Rating:
N/A
aTelecine - A Cassette Tape Culture
2 November 2010


01. Find Nothing Else
02. Chroeg Xen
03. It's All Write
04. She Is Beautiful
05. Kitchen Light
06. A Cassette Played
07. Auon [Live version]
08. Some What Daft
09. Elijah's New Sun
10. I Came, I Sat, I Departed
11. RH
12. Never Was A Dreamer


Vinyl-only release, limited to 500 copies.


Before I continue, please allow me to apologize for this review in advance. It is most likely going to be one shithouse review, but please bear with me nonetheless and hear my lament. Every since I've discovered aTelecine, my life is in ruins. I can't sleep, I can't eat, I lost my job, I haven't seen my friends in months, I haven't shaved in weeks, I haven't seen sunlight in days...

aTelecine is an industrial/noise/black metal combo (more or less)... Featuring... Wait for it....... Sasha Grey. Oh yes. Yes. Oh yes. Yes! I am hereby admitting that yes, I am a male and I definitely, definitely, definitely cannot stop drooling over the fact a world-famous *uhum* star is in a industrial/noise/black combo (sort of). Call me immature, call me a hormone-crazed teenager, call me whatever the hell you like... I'm just very amused at this very little fact. And I like everything sensational.

In all seriousness, though. aTelecine. A Cassette Tape Culture is perhaps one of the prettiest little records you've ever heard. Delicate little melodies tumble over other tiny little melodies, birds sing their little songs in the morning sun, glimmering drops of dew come crashing down from the burnt trees in this barren wasteland, ravenous beasts claw at each other in a desperate hunger-crazed battle. Well, uhm, actually none of that is really true, but you know what I mean, right?

Ok, for realz, aTelecine is a mixture of looped squeals, screams, squeaks and everything else vicious. Sasha's distorted orgasms serve as vocals, something heavy pounding on something metal serves as drums, hisses, mindlessly repetitive, imagine Eyehategod fistfucking Godflesh or if you're not into overly-obscene references just for shock value than just imagine something really minimalistic, metallic and noisy. That'll do just as well.

So what's the value of this little baby if it wouldn't have been co-created by Sasha Grey? It's hard to say, really. Is it really necessary to look at this, purely from a musical point of view? We're on a music site, so yeah, maybe it is. But then again, in a way, knowing who is part of this little ensemble does enhance the grey, oppressive and depressive nature of the music, doesn't it?

Good night to y'all, sirs, I'm off to collect some more of the girl's material. There's nothing else to live for, anyway.


 



Written on 04.01.2011 by
Lucas
If you're interested in extreme, often emotional and underground music, check out my reviews. I retired from reviewing, but I really used to be into that stuff.
More reviews by Lucas ››



Comments page 2 of 2

‹‹ Back to the Reviews Pages: 1 [2]
Comments: 65  
Users visited: 306  
Search this topic:  


Mindheist - 06.01.2011 at 17:35  
I'm gonna make a ruling on this one right now. There's nothing wrong with a man enjoying enticing "sounds" and paying tribute to the holy presence of one of the world's most popular *ehem* stars . By the way, I had to look her up . I'm not into porn, but unlike Marcel, I don't think it's a waste of time, everybody is entitled to his own opinion. Way to go Lucas, I wish you all the best man .
Not gonna lie, I almost laughed my head off reading your comments guys. Somebody should put them in "Funny Stuff" section .

Now, concerning the review, here's what you all need to know :"In all seriousness, though. aTelecine. A Cassette Tape Culture is perhaps one of the prettiest little records you've ever heard." That's it, these guys have apparently delivered a decent performance with this record and that's all that matters.

Thumbs up for Ms.Grey and her compatriots . And nice entertaining (obviously) review.
iMPERiAL_iCE - 07.01.2011 at 03:31  
All those comments made me piss my pants, and fuck! now I have to change them and it's not the end of the week yet XD

off-topic: anyway, did anybody notice that not a single female metalstormer has posted anything???????
on-topic: if Sasha Grey would piss on a piece of paper and sell it as art...I'd buy it on second thoughts I wish she'd so that

EDIT: I just got the album, and noisecore is a very interesting genre, the album was real Creepy (especially Auon, I'm sensing some wicked nightmares tonight), it felt like listening to the static ambient music while playing Silent Hill :S ...but I wished she'd do something more understandable (at least to me), dunno how to explain this in simpler words, something I'd be able to listen to a second time...
Ilham - 17.01.2011 at 01:24  
Well, you know you're far too much into internet porn when you read a review, and recognize the name of an, underground, but one of your favorite, actresses.
Ilham - 17.01.2011 at 01:25  
Written by iMPERiAL_iCE on 07.01.2011 at 03:31

off-topic: anyway, did anybody notice that not a single female metalstormer has posted anything???????
on-topic: if Sasha Grey would piss on a piece of paper and sell it as art...I'd buy it on second thoughts I wish she'd so that


I read this after commenting. Sorry to ruin it for you. And no female MSers ever comment on Lucas' reviews. They know what to expect.
iMPERiAL_iCE - 20.01.2011 at 18:13  
Written by Ilham on 17.01.2011 at 01:25

Written by iMPERiAL_iCE on 07.01.2011 at 03:31

off-topic: anyway, did anybody notice that not a single female metalstormer has posted anything???????
on-topic: if Sasha Grey would piss on a piece of paper and sell it as art...I'd buy it on second thoughts I wish she'd so that


I read this after commenting. Sorry to ruin it for you. And no female MSers ever comment on Lucas' reviews. They know what to expect.


don't worry hun, I'm used to you ruining everything for me XD (that also includes FB statuses)
SlaytanicGonzo - 25.01.2011 at 10:17  
After hearing a few songs I must say: She should stick to sucking c***
Slayer666 - 26.01.2011 at 17:42  
Written by SlaytanicGonzo on 25.01.2011 at 10:17

After hearing a few songs I must say: She should stick to sucking c***

She pretty much sucks it on this record as well.
OH, SNAP!
Guib - 11.06.2011 at 20:04  
Yeah well personally... I don't find anything interesting in this ''Style''... I don't get where metal comes into play ? DOes this album really deserve to be on this website when knowing that some actual metal bands are blacklisted... I don't think so.
!J.O.O.E.! - 11.06.2011 at 20:10  
Watching Sasha Grey in porn is virtually impossible; she constantly insists on making inane "sexy" dialogue. She just needs to shush.
Troy Killjoy - 12.06.2011 at 01:26  
Written by !J.O.O.E.! on 11.06.2011 at 20:10

Watching Sasha Grey in porn is virtually impossible; she constantly insists on making inane "sexy" dialogue. She just needs to shush.

She could learn a thing or two from Jenna Haze.

I like this thread. It's actually more about pronz than music.
!J.O.O.E.! - 12.06.2011 at 07:42  
Written by Troy Killjoy on 12.06.2011 at 01:26

Written by !J.O.O.E.! on 11.06.2011 at 20:10

Watching Sasha Grey in porn is virtually impossible; she constantly insists on making inane "sexy" dialogue. She just needs to shush.

She could learn a thing or two from Jenna Haze.

I like this thread. It's actually more about pronz than music.

I agree, from this thread alone I've learned that I need to look up Jenna Haze which is more credible than most people's music recommendations.
Assassiyoun - 06.07.2011 at 05:03  
61 comments and...2 votes...wow...just wow... If she were to make a movie with this album as soundtrack, this would win the video of the year for sure...or maybe the drama for some ...Lucas?
Daniell - 06.07.2011 at 09:05  
Written by Troy Killjoy on 12.06.2011 at 01:26

Written by !J.O.O.E.! on 11.06.2011 at 20:10

Watching Sasha Grey in porn is virtually impossible; she constantly insists on making inane "sexy" dialogue. She just needs to shush.

She could learn a thing or two from Jenna Haze.

I like this thread. It's actually more about pronz than music.


The overall knowledge of porn actresses in this thread is immense. How do you learn the names of pornstars anyway? And, more importantly, do their names matter at all? After all, most of the time you're watching parts of their bodies that are far less recognizable than faces
Troy Killjoy - 06.07.2011 at 17:04  
Written by Daniell on 06.07.2011 at 09:05

How do you learn the names of pornstars anyway?

You stay single for a long period of time.
R Lewis - 20.01.2014 at 20:49  
Written by Troy Killjoy on 06.07.2011 at 17:04

You stay single for a long period of time.

Hey, how is it possible that it took me so much time to discover this review?

Sasha

Advertise on Metal Storm
Pages: 1 [2]


Login or register to post here.



Similar topics

Forum Topic Similarity Started
Albums ATelecine - A Cassette Tape Culture 7.5 05.01.2011 by Vikcen
Reviews The Ruins Of Beverast - Foulest Semen Of A Sheltered Elite 3 04.10.2009 by TheBigRossowski
Reviews 16 - Bridges To Burn 3 17.11.2009 by Thanntos
Reviews Chaos Moon - Languor Into Echoes, Beyond 3 14.01.2010 by -DC-002-
Reviews The Ruins Of Beverast - Rain Upon The Impure 3 24.07.2009 by Thanntos



Hits total: 8062 | This month: 1