Rating:
7.0
Hæresiarchs Of Dis - Denuntiatus Cinis
12 October 2010


01. Entry
02. Intent The Proem
03. The Respite
04. Intent Canticle
05. Intent The Augury
06. Bemoan The Fallen
07. Median Existere
08. Nine Days They Fell
09. Intent Concupiscence
10. Ad Baculum
11. Intent The Succedaneum
12. Intent Postremo Enclosure Orsorum
13. Exeunt


Black metal
United States
Moribund Records

Line-up on the CD:
Cernunnos - vocals, all instruments


Hæresiarchs Of Dis is a one-man occult black metal project formed in the late '90s that reeks of early Emperor imitation yet never seems to capture the essence of what makes a great black metal album. I'm talking about songwriting of course: everyone and their dog can write cliche riffs according to the restrictions of a specific metal genre, but to do it in such a way that breaks through to an entire audience and demands their undivided attention - that is what music is all about.

Denuntiatus Cinis immediately falls flat in that regard. While there is an "epic" feel to the songs, some truly amazing melodies, and what comes off as an atmosphere that pays homage to many of Norway's grimmest black metal titans, the overall lack of direction makes for an unfortunately forgettable listen. Almost every song is too long, much like the poetry of an obnoxious high school kid trying to impress his classmates and/or teacher with his very own "Odyssey".

So we have some aggression balanced by melody, eerie instrumentals and interludes, atmospheric chants - the works. But all we're left with as an audience is something so jumbled it doesn't have any lasting power. It takes an awful long time to finish the album and once it does reach an end, there really isn't much to say for it - just some lazily programmed drum work, typical song structures, and predictable black metal riffage with a hint of dark ambience.

Aside from just being a black metal album, Denuntiatus Cinis doesn't offer much to the average listener. Fans of the genre will appreciate it simply for the fact that it's another new album to eat up and make an opinion about, but overall this isn't something the metal world should get too worked up about. The guitar work is above average, Cernunnos's shrieks are strong (though samey), and the "necro sound" isn't abused.

So what's the deal?

Is it symphonic? Is it traditional? It's hard to say, because it seems that it tries too hard to be both. And trying to be something in the metal world, even if it only comes off as trying, simply won't cut it. Maybe our composer ought to get out of California and head north for some inspiration (as well as someone to handle real drumming duties). There's potential for greatness in the near future here, but this album is already a thing of the past.


Website: http://www.myspace.com/heresiarchsofdis

Performance: 8
Songwriting: 6
Originality: 6
Production: 8


Website: http://www.toadstoolcomics.com/dis/


 



Written on 12.01.2011 by
Troy Killjoy
Just another opinionated guy telling you what to listen to.
More reviews by Troy Killjoy ››



Comments

‹‹ Back to the Reviews
Comments: 14  
Users visited: 112  
Search this topic:  


Mikyz - 12.01.2011 at 08:35  
Solid Review, but I disagree. I enjoyed this releases very much, some songs create an atmosphere similar to that of Emperor and others blast away reminding me of Anaal Nathrakh at times. Also, an album which was able to captivate me for the whole 70 minutes, is surely of high quality. Easily 8+ material.
RavenKing - 12.01.2011 at 14:26  
I listened to this album at the store a few weeks ago. Music is average at best, forgettable and I disliked the vocals. Imo, they really suck.

Really not something you need in your collection, even if you're a Black metal fan.
!J.O.O.E.! - 12.01.2011 at 15:05  
Written by RavenKing on 12.01.2011 at 14:26

Really not something you need in your collection, even if you're a Black metal fan.

Unless you know, are an Emperor fan, or like, appeciate well executed music, or kinda you know, don't hate everything.

Going on the YouTube tracks I've heard you've pretty much hit the nail on the proverbial Troy m'boy. Decent and enjoyable stuff but suffering a little bit from the wish-I-was'
Thryce - 12.01.2011 at 15:41  
Written by RavenKing on 12.01.2011 at 14:26

I listened to this album at the store a few weeks ago. bla bla suck bla bla

Sooo basically, you're telling us you based your, as always, well-reasoned opinion on that one time you heard this album in a record store?? Wow, this explains a lot. And great way to bolster your credibility there, chief.
Mikyz - 12.01.2011 at 17:58  
Written by Thryce on 12.01.2011 at 15:41

Written by RavenKing on 12.01.2011 at 14:26

I listened to this album at the store a few weeks ago. bla bla suck bla bla

Sooo basically, you're telling us you based your, as always, well-reasoned opinion on that one time you heard this album in a record store?? Wow, this explains a lot. And great way to bolster your credibility there, chief.


I Second this. The only thing his comment did is anger me. No one likes me angry
RavenKing - 13.01.2011 at 00:20  
Written by Thryce on 12.01.2011 at 15:41

Written by RavenKing on 12.01.2011 at 14:26

I listened to this album at the store a few weeks ago. bla bla suck bla bla

Sooo basically, you're telling us you based your, as always, well-reasoned opinion on that one time you heard this album in a record store?? Wow, this explains a lot. And great way to bolster your credibility there, chief.


When you're experienced enough, it doesn't take long to make your mind about something. Having standards help too. Not my problem if people are so keen at praising every crap.

But again, thanks for your kind words, Mr Trite.
Couldn't care less for the opinion of others or things like credibility from the 'so great' metal community. Fuck you all, if you're not happy.
Thryce - 13.01.2011 at 08:25  
Written by RavenKing on 13.01.2011 at 00:20

Having standards help too.

Dismissing everything as crap is a standard? What is more baffling is that, seeing you constantly harass everyone with what you think is terrible music, which is right about everything, they even let you in that store.
RavenKing - 13.01.2011 at 14:17  
Written by Thryce on 13.01.2011 at 08:25

Written by RavenKing on 13.01.2011 at 00:20

Having standards help too.

Dismissing everything as crap is a standard? What is more baffling is that, seeing you constantly harass everyone with what you think is terrible music, which is right about everything, they even let you in that store.


I'm really amazed by your intelligence. Not even being able to draw a line between a stupid online board and real life. Once again, you impress me.

Anyway, why do you bother quoting me? Do I hurt your butt so much?
Do you fail to understand that I find it amusing when people bother enough for your words on something as trivial as an online board that they hate you because of what you're saying?

The more pissed off fanboys and imbeciles are, all the funniest. And the more they hate me, the better.
The only thing those who can't stand negative comments are good for is having fun with their over-sensitivity.
Thryce - 13.01.2011 at 14:40  
Written by RavenKing on 13.01.2011 at 14:17

I'm really amazed by your intelligence.

Another thing I noticed with my supreme intelligence is that when someone calls you out on something, you take negative remarks as positive things, and insults as compliments. Sheds a whole new light on your posting history actually. Turns out this little rascal here is actually an avid power metal fan
RavenKing - 13.01.2011 at 14:56  
Written by Thryce on 13.01.2011 at 14:40

Written by RavenKing on 13.01.2011 at 14:17

I'm really amazed by your intelligence.

Another thing I noticed with my supreme intelligence is that when someone calls you out on something, you take negative remarks as positive things, and insults as compliments. Sheds a whole new light on your posting history actually. Turns out this little rascal here is actually an avid power metal fan


Your intelligence (well, lack of) impresses me even more. Says a lot about this board, if a fucking retard like you can become a mod. Talking of low standards, we have a perfect example here.
I stopped listening to Powermetal over a decade ago and hate this genre nowadays. I even hate stuff I liked 15 years ago.

I take insults from imbeciles as compliments because the opinion of those people, I don't value, in fact. In other words, it amuses me to piss them off, so I find it funny when my words hurt their feelings.

But (sorry, you're probably too stupid to understand), it's a completely different case when it comes to my own comments. If I say I hate something, I really hate it. And if I say something is great, I truely believe it is great.
Thryce - 13.01.2011 at 17:37  
Written by RavenKing on 13.01.2011 at 14:56

Says a lot about this board, if a fucking retard like you can become a mod.

Pissing off imbeciles sounds indeed like a lot of fun. Might try it some time.
!J.O.O.E.! - 13.01.2011 at 17:41  
I think it says a lot about someone's personality when they dedicate a lot of their time trawling through a variety of bands and reviews (mostly easy targets I might add) just to complain. If it is indeed done just to piss people off and provoke reactions it sounds like that person has some real life deficiencies they need to address, asap.
Mikyz - 13.01.2011 at 17:48  
Written by !J.O.O.E.! on 13.01.2011 at 17:41

I think it says a lot about someone's personality when they dedicate a lot of their time trawling through a variety of bands and reviews (mostly easy targets I might add) just to complain. If it is indeed done just to piss people off and provoke reactions it sounds like that person has some real life deficiencies they need to address, asap.


If he has a life that is.
Slayer666 - 13.01.2011 at 21:42  
@Thryce and !J.O.O.E.!
Obvious troll is an obvious troll guys, just go with it.

Advertise on Metal Storm


Login or register to post here.



Similar topics

Forum Topic Similarity Started
Reviews Hæresiarchs Of Dis - In Obsecration Of The Seven Darks 9 05.04.2011 by toadstoolcomics
Reviews LIK - Lekamen Illusionen Kallet 5 11.06.2010 by Mikyz
Reviews Shemhamphorash - Sulphur 5 21.05.2010 by Mikyz
Reviews Hacavitz - Metzli Obscura 4.5 30.07.2010 by Uirapuru
Reviews Psycho - Pain Addict Pigs 4.5 18.02.2011 by Yojimbo



Hits total: 3218 | This month: 28