Rating:
8.3
Cruxifiction - The Coming
4 April 2011


01. Haunting Hypocrisy
02. The Coming
03. The New Messiah
04. Death Is The Only Way
05. The Silent Traitor
06. Burn On A Cross
07. I'll Bless You


Anti-Christian French extreme metallers (got all that?) Cruxifiction are a relatively "new" band, primarily composed of members from pagan black metal outfit Valhôll. The Coming, the band's full-length debut, offers a sharp mix of high-intensity melodic black metal with a bit of death metal's most significant element: brutality. Compared by the label to fellow French black metal band Deathspell Omega, Cruxifiction are anything but similar, and have much more in common with Portugal's Corpus Christii (as stated by the band members themselves).

Keeping with the theme of brutality, Cruxifiction do an excellent job at separating themselves from the rest of the melodic black metal scene by simply focusing on how to infuse melody with aggression. That certainly doesn't sound like a groundbreaking move at all, but the outcome of such an attempt - at least this time around - is that of a melodic album with tons of bite. It's almost more brutal than it is melodic.

You don't just sit there and bob your head and think of how "nice" this sounds, you put this on your portable music player, grab a butcher knife in each hand, and head on down to the 5:00am mass where crowds of Christians pray in total vulnerability, and just let your arms swing violently.

When the walls have been covered in enough God-loving cranberry sauce, make for the Sunday school. There's a brief moment - kudos to those of you who find it - where these French extremists take out their aggression in the form of apparently sacrificing (or just straight up slaughtering) a little baby. What better moment to run rampant in a room filled with children...wielding knives stained with the blood of their parents?

Okay, this review got away from me. But that's what this album does, it just makes you want to bang your head go on a Christians-only killing spree in the name of Satan. The songs blend together slightly and the "crazy" factor begins to settle down near the end of the album, but repeated listens are far from a torturous process and some of the songs are really catchy. It's a well-executed debut that showcases the band members' abilities and potential, suggesting these guys could fine-tune their sound in the near future and release one of those kvlt recordings we all yearn for.


MySpace: http://www.myspace.com/cruxifiction666

Performance: 8
Songwriting: 8
Originality: 7
Production: 9


Band profile: Cruxifiction
Album: The Coming


 



Written on 21.05.2011 by
Troy Killjoy
Just another opinionated guy telling you what to listen to.
More reviews by Troy Killjoy ››



Comments

‹‹ Back to the Reviews
Comments: 11  
Users visited: 194  
Search this topic:  


Rupert - 21.05.2011 at 17:33  
"You don't just sit there and bob your head and think of how "nice" this sounds, you put this on your portable music player, grab a butcher knife in each hand, and head on down to the 5:00am mass where crowds of Christians pray in total vulnerability, and just let your arms swing violently."

Sounds like a good time to me.
Milena - 21.05.2011 at 18:43  
'When the walls have been covered in enough God-loving cranberry sauce, make for the Sunday school. There's a brief moment - kudos to those of you who find it - where these French extremists take out their aggression in the form of apparently sacrificing (or just straight up slaughtering) a little baby. What better moment to run rampant in a room filled with children...wielding knives stained with the blood of their parents?'
Ok, this review actually disturbed me a bit
Windrider - 21.05.2011 at 18:47  
Sounds good, worth to check out, thanks!
Cryzpin - 21.05.2011 at 19:46  
Beautiful review truly the part with heading to the "5:00am mass" with music player and those knives just made my day, haha.
K†ulu - 22.05.2011 at 10:08  
Thanks for the bloody details: an effing pleasure to read.
flamey - 22.05.2011 at 14:30  
Started listening after reading the review, pretty enjoyable.
Edmund Fogg - 22.05.2011 at 20:31  
Great review. An interesting read. I'll go sharpen my knives right away
I_Die_Often - 22.05.2011 at 20:58  
This is my kind of Blackness.
Hope I can locate this.
Troy Killjoy - 22.05.2011 at 21:03  
Written by I_Die_Often on 22.05.2011 at 20:58

This is my kind of Blackness.
Hope I can locate this.

It's a bit on the expensive side if you order from ATMF since you're on the same side of the Ocean as me...

But according to the band's Facebook page, Season of Mist will be helping with distribution of the album.

And if you can't find a digital copy to listen to first (if that's your thing):

I_Die_Often - 23.05.2011 at 02:11  
Written by Troy Killjoy on 22.05.2011 at 21:03

Written by I_Die_Often on 22.05.2011 at 20:58

This is my kind of Blackness.
Hope I can locate this.

It's a bit on the expensive side if you order from ATMF since you're on the same side of the Ocean as me...

But according to the band's Facebook page, Season of Mist will be helping with distribution of the album.


Thanks!
Boxcar Willy - 01.01.2012 at 05:50  
I also might enjoy this.


TO YOUTUBE!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Advertise on Metal Storm


Login or register to post here.



Similar topics

Forum Topic Similarity Started
Reviews Valediction - The Primitive Architecture 6 08.05.2011 by MechanisT
Reviews The Royal Arch Blaspheme - The Royal Arch Blaspheme 6 03.05.2010 by Mikyz
Reviews Satan's Host - By The Hands Of The Devil 6 30.04.2011 by wormdrink414
Reviews The Mass - Towards Darkness 6 07.04.2010 by spirit_inblack
Reviews Hæresiarchs Of Dis - In Obsecration Of The Seven Darks 6 05.04.2011 by toadstoolcomics



Hits total: 3919 | This month: 32