Rating:
7.6
A Cold Dead Body - Harvest Years
16 December 2010


01. Semen
02. The Womb
03. Madre Pt.1
04. Our Best Years
05. The Chosen Ones
06. Madre Pt.2
07. Collapse
08. Zero
09. Divinity


A Cold Dead Body is a post-metal/post-sludge band with an Indie Rock vocalist. Well, not entirely, he's got the deep-throated thing down well, but his clean vocals are pretty cool and really stood out for me.

The album itself has a theme that should be clear to anyone even glancing at the track listing… from sperm to person to nothing. It's the life cycle, all compressed into nine tracks and just under 40 minutes.

Musically, it is an enjoyable listen. Harvest Years has varying degrees of intensity, mellow bits with clean tones and clean vocals one moment become raging slabs of shouts and distorted, crushing riffs a few ticks of the second hand later. Synth string sections add some serious moments of melancholy to help further accentuate the shifts in moods with the shifts in musical style.

All in all it works really well. The various shifts in vocal and musical approaches, coupled with the sways of emotional impact keep the whole thing interesting.

Honestly, this was a pretty cool release. I've listened to this thing for a couple weeks now trying to find a way to best describe it (near epic fail on my part) and though the words have been hard in coming, the album has still held up and kept my interest over nearly two dozen listens.

Nice work by the Italian quartet. Benissimo.

Performance: 9
Songwriting: 8
Originality: 9
Production: 9


Website: http://www.acolddeadbody.com


 



Written on 29.03.2011 by
BitterCOld
BitterCOld has been officially reviewing albums for MetalStorm since 2009.
More reviews by BitterCOld ››



Comments

‹‹ Back to the Reviews
Comments: 7  
Users visited: 156  
Search this topic:  


Mr. Doctor - 29.03.2011 at 18:32  
Hhahhaah Poor BitterCOld, I can really see why you started a thread to get some advices so you stop being stressed about the reviews.
But still, nice review.... Got me quite interested on the band. Nice artwork btw.
BitterCOld - 29.03.2011 at 18:36  
Written by Mr. Doctor on 29.03.2011 at 18:32

Hhahhaah Poor BitterCOld, I can really see why you started a thread to get some advices so you stop being stressed about the reviews.
But still, nice review.... Got me quite interested on the band. Nice artwork btw.


just not used to having more than 2-3 "pro" reviews (as opposed to just doing whatever i want) lined up at a time. so 17 is a bit daunting. It's all good music.

if you dig post-rock/post-whatever stuff as well as metal, this is a pretty cool release as it bounces between the two.
Mr. Doctor - 29.03.2011 at 18:39  
Written by BitterCOld on 29.03.2011 at 18:36

just not used to having more than 2-3 "pro" reviews (as opposed to just doing whatever i want) lined up at a time. so 17 is a bit daunting. It's all good music.
if you dig post-rock/post-whatever stuff as well as metal, this is a pretty cool release as it bounces between the two.


Yeah I will check them out. You should try to relax more though. This is not a job.
BloodTears - 29.03.2011 at 19:00  
I'm listening to a lot of post-everything these days. This one seems right up my alley. Will check it.
Omnicosm - 30.03.2011 at 17:58  
Hey man, excellent review. Don't let these assholes give you a hard time. I'm a big fan of many post-rock/metal groups (Maserati, Russian Circles, Pelican, ITTCT, etc.,) so this sounds very appealing. I'm definitely checking them out.
Merchant of Doom - 30.03.2011 at 18:06  
It is pretty good indeed...
InnerSelf - 31.03.2011 at 09:45  
I heard an older release by them "which name I can't remember" there were some violins in that release and I remember being really impressed . will surely check this one out

Advertise on Metal Storm


Login or register to post here.



Similar topics

Forum Topic Similarity Started
Reviews Who Dies In Siberian Slush - Bitterness Of The Years That Are Lost 4.5 19.02.2011 by MechanisT
Reviews Thine - The Dead City Blueprint 4.5 30.07.2014 by tea[m]ster
Reviews Wine From Tears - Glad To Be Dead 4.5 13.09.2013 by Merchant of Doom
Reviews Officium Triste - Charcoal Hearts - 15 Years Of Hurt - 4.5 12.10.2009 by Marcel Hubregtse
Reviews Cold Body Radiation - The Great White Emptiness 4 15.09.2010 by spirit_inblack



Hits total: 4562 | This month: 34