Shining (NOR) - Blackjazz review



Reviewer:
9.4

153 users:
8.11
Band: Shining (NOR)
Album: Blackjazz
Release date: January 2010


01. The Madness And The Damage Done
02. Fisheye
03. Exit Sun
04. Exit Sun
05. HEALTER SKELTER
06. The Madness And The Damage Done
07. Blackjazz Deathtrance
08. Omen
09. 21st Century Schizoid Man [King Crimson cover]


"The ever downward spiral, the inevitable tide
The outlines of a beast, slowly taking form
Pixel by pixel, giving birth to deadly shape"


Replace 'pixel' by 'note', and that is quite an accurate description of what you're about to face with this Blackjazz

Oh My Fucking God

Yeah that'll probably be your reaction when you'll hear it. And for a good reason: this is one of the most mind-blowing albums released in 2010. A unique, weird, and really violent monster of a record. So be prepared for quite a ride, and not an easy one at that!

The Ultra-Violence

Deviant electronica, aggressive industrial sound processing, a real and almost physical wall of sound pounding on your ears and brain. Distorted guitars… but not as much as the vocals, which are sometimes twisted beyond recognition. And insane drumming, more than awesome in its craziness and technicality. Oops. I just forgot there are weird 'Space Invaders' sounds ("The Madness And The Damage Done", "Fisheye"), and also some noisy, unbearable moments ("Exit Sun", "Omen").

But how can one really describe this, anyway? Let's try to add some more elements beyond this collage of adjectives and barest descriptive hints.

So… We've got some quieter moments, here and there. Quieter, but usually not completely comfortable, especially considering they only prepare for more aggression. There are also these always moving song structures, with threads woven in and out across the songs (that's easily noticeable with the vocals, for example), and all this ultra-violence flowing in a - seemingly - barely controlled chaos… just like on a jazz record. A dark, completely unhinged one, that goes without saying.

And then… This crazy sax. Yeah, the one that also appeared on Ihsahn's After, it's quite unforgettable on "Helter Skelter" which is soooo King Crimson - with an harsher edge of course.

21st Century Schizoid Man

Speaking of King Crimson, one can help but notice this cover (featuring Enslaved's Grutle). It is totally different from the original… yet unmistakably the same. It's twisted almost beyond recognition, aggressive and noisy as never before. Exactly the reasons why it's terribly relevant and still totally progressive (as in, forward movement in music, you know). Maybe the song's title never fitted so well before... The climax of a mind-bending album.

Blackjazz Deathtrance

This song has such a suitable name. It is exactly that: a trance of death totally encompassing the whole Blackjazz album. And as such, 11 minutes of pure twisted bliss - but without the saxophone.

A dark diamond hidden in a noisy hell.

And that is the perfect description of this album.

The Madness And The Damage Done

This music sure is brain-damaging. By the time you'll have understood what really happens on this record, your ears will bleed, and your brain will have melted away. This audio pain will make you crazy, yet in your masochism you'll crave for more. You're indeed mad, the damage is done.

Come join the club!


 



Written on 14.02.2011 by Once your regular Hellfest reporter, now retired. I (strangely enough) listen to a lot of metal. And enjoy good beers, comics, novels and role-playing games.


Comments page 2 / 2

Comments: 44   Visited by: 406 users
16.02.2011 - 18:10
Lovecraft
Account deleted
I really haven't listened to the album enough times to judge it. I listened to it once, and I found it interesting, but somehow forgettable. I should definitely give it some more spins to see for myself.

As for the review, I liked it. I liked how you divided it. It was definitely a good read and it makes me want to listen to the album again.
Loading...
16.02.2011 - 22:54
Darkside Momo
Retired
Eh eh, thanks!
----

"You must stay drunk on writing so reality cannot destroy you" - Ray Bradbury

"I've lost too many years now
I'm stealing back my soul
I'm awake now"
Abney Park (Letter Between A Little Boy & Himself As An Adult)
Loading...
16.02.2011 - 23:11
Introspekrieg
Totemic Lust
Written by Darkside Momo on 16.02.2011 at 14:59

Written by Introspekrieg on 16.02.2011 at 06:53

There was jazz on this?

Yes there is, for sure!
But I understand your puzzlement, as I was finally able to listen to Grindstone, and surely the jazz on that one is at the same time more important, and more 'classical' (ah, the piano solo on "Winterreise")


My puzzlement mostly stems from the way they have taken the jazz influence and dismantled it into an abrasive style that is almost unrecognizable, yet ultimately impressive. I guess all the fundamentals are still there, but I hear mostly industrial-tinged avantgarde with some sludgy grooves. The sax and synth really mix this thing up until it's a zany hail of destruction. I haven't made my mind up completely on this one, it is an engaging listen for me, but I'm not fully satisfied. Adding the extreme edge and weirdness for the sake of being weird mean nothing without substance. The songs are still growing on me, catching an infectious rhythm here, a twisted scream reverberating in my memory there. I absolutely love the drum work- driving the intensity up a few notches.
Very nice review, your words really sparked my interest and I continue to be fascinated.
Loading...
16.02.2011 - 23:23
Darkside Momo
Retired
Written by Introspekrieg on 16.02.2011 at 23:11

Written by Darkside Momo on 16.02.2011 at 14:59

Written by Introspekrieg on 16.02.2011 at 06:53

There was jazz on this?

Yes there is, for sure!
But I understand your puzzlement, as I was finally able to listen to Grindstone, and surely the jazz on that one is at the same time more important, and more 'classical' (ah, the piano solo on "Winterreise")


My puzzlement mostly stems from the way they have taken the jazz influence and dismantled it into an abrasive style that is almost unrecognizable, yet ultimately impressive. I guess all the fundamentals are still there, but I hear mostly industrial-tinged avantgarde with some sludgy grooves. The sax and synth really mix this thing up until it's a zany hail of destruction. I haven't made my mind up completely on this one, it is an engaging listen for me, but I'm not fully satisfied. Adding the extreme edge and weirdness for the sake of being weird mean nothing without substance. The songs are still growing on me, catching an infectious rhythm here, a twisted scream reverberating in my memory there. I absolutely love the drum work- driving the intensity up a few notches.
Very nice review, your words really sparked my interest and I continue to be fascinated.

Thanks! And yes I guess you're absolutely spot_on when you say "zany hail of destruction"
But as far as substance is concerned, I consider myself fully satisfied. I discovered them with this album, and now I'm just starting to catch up, but I can't say it is less 'substantial' than Grindstone. It's just a different experiment, I think...
Oh and yes, 'awesome' barely describes the drumming. I was really blown away - and this guy is as awesome on the previous ones. Intensity, technicality, groove, he does it all, and then some.
----

"You must stay drunk on writing so reality cannot destroy you" - Ray Bradbury

"I've lost too many years now
I'm stealing back my soul
I'm awake now"
Abney Park (Letter Between A Little Boy & Himself As An Adult)
Loading...
17.02.2011 - 00:30
Daydream Nation
Account deleted
Written by Troy Killjoy on 16.02.2011 at 08:35

Written by Guest on 16.02.2011 at 03:48

Oh, and one more thing. Maybe you'll see my point-- listen to Blackjazz a couple more times and listen to your favourite Devin Townsend/SYL album.

Not possible, as I don't like any of Townsend's works.


Hahahahaha.
Loading...
17.02.2011 - 12:39
Merchant of Doom
I love the King Crimson's cover... the rest is NIN on acid...
Loading...
20.02.2011 - 01:02
INÆRIS
WICKED! This is such a cool record. I have so many questions to ask this band about their production and studio work in this album. There's some great stuff going on.
----
Still Life, Still Death
Loading...
21.02.2011 - 22:46
Fat & Sassy!
Nomcat
Written by Guest on 15.02.2011 at 15:49

That's patently untrue: even bad sex is good sex. It's like pizza, even when it's not very good it's still good.


And this, ladies and gentlemen, is the most beautiful metaphor of the meaning of life ever conceived by man.
----
"Information is not knowledge
Knowledge is not wisdom
Wisdom is not truth
Truth is not beauty
Beauty is not love
Love is not music
Music is THE BEST..." ____Frank Zappa
Loading...
22.02.2011 - 16:01
Slayer666
Written by Fat & Sassy! on 21.02.2011 at 22:46

Written by Guest on 15.02.2011 at 15:49

That's patently untrue: even bad sex is good sex. It's like pizza, even when it's not very good it's still good.


And this, ladies and gentlemen, is the most beautiful metaphor of the meaning of life ever conceived by man.

After reading this sentence of yours, I think it's safe to assume that someone here "got some" recently.
Loading...
23.02.2011 - 06:22
3rdWorldFuckFace
Account deleted
This album reminds of the time i heard the first NIN song "Mr Self Destruct" off their album "the downward spiral".................boy, is it good for me? Fuck it!!!!!!!!!!!!!! this is the most skullcrunching thing from 2010
Loading...
23.02.2011 - 16:19
!J.O.O.E.!
Account deleted
Actually they remind me of Atari Teenage Riot / Alec Empire at times.
Loading...
01.03.2011 - 01:53
wormdrink414
My roommate, who listens to 50 Cent, said that this is the worst shit he's ever heard. Therefore, by the rules of reason, it's a good album.
Loading...
16.07.2011 - 22:20
Mr. Doctor
Skandino
Written by wormdrink414 on 01.03.2011 at 01:53

My roommate, who listens to 50 Cent, said that this is the worst shit he's ever heard. Therefore, by the rules of reason, it's a good album.


Woa, does he have any good qualities? Because liking 50 Cent means that dude most pay at least more money for the rent or make some excellent meals.
----
Written by BloodTears on 19.08.2011 at 18:29
Like you could kiss my ass
Written by Milena on 20.06.2012 at 10:49
Rod, let me love you.
Loading...
16.07.2011 - 23:31
wormdrink414
Written by Mr. Doctor on 16.07.2011 at 22:20

Woa, does he have any good qualities? Because liking 50 Cent means that dude most pay at least more money for the rent or make some excellent meals.

I singled out one roommate there. There were 3. All of whom listened to 1. Taylor Swift, 2. Lil Wayne, 3. 50 Cent, etc. etc. Surprised I made it out of there.

All good people, though. Good people who have absolutely no discernible taste when it comes to music.

Oh, and I'll keep the pay more for rent idea in mind for next school year.
Loading...

Hits total: 6675 | This month: 33