Rating:
N/A
Metalusion - Metalusion
2011


01. Ground Zero
02. Frozen Dream
03. Egyptian Danza [Al Di Meola cover]
04. Colors Of Infinity
05. Illusions Of Starlight
06. Don't Let The World Pass You By [Jean-Luc Ponty cover]
07. Mirage [Jean-Luc Ponty cover]
08. Ascension
09. The Purple Lagoon [Frank Zappa cover]
10. Filthy Habits [Frank Zappa cover]


Glen Drover. Some may know him as the founder of the power metal band, Eidolon, or his work with Megadeth and King Diamond, but I would assume that most of you weren't too familiar with his name before reading this review. But it's the music that matters, not names. Fortunately, Glen Drover and his band deliver some very good jazz fusion to the ears of rock fans who have an interest in such instrumental music.

I suppose if I had to make a simple comparison of this album to something the average metalhead would know, I'd say if Symphony X strapped their jazz boots on and put out an instrumental album, the end product would be something like Metalusion (This is a very loose comparison though). I think my favorite aspect about this album is that every single musician brings something to the table in every song. While they are showing off their technical prowess on their instruments, no one is ever stealing the show thanks to great song writing and the crystal-clear production. You can hear everyone playing their part at all times. I should also mention that while Glen does a great job constantly spitting out great solos, riffs, and melodies on the album (never soloing longer than he has to), Jim Glimor does a great job of shining just as bright on keys. He performs some awesome solos and even sneaks in some classical piano bits on a couple tracks when he is not layering the songs with the essential synth to give the music that soothing jazzy touch.

There are also four (if you combine "Purple Lagoon" and "Filthy Habits" as one song) excellent covers of classic jazz fusion songs that blend in perfectly with the album. I've always thought Al Di Meola's "Egyptian Danza" could have used a good metal cover, and well, here it is on this album. I suppose it's also worth noting that Vinnie Moore, Fredrik Akesson (Opeth), Jeff Loomis and Steve Smyth (both from Nevermore fame) make guest appearances. While that's cool and all for fans of those musicians, I don't think they really added (or took away) anything remarkable to the songs they are featured in.

While this album is not for everyone, it should please progressive metal fans with an interest in jazz music and people who've ever thought it'd be cool if a metal musician covered a Frank Zappa song (I know, very large demographic there). With an album that boasts such great musicianship and flow in terms of overall composition, it's always pretty difficult for me to hit the stop or skip button on my music player until Metalusion is finished. And if that doesn't define how a great album should be, then I don't know what does.

Performance: 10
Songwriting: 9
Originality: 7
Production: 9


 


written by Fat & Sassy! | 18.05.2011



Comments

‹‹ Back to the Reviews
Comments: 15  
Users visited: 206  
Search this topic:  


Fat & Sassy! - 18.05.2011 at 03:53  
Jazz isn't dead.

It's just METAL. >:[
Doc Godin - 18.05.2011 at 14:04  
I'm usually not into jazz-prog-instrumental type shit. But this album had a certain quality to it I can't quite put my finger on. Quite nice indeed.
MechanisT - 18.05.2011 at 14:07  
Looks like my kind of thing. I'll check them out.
Yavanna - 18.05.2011 at 14:14  
Oh Lord,
I Gotta check it out
BloodTears - 18.05.2011 at 14:32  
Should I be listening to this Fat? I guess so.

Thumbs up for the review by the way
Edmund Fogg - 18.05.2011 at 15:11  
Great review. It's good and strange at the same time to read something from you that doesn't have sarcasm or or sassy humour in it. Mind you I've been away for quite some time now and slowly coming back tho MS. You managed to peak my curiosity with this review. This and the Zappa covers I gotta hear
!J.O.O.E.! - 18.05.2011 at 15:41  
Doesn't sound like my cup o' java but it's on Spotify so will definitely give it a listen ;]
Ag Fox - 18.05.2011 at 16:30  
Gratz on your first review. it's good
Fat & Sassy! - 18.05.2011 at 17:58  
Thanks for the comments, guys! =3

Written by Edmund Fogg on 18.05.2011 at 15:11

It's good and strange at the same time to read something from you that doesn't have sarcasm or or sassy humour in it.


Seeing as how this is my first review, I tried to keep it tame. That and, well... I think if I didn't like the album, I'd be more opt to write something kinda sarcastic and humorous! XD Yeah, but I mean, I will try and write things with my own flair of personality and if it seems appropriate, I have no problem being cheeky.
Fat & Sassy! - 18.05.2011 at 18:02  
Written by Doc Godin on 18.05.2011 at 14:04

I'm usually not into jazz-prog-instrumental type shit. But this album had a certain quality to it I can't quite put my finger on. Quite nice indeed.


I think the sharp metal elements of the music, along with the synth, give it a unique atmosphere for this kind of music. And it's quite catchy at times!

... That's my guess for you at least.
Edmund Fogg - 18.05.2011 at 19:07  
Written by Fat & Sassy! on 18.05.2011 at 17:58

Thanks for the comments, guys! =3

Written by Edmund Fogg on 18.05.2011 at 15:11

It's good and strange at the same time to read something from you that doesn't have sarcasm or or sassy humour in it.


Seeing as how this is my first review, I tried to keep it tame. That and, well... I think if I didn't like the album, I'd be more opt to write something kinda sarcastic and humorous! XD Yeah, but I mean, I will try and write things with my own flair of personality and if it seems appropriate, I have no problem being cheeky.


First review hin. I think you did a great job at describing the sound and feel of the album and kept a good flow. I can't wait for a review about something you didn't like. keep it up. there you go a review of a review hehe.
K†ulu - 19.05.2011 at 10:32  
Hmm. Thanks for an interesting review. I don't think I would check this album otherwise; now, it's next on my list. Thanks again!
Panterica - 21.05.2011 at 17:48  
"While this album is not for everyone, it should please progressive metal fans with an interest in jazz music" - This sentence is clearly talking about me! I gotta check this album out!
Pyramid God - 25.05.2011 at 12:15  
This is some pretty good instrumental stuff. Very prog-y sounding to my ears.
K†ulu - 31.05.2011 at 21:22  
Mirage is one great cover; so is Egyptian Danza. Frank Zappa was quite good too. It seems that the best songs on the album were covers.

Advertise on Metal Storm


Login or register to post here.



Similar topics

Forum Topic Similarity Started
Reviews Blood Stain Child - εpsilon 4.5 25.12.2011 by Troy Killjoy
Interviews Glen Drover interview 3.5 18.05.2011 by Fat & Sassy!
Lists My Kitteh And I's Favorite (Metal/Rock) Listening Discs EVAR (2010) 3.5 06.12.2011 by Mattybu
News Geoff Tate's Queensrÿche - Glen Drover Decides To Leave 3 25.11.2012 by The Shape 1973
Reviews Crotchduster - Big Fat Box Of Shit 2.5 05.05.2014 by mz



Hits total: 4003 | This month: 43