Rating:
N/A
Klone - Black Days
19 April 2010


Disc I
01. Rite Of Passage
02. Spiral Down
03. Give Up The Rest
04. Hollow Way
05. Immaculate Desire
06. Closed Season (Interlude)
07. The Spell Is Cast
08. Danse Macabre
09. Rain Bird
10. Behold The Silence
11. Army Of Me [Björk cover]
12. The Monster [MP3 version bonus]
13. Give Up The Rest [live] [MP3 version bonus]
14. Spiral Down [live] [MP3 version bonus]
15. The Spell Is Cast [live] [MP3 version bonus]

Disc II [DVD bonus: All Seeing Live]
01. Intro
02. Introspection
03. Candlelight
04. Home
05. Last Breath
06. Chocked
07. Interlude
08. Nothing's The Same
09. Empire Of Shame
10. Promises
11. Under My Skin
12. All Seeing Eye
13. Disembody


Here's an album you'll be seeing on many "Top" lists for 2010. I see Klone called prog sometimes, and though Black Days is some groovy, gritty metal music done in a progressive way this isn't exactly "prog" as some might consider the genre in a classic sense. At times I'm even reminded of Tool; yet whether or not prog is your thing, as long as you don't mind a bit of grit and darkness with your music then you're in for a real treat with Black Days.

Vocals are sung, yet somewhere between clean and extreme. While he's rarely "clean singing," these aren't extreme vocals either. It's a fitting, gritty vocal performance that's so soulful. Whatever he's feeling, I'm feeling, too. And he's feeling it all: sometimes it's melancholy, angry, sinister, instigating, grieved, but always flowing seamlessly from one to the other. Not to be missed is their cover of Bjork's "Army of Me." This is one of those situations where no matter what you think of the original artist or the original song, there is no denying that it "metalizes" in an epic, epic way.

While individual songs don't stick out so much, there is enough continuous variety in tempo, and skill in performance and songwriting, to keep you hooked from beginning to end. Nice breakdowns are thrown in to keep you grooving as well. Honestly when I began to listen for the first time I thought I would just enjoy a few songs then switch to something else. Fat chance. Before I knew it the album was over and I had to listen again. This is a truly engaging piece that I can't stop spinning.


Band profile: Klone
Album: Black Days


 



Written on 12.12.2010 by
Susan
Susan appreciates quality metal regardless of genre. Metal Storm Staff since 2006.
More reviews by Susan ››



Comments

‹‹ Back to the Reviews
Comments: 14  
Users visited: 217  
Search this topic:  


Dane Train - 12.12.2010 at 21:56  
I am searching for this album right now!
Darkside Momo - 12.12.2010 at 22:27  
Nice review, but this album is way too monotone for me. All Seeing-Eye, their previous effort, was also more aggressive (a bonus, if you ask me)
Richard - 13.12.2010 at 02:56  
Sounds OK, not sure if I'd buy it. I see what you mean about the vocal style being melodic but also "gritty", the vocals reminded me a bit of Sentenced's late 90's stuff but with a bit more feeling and 'oomph' behind it.
Ag Fox - 13.12.2010 at 04:52  
I'm intrigued. Nice review
Array - 14.12.2010 at 03:26  
I gave it two consecutive spins, which is pretty much required here to reach more nuances, and liked it a lot. No fillers here, entity prevails. This year's best cover song can be found here too. Björk bends smoothly to Klone, no matter how Kornish that sounds. Basicly Swedish Mela-Prog bands send Rock in an Avantgardishly wrought Metal box across the pond via Post, where the Grungy package is finally opened by some rarely used Alternative Tools.
Susan - 14.12.2010 at 09:37  
Written by Array on 14.12.2010 at 03:26

Basicly Swedish Mela-Prog bands send Rock in an Avantgardishly wrought Metal box across the pond via Post, where the Grungy package is finally opened by some rarely used Alternative Tools.


Epic
Demonic Tutor - 31.01.2011 at 03:16  
Thanks for the review. I love it. Somewhere between Tool and Pearl Jam if you ask me.
silenius - 31.01.2011 at 21:09  
Awesome album
Ag Fox - 01.02.2011 at 14:27  
Finally found a lossless copy of it. Love the vocals and the groove! Thank you, Lyrinan (=
Axe Argonian - 03.02.2011 at 23:47  
My theory of how Klone came to be: Tool and Pantera were making love to each other, shortly before Godsmack jumped in between them. With open arms, Tool and Pantera welcomed the third partner and then encouraged several 90's grunge groups and even King Crimson to join the fun. After several hours of lovemaking, Klone was born.

Klone is an odd but intriguing product of several sounds. I'll most definitely keep an eye on them.
Aebsi - 09.02.2011 at 16:17  
Man the songs seem to finnish before they even begin, at least each song is done before you know it. You're just hooked from start, I love the "Spoonman" feeling close to the end of "The Spell is Cast", pure masterpiece.
tea[m]ster - 23.02.2011 at 22:57  
No way this is progressive metal, I think it's more metalcore with sludge sprinkled in. First band that came to mind was Mastodon. Good stuff no matter the genre...
Spirit Molecule - 27.04.2011 at 14:19  
Written by Darkside Momo on 12.12.2010 at 22:27

Nice review, but this album is way too monotone for me. All Seeing-Eye, their previous effort, was also more aggressive (a bonus, if you ask me)


I agree with you on this, All seeing eye was definitely better. Decent album nonetheless.
But as a band i actually prefer the Klone side project, Mistaken Element (i think they only share the vocalist)
Mr. Doctor - 26.08.2012 at 17:18  
Written by tea[m]ster on 23.02.2011 at 22:57

No way this is progressive metal, I think it's more metalcore with sludge sprinkled in. First band that came to mind was Mastodon. Good stuff no matter the genre...


Wouldn't call them progressive in the same way I wouldn't call them metalcore It definitely has elements of both, that's clear... But it's not one or the other anyways.
Pretty good album though, as a Björk fan... I must say the cover is absolutely brilliant.

Advertise on Metal Storm


Login or register to post here.



Similar topics

Forum Topic Similarity Started
Albums Klone - Black Days 6 25.02.2011 by In Bone Factory
Reviews Aeon - Aeons Black 4.5 20.12.2012 by MetalDoomMaster
Reviews Black Tusk - Tend No Wounds 4.5 03.07.2013 by BoxCar Willy
Articles Clandestine Cuts Vol. 2 #5 - Hear music from Miroist, Fever Sea, Kalodin, Black Oak Decline, Fhoi My 3.5 10.07.2012 by Mr. Doctor
Reviews Saga - 10 000 Days 2.5 13.12.2007 by Introspekrieg



Hits total: 4785 | This month: 49