Suidakra - Book Of Dowth review



Reviewer:
8.5

229 users:
8.14
Band: Suidakra
Album: Book Of Dowth
Release date: March 2011


01. Over Nine Waves
02. Dowth 2059
03. Battle-Cairns
04. Biróg's Oath
05. Mag Mell
06. The Dark Mound
07. Balor
08. Stone Of The Seven Suns
09. Fury Fomoraigh
10. Otherworlds Collide
11. Rise Of Taliesin [classical re-arranged version] [Digipak bonus]
12. When Eternity Echoes [classical re-arranged version] [Digipak bonus]
+ Dowth 2059 [video] [Digipak bonus]


Some bands play violins near a frozen fjord and call it Folk Metal. Some bands get drunk in a sauna and record Polka songs and call it Folk Metal [you know who you are]. Not so with the German metallers of Suidakra. What you get is breakneck Melodic Death drenched in Folk influences and the tradition continues with Book Of Dowth. Logical successor to 2006's Caledonia and 2009's Crógacht, this album might finally crown the band with glory.

The folk cloak is always there to wrap a tight rhythm section while the driving force behind the music is as always their killer guitar riffs and head banging melodies. Front man Arkadius Antonik once more handles all kinds of vocals with brio from clean to growls.

What makes this record exceptional in my view is the order of the tracks. The killer intro blends in with the juggernaut "single". The calm interludes and semi-ballad only reinforce the strength of the album, which is something few bands have achieved over the years. However, the real genius fact is that the album seems to keep building with the last two songs - if you exclude the outro - being the true killer tracks.

The digipack edition also allows listeners to rediscover some of their previous work as it includes classical re-arranged versions of "Rise Of Taliesin" [originally from 2000's The Arcanum] and "When Eternity Echoes" [from 2003's Sign For The Fallen].

Another year goes by, another killer Suidakra offering to enjoy. Book Of Dowth continues the trend without repeating its predecessors, a testament to their ingenuity. A very solid, uniform monolith of Folk influenced Melodic Death Metal to feast on. Let's bring out the bagpipes and celebrate in unison.


Rating breakdown
Performance: 8
Songwriting: 8
Originality: 7
Production: 9


 



Written on 12.05.2011 by Bringing you reviews of quality music and interesting questions such as:

"A picture is worth a thousand words. How many words is a song worth?"

I have only got so much patience and skills, you do the math.


Comments

Comments: 14   Visited by: 367 users
12.05.2011 - 02:43
bluemobiusx
Account deleted
I should catch up on their latest work. The last album I listened to was Caledonia, so maybe I will check out the new album.
Loading...
12.05.2011 - 10:55
VloRD
Awesome album, Great Review...
The Bagpipe intro is just kick ass.
----
Loading...
12.05.2011 - 11:25
sordid
Written by Guest on 12.05.2011 at 02:43

I should catch up on their latest work. The last album I listened to was Caledonia, so maybe I will check out the new album.


check out crógacht. it's different from caledonia,and in my view,way better.
this new one i hadn't listen carefully yet.
Loading...
12.05.2011 - 13:08
Vikcen
Metálico
Nice review... i ordered the digipack edition 3 days ago, waiting to listen it with all the glory that deserve this album hehe =) (discovered thanks to MetalStorm again)
Loading...
12.05.2011 - 13:13
flamey
Suidakra is one of those bands where you know they're not gonna try anything groundbreaking, but rather will stick to their sound yet still put out enjoyable albums. This one wasn't exception. Love the acoustic parts too.
Loading...
12.05.2011 - 18:11
Susan
Smeghead
Thanks for reviewing this DT! Excellent album, really reaffirmed my faith in this great band. So right about the first paragraph. They don't just play some gimmicky version of folk metal and call it a day.

WHO is the female vocalist on Birog's Oath? She is fabulous and versatile, fits the music perfectly, and totally stole the show for me
----
"A life all mine
Is what I choose
At the end of my days"
--The Gathering "A Life All Mine" from Souvenirs
Loading...
12.05.2011 - 18:16
Troy Killjoy
perfunctionist
Written by Susan on 12.05.2011 at 18:11

WHO is the female vocalist on Birog's Oath? She is fabulous and versatile, fits the music perfectly, and totally stole the show for me

Tina Stabel
----
Prettier than BloodTears.
Loading...
12.05.2011 - 23:02
Enemy of Reality
Birogs Oath is awesome!
Loading...
13.05.2011 - 03:52
Dark Blood
The Avenger
Honestly I never got into these guys that much, I only heard a few songs. But what I heard from this album on their Myspace page + this review makes me want to know more of them. Really interesting stuff.
----
It is humanity who must pay homage to the greatness of the Universe... not the Universe to the human narcissism.
Loading...
13.05.2011 - 14:39
Until the End
'Battle-Cairns', 'The Dark Mound', 'Balor' and 'Fury Fomoraigh' are all great tracks with the latter being my favourite song on the album. Didn't really care much for the female vocal or clean vocal tracks stuck in the middle.
Loading...
14.05.2011 - 15:07
tirim4
I really could like Folk Metal if it wasn't so cheesy. Eluveitie is the one Folk Metal band that I have found that stood out a little from the typical cheesy fiddles and flutes and happy hobit metal most folk metal is. This album however, while it still has a little of that, is actually quite good. There are some really good moments and just a few of the hobit metal ones.
Loading...
16.05.2011 - 12:31
ensiferumlism
I dont hear them for a long time. I think i should come back with them ! tks for awesome reviews.
Loading...
19.05.2011 - 00:13
Daydream Nation
Account deleted
Written by Until the End on 13.05.2011 at 14:39

'Battle-Cairns', 'The Dark Mound', 'Balor' and 'Fury Fomoraigh' are all great tracks with the latter being my favourite song on the album. Didn't really care much for the female vocal or clean vocal tracks stuck in the middle.

I agree completely with you. The album itself was structured poorly-- with the last half of the album being fantastic and the first half being relatively poor, in my opinion. I didn't think that the clean or female vocal tracks were bad-- I just thought they were poorly placed or could have been incorporated into some of the existing songs.
Loading...
20.09.2012 - 03:06
WorpeX
This album is fantastic! I keep finding myself listening to this album even after having it for over a year now. LOVE IT!
Loading...

Hits total: 6550 | This month: 16