Cruxifiction - The Coming review



Reviewer:
8.3

6 users:
8.00
Band: Cruxifiction
Album: The Coming
Release date: April 2011


01. Haunting Hypocrisy
02. The Coming
03. The New Messiah
04. Death Is The Only Way
05. The Silent Traitor
06. Burn On A Cross
07. I'll Bless You


Anti-Christian French extreme metallers (got all that?) Cruxifiction are a relatively "new" band, primarily composed of members from pagan black metal outfit Valhôll. The Coming, the band's full-length debut, offers a sharp mix of high-intensity melodic black metal with a bit of death metal's most significant element: brutality. Compared by the label to fellow French black metal band Deathspell Omega, Cruxifiction are anything but similar, and have much more in common with Portugal's Corpus Christii (as stated by the band members themselves).

Keeping with the theme of brutality, Cruxifiction do an excellent job at separating themselves from the rest of the melodic black metal scene by simply focusing on how to infuse melody with aggression. That certainly doesn't sound like a groundbreaking move at all, but the outcome of such an attempt - at least this time around - is that of a melodic album with tons of bite. It's almost more brutal than it is melodic.

You don't just sit there and bob your head and think of how "nice" this sounds, you put this on your portable music player, grab a butcher knife in each hand, and head on down to the 5:00am mass where crowds of Christians pray in total vulnerability, and just let your arms swing violently.

When the walls have been covered in enough God-loving cranberry sauce, make for the Sunday school. There's a brief moment - kudos to those of you who find it - where these French extremists take out their aggression in the form of apparently sacrificing (or just straight up slaughtering) a little baby. What better moment to run rampant in a room filled with children...wielding knives stained with the blood of their parents?

Okay, this review got away from me. But that's what this album does, it just makes you want to bang your head go on a Christians-only killing spree in the name of Satan. The songs blend together slightly and the "crazy" factor begins to settle down near the end of the album, but repeated listens are far from a torturous process and some of the songs are really catchy. It's a well-executed debut that showcases the band members' abilities and potential, suggesting these guys could fine-tune their sound in the near future and release one of those kvlt recordings we all yearn for.


MySpace: http://www.myspace.com/cruxifiction666


Rating breakdown
Performance: 8
Songwriting: 8
Originality: 7
Production: 9


 



Written on 21.05.2011 by Just another opinionated guy telling you what to listen to.


Comments

Comments: 11   Visited by: 196 users
21.05.2011 - 17:33
Rupert
"You don't just sit there and bob your head and think of how "nice" this sounds, you put this on your portable music player, grab a butcher knife in each hand, and head on down to the 5:00am mass where crowds of Christians pray in total vulnerability, and just let your arms swing violently."

Sounds like a good time to me.
Loading...
21.05.2011 - 18:43
Milena
Learning To "X"
'When the walls have been covered in enough God-loving cranberry sauce, make for the Sunday school. There's a brief moment - kudos to those of you who find it - where these French extremists take out their aggression in the form of apparently sacrificing (or just straight up slaughtering) a little baby. What better moment to run rampant in a room filled with children...wielding knives stained with the blood of their parents?'
Ok, this review actually disturbed me a bit
----
"There comes a time when you look into the mirror and you realize that what you see is all that you will ever be. And then you accept it. Or you kill yourself. Or you stop looking in mirrors."
Loading...
21.05.2011 - 18:47
Windrider
Raureif
Sounds good, worth to check out, thanks!
Loading...
21.05.2011 - 19:46
Cryzpin
Beautiful review truly the part with heading to the "5:00am mass" with music player and those knives just made my day, haha.
Loading...
22.05.2011 - 10:08
K†ulu
Seeker of Truth
Thanks for the bloody details: an effing pleasure to read.
----
Savor what you feel and what you see
Things that may not seem important now
But may be tomorrow

R.I.P. Chuck Schuldiner

Satan was a Backstreet Boy
Loading...
22.05.2011 - 14:30
flamey
Started listening after reading the review, pretty enjoyable.
Loading...
22.05.2011 - 20:31
Edmund Fogg
Great review. An interesting read. I'll go sharpen my knives right away
----
You cannot sedate all the things you hate - MM
The Observer is the source of reality - Bloom
God damn it!! What did Diddy didn't do? - Satan
Loading...
22.05.2011 - 20:58
I_Die_Often
This is my kind of Blackness.
Hope I can locate this.
----
Old enough to be your Daddy... speaking of which... you look familiar... do I know your mother???
Loading...
22.05.2011 - 21:03
Troy Killjoy
perfunctionist
Written by I_Die_Often on 22.05.2011 at 20:58

This is my kind of Blackness.
Hope I can locate this.

It's a bit on the expensive side if you order from ATMF since you're on the same side of the Ocean as me...

But according to the band's Facebook page, Season of Mist will be helping with distribution of the album.

And if you can't find a digital copy to listen to first (if that's your thing):

----
Prettier than BloodTears.
Loading...
23.05.2011 - 02:11
I_Die_Often
Written by Troy Killjoy on 22.05.2011 at 21:03

Written by I_Die_Often on 22.05.2011 at 20:58

This is my kind of Blackness.
Hope I can locate this.

It's a bit on the expensive side if you order from ATMF since you're on the same side of the Ocean as me...

But according to the band's Facebook page, Season of Mist will be helping with distribution of the album.


Thanks!
----
Old enough to be your Daddy... speaking of which... you look familiar... do I know your mother???
Loading...
01.01.2012 - 05:50
Boxcar Willy
yr a kook
I also might enjoy this.


TO YOUTUBE!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
----
forever bummed out
Loading...

Hits total: 4515 | This month: 10