Rating:
7.0
Tangent Plane - Project Elimi
25 March 2011


01. One Month In Real Time
02. One With The Lies
03. Ice Age
04. Borrow Me Your Dullness
05. Do You Live
06. Deadborn
07. One Moment And The Murder After
08. Project Elimi


Wow, take a gander at that album cover, would you? Can you recall the last time you laid your eyes upon something so unsettling? It looks like Twilight Zone meets Law & Order: SVU. The disturbing cover art coupled with the incredibly pretentious band & album name pretty much guaranteed this wasn't going to be a good time. Well, I can't say it's all bad, in fact, a lot of it is pretty damn cool, but for every neat moment, there's some annoying aspect quickly to follow.

First of all, this band has written some incredible music! It's a massive prog-drenched power metal type sound. When we're talking about a massive sound - that's genuine! It's great, heavy riffing that's almost lifted, pushed to a more grandiose height by some dominant synths. The giant synth/guitar combo is anchored with tough-as-nails drumming. The chemistry is great - rarely do bands sound as tight as this. Hell, they get away without even having any type of real build-up. Each moment stands so well on it's own that it completely redeems itself for the lack of direction that's displayed here.

...And then there was vocals. Good lord, I haven't come across vocals this embarrassing since first stepping in that steaming pile of Babylon Mystery Orchestra. Why does this guy need to warble his voice so much? It's not lack of control, as he does prove to have sufficient power to handle his job, but he does this "sing like I'm shivering" crap almost constantly. You want an idea of how this guy sounds? First, pucker your lips - good. Next, place your index finger horizontally across your mouth - as if you were pointing to someone next to you. The proceed to move your finger up and down across your lips as rapidly as possible while singing in a generic power metal voice. Doing this will cause one or two outcomes; you manage to fuck up seemingly audible English, and/or you will become reasonable candidate to sing for Tangent Plane.

Music? Fan-freaking-tastic. Vocals? Fire him. Please.


 



Written on 23.04.2011 by
Doc Godin
Former EIC. Now just a reviewer guy.
More reviews by Doc Godin ››



Comments

‹‹ Back to the Reviews
Comments: 6  
Users visited: 204  
Search this topic:  


Danyael - 23.04.2011 at 22:33  
"...but he does this "sing like I'm shivering" crap almost constantly."

Its called VIBRATO, jeez. And yeah, this guy seems to be abusing it like he came out from an ex-yugoslavian turbo-folk band, which I agree, is highly annoying. It does however seem like the guy can sing tho.

I wonder if it was really cold or something in the studio when they were recording haha.
Doc Godin - 26.04.2011 at 10:24  
Written by Danyael on 23.04.2011 at 22:33

"...but he does this "sing like I'm shivering" crap almost constantly."

Its called VIBRATO, jeez. And yeah, this guy seems to be abusing it like he came out from an ex-yugoslavian turbo-folk band, which I agree, is highly annoying. It does however seem like the guy can sing tho.

I wonder if it was really cold or something in the studio when they were recording haha.

Sorry, I'm very unfamiliar with a lot of technical terms as such, especially when it comes to vocals. Drum & guitar lingo I've got a good understanding of, vocals not so much. Thank you though, it's definitely knowledge I'm sure I'll have use for in future reviews.
Danyael - 26.04.2011 at 16:21  
Written by Doc Godin on 26.04.2011 at 10:24

Written by Danyael on 23.04.2011 at 22:33

"...but he does this "sing like I'm shivering" crap almost constantly."

Its called VIBRATO, jeez. And yeah, this guy seems to be abusing it like he came out from an ex-yugoslavian turbo-folk band, which I agree, is highly annoying. It does however seem like the guy can sing tho.

I wonder if it was really cold or something in the studio when they were recording haha.

Sorry, I'm very unfamiliar with a lot of technical terms as such, especially when it comes to vocals. Drum & guitar lingo I've got a good understanding of, vocals not so much. Thank you though, it's definitely knowledge I'm sure I'll have use for in future reviews.


Hahaha, nah man, you're reviews are awesome. Was about time someone ruthlessly criticizes all those copy-paste power metal bands (not reffering to this band tho)
Milena - 28.04.2011 at 21:36  
Written by Danyael on 23.04.2011 at 22:33

...like he came out from an ex-yugoslavian turbo-folk band...

Damn, I also shiver when I remember music from my sweet homeland -.-
Anyway, my absolute anti-talented power metal singer is the first singer of Dreamtale. Boy, he's awful. And that guy from Freedom Call too.
Danyael - 29.04.2011 at 00:04  
Written by Milena on 28.04.2011 at 21:36

Written by Danyael on 23.04.2011 at 22:33

...like he came out from an ex-yugoslavian turbo-folk band...

Damn, I also shiver when I remember music from my sweet homeland -.-
Anyway, my absolute anti-talented power metal singer is the first singer of Dreamtale. Boy, he's awful. And that guy from Freedom Call too.


haha, yeah though i think the freedom call guy got somewhat better on their latest release
Milena - 29.04.2011 at 08:06  
Haven't listened to it, now I'm curious; I like when people take singing lessons.
Now, should we stop spamming, eh?

Advertise on Metal Storm


Login or register to post here.



Similar topics

Forum Topic Similarity Started
Reviews Megaton Leviathan - Past 21 Beyond The Arctic Cell 4.5 03.09.2014 by Apothecary
Reviews Armour - Armour 4.5 10.03.2010 by DayFly
Reviews Votum - Metafiction 4.5 15.08.2010 by vezzy
Reviews Livesay - Awaken The Giant 4.5 15.11.2010 by Winterthrone
Reviews Vader - Tibi Et Igni 4.5 06.08.2014 by Lit.



Hits total: 4539 | This month: 20