Rating:
N/A
November-7 - Season 3
4 February 2011


01. Her Name
02. In My Mind
03. Parasite
04. Angel
05. Nowhere
06. Amber Light
07. Untie Your Hands
08. In Love With Hate
09. Falling Down
10. World In Agony
11. In Love With Hate [Soft Mix]
12. Parasite [Radio Edit]


I love being surprised. I love when I come across an album that seems like it would be nothing more than typical or mediocre and it turns out in fact to be quite good. Given the crowded genre that November-7 chooses to inhabit (electronically-tinged, female-fronted symphonic metal), and the nature of their stylized band photos, I braced for the worst. Wrong, actually!

As I've been listening to their album Season 3 I've enjoyed their groove, melodies, and solid songwriting. Especially in a genre like this you can usually hear a marked quality difference between the new and/or struggling bands and the successful ones. Well, not this time: November-7's Season 3 has the key attributes of a successful, professional band, with quality in production and mix, songwriting, and performance. If they keep this up it'll only be a matter of time for them.

A nice blend of tempos and moods can be had, and the electronic elements seem at times like the glue bonding everything together. The keyboards or vocals never overwhelm you, and when the guitars are unleashed, the heavier songs make you feel right at home. Due to the seemingly unlimited supply of beautiful, memorable melodies, I could easily imagine fans arguing over what the "best songs" really are. I don't know if I could choose one, possibly the hard hitting "Angel," the mesmerizing "Untie Your Hands," or perhaps "World in Agony," the high-energy closer; ending on such a strong note brings about an irresistible urge to play the album again.

Vocalist Annamaria Cozza is remarkably consistent. She's not the next great metal singer, but she's passionate and has a strong, belting voice. Most importantly, though, she's smart and can make her voice complement the music in ways that too many more talented vocalists can't seem to. Consistency is actually all over this album; with each of the players everything is well executed. Some songs lean toward the commercial side of things but never at the expense of the music. Dearest readers, I've enjoyed this music very much and hope some of you will be as pleasantly surprised as I was.


Band profile: November-7
Album: Season 3


 



Written on 04.03.2011 by
Susan
Susan appreciates quality metal regardless of genre. Metal Storm Staff since 2006.

Twitter: @HeavyMetalSusan
More reviews by Susan ››



Comments

‹‹ Back to the Reviews
Comments: 10  
Users visited: 285  
Search this topic:  


Ag Fox - 04.03.2011 at 14:56  
I shall definitely check this out. Either 2011 was pretty rubbish for Symphonic Metal (bar Edenbridge) or it's just my taste drifting further and further away this sub-genre which I once used to adore...

EDIT: Just on my third track, but this is seriously good! Definitely feels fresh.Thanks (=
seafood - 05.03.2011 at 20:33  
Written by Ag Fox on 04.03.2011 at 14:56

Either 2011 was pretty rubbish for Symphonic Metal (bar Edenbridge) or it's just my taste drifting further and further away this sub-genre which I once used to adore...


Those were exactly my thoughts after listening to this years Symphonic category on MS Awards. It actually killed my taste for this subgenre for some time.. but the review at least made me curious about this.
Ag Fox - 05.03.2011 at 22:34  
Written by seafood on 05.03.2011 at 20:33

Written by Ag Fox on 04.03.2011 at 14:56

Either 2011 was pretty rubbish for Symphonic Metal (bar Edenbridge) or it's just my taste drifting further and further away this sub-genre which I once used to adore...


Those were exactly my thoughts after listening to this years Symphonic category on MS Awards. It actually killed my taste for this subgenre for some time.. but the review at least made me curious about this.
go for it! It's pretty good actually. Lyrinan's review did it justice
Powerslavex - 08.03.2011 at 00:03  
I love being be surprised, so i going to check this album out
Justicelust - 13.03.2011 at 18:26  
I don't know why I don't like Symphonic Metal any more, but I can say that November-7 returned my taste.
parasite is the best track IMO.
Susan - 13.03.2011 at 18:30  
Written by Justicelust on 13.03.2011 at 18:26

I don't know why I don't like Symphonic Metal any more, but I can say that November-7 returned my taste.
parasite is the best track IMO.


I'm so glad to hear you liked it. Yeah, while on one hand they're not doing anything revolutionary or strange, they're definitely different enough to breathe new life into the genre. I think Ag Fox put it perfectly when he just said it's "fresh."
Justicelust - 14.03.2011 at 00:16  
Written by Susan on 13.03.2011 at 18:30

Written by Justicelust on 13.03.2011 at 18:26

I don't know why I don't like Symphonic Metal any more, but I can say that November-7 returned my taste.
parasite is the best track IMO.


I'm so glad to hear you liked it. Yeah, while on one hand they're not doing anything revolutionary or strange, they're definitely different enough to breathe new life into the genre. I think Ag Fox put it perfectly when he just said it's "fresh."


and i'm so glad you did a review for this gem otherwise I would miss it. yeah this is really different. I just can not stop listening. thank you.
ErnilEnNaur - 14.03.2011 at 05:18  
They sound like pretty standard symphonic prog to me, I am not exactly disappointed, but nor am I surprised or blown-away. The song-writing just doesn't do anything for me, sorry
Slinky666 - 12.12.2011 at 05:46  
With this album the luck is again on ladies' side. Nice work!
Jason W. - 20.01.2012 at 09:53  
I've been listening to this album quite frequently in the past month, and for sure Annamaria & the band are consistent! This is an album with a ton of replay value, even after just listening to it! I've found my favorite songs being "In My Mind" (such a cool video!) and "World In Agony," where I love the forced breathy exhales by Annamaria. Great stuff

Advertise on Metal Storm


Login or register to post here.



Similar topics

Forum Topic Similarity Started
Reviews November-7 - Awaraxid 7mg 6 05.11.2014 by Darkside Momo
Reviews Chariots Of The Gods - Tides Of War 3 24.01.2013 by Guib
Reviews Endless Horizon - Annihilation Of Human Beliefs 3 15.02.2013 by K†ulu
Albums November-7 - Awaraxid 7mg 3 12.10.2014 by Susan
Reviews Spheron - Ecstasy Of God 3 23.06.2013 by MechanisT



Hits total: 6225 | This month: 45