and when you make your final stand i ll be right there i ll never leave all i ask of you is believe...
Loading...
25.09.2007 - 12:29
Øyvind
Grave Digger
One of the best albums ever! I don't think there is a single bad song on it in my opinion. Hell, my favourite song, Sonne, is on this album
A great band and a great album.
----
Loading...
26.09.2007 - 20:10
Bitch Boy
XD
This album is really good for sure. My favorite songs are Mutter, Links 2 3 4 and Adios. The video for Links was really cool
Loading...
23.10.2007 - 17:17
iaberis
Advice Troll
Probably their best album. Although I didn't like it much in the beginning, after their later releases, I begun appreciating this more
----
Bitch! Please
Loading...
26.10.2007 - 20:03
jn_skull
Account deleted
I have moslty all rammstein albulms and I got to say that this one is the best one besides Rosenrot.
Loading...
11.02.2008 - 22:42
+{Jonas}+
I R Serious Cat
I agree this album lowered the level after the great Sehnsucht. A couple cool tracks, very catchy, but nothing beyond that.
----
"Nobody wants to be the weird kid, you just end up being the weird kid. You don't know how you ended up getting there" - Rob Zombie

http://jonas-bs.deviantart.com My dA, mainly photography, go check it out!
Loading...
30.06.2008 - 13:51
Hamird
HIV+
This album is the greatest Rammstein album in my opinion! I enjoy listening track 1 to 7! they are amazing, sorted well and a good music!!!
Loading...
07.03.2009 - 04:22
spoonerX
Amazing album.. the first show of Rammstein I saw was in the Mutter tour... I was like 11 or 12.. went with my brother... Iwas hooked by Rammstein since that concert... so Mutter is really important for me
----
its when you travel that you realise that man will never really belong to a country...

Attending:
Rammstein - Paris, Bercy: 8th of december
Loading...
12.03.2009 - 16:54
bayern
This is their best album IMO. The german language it's perfect for this kind of music.
Loading...
09.06.2009 - 13:41
Uirapuru
Liver Failure
One of the most addictive albums of all time. Listen to it once and the band becomes one of your favorite (ok.. maybe not so much), but it has a great number of memorable songs.

Excellent album, best from Rammstein.
----

----
member of the true crusade against old school heavy metal, early 80s thrash, NWOBHM, traditional doom, first and second wave black metal, old school death metal, US power metal, 70s prog rock and atmospheric doomsludgestoner. o/
Loading...
14.06.2009 - 00:21
Solstafir!
This is my favourite album from Rammstein, sure it's an inconsistent album with a few weak ones, but they make for that with some of their best tracks thus far, especially Sonne, which hasn't got off my playlist still after all these years...Feuer Frei, Ich Will and Mutter are also beyond awesome! Their videos were also really cool...

And I also liked their gimmick during this time, with all he flamethrowers and spiked hair and all...
Loading...
30.09.2009 - 11:16
Ellrohir
Heaven Knight
From my point of view is this their best release
----
My rest seems now calm and deep
Finally I got my dead man sleep


Loading...
03.01.2011 - 00:11
Evil Chip
The review is kinda moron, sorry but that's what it seems. The songs do not need a more complex drumming or bass lines to be better. And some industrial is not catchy at all like The Downward Spiral from Nine Inch Nails having song structures that are far more complex and avantgarde than many other bands. Rammstein wouldn't be what it is if they tried to be more organic or have more tecnical parts.
Loading...
04.09.2011 - 00:26
Maxx666
Meshuggahian
Really this album is an industrial legend... man those are some really deep and thoughtful lyrics that they have written... a solid 10/10
Loading...
08.09.2012 - 01:45
Angry Chair
Not really a fan of industrial metal but this is a good listen.

The song "Sonne" is the standout track for me, I really enjoyed that one.

----
"Men will never be free until the last king is strangled with the entrails of the last priest."
- Denis Diderot
Loading...
10.09.2012 - 10:56
Jaeryd
Nihil's Maw
This is definitely Rammstein's best album. Sonne and Links 2 3 4 are awesome.

I'm pretty sure you can find a site with a pretty accurate lyrics translation.

Aaaaaaand here it is! http://herzeleid.com/en/lyrics
----
Loading...

Hits total: 15104 | This month: 25