Era Decay - Ashes review



Reviewer:
7.2
Band: Era Decay
Album: Ashes
Release date: December 2010


01. Ravaged Master
02. Ashes
03. Rise
04. In A Second
05. Lady Of The Lake
06. Monologue
07. Devastation
08. Follow The Moon
09. Stoned
10. Pure Water
11. Don't Be A Slave


This is a review about the album Ashes. No, it's not Tristania's release here but the second full-length album by Era Decay from Romania. This melodic death/doom act have already offered some nice and slow music a bit similar to Flowing Tears and the early The Gathering. As both these similar bands also recruited female vocalists at some point then I think this band could also experiment with some pretty girl to add some new colours to the music one day.

While the first album Silent Stories was more slow and gloomy then the new one has added some pace in several songs and even taken an approach similar to In Flames in quite many places on this album. In fact it could be claimed that this album is a transition away from the slower doom side to stress the melodic death style more. That is not a bad thing that the band experiments. This album might offer something especially for those who prefer upbeat and energetic atmosphere to a gloomy and slow one.

The good moments of this album come from different categories. The title track still bears the characteristics of the slower style while tracks such as "Lady Of The Lake", "Devastation" and "Stoned" represent the newer and catchier sound reminiscent of groups such as In Flames. A few profanities in the song "Don't Be A Slave" are left to be judged according to the taste of the listeners. It's a bit of a deviation from the otherwise poetical music. The strongest points of this particular album are the two very good and well composed instrumental tracks "Rise" and "Pure Water" which actually are the main highlights and form the axis for the entire album. The musicians do a grand job plus the production has also improved. All in all we have a nice melodic death work here.


Rating breakdown
Performance: 9
Songwriting: 9
Originality: 7
Production: 8

Written by Ernis | 28.01.2011


 


Comments

Comments: 10   Visited by: 102 users
28.01.2011 - 21:29
Ernis
狼獾
Since the band wishes everyone to know that it's distributed freely, they have asked everyone to visit their homepage where you can find the download links under the "Media" section.
----
Go ahead, make my day...
Loading...
28.01.2011 - 21:41
Troy Killjoy
perfunctionist
Tristania - Ashes
Era Decay - Ashes
Necronoclast - Ashes
Pain Of Salvation - Ashes
The Prophecy - Ashes

Yeesh.
----
Prettier than BloodTears.
Loading...
29.01.2011 - 12:18
Jeeers
Shitty album...
Loading...
30.01.2011 - 03:05
Susan
Smeghead
Thanks Troy, we can officially add "Ashes" to a list of most over-used words in metal.

I'm about half way through this album and haven't made up my mind. There are some nice bits, and it's very chill, but also erratic and unfocused at times. I'll finish listening and see how it pans out in my opinion.
----
"A life all mine
Is what I choose
At the end of my days"
--The Gathering "A Life All Mine" from Souvenirs
Loading...
30.01.2011 - 23:00
Ernis
狼獾
Written by Troy Killjoy on 28.01.2011 at 21:41

Tristania - Ashes
Era Decay - Ashes
Necronoclast - Ashes
Pain Of Salvation - Ashes
The Prophecy - Ashes

Yeesh.

Burzum - Aske
----
Go ahead, make my day...
Loading...
30.01.2011 - 23:02
Troy Killjoy
perfunctionist
Written by Ernis on 30.01.2011 at 23:00

Written by Troy Killjoy on 28.01.2011 at 21:41

Tristania - Ashes
Era Decay - Ashes
Necronoclast - Ashes
Pain Of Salvation - Ashes
The Prophecy - Ashes

Yeesh.

Burzum - Aske

Damn you and your fifty languages! haha
----
Prettier than BloodTears.
Loading...
30.01.2011 - 23:09
Lucas
Mr. Noise
Written by Troy Killjoy on 30.01.2011 at 23:02

Written by Ernis on 30.01.2011 at 23:00

Written by Troy Killjoy on 28.01.2011 at 21:41

Tristania - Ashes
Era Decay - Ashes
Necronoclast - Ashes
Pain Of Salvation - Ashes
The Prophecy - Ashes

Yeesh.

Burzum - Aske

Damn you and your fifty languages! haha


+

Ashes - Nihilist
----
SLUDGE. DOOM. DEATH. Wait, what?

"The reason I'm running for president is because I can't be Bruce Springsteen." - Barack Obama
Loading...
30.01.2011 - 23:14
Troy Killjoy
perfunctionist
Written by Lucas on 30.01.2011 at 23:09

Ashes - Nihilist

That doesn't count Lucas.
----
Prettier than BloodTears.
Loading...
02.02.2011 - 19:45
Winterthrone
Lamb Of God-ASHES of The Wake
Loading...
19.07.2011 - 13:02
soldier_of_doom
Agalloch - Ashes Against the Grain
Loading...

Advertise on Metal Storm

Hits total: 3565 | This month: 6