Rating:
5.0
Hrizg - Anthems To Decrepitude
3 May 2011


01. The Infernal Scripture
02. I Hate
03. Ab Aeterno
04. Opposite To Light
05. Anthem To Decrepitude
06. Angercraft
07. Necrosanctum
08. Into The Caves Of Earth
09. Invierno
10. In Solitude
11. Broken Shield


Black metal
Spain
Moribund Records

Line-up on the CD:
Hrizg - vocals, all instruments


"So what the hell is a Hrizg?"

Hrizg (apparently Orcish for "pain") is a one-man Spanish black metal band. It is also the name of said one man. Just to clear the air, that's the kind of creativity we're dealing with here. Now let's move on.

"So what's it sound like?"

Anthems To Decrepitude... Where to start? 1992 would be a good place: when Burzum's self-titled album was released. Raw production, dark atmosphere, primitive, intense - some of the most complimentary aspects of Burzum. But Anthems To Decrepitude? Not so much. The raw production sounds forced, not in the way that Varg purposefully recorded his material to make a stand against clean production, but in the way that Hrizg went out of his way to sound like Varg. This sets in motion a chain reaction; the atmosphere sounds forced, with the same goal in mind: sound like Burzum. There seems to be more plagiarism on this album than anything else, which totally takes away from the essence of the music.

It sounds like Varg has an ugly red-headed stepchild.

"But Troy, you can't compare some random new black metal band to the likes of Burzum. Varg's a god! A mastermind!"

Very well. On its own, Anthems To Decrepitude is a new old school black metal album that simply lacks flow and identity. Hrizg doesn't seem to be confident in a specific style, be it too fast, too slow, overly ambient, not ambient enough - it's all over the place. For something of an anorexic release, there is an awful lot of fat to carve through to get to the skeleton. At times it's almost painful how far away from any notable direction this album goes, despite attempting a tried and trve sound. There needed to be a lot less emphasis on worshiping Norway's original black metal scene and more focus on using that dark atmosphere to enhance the listening experience.

The songwriting is simplistic, the riffs seem to be trapped in a box and the few ideas that make an effort to present themselves are unfortunately smothered by the obtuse production. The story of each song takes too long to tell, and the most potent creations dry up before they rear their ugly head into what should be a more captivating climax.

After repeated listens, the sense of evil created by the dark atmosphere begins to wear thin and what you're left with is a pallid 50-minute journey into nothing more than a black hole.

"This is boring. I want to hear more about Burzum!"

Of course there is more to be said of Varg and Hrizg. Just listen to "Broken Shield": aka the Dauði Baldrs reject. That should lay to rest any belief that Hrizg is by any means an original concept. I mean, who tries to rip off Dauði Baldrs?


MySpace: http://www.myspace.com/hrizg

Performance: 5
Songwriting: 4
Originality: 3
Production: 5


 



Written on 12.04.2011 by
Troy Killjoy
Just another opinionated guy telling you what to listen to.
More reviews by Troy Killjoy ››



Comments

‹‹ Back to the Reviews
Comments: 18  
Users visited: 151  
Search this topic:  


wormdrink414 - 12.04.2011 at 03:16  
Reminds me a bit of Behemoth's really early stuff.
Troy Killjoy - 12.04.2011 at 03:17  
Written by wormdrink414 on 12.04.2011 at 03:16

Reminds me a bit of Behemoth's really early stuff.

Really? I quite like black metal era Behemoth, and I didn't get that from this album at all.
wormdrink414 - 12.04.2011 at 03:31  
Written by Troy Killjoy on 12.04.2011 at 03:17

Written by wormdrink414 on 12.04.2011 at 03:16

Reminds me a bit of Behemoth's really early stuff.

Really? I quite like black metal era Behemoth, and I didn't get that from this album at all.

When I listened to the third song on his myspace page, Grom (especially the first two or three tracks) came to mind first.

But this is coming from the guy who, more or less, compared Magical Mystery Tour with At the Heart of Winter...
wormdrink414 - 12.04.2011 at 03:32  
Shit, I was listening to a song off his earlier album.
Troy Killjoy - 12.04.2011 at 03:35  
Written by wormdrink414 on 12.04.2011 at 03:32

Shit, I was listening to a song off his earlier album.

No worries, I haven't bothered to check it out after I gave this a spin. If it sounds anything like Grom...I'll probably just stick with Grom.
wormdrink414 - 12.04.2011 at 03:40  
Written by Troy Killjoy on 12.04.2011 at 03:35

Written by wormdrink414 on 12.04.2011 at 03:32

Shit, I was listening to a song off his earlier album.

No worries, I haven't bothered to check it out after I gave this a spin. If it sounds anything like Grom...I'll probably just stick with Grom.

You know what, just scratch what I said. I'm listening to Grom right now. Not really that similar. Way better, and way more furious.
ScreamingSteelUS - 12.04.2011 at 04:03  
This album comes out on my birthday.
...
That being said, I think I'll look elsewhere for gifts.
Merchant of Doom - 12.04.2011 at 15:34  
Written by ScreamingSteelUS on 12.04.2011 at 04:03

This album comes out on my birthday.
...
That being said, I think I'll look elsewhere for gifts.


sorry, it's already in the post...
Troy Killjoy - 12.04.2011 at 15:39  
Written by Merchant of Doom on 12.04.2011 at 15:34

Written by ScreamingSteelUS on 12.04.2011 at 04:03

This album comes out on my birthday.
...
That being said, I think I'll look elsewhere for gifts.


sorry, it's already in the post...

That's two copies he's getting so far...
RavenKing - 13.04.2011 at 00:18  
Burzum sucks. There's no need for any band to attempt to sound like it.
Troy Killjoy - 13.04.2011 at 04:34  
Outspoken as usual RK.
Slayer666 - 21.04.2011 at 16:26  
The saddest thing about releases like this is their complete and total mediocrity.
IMO, it's much better when a band outright sucks. That way you can at least point and laugh at their pathetic attempt to bring out their inner, suburbian, childish kvltness.
Albums like this... they're not good enough to be listened to more than once or twice, nor are they bad enough for a listener to get a few cheap chuckles. They're just there, a pile of nothingness.
Troy Killjoy - 22.04.2011 at 02:03  
Written by Slayer666 on 21.04.2011 at 16:26

They're just there, a pile of nothingness.

Exactly. To me these albums are the worst. Not because musically they sound the worst. But because they fail at evoking any emotion. And if you can't grasp an audience (positively or negatively), then you haven't created art.
Mr. Doctor - 22.04.2011 at 02:32  
Written by Troy Killjoy on 22.04.2011 at 02:03

And if you can't grasp an audience (positively or negatively), then you haven't created art.


What? Are yoy saying that Striborg is art? Fuck that shit man
Troy Killjoy - 22.04.2011 at 02:40  
Written by Mr. Doctor on 22.04.2011 at 02:32

What? Are yoy saying that Striborg is art?

Absolutely. Striborg's music evokes feelings (mostly of frustration and rage), but it evokes feeling nonetheless. Artists that fail to evoke emotion are a sort of wolf in sheep's clothing if that makes sense.
Mr. Doctor - 22.04.2011 at 02:45  
Written by Troy Killjoy on 22.04.2011 at 02:40

Written by Mr. Doctor on 22.04.2011 at 02:32

What? Are yoy saying that Striborg is art?

(mostly of frustration and rage)


Well yeah I get mad, I want to punch the Sin Nanna in the face...
Slayer666 - 22.04.2011 at 14:15  
Written by Mr. Doctor on 22.04.2011 at 02:32

Written by Troy Killjoy on 22.04.2011 at 02:03

And if you can't grasp an audience (positively or negatively), then you haven't created art.


What? Are yoy saying that Striborg is art? Fuck that shit man

Aww, come on dude, Spiritual Catharasis is almost a decent album... I think.
But you know, I actually feel some sort of gratitude towards Sin Nanna. I always considered myself as a person with a flat zero in musical talent, but when I hear Ghostwoodlands, it makes me feel a whole lot better about myself in this aspect.
Troy Killjoy - 22.04.2011 at 16:17  
Written by Slayer666 on 22.04.2011 at 14:15

Aww, come on dude, Spiritual Catharasis is almost a decent album... I think.

Personally I don't think Striborg is as bad a sound as people make it out to be. I mean...I don't mean to imply I listen to Striborg's discography on a daily basis - but I've heard all the full-lengths and to be honest it was just like oh, this is raw and primitive, but not the greatest stuff out there; moving on. Apparently some people get like...offended by it or something.

Which I guess, as an artist, means you're doing something right.

Advertise on Metal Storm


Login or register to post here.



Similar topics

Forum Topic Similarity Started
Reviews Aiumeen Basoa - Iraganeko Bide Malkartsutik 4.5 15.05.2010 by Winterthrone
Reviews Spectral Lore - II 4.5 10.08.2010 by !J.O.O.E.!
Reviews Panzerchrist - Regiment Ragnarok 4.5 20.03.2011 by Void Eater
Reviews Nadiwrath - Nihilistic Stench 4.5 19.01.2011 by Yojimbo
Reviews Grave - Burial Ground 4.5 28.07.2010 by Dangerboner



Hits total: 3399 | This month: 46