Night Of Suicide - Desire review



Reviewer:
8.3

9 users:
7.89
Band: Night Of Suicide
Album: Desire
Release date: March 2011


01. My Thoughts
02. The Answer
03. Desire
04. Final Decision


Depressive band name? Check.
Gloomy album cover? Check.
Short tracklist in spite of a lengthy playing time? Check.
Forcing reviewers to overuse synonyms for "depressing"? Check.

Desire, Ben de Graaff and Markus Heinonen's third album via their collective mournful brainchild, Night Of Suicide, is a monolithic funeral doom album that seldom strays from the forlorn nature of the genre, walking the path of melancholy accompanied by an austere atmosphere and a variety of melodies as opposed to the path of rugged solitude. Despite this apparent level of ease, songs like "My Thoughts" and "Desire" retain enough anguish alone to end Charlie Sheen's winning streak.

de Graaff's unfathomable guttural output distorts even the most beautiful of Heinonen's riffs, at times attaining implacable depths. Many comparisons can be made to that of Johan Ericson's Doom:VS, and for good reason. Desire and Dead Words Speak compete on a fairly consistent level - both contain sorrowful melodies, self-loathing lyrical content, guttural vocals, semi-clean production, and a heavier atmosphere than Youtube's most-watched "fat people falling" compilation. All in all, you're looking at a well executed slab of extreme doom metal.

Desire is a rather typical funeral doom album, in that you'll be looking for the nearest bridge to jump off of if you happen to be listening to this on a leisurely night stroll. The epic guitar melodies add to the agony, and de Graaff's obscene vocal depth (it's worth another mention for its precision alone), is perfectly juxtaposed with Heinonen's more "approachable" musicianship. This makes for an enjoyable listen, one that is varied enough to keep your attention but not in any way complex.

Night Of Suicide are quickly working their way into becoming a common recommendation for fans of melodic funeral doom like Shape Of Despair and Officium Triste.


MySpace: http://www.myspace.com/nightofsuicide


Rating breakdown
Performance: 8
Songwriting: 8
Originality: 7
Production: 9


 



Written on 14.04.2011 by Just another opinionated guy telling you what to listen to.


Comments

Comments: 9   Visited by: 281 users
14.04.2011 - 19:49
BitterCOld
Gringo
Awesome, really looking forward to checking this one out... just have another half dozen other albums from Solitude to plow through first.
----
get the fuck off my lawn.
Loading...
15.04.2011 - 01:04
Merchant of Doom
Written by BitterCOld on 14.04.2011 at 19:49

just have another half dozen other albums from Solitude to plow through first.


I know the feeling... but Night Of Suicide latest effort is undoubtley their best and most depressing opus to date... It just combines lovely beautiful melodies with shattering growls and truly depressing atmosphere, which reminds you that this is a funeral doom album, after all. As I said before, as a comment in another review, the clean vocals let it down a bit, but luckily they are only used in one track. The band is progressing smoothly and I'm pretty confident their next album will be even better.
Loading...
15.04.2011 - 02:23
Troy Killjoy
perfunctionist
Written by Merchant of Doom on 15.04.2011 at 01:04

The band is progressing smoothly and I'm pretty confident their next album will be even better.

Agreed, and I can't wait for their next release.
----
Prettier than BloodTears.
Loading...
17.04.2011 - 22:42
Marcel Hubregtse
Grumpy Old Fuck
Okay, let me set this straight the band is from The Netherlands AND Finland. Ben is Dutch and Markus is Finnish and lives in Finland. The only gig Night Of Suicide have done up to now was a couple of weeks ago in Helsinki.


Still have to check Desire out. And to see other people also enjoying Ben's grunts. i'll pass this review on to him. I am sure he will be happy with it even though he is currently very busy with the organization of Dordrecht Doom Day on May with a killer line-up.
----
Member of the true crusade against European Flower Metal

Yesterday is dead and gone, tomorrow is out of sight
Dawn Crosby (r.i.p.)
05.04.1963 - 15.12.1996

Loading...
18.04.2011 - 01:47
Troy Killjoy
perfunctionist
Written by Marcel Hubregtse on 17.04.2011 at 22:42

Okay, let me set this straight the band is from The Netherlands AND Finland. Ben is Dutch and Markus is Finnish and lives in Finland. The only gig Night Of Suicide have done up to now was a couple of weeks ago in Helsinki.


Still have to check Desire out. And to see other people also enjoying Ben's grunts. i'll pass this review on to him. I am sure he will be happy with it even though he is currently very busy with the organization of Dordrecht Doom Day on May with a killer line-up.

I read on MA that it was a split union between Finland and the Netherlands, I just went with the Netherlands because the band seems to be more of Ben's brainchild (correct me if I'm wrong).

Thanks for passing on the review by the way.
----
Prettier than BloodTears.
Loading...
18.04.2011 - 14:03
Merchant of Doom
Loading...
29.04.2011 - 20:41
Ag Fox
Angel No More
Listened to it the first time today, pretty strong album indeed. Thanks for the review :3
----
loves 小巫
Loading...
30.04.2011 - 01:07
Troy Killjoy
perfunctionist
Written by Ag Fox on 29.04.2011 at 20:41

Thanks for the review :3

That'll be 5 bucks.
----
Prettier than BloodTears.
Loading...
30.05.2011 - 21:22
Marcel Hubregtse
Grumpy Old Fuck
Written by Troy Killjoy on 18.04.2011 at 01:47

Written by Marcel Hubregtse on 17.04.2011 at 22:42

Okay, let me set this straight the band is from The Netherlands AND Finland. Ben is Dutch and Markus is Finnish and lives in Finland. The only gig Night Of Suicide have done up to now was a couple of weeks ago in Helsinki.


Still have to check Desire out. And to see other people also enjoying Ben's grunts. i'll pass this review on to him. I am sure he will be happy with it even though he is currently very busy with the organization of Dordrecht Doom Day on May with a killer line-up.

I read on MA that it was a split union between Finland and the Netherlands, I just went with the Netherlands because the band seems to be more of Ben's brainchild (correct me if I'm wrong).

Thanks for passing on the review by the way.


only the lyrics and vocals are Ben's. But I'll have to ask him about who's brainchild it is. Will be seeing him Sunday at Pim's (Officium Tiste) birthday bash during the Muky Pup gig. Funny you should mention Officium Triste in your review since Ben is a really really really good friend of theirs.
----
Member of the true crusade against European Flower Metal

Yesterday is dead and gone, tomorrow is out of sight
Dawn Crosby (r.i.p.)
05.04.1963 - 15.12.1996

Loading...

Hits total: 5743 | This month: 8